0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (boxed - includes iLok) Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (boxed - includes iLok)?

Questions about the Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (boxed - includes iLok)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Scott Augustyniak

    There is magic behind the Slate Digital Virtual Console Collection plugin. At first, I didn't notice any drastic change to my mix. But after adding this to most of my tracks and busses, I was confused on why my mix felt so right being "in the box." It had warmth, depth, and noticeable separation of elements. I finally found that extra touch to bring my mixes to life and glue the pieces together!

  • from Naples, FL August 10, 2015Music Background:
    Former Pro Keyboards/Home Recordist

    Completely Flabbergasted

    So, I've been reading reviews and opinions on the VCC for years and finally had to find out what all the hoopla was about. Had a positive feeling going into the purchase, and now wonder WHY I waited.
    Just threw the VCC on a tube that was already mixed, and...Oh boy... The vocals virtually (ha!) leapt from the monitors, and the song really coalesced into a 'pro-sounding' mix!
    Everyone needs to have this program. can I be more clear? You deserve to have it!
    Thanks to Sean Geyer for always being such a great source for ideas and for making things easy. He's the greatest.

  • from Housatonic, MA October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    True console emulation!

    A true replication of the real thing, great purchase! You'll use it on every mix! Only downside is that it sucks up all of your processing power if you don't have a decked out MacPro tower, but you'll make the effort to find ways around that, trust me!

  • from Laredo, TX October 18, 2013Music Background:
    High School Teacher

    I'm still in denial

    I have no idea what this thing does behind the scenes but I don't care. I definitely like what I hear.

  • from Pensacola, FL March 19, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer (15 years), Producer, Musician,

    Breathe New Life Into Your Mixes!

    This plugin throws me back to my intern days. I came up in the industry interning at some major label studios working first hand on the consoles emulated in this plugin. I currently use Presonus Studio One Professional 2.5...This is indeed by far the best DAW on the market right now, blowing away Pro-Tools (or as I call Pro-Fools). I was already getting amazing mixes and sound quality from Presonus studio one, but when I added The Slate Digital VCC plugin, it added an element that just took ALL my mixes to a new level sonically. you hear more definition and detail in your mixes. I am very glad that I got this plugin.

    CONS: and this is a big one... Slate Digital VCC requires an iLOK. I HATE iLOK's. I understand the need to combat piracy, however, iloks are the most annoying things ever. But! I will use it just to have the amazing plugin like this!

  • from Columbus, OH February 15, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    The next best thing

    If you can't afford the gear that these plugins models..these are the next best thing. They live up to teh hype and that doesn't happen often.

  • from Chicago,IL November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Musician, Home Producer

    Fantastic

    At first you won't realize what this is doing unless you have very well-developed ears for this sort of thing. Once you compare mixes with and without it, though, you will experience why this is so great. Each console has different effects, and the manual explains this very well. The effect on the drums particularly is remarkable, so wide and full (this is with a certain console I can't recall at the moment). Also, the ability to combine the complex algorithms together on one track makes for some extremely interesting and subtle effects. A must-have for anyone working straight off their DAW's at home, adds a whole new dimension.

  • from Liberty, MO October 31, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years in the Music Business

    Slate Digital is the BEST!

    No matter what the software from Slate Digital is, be it SSD4 drums, the VCC Virltual Console (which I just purchased), or the VTM Virtual Tape Machine, they are all fantastic. Again, the folks at Sweetwater do an excellent job of giving a perspective buyer sound and valued advice regarding any and all types of gear.

  • from October 26, 2012Music Background:
    Label owner and recording engineer

    Slate digital VCC

    This is true Analog emulated. These plugins are the first plugins that truly
    bring out the analog factor in your inbox mixes. The sound is solid well rounded and very easy on the ear.

    I would like to thank Steven and Fabrice for the game changing plugins and their availability on forums!

  • from Los Angeles October 18, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Independent Artist

    AMAZING PLUG-IN!!!

    This plug-in makes the usual black and white digital mix come to color. I had the chance to do some work with three of the brands emulated and I was amazed to recognize the character that I used to hear mixing on consoles. The effect is subtle in the way that it works with what you are doing, but it is quite noticeable by how your mix gains more depth and the sound of individual tracks get richer in texture. All of this in a very musical way. A lot of people say you have to mix with the plug-in so you can get the full extent of what it can do and I agree to that 100%. At that point the plug-in becomes more of a mixing tool than an effect you would just slap on a track and you will have a lot more fun in the process. Normally I would be happy to work on any one of those consoles and not throw a fit, but to top that off this plug-in has 5 flavors to choose from. I now got in the habit of being picky about which console I use to mix a given project. I never thought I would have that luxury and not a lot of engineers have it when working with real desks. If you are passionate about the recording aspect of making music you should put this product on top of your to get list!

  • from Bay Area, CA. October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Songwriter, Producer, Student

    Great Investment, Hands Down

    This is TRULY a great product. I've always mixed in the box and have yet to find that tasteful addition to my mixes that gave them the *umph* they needed. I recently Invested in the VCC after reading convincing reviews and hearing numerous audio samples. After throwing this on a few past mixes I've done, I can honestly say that it adds a character that redefines the sonic integrity of the project and helps it realize new a potential and authenticity that I never would have thought imaginable... especially being strictly in the box.

  • from Orlando, FL June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer/(Recording Academy) Engineer/Arranger & Full Sail RA-Student

    Create something that works like it should....and THESE DO.

    A Great plugin that does what it should....It gives a "character" change by itself, and in conduction with such plugins as Waves SSL & Softube EQ & Comp plugins. I've used it on the Master BUS in both Logic Pro 9 & PT 10 and on the BUS for Drums.....WoW!!! Great job and looking forward to the Tape plugin coming from Slate Digital Virtual.

  • from queens, new york May 29, 2012Music Background:
    producer /engineer

    Slate Vcc the very best for you mix

    At first you 'ill hardly notice the change in the stanrdard setup. But the higher frequency blending is unbelieve once you begin adjusting ever so slowly. Wow the over sampling encourage you to drive the signal to 0db and more. You won't be disappointed in the MIX. Don't forget on the surface the changes are always subtle. But you will miss then once you remove the VCC. Even when the plugin is turn off it still does minor changes in the mix. You got to remove the plugin insert entirely. You MUST try the tube in both the channel and the Bus Mix. I am looking forward in acquiring the Slate compressor G-FX.

  • from JAM Studios, San German, PR November 3, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer Grammy voting member

    Warm.........rich.......

    This plug will not fix a mix......however, it will enrich the sound of it. For those of us looking for tonal separation, frecuency definition, and just overall platinum record sound.......this is it.

  • from 616 October 6, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Fantastic plugin!!!

    Waw ... Fired a demo and I saw what it can do with the mix - I bought it.
    Mix becomes the third dimension, warm and rich sound. This is BETA version, but I think that the next amendments can only bring better sound. I recommend to any mix in the DAW.

  • from Atlanta, GA March 6, 2015Music Background:
    professional producer/ engineer, songwriter, performer

    Awesome!

    Vcc sounds great! It's subtle, but it helps bring your mixes alive. Each console had its own vibe and it's great to have that flexibility. I'm still getting used to it, but I've been very happy.

  • from L.A., CA. USA September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Composer/Producer

    I won't mix without it again.

    I don't know what is going on, but my mixes have a cohesion and warmth that was missing before. It's subtle, but when you already have great front end, plugin and outboard effects, it's the little edge this product gives that just makes stuff feel good.

  • from Charlotte, NC, USA September 28, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Producer, Pro Musician

    A definite PLUS....!

    Mannnnn...this plug-in definitely adds some 'magic' to the mix. Like Frank's Hot Sauce...'I put that @$*% on EVERYTHING'.

    It is making a definite improvement in clarity and definition of individual channels and overall mix. I wish I had this for a previous project before mastering!

    BTW....IT'S NOW ON SALE....GET IT.....!

  • from Detroit MI April 19, 2011Music Background:
    Professional commercial production, recording engineer, music production library.

    Does it really sound like 4 big expensive consoles?

    You're not going to want to hear that there's no substitute for mixing skills, but there's no substitute for mixing skills. However if you use this plug in with realistic expectations, you may be pleasantly surprised.

    This plug in is not dramatic. It didn't knock me out of my seat when I switched in in. However, it does do something to the mix which is quite pleasing to the ear and it does have quite a bit of the "mojo" which so many mixers are looking for when doing everything "in the box"

    To be totally upfront I use plug in in conjuction with the SSL UAD emulation plug in, and when used in conjunction with each other, there's some sort of mojo that begins to happen that sends chills down my spine.

    To sum up. The Steven Slate Virtual Console is more subtle than dramatic. It does help to give your mix that 'forward moving' effect that a major board does. Does it sound exactly like an SSL or Neve?
    It's getting closer than ever before.

  • from Boise, ID USA February 19, 2015Music Background:
    Music Production, Composer

    The VCC Virtual Console, by Slate Digital

    I'm deeply appreciative for what Slate Digital has done in terms of allowing me to strive in making music in a rewarding way. I rate this plug-in as a 4.0 and not a 5 simply because I haven't worked enough projects with it, yet. But from my experience, thus far, I'm loving it and relating to what it does in terms of the overall sound of the mix. I'm a firm believer in the subtle influence - and once again, Slate Digital nails it by providing a console sound that's musical. This is an easy sell since I grew up on tape and dusty consoles. If you're reading this and you have had little, or no exposure to recording out of the box, simply trust your ears and listen in terms of how the mix feels more glued together while making EQ decisions becomes more enjoyable and rewarding. The console is well thought out while the grouping possibilities are heaven sent across a larger mix. I'm glad I have invested in this plug-in and thrilled that I can actually work within the influences of analogue, however with all the amazing benefits of digital. Recording in the box is a dream-come-true for me. I've been working in the box for years now. Thanks, Guys! You nailed it....again.

  • from Indio, Ca January 2, 2014Music Background:
    Composer/producer

    Subtle bit of technology

    Slate's virtual console is one of those plugins that actually doesn't make a big difference to your tracks and final mixes - until you take it off and realize what you're missing. To say that what it does is subtle is understating things. It's almost inaudible in many cases until you do an A/B comparison. It seems to give the track or mix a character that is difficult to describe but one that is rather enjoyable. At least when you use a compressor or limiter you usually know what you're trying to achieve. With the VCC, it's more like "let's throw this on and see what happens" because honestly, I can't tell you what it does from a technical point of view. I just know I like it. Set up isn't really that intuitive at first but it begins to make sense the more you use it. It can introduce distortion so be careful with the drive and output knobs. Put this on every track and then the virtual Mix bus on your master fader. You will enjoy the results if you tweak properly. If you can tell me what is does and why you like it, you're a better man than I.

  • from Kentucky October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist of 46 years. Mix engineer 4 years

    Great Tools!

    This product is a great bunch of tools to have in the bag. Geared a bit more for the mixer who has done this a while, these tools are powerful. Certainly a step up from the plug-ins that came with your DAW. Loud and punchy to warm and soft. You'll use these a lot.

Questions about the Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (boxed - includes iLok)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway