0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Taylor V-Cable - 250k 18-feet Reviews

4.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
  • joe Loesch
    from United States November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, Engineer

    Outstanding Product - The Taylor V-Cable

    Needed a cable with a built in volume control and this cable does the job beautifully!

  • Top Hat
    from orange beach AL USA September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Stage ,screen Studio & Night Clubs Dinner Theater

    GREAT easy to use Stage or Studio

    Used On stage Not a Prob. Studio Stop N Starart Great OFF N ON NO NOISE. fantastic.

  • Jarrett Rausch
    from United States February 4, 2012Music Background:
    Mid-Level Musician/Producer/Engineer

    Love it.

    I saw this first at Summer NAMM in Nashville. I thought it was a cool idea, but I didn't think it would be that useful, honestly. Then I bought an acoustic electric mandolin. And that thing sounded great. However, I didn't want to run it out through a pedal to tune while playing live, and I really liked the way my Snark tunes (funny how the cheaper things in this business are always what end up being the most important).

    Anyway, I was griping about my woes at the local music shop, and the guy that owns the place said that his Sweetwater Sales Engineer (imagine that, a store owner referring me somewhere else!) had mentioned these, and it clicked. I ordered two immediately. While there is a little bit of high end sparkle lost on the mandolin at very low volumes, I only use it as an on/off switch, essentially, making minor adjustments as needed according to the man on the other side of the mixer. I love these cables. Great quality, ingenious design, and pretty snazzy looking, too.

  • Sammy A
    from PA January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Taylor v cable

    Works great. Perfect to control volume on my Taylor GS Mini with no volume control on the guitar. Smooth transition no pops. Great because you can leave amp on, shut off volume on cable and switch instruments with out having to go over to the amp or get that buzz that could damage the equipment.

  • Vicki Sargent
    from Venice, FL January 13, 2012Music Background:
    guitar player

    The product was great. I saw it recently in a local music store at twice the price I paid.

    I recieved the v-cable a day earlier than expected and I was able to use it that night. It worked great. Thanks for the exceptional service. It was great to deal with a person and not a machine. And thanks for the candy.

  • Brian Shore
    from Pasadena, Maryland January 3, 2012Music Background:
    80's Hair Band, write & record at home now

    One volume control for all my Accoustics

    Why cut a hole in every guitar to put in a volume control, when you can use this wit all your guitars? I love the full off click to let me know it's safe to swap guitars without getting any noise from the amp. That feature was a real plus.

  • paul thornton
    from buffalo,N.Y. November 16, 2012Music Background:
    student (aren't we all)

    perfect for upright bass

    You do yourself a disservice by calling this a guitar cable. It works perfectly with an upright bass. This gives bass players on-off and volume control right on the instrument. A real plus. Two Thumbs Up.

  • Roger Ellis Bruner
    from Glen Allen, VA October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Fifty years of playing guitar

    Just what I needed

    I'd recently bought a GS-mini, which I use at my church's nursing home ministry. Toting my Martin back and forth had gotten to be a pain, and the 3/4 size Taylor was perfect.. But what wasn't perfect was using a regular cable and having no control over the volume at the guitar.

    So I ordered the v-cable, and it does everything I expected. What I hadn't caught on to--and this made the v-cable even more perfect--was the fact that the volume control actually turns off, which makes connecting and disconnecting so much nicer because it doesn't cause any noise at the amp.

    If I'm so satisfied with my purchase, why only four stars? I realize Sweetwater is doing the best it can, but this cable just costs too doggone much!

  • Dave
    from July 20, 2012

    taylor v cable

    excellent product. i thought it will not work with my piezo tranducer pick up but wow, it works great, using with my acousitc guitar and ukulele. thanks sweetwater.

  • Dave Barnes
    from London, England April 13, 2012Music Background:
    Blues Guitarist

    Essential Equipment

    A well designed piece of kit for acoustic guitars fitted wih aftermarket pasive or active pickups without preamps.Functions perfectly giving players essential volume control. I recommend it.

  • Don Mc Coy
    from Cincinnati area April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Sevral years in accoustic music SF Bay area and Cincinnati. Some light rock mostly folk music.

    New Taylor V-Cable

    I was really pleased to, first of all, that someone would finally make a quality Volume control cable for Acoustic guitars. I have never been a Taylor fan by any stretch as I have played and owned 2 Martiin Guitars most of my 71 years and Taylor just isn't a Martin! However I feel they have done a great job in perfecting a quality product in this cable. It works fantasticaly letting the guitarist control his acoustic sound on vintage Martin guitars that have only a Fishman pickup.
    Sweetwater did a fabulous job both in pricing and quick service..I had not heard of your company until my son asked me to check you out. Your compettion wasn't even close to your pricing. We still do a lot of acoustic playing in Coffeehouses, churches, and we will definitely spread the word for you. Your pricing and service can't be beat. Keep up the great work!

  • Terry Waugh
    from RSM CA March 24, 2012Music Background:
    Occasionally gigging cover band.

    Taylor V-Cable

    The best thing about this cable is the off switch. Turn the volume knob all the way down past the detent and you can unplug from the guitar without that horrible, loud explosive sound from the amp. No more walking over to the amp to change volume or unplug.

  • Customer
    from December 2, 2011

    Excellent cable

    Excellent cable that works exactly as advertised. Solid construction and the convenience of a built-in volume pot.

  • Scott Wayne
    from February 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Audio/Live performance musician/Broadcast pro.

    Taylor V-Cable

    As good as can be expected from a guitar company electronic cable.
    Pricey but adequate.

  • Tim
    from Okc January 18, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    V- cable

    It works as advertised. Big problem for me, an acoustic player who performs sitting-- the volume knob constantly lowers whenever it rubs against anything - like your leg. I put a rubber band around it to increase friction - it broke pretty quickly. The knob changes smoothly but they need to make it harder to rotate to fix this problem.

  • Neil Kraft
    from NW Ohio July 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro, weekend warrior, pub performer.

    Not So Fast

    This is a great idea, but poorly executed by a big company. The quality of this product is top notch, Taylor has a reputation of making quality equipment this does not fall short of that fact. While performing in a sit position the volume knob was constantly being turned down or up whenever it brushed up against me or something else. The notch click to "off" is a nice feature but giving a review of how something works in the off position is crazy. I would like to see volume knobs with notches from 0- 10. I can't see the knob so I have no idea where my volume is set. I'm reluctant to use this, if I could find the packaging I'd send it back.

  • Rich Fredrick
    from Chicago October 28, 2013Music Background:
    gigging musician

    poor quality

    Shortly after receiving this product the volume pot began to get noisy. I had to spray it with cleaner to get it to work. At a gig, in the middle of a set, I swapped guitars and the cable pulled right out of the jack. Luckily, I always bring spare cables. For what this cable costs it is of very poor quality. The cable wire ends are attached to the potentiometer with a very delicate ribbon cable and this is what pulled apart. I'm shocked that Taylor would put their name on this piece of junk.

Questions about the Taylor V-Cable - 250k 18-feet?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway