0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Boss VE-20 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 47 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss VE-20?

Questions about the Boss VE-20?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Florida January 31, 2017Music Background:
    pro over 50 yrs

    boss is great

    this is the best pedal for vocals i use it on my gigs and in church everyone says it sounds great

  • from White Marsh Maryland March 6, 2016

    The Boss VE 20

    The VE 20 is such a great tool to use for live shows ! I love it ,it works really well and the Big thing is, that its user friendly! And a big shout out to Sweat Water for their web site and follow up on my on line order, great job guys! Thanks Larry

  • from Salsibury, MD January 12, 2016Music Background:
    Singer, flutest - The Haymans

    Boss VE-20 Great for Live Gigs

    My husband and I perform in our duo The Haymans. We have a very full sound for just two musicians and part of that sound is our Boss VE-20 - we have two. I am the lead singer and mostly use my for the doubler (intermittently, and chorus) - My husband sings backup and uses the harmony settings...it really is great.

  • from October 7, 2015Music Background:
    indian classical

    So far soooo gooddddd

    in testing period it exhibits too good performance, yet to use in live gig. on 12th of october I have 1. after that i can judge it in bigger way.

  • from April 11, 2015

    Very dynamic!

    The Boss VE-20 is more than I thought it would be. Extremely easy to use with a wide variety of effects. I am just starting to learn home audio recording and this pedal will be very useful for my goals. The people at Sweetwater had the package shipped in no time. And they always give a follow up call to make sure that you are satisfied or if you have questions. Overall, I give the pedal and Sweetwater a great rating!!

  • from April 7, 2015

    Perfect All-in-One

    The unit is my first experience with Boss products and couldn't be happier with this one. The "band" and I honestly did not expect this much functionality from one tool. It arrived 4 weeks ago and we cannot put this thing down. Never thought I could go from sounding like Kurt Cobain to Barry White in an instant. This pedal does just that with one click. #VE20LOVE

  • from United States February 16, 2015Music Background:
    self taught artist

    Amazing Fantastic

    It is like floating in open space you can go EVERYWHERE

  • from Pennsylvania April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Touring Musician

    Ve-20 for Metal

    I front a man of a metal band. I do not rely on sound guys. Your in all sorts of venues all sorts of systems. I've used tc helicon voice doubler,voicelive ,voice works,voice live 2, voicelive rack ,d2 delay and m-one reverb and the create xt pedal, some of the units are great, some complex, but looking for something small n foot activated. Ve-20 ,why not Boss pedals rule so I gave it a shot. Now my favorite out of them all. Simple,easy to get a great sound.

    I use the preamp, which really shines your vocal and pushes it out front. Some boards don't have the greatest preamps so you can't rely on them. Also use doubler to just thicken a splash of delay n verb.

    I can stomp preset up or down basically use 2 presets lil delay n more delay. This unit really works great gives your vocal that warm round strong presence live.

    Simply tell the sound guy set ya flat because your doing the rest. If level is to hot back it down. Everything is so easy to edit on the fly.

    Metal vocalists ( death,power,glam,classic,)this really shines to cut thru that heavy band that's behind you.

  • from December 13, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great!

    Awesome product. It's worth the investment. Great sounds. Easy to configure and use.

  • from Rochester, New York August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Boss VE-20

    Excellent. Does just what I want it to.

  • from Jackson, MI United States August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician(over 40 years)

    VE-20 Vocal Performer- EXACTLY

    It does exactly what it says it does... & more!
    I saw one being used with another band... I got a hold of my Sweetwater engineer (Brent) on Tuesday morning... received the Boss VE-20 Wednesday afternoon... Set up multiple key harmony configurations in less than an hour... played an important gig on Thursday night and it worked flawlessly. I was as nervous as a grouper in the middle of a shark feeding frenzy walking on stage, but it all paid off.
    I will only buy Boss pedals and I will only buy from Sweetwater... a really BIG thanks!!

  • from Dillon, SC February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Audio Engineer and studio owner

    WHAT?!!!!!

    I bought this unit for my home studio. For $250 I didn't expect much. I knew it wouldn't come near the super pricey units, but OMG! For what I use it for it has done the job marvously. Many of my clients and potentials ask for it at the door. Thank you Boss for producing this unit. Anyone complaining about this unit is just being nit picky. I absolutely got wht I paid for and then some. Truth is I'm surprised its price isn't higher.

  • from MI January 18, 2013Music Background:
    PRO MUSICIAN-JAZZ

    Really makes a difference!

    I will never use all the features on the VE-20, I just wanted a nice Jazzy tone. Well, I got THAT and MORE. If you want your vocals to sound better, and cooler, this will do it, without spending thousands of dollars. And, you get a whole bunch of other effects to have fun with!

  • from Chicago,IL May 5, 2012

    Alot of power and easy to transport gear

    I've been singing my BossVE-20 on stage for the past 2 years, LOVE IT! So many options and easy to use. The battery life is really long too, a good plus.

  • from Switzerland April 11, 2012Music Background:
    lots

    FEEDBACK

    If this pedal gives you feedback, then you need to learn how to set it up properly.

    This pedal is AWESOME, and versatile!

  • from Rock Hill S.C. USA March 2, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer ,vocalist,percussionist, Learning guitar ,keyboards and bass.

    I am totally satisfied with my new gear.

    I have used and like the ease and prformance of my gear and Sweetwater. The technical support and communication is great. I would recomend that anyone try your company for total satisfaction.
    Yours Truly, Martin Putnam

  • from Rock Falls, IL January 1, 2012Music Background:
    Self-taught musician playing in various clubs, nursing homes etc.

    Better than I hoped for!

    Exceeded expectations - was a gift and really enjoying trying various outputs. Looking forward to next opportunity to perform in public.

  • from NW Missouri November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best in class

    Overall, I'm impressed. A vocal harmonizer that relies on voice alone for the harmony FX instead of having to plug in a guitar or keyboard for reference tones, something the other entries in the field lack.
    This is solidly built. I'm in the singer-songwriter vein of music, so I don't anticipate "stomping" on this. I don't have any doubts about this holding up without requiring a backup unit.
    I also appreciate the fact that it runs on batteries. I hate FX that only operate on AC and use a very short piece of flimsy spaghetti wire connected to a wall wart--another feature which makes the Boss unit superior to the competitors' [and we know who they are without naming names].
    It's relatively easy to tweak and store user settings and I had three patches edited and stored for the three main keys i sing in in less than 10 minutes.
    Performance-wise. It delivers what it advertises. I've been able to generate some harmonies like the Everly Brothers and CSN with no problems.

  • from Tillamook, OR August 22, 2011Music Background:
    Contemporary Christian

    A lot of fun!

    After adjusting the mic sensitivity from my new Sinnhauser e835 this vocal perfomer is exactly what I wanted. The pre-sets sound great and I don't think I will even need to make custom adjustments. The Christian band I play in ministers weekly. Using the harmony selection is easy after setting up the key I am singing in. The pitch correction on soft is transparent and the complements on my voice keep coming in. It made a good singer much better. It's durrable, easy to read and fun to use. My other vocalist in the band really wants one now. Boss hit another one out of the park!

  • from Burlington, VT April 6, 2011Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer, Pro Musician

    Absolutely Amazing

    I'm an average singer at best. I spent almost 4 hours singing through this pedal today after pulling it out of the box. I am amazed at the fullness and richness it has added. This pedal doesn't make you sound great on it's own, instead it rewards you for singing well. If you can stay in tune, it will take your voice to the highest professional level. I wish I had this MANY years ago.

  • from Atlanta, GA January 21, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    A Must Have

    I've had this tool in the toolbox for about 6 months now and it still amazes me what it can do. The harmonies are believable with a little tweaking and especially realistic in stereo. The Autotune feature will impress the younger generation. I use it primarily for small live gigs where I don't want to tote a rack of effects but want some nice reverbs, delays, and harmonies. The looper requires some practice but it offers some unique opportunities for layering if you're a solo/duo act. For the money it can't be beat. Only wished it had come with a AC adaptor...otherwise a great little box of fire...gues that's why it's fire engine red. Get one!

  • from Glenpool, OK May 2, 2017

    Great All-in-One Pedal for Vocals

    I bought this pedal for two main purposes: pitch correction options and the ability to simultaneously track background 3-part harmonies when I record. It does this and so much more! Worth every penny! This pedal sounds great, is very versatile, and has all effects a vocalist would need. Highly recommended.

  • from Highland Ar. May 13, 2015Music Background:
    Gospel Singer, Guitar

    Boss VE-20

    I've tried several harmonizers in the past and this is by far the best we've used. Voices really blend well and you can adjust the harmony at any level you are comfortable with. I have read some reviews stating
    that you can't change keys unless you bend over every time you switch keys...not true. I have set every
    key and adjusted the levels to our liking. All you need to do is step on the right pedal to turn on and off the harmonizer. Negative side: For us singers we need a unit that we can change keys on the fly and this is a major drawback on this unit. In order to change keys you have to step down on the right pedal for 3 seconds and scroll thru your keys then depress the pedal again for 3 seconds. When doing this on stage it seems like eternity with your crowd watching you. Boss should make a unit which has a pedal that you just scroll thru the keys and your ready for your next song with no waiting. Back a few years ago they made the Digitech Vocalist Performer and you could change keys on the fly and was very easy to use. I gave the VE-20 4.5 stars because changing keys is much to slow. I would highly recommend this unit and hope that Boss will fix this major flaw with the key change.

  • from Philadelphia February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist. Bass and singer in a local band

    VE-20

    Worth the price of admission!! Excellent for any level.

  • from Springfield, IL March 3, 2013Music Background:
    Vocalist, Musician

    An Amazing Vocal Processor

    After a few hours of "toying" with this vocal processor I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the effects and the general versatility of the Boss VE-20. While I've not become adept at using the many and varied effects I've been very impressed with the effects I've applied to date and look forward to getting into more of the applications in the near future. So far so good!

  • from New Orleans, LA August 14, 2012Music Background:
    42 years professionally performing and recording.

    Boss VE-20 Thoughts

    I just got mine a few hours ago. I plugged it in and figured out how to use it in 10 minutes. It sounds excellent and is easy to use. Nuff said.
    It does what I hoped it would. The harmonies are nice and modifiable easily. The only draw back for me is switching between settings requires the use of your hands. Another foot pedal to switch or a button to switch would be nice , instead of having to bend down and turn the knob. Still I love it and believe it will add to my performances greatly

  • from Spring Arbor, MI July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Terrific!

    I replaced another vocal pedal with the Boss as it fit the bill better for what I do. It sounds great, is incredibly easy to use, and the harmonica setting is a complete blast!

  • from Springfield MO March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Bachelors in music technology/live performer

    Great Pedal

    I play in a progressive rock band and I love this pedal! Does everything I'd ever want a vocal processor to do and sounds great.

  • from Chiefland FL December 13, 2011Music Background:
    40 years - performing amateur musician

    Boss VE 20 - Great, but takes a little to set up the harmony

    For my vocals on the main pedal, just perfect. It makes my voice sound full and not have that run-through-a-sound-system dull sound. It lets me adjust my vocal mic to sound natural.

    The harmony pedal will take some work. This has three pages of adjustments to it, so it could take some time to make a good harmony mix. I play country, and this seems to be geared a bit to the modern music, but it makes all the difference in the world in my sound.

    I am an amateur musician and play to my own accompaniment. I find that when others do this, there is a difference in the sound of the background music (which is clear) and the live vocal (which tends to sound thick and bassie). This unit makes the live vocals sound just like the clear background music I accompany.

    Although a bit hard to use on the high end of it, I would not want to perform live without it.

  • from Yap, Micronesia December 30, 2010Music Background:
    Rock vocalist

    No Gimmick - Sounds Great!

    I'm a male vocalist in a rock cover band (primarily). I have had the VE-20 for over a month now and wanted to post my two cents. I am very impressed with this vocal processor. The presets are great and require very little tweaking. Prodices a very nice, warm reverb. I like the Hard Rock (used on Pear Jam songs, Rolling Stones, etc).) settting as well...let's you really belt one out into the mic and it caps the sound out at the perfect level with just the right distortion on the end of it - makes my job much easier! Don't have to worry about position to the mic or getting in too close or feedback, etc. The harmony pedal is nice too. My favorite setting for harmony is the 3rd harmony (used on Wilco songs) . It matches my voice well and sounds the most natural. The other ones are okay too, but too many voices sounds a little "computerized" to me...the third harmony actually sounds like someone singing in perfect harmony with me, it's trippy. Better be on key, though :-) or sounds pretty rough. The 3rd+5th+High setting sounds like the Eagles, man - good or bad depending on your preference, but nice to have it as an option if you ask me. The Cathedral setting sounds pretty sweet when we do Radiohead songs. The loop feature is nice too. If you have overlapping phrases in a chorus, for example, you can sing one pass with the loop on and time it to play back over your own voice on the 2nd pass. Gotta be good with the timing, or it's all messed up. But when you hit it, it really sounds good. I like the interface, it's very intuitave. Programming is a few clicks (once you get your setting the way you like). Our band doesn't play with our own PA, so each gig can present challenges for the vocalist if the proper equipment isn't available, so it's really nice to show up and know the vocals will sound good, even if the only thing you've got is a bull-horn to amplify the sound. I wish I had bought this a long time ago.

  • from Melbourne, Australia September 29, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Versatile

    Straight out of the box this thing is so easy to use.

    One minute I'm sounding like Adam Levine from Maroon Five and then William from B.E.P. and the Kings of Leon with the Arena preset 5.

    Mind you I have a versatile voice and able to mimic several artists and at my age still able to sing falsetto.

    Tried this out with a dynamic mic and tomorrow will test the phantom power with a condenser mic
    I think the sounds are inspiring and good to work out some melodies.

    Thank God my Boss digital recorder will capture the moment or my practise.

    Built like a brick and performs well under the light or in the dark.

    Got to get my timing right on the looper now.
    Thanks to my super sales engineer Dennis Konicki for once again linking me up with a great product.

    Cheers

  • from Oak Park, Illinois March 23, 2016Music Background:
    None, really

    Theremin users....a great addition

    I'm not a singer......never wanted to be. But I recently got a long-sought-after Moog Standard Etherwave Theremin. Nice, as far as it went. Had an ESPE01 module installed to smoothe and extend the tone and range....even better. But when I saw the online video here at Sweetwater for this Boss VE-20, where it was used with a Moog Standard Etherwave, I decided that I had to stretch my modest budget to add it on. And what a wonderful addition it is to this instrument, giving you the opportunity to dial in just the right amount of reverb, adjust the tonal characteristics to a fine degree, and much more. For those just learning how to play it, the pitch correction is wonderful for gaining some confidence with this rather-hard-to-play-in-tune instrument. For theremin users.....if you can afford to add this, I highly recommend it.

  • from July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Simple and cost effective

    Simple to use with solid functionality. The good range of presets gets you up and running quickly. Great value for money, especially if you do not have a heavy technical background. Assumed that it came with a plug in power supply, which it doesn't. If you don't have a spare you should order one along with the box - see Roland PSA-120S9-volt, 500mA AC Power Supply for BOSS and Roland Effects for around USD $22.00.

  • from Manchester (Hartford area) Ct. April 26, 2014Music Background:
    musician and former record co. owner

    Boss on BOSS

    My name is Jerry Boss, and I love my BOSS VE-20 vocal Effects box...... really simple to use and nice results. Too many of the newer vocal boxes are difficult to use in real time...not this one. Highly satisfied.

  • from Texas February 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician for 60 years!

    A really good product!

    There are cheaper units, and much more expensive ones, but for the money I don't think you can beat the VE-20. I've found all Boss products to be first class. We use this little red box in the studio, and it's just great.

  • from New York (New State Worlds Fair & The first Woodstock) April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Musiciian, Vocalist

    Boss VE-20

    Thank you to Boss for producing & displaying such a devise, for have been singing many many moons & had a few problems lately but it hepls me to get but on track (But I can't reach the highs alone if you know I mean) . So keep on keepin on. Much thanks.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Hobbyist

    Boss VE-20

    First off, I don't really sing, but thought maybe this would help. With the pitch correction, harmony features, doubling and octave settings, etc., I think it may. I would only use this at home for recording when i feel the need to mess around with vocals. So far seems nice. I only give it a 4 because I i wish it had a pedal to step through the presets and had a way to offload your own custom settings to a backup. Haven't tried the looper yet...not what i really bought it for. I';ve seen all the video reviews . It's also nice because you don't need to play AND sing at the same time for the harmony feature to work. Since I'm really not a singer, I'm not used to doing that. But, who knows, this just might make me a singer after all. This definitely has a niche among all the rest out there in this price range.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Recording Hobbyist

    Boss VE-20

    First off, I don't really sing, but thought maybe this would help. With the pitch correction, harmony features, doubling and octave settings, etc., I think it may. I would only use this at home for recording when i feel the need to mess around with vocals. So far seems nice. I only give it a 4 because I i wish it had a pedal to step through the presets and had a way to offload your own custom settings to a backup. Haven't tried the looper yet...not what i really bought it for. I';ve seen all the video reviews . It's also nice because you don't need to play AND sing at the same time for the harmony feature to work. Since I'm really not a singer, I'm not used to doing that. But, who knows, this just might make me a singer after all. This definitely has a niche among all the rest out there in this price range.

  • from Lehighton, PA September 24, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician / Pedal Steel Player

    Great little Pedal.......More than we expected.

    After using the Boss VE_20, and learning all of it's potential, and most certainly it's ease of use, I couldn't be happier. Really great that it stores the settings between use..........Just turn it on, and it's ready to go.

  • from March 23, 2016

    Great for Horns

    Im a horn player and have gone through many harmonizers looking for the one that can match my tone and has ease of use... well ive found it! would have recieved 5 stars but i feel as the looper is inefective for my needs and would have rather used that pedal as a toggle pedal... instead i have to wait two - 3 seconds to toggle from one setting to the next .. .which makes it very inconvenient when i go from one song to the next. Maybe thre is an external pedal that will work with this unit and just be used for toggling from one song to the next ... but im not sure so for now.... i have to give it 3.5

  • from Junction City, Kansas October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Entertainer

    Great gear for an Guitar player

    This unit is not designed for keyboard players the changes wile playing life are hard to do when you have a Accordion strapped to your chest. However I have learned NOT to put it on the floor

  • from Brooklyn, NY USA February 20, 2012Music Background:
    Singer-songwriter

    So far so good!

    So far so good. I used the Boss VE-20 for my first show a couple of nights ago and despite some initial buzzing from the PA during the sound check, it went great. I havenít delved into the intricacies of what this machine can do yet, but even just using the manual dial to change the presets gave my show so much more variety.

  • from CT July 3, 2015Music Background:
    Studio/cover band

    Not bad for what it is

    Effects are great! Plenty in store that work really well! Watch the distortion effect, it may cause feedback on the mic.

    control is lacking. I'd prefer an easier way to nav the list using an external pedal to go up or down instead of the current way to hold one pedal down for a while, then nav. I have to use the turn wheel during a gig.

    The looper doesn't have a midi in for sync so I can't use it. Also complicated to use when using other loopers from Boss and Roland.

    Wishing for a knob to control how much effect there is for simplicity in settings. The harmony feels more 60/40 or 50/50. I can make a change but it saves to that channel and if it was a knob it'd be easier to change on the fly instead of creating several of the same.

  • from Richmond, VA USA March 22, 2010Music Background:
    Singer, Keyboard Player, Songwriter, Teacher

    It's pretty cool for the money!

    I think its a pretty cool for what it is. I waited and researched it for so long trying to decide on this or a digitech vocalist live pro for $599. My only real beef is the use of pitch correction. It sounds more like a doubling effect and takes all the natural tone out of your voice in order to correct pitch, so I don't think I'll be using that. I'm not sure if thats how pitch correction works on all units and I don't really feel like sending this back and buying something way more expensive just to find out its the same overall. I love the autotune feature and the harmony is cool when it fits. I wish it would let me add flange and the preamp at the same time, but they are in the same menu category so you can't run both simultaneously. The looper is cool too as long as you time it right onthe first take... The rest are easy after that. Does the job for $250 bucks though! I'll be posting youtube videos to give more tutorials so look it up!

  • from New Jersey, USA March 22, 2013Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist/Solo performer

    Harmony pedal

    It doesn't produce correct harmonies to my songs. I'm so not satisfied with it.

  • from Chicago March 31, 2016Music Background:
    Ex - Pro, now semi - pro musician

    Disappointing

    I bought this thing hoping to correct my off-pitch voice. While it makes a number of interesting sounds, none of which I have any use for, it DOES NOT correct pitch. I think I'm going to send this back and get my old one repaired.

  • from Los Angeles, ca February 11, 2011Music Background:
    band

    If you're playing Rock clubs

    If you're playing rock clubs....proper venues. This pedal will not work.

    It feeds back.

Questions about the Boss VE-20?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway