0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (download) Reviews

5.0 stars based on 34 customer reviews
Questions about the Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (download)?

Questions about the Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (download)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Ashton Vaudt

    With the Slate Digital Virtual Console Collection, I'm able to run my mixes through one of five classic studio recording consoles for just a sliver of the price! It adds an extra dimension to the sound that regular in-the-box mixing just can't deliver. This is a plug-in that is used on every one of my sessions.

  • from Miami August 28, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Producer/Songwriter

    awesome!

    I'm kind of new in the Mixing/Mastering field, but I have to say since I started couple years ago to do it I'm so happy I've got these sets of plug-ins, it really changes ur mixes, it gives just the right depth, more space and clarity to the whole thing! Sounds great!

  • from Kansas City, MO October 5, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer

    Great plugin!

    Such a great plugin! I definitely like it better than the NLS plug. Adds a nice glue and it doesn't eat to much power.

  • from Boston, MA July 2, 2014

    Impressed

    Even though it's very subtle you can hear the differences when you pick the different console types. The buss component really just helps the mix sound like it's coming out of the speakers more, and different than just using a stereo widener.

    I bought this after I already was getting mixes I liked and have acoustic treatment, good mics and preamps. If you're looking for it to change your mix or sound like an effect you'll be disappointed. I really like the combination of using this with the VTM and VBC, they all work together very nicely which was probably the intent when they were making it.

  • from United States March 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Semi Pro Engineer

    Another Slate WIN!

    Have worked with the plug-in for only 5 months, so still in the honeymoon phase but WOW! Blown Away, is no joke. The differences in console choices are very noticeable. Neve, warm. SSL, modern and bright, API...my favorite, just sounds great.
    Amazed how simple, subtle this is, yet adds so much at the same time, black magic is all I come up with.
    Might not be for everyone (I'm partial to Slate) but for the price, how nice it is on processors (last song had around 50 channels and 15 buss instances and they played quite nicely, allowing plenty of CPU for EQs, Comps, Verbs, Delays) and the end results for ITB, glad I made the purchase!

  • from Paonia March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Performer , sound engineer, studio owner.

    The best

    Everything Slate Digital does is above and beyond anything else out there period. Truly superior. I buy and use all their stuff and it changes my digital sound from the ground up.

  • from Indiana March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Home recording, musician

    Adds glue to the mix

    Great product. Definitely give it a try before you buy! Awesome sound, really hard to describe exactly what it does, but it adds a little bit of life to your sound!

  • from Van Nuys, California February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/ Studio Owner

    VCC is the bomb

    it makes everything phatter, no for real it's a great plugin. Try it and see for your self.

  • from Boiling Springs, SC USA January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Studio Owner

    Worth Every Penny !!

    The reviews on this plug-in were dead on !! It just makes everything you put it on sound awesome !! I saw it called a "Better-izer".....That's a perfect word to describe what it is !! Drop it on every track, and the master for that matter, and you have an incredible starting point for your mixes, and it will get you to the sound you want faster, speeding up your workflow, which is invaluable to busy engineers !! Slate does it again !!!!

  • from TN January 18, 2014

    Amazing

    Slate Digital products are the best in my opinion, and the way the VCC enhances my mixes is simply unparalleled by any other plugin. I've tried other console emulators, but they can't compete with the quality of this product. I never mix without it!

  • from florida January 6, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician/recording engineer

    VCC and VTM the sound I was looking for...

    what i like about the vcc... everything it does to a mix, it is a subtle effect you just can't mix without ,it wont fix a bad mix but it will take your well recorded tracks to new heights, five stars for the price and sound,pair the vcc with Slate's virtual tape for the sound you been searching for ,,literally that was the sound I was looking for. this is my vocal chain miktek C7 mic in to summit audio 2BA-221 mic-pre and I am using Black lion audio white sparrow for conversion and boy did the VCC and VTM polished the sound in a way is hard to describe ,you got to here it for your self get the demo if you don't believe these reviews.

  • from Princeton, NJ January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound, singer/songwriter

    Amazing Plug-in!

    I absolutley love this plug-in. The subtle warmth it adds has given me the feel and sound of old analog desks and pre's. Truly a blessing. I've been looking for a natural sounding desk within my DAW. This is the answer!! AND, it takes up very little resources. If you're looking for an analog sound from your sterile DAW desk.... This is the deal!!! This thing ROCKS!!

  • from Redding CA January 1, 2014Music Background:
    25 year recording and mixing hobbyist

    VCC adds another dimension to my mixes.

    I have heard people say that VCC adds a subtle effect. Maybe my monitors and listing room is better than there's because I hear a big difference. I use VCC on every mix and it helps every time. I just hope the local guys I am competing with don't find out about this. If you mix "in the box" you will most likely benefit from VCC.

  • from Alexandria, VA December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Mixer/Live musician

    A dream come true

    Although itís been said before in review, it bears repeating. This really is a game changer! To me, this effect is not subtle at all when placed on all tracks for a mix. It really changes the character of a mix. Try this. Place this on every track of your session. Then do a bypass of the plugin. Not subtle at all. It sounds great on everything. It tames harsh electric guitars, adds warmth to bass, and adds a fantastic sheen on vocals. The different models really do each have their own character. If youíre serious about mixing, you owe it to yourself to give this a try. I was blown away by the sound. There is a big change in my mixes after I started using this. I use it now on every mix I do. I should point out I mainly do pop/rock oriented music. I imagine it sounds great on everything you put through it. This is always the first in my chain, followed by UAD Studer A800. You HAVE to give this a try!

    PS-Iíve owned this for nearly a year. Iím lazy, and finally getting around to reviewing products I own, and love. Itís so helpful to me when making purchases. VCC collection is excellent. Now go get this and make some killer mixes! Cheers!
    -Brian

  • from December 3, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Mixing Engineer/ Vocal Trainer/ Choir Director/ Producer

    This is a Game Changer

    I've tried other Virtual Console Emulators but this just gives your mix an openness and character that your clients will keep coming back to you for.
    Honestly I've been looking for a sound for years mixing In ThE Box and this plugin coupled with the Virtual Tape Machines and Virtual Bus Compressor nailed it. They don't cut corners at Slate Digital

    Stop reading this review and buy it now!

  • from Housatonic, MA October 30, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    True console emulation!

    A true replication of the real thing, great purchase! You'll use it on every mix! Only downside is that it sucks up all of your processing power if you don't have a decked out MacPro tower, but you'll make the effort to find ways around that, trust me!

  • from Columbus, OH February 15, 2013Music Background:
    musician

    The next best thing

    If you can't afford the gear that these plugins models..these are the next best thing. They live up to teh hype and that doesn't happen often.

  • from Chicago,IL November 7, 2012Music Background:
    Studio Musician, Home Producer

    Fantastic

    At first you won't realize what this is doing unless you have very well-developed ears for this sort of thing. Once you compare mixes with and without it, though, you will experience why this is so great. Each console has different effects, and the manual explains this very well. The effect on the drums particularly is remarkable, so wide and full (this is with a certain console I can't recall at the moment). Also, the ability to combine the complex algorithms together on one track makes for some extremely interesting and subtle effects. A must-have for anyone working straight off their DAW's at home, adds a whole new dimension.

  • from Liberty, MO October 31, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years in the Music Business

    Slate Digital is the BEST!

    No matter what the software from Slate Digital is, be it SSD4 drums, the VCC Virltual Console (which I just purchased), or the VTM Virtual Tape Machine, they are all fantastic. Again, the folks at Sweetwater do an excellent job of giving a perspective buyer sound and valued advice regarding any and all types of gear.

  • from October 26, 2012Music Background:
    Label owner and recording engineer

    Slate digital VCC

    This is true Analog emulated. These plugins are the first plugins that truly
    bring out the analog factor in your inbox mixes. The sound is solid well rounded and very easy on the ear.

    I would like to thank Steven and Fabrice for the game changing plugins and their availability on forums!

  • from Bay Area, CA. October 3, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Songwriter, Producer, Student

    Great Investment, Hands Down

    This is TRULY a great product. I've always mixed in the box and have yet to find that tasteful addition to my mixes that gave them the *umph* they needed. I recently Invested in the VCC after reading convincing reviews and hearing numerous audio samples. After throwing this on a few past mixes I've done, I can honestly say that it adds a character that redefines the sonic integrity of the project and helps it realize new a potential and authenticity that I never would have thought imaginable... especially being strictly in the box.

  • from Austin, TX November 29, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Mix Engineer, Occasional Recording Engineer (Mostly retired from that), Professional Musician.

    This works great!

    Seriously... Y'all... This thing works great! When I first got it, I loaded up some previous mixes I had done and tried the VCC System out on those. That went really well. Then I did a mix with the VCC System instantiated from the beginning. When I was done... I turned it off. Holy Toledo! Amazing.

    Here's the deal: I'm calling it a system because it uses multiple plug-in components that work together. There's a great "Group" Function that lets you set all the instances at once. This is good because there's one on every channel. However... Even when they're grouped you can still adjust them individually by control-clicking the controls. The interface is really well put together.

    You really just have to hear it. Get the demo... Do a mix with it and then turn it off and listen to the difference. You'll be hooked.

    With an awesome interface that includes the aforementioned group function, the ability to have multiple groups with which to use that function, the freedom to audition multiple consoles on the fly, and the fact that it actually sounds amazing... I'm in love with this thing. What a great tool!

  • from Madison, WI November 13, 2011Music Background:
    Piano player, learning Recording Engineer

    Slate Virtual Console Collection

    This plugin has changed the way I mix. I am going back and redoing everything that I have done for the past year.

    I have never had the opportunity to work in a large studio with an expensive analog board. So I was ignorant. I knew that my mixes didn't have the richness that I was looking for, but I didn't know how to get it - until I bought this plugin.

    Harmonic distortion is the answer. I now put this plugin on every track that I mix. VCC is the starting point. It is so much easier to get a full, musical and satisfying mix using this thing. I anxiously await the day when I have made so much money mixing with VCC that I can afford real analog gear.

    This was absolutely the best $275 I have spent all year.

  • from Phoenix, AZ November 2, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Song Writer, Pro Musician

    Awesome Product, worth the money

    It can be hard to justify to any financial decision maker why you should buy this product because anyone who's never mixed or even used a session may not understand the benefits of this plug-in....However, if you mix in the digital world and wish you had an analog console, this is a definite must. It brings life that only mixing outside of the box can. I was working on a mix project and after mixing a few songs, and then trying this on a suggestion, I had to buy it within the next hour. I had to add an instance to every channel in my PT Session and it breathes of life and just has depth that the mix didn't have. Awesome, awesome, awesome!! Performance is super, like I listed...48+ channel mix and an instance of VCC is on each track and each mix buss...the Neve is my favorite with the brit 4k on some of the busses along with the API on some of the others (perc session)

  • from Atlanta, GA September 5, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Enginneer. Recording,mixing,mastering a wide genre of music

    Subtle but effective

    Everything I have used the VCC on has made it better. Putting the VCC on before you mix makes a huge differance. All the consoles have their sonic placement. What I like most is the grouping function and the ability to disable globaly. Probably the best most affective plugin I've purchased besides my UAD. It makes all your plugs function a little different and still works well with your analog gear also. Improves the stereo image and placement of items.

  • from Fargo, ND August 28, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur producer, songwriter, vocalist, guitarist

    Fantastic Tone and Character

    As an amateur producer, I do not have personal experience working with the analog consoles after which these plugins are modeled, but I can say, without a doubt, the character and tone you get from just applying these plugins is wonderful. I am currently in love with the Neve emulationóso warm and fat. It took a bit of tweaking as the effect can be quite dynamic when dialing in the input, but I found a nice sweet spot without having to dial much of the input at all. Being able to group all of the instances together is a real nice option so you can make one adjustment to the entire mix. As with most Slate products, this tool is amazing and I highly recommend it.

  • from Seattle July 26, 2015Music Background:
    Roots electronica

    Beautiful

    I just took a very good mix, one I was happy with, and revised it including the VCC. I placed drums, bass and piano into one group, with a small amount of drive selected on each virtual console channel. Guitar went into its own group, with more drive. The electronic "breathing orchestra" in a third group, lots of drive in each channel. A-B listening with the earlier mix, the one I was happy with, and the new VCC version is bigger. The electronic instrument space just became so luscious with this thing. My good mix now sounds expensive. Alas now I want to go back and remix all of my music with this.

  • from United States September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Owner at THStudios, Film Sound Designer, Recording/Mix Engineer

    VCC - Like Ice Cream On Your Pie

    Apple Pie is great! Ice Cream is great! Put them together, and it might just be the best thing since you spilled butter on your sliced bread. However, sometimes you just want some pie - sans the ice cream.

    If I had 1000 words to describe VCC, I would simply say "Magic sauce... that is, most of the time." VCC is a great tool, that will almost always improve the vibe of your mixes in nearly every way. Not only does it add a very tasty, creamy vibe to things, but it can do wonders in the stereo field of your mixes. Since I purchased it, I haven't ventured into a single mix without it instantiated on nearly every channel; and while it tends toward quite subtle, the end result can be drastic. Sometimes I even use it as form EQ on my tracks, or for some gorgeous saturation (drums anyone?). On the rare occasion, I have found that it wasn't particularly working for me (a bit too heavy on the "sweets") - but RARE is the keyword there. Throw VCC on your mixes today, and they'll still thank you tomorrow!

  • from Houston, Tx June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, producer, song writer, artist.

    Next level for the digital engineer

    Great product. Does exactly what it said it would do. It gives that analog sound to each of your tracks. The 5 different console bring each of your tracks to life with a wider dynamic. If you are looking for that next step to making your beats sound better. Then this is it. Only draw back is if you don't run at lease 16 GB of ram and a quad core processor it has trouble the more tracks you have. The program is very processor intensive.

  • from Tampa, FL May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Music Producer/Engineer/Musician

    Exceptional

    Very happy with this. I really expected it to be more subtle, but it really does make a meaningful difference, and the various models definitely have their own sonic fingerprints.

    By putting this on FIRST I'm finding that I do get the warmth and sweetness out of a mix quicker and easier, with less plugins. And during mixing it is interesting to change console models to see how it impacts the mix.

    While this is great on its own, for a truly fantastic ITB experience try it along with the Slate Digital Virtual Tape Machine and Virtual Buss Compressors... you won't regret it

  • from L.A., CA. USA September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Composer/Producer

    I won't mix without it again.

    I don't know what is going on, but my mixes have a cohesion and warmth that was missing before. It's subtle, but when you already have great front end, plugin and outboard effects, it's the little edge this product gives that just makes stuff feel good.

  • from California May 20, 2013Music Background:
    Studio and live sound engineer and electronic music artist

    That big console sound

    I love this plugin. This solves all my basic harmonic distortion and preamp coloration needs. VCC really does give you the mixing feel and sound of the classic consoles. No joke. This goes on almost every channel.

  • from Seattle July 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineeer, Pro musician.

    Subtle and not overbearing, like the perfect girlfriend.

    Subtle but yet not overbearing coloration of the sound. Nice to have these consoles handy via this plug in. Helps the mixes I do on my outboard mixer.

  • from Seminole, FL January 5, 2014Music Background:
    musician, performer, home studio fanantic

    Nice adds a subtle

    This plugin is one that when you switch it in you will not immediately notice it working like for example a reverb. You may notice it once you have been listening for a while and then turn it off. It is so subtle. My simple explanation of VCC is that it adds some harmonic distortion and some mild equalization that are associated with old classic consoles and the result is tracks seem to blend together better. It is a pleasing "effect" and adds a vintage flavor I like.

  • from Indio, Ca January 2, 2014Music Background:
    Composer/producer

    Subtle bit of technology

    Slate's virtual console is one of those plugins that actually doesn't make a big difference to your tracks and final mixes - until you take it off and realize what you're missing. To say that what it does is subtle is understating things. It's almost inaudible in many cases until you do an A/B comparison. It seems to give the track or mix a character that is difficult to describe but one that is rather enjoyable. At least when you use a compressor or limiter you usually know what you're trying to achieve. With the VCC, it's more like "let's throw this on and see what happens" because honestly, I can't tell you what it does from a technical point of view. I just know I like it. Set up isn't really that intuitive at first but it begins to make sense the more you use it. It can introduce distortion so be careful with the drive and output knobs. Put this on every track and then the virtual Mix bus on your master fader. You will enjoy the results if you tweak properly. If you can tell me what is does and why you like it, you're a better man than I.

Questions about the Slate Digital VCC Virtual Console Collection 2.0 Plug-in Bundle (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway