0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Slate Digital VBC Virtual Buss Compressors Plug-in Bundle (download) Reviews

5.0 stars based on 33 customer reviews
Questions about the Slate Digital VBC Virtual Buss Compressors Plug-in Bundle (download)?

Questions about the Slate Digital VBC Virtual Buss Compressors Plug-in Bundle (download)?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Tyler Berggren

    Slate Digital VBC lives on my mix buss. Before I even start mixing, this thing is in place, ready to glue everything together and keep my transients in place. VBC does what Slate is best known for - excellent analog modeling. After A/Bing VBC against many hardware compressors, I'm just as happy running my mix through this as I would be a nice outboard rack. I like to start with just the FG Grey active with some classic buss comp settings. After I've got my mix mostly in place, I'll usually mix in some FG Red in parallel and round things out with gentle compression from the FG MU.

  • from SWFL March 8, 2016Music Background:
    Former Pro Out to Pasture

    More Important Than I thought

    Not having worked with the 'real' versions of these compressors I wasn't sure how they would work and whether they would make any difference in my demos. Now in a short time I can't imagine working without them.
    You may have read in a blog something like: "...just having them in the chain enhances my sound". Well, it's true. However, if you fiddle with the presets and don't overuse them they can be a lot more than your typical plugin compressors.

  • from February 23, 2016Music Background:
    Artist, Producer, Studio Owner.

    Unreal...simply unreal!

    Honestly as a huge UAD2 user I'm always reluctant to try other developers for Plugins but I made the choice to purchase this Buss Compressor Bundle from Slate and I would never look back now! Honestly Slate Digitals quality is evenly matched in my opinion with other top end Plugin Emulations. And if course I chose to purchase this through Sweetwater because of their customer service, care, tech support and overall no better deal you can find online! I highly highly recommend this bundle...it will take your mixes to the next level. You'll forget your using a Plugin....it may be digital under the hood but the frame is all analog!

  • from New York December 27, 2015Music Background:
    Record Producer/ Mixing n Recording Engineer

    Outstanding Plugin Processor by Slate

    Slate surely lived up the hype! After i've tested the comps I'm now using it on number of mixes and in less than a month it became my new go to for a couple of things.
    The Grey is definitely my first grab for drum groups as well as the master bus for glueing most of my electronic mixes. On vocals the MU was stellar with smooth compression while leveling out peaks in a nice n pleasing manner. The units by themselves add a bit of analog type saturation by simply running your signals through them, which is pretty impressive from the get go. I love the red on most of my hard hitting mixes like rock, metal n percussive mixes. The MU does a great job on most mixes esspecially instrumetal type mixes where synths n less percussive instruments are involved. Great Unit. Awesome price! Definitely a must have for any engineer's aresnal. Give it a demo n hear it for yourself.
    Great stuff again from Steven, Fabrice, Paul n all the folks at Slate. I'm completely happy n satisfied with this purchase. It was definitely a steal at the price I was given by u folks here at Sweetwater! Happy Camper :)

  • from August 28, 2015

    awesome!

    Great default settings, tweaking it u get what u like to hear, but by itself is just amazing!

  • from SC August 2, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, studio owner

    Sorry I waited !!!

    It's amazing !!!! It really is just awesome sauce !!!! Drop it on your 2 buss and it adds just a beautiful glue without even touching the settings as others have said !!! Try dropping it on at the beginning of your session and adjust your faders and panning and tweek the VBC settings its a great way to start your mix !!!!

  • from New York June 18, 2015Music Background:
    Mastering Engineer, drummer

    Save thousands of dollars!

    I can't even put into words how blown away I am by what these plug-ins give you for the money. One of these compressors alone is worth thousands. This program emulates them exactly! Just make sure you have enough RAM on your computer.

  • from Waterford, MI USA March 26, 2015Music Background:
    Worship leader, recording and mix engineer, musician, student, etc.

    Amazing Dynamics Bundle!

    As with any plugin, this will not fix a bad mix, but it will take any mix to the next level. Each one of the compressors in this bundle has a very unique tone or color to it (and I'm talking about just having it inserted and not compressing at all yet). The coloring is fairly subtle, but, as soon as you bypass the processing, it really feels like something is missing.

    I tend toward using these more for their tone coloring than for their compression and use the individual units on mix busses (sub mixes, group tracks, whatever you call them) more like an EQ to help separate things in the mix. I do like kissing a db or two with a longer attack time on the drum buss with the FG-Grey. I like putting the rack on the stereo buss, turning up the "Drive" on the FG-Red and getting some very subtle gluing from the FG-MU. Follow this up with a linear multiband compressor into Virtual Tape Machine and my mixes are radio ready!

    Get this plugin. Even if you don't use much or any compression on your mix or master busses, the analog vibe and color will be welcome additions to your toolkit. Cheers!

  • from Atlanta, GA February 27, 2015Music Background:
    professional producer/ engineer, songwriter, performer

    Awesome!

    Each of these 3 buss compressors sound amazing, but getting all 3 for such a low price is even better! VBC has made my mixes pop more, while gluing them together. Adds vibe and warmth, punch, and overall more professional sounding mixes.

  • from Tacoma, Washington February 25, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Hobbyist

    Spoiled

    Perhaps the worst thing about VBC is that it is easy to under appreciate the work and quality the software was created with. All 3 Bus Compressors are great. I recently started digging deeper into the RED emulation and with the Chris Lord Algae preset it is freaking awesome. Instantly everything gets tighter and you realize how flabby the low end of your mix was without getting an unnatural pumping.

  • from Atlanta, Ga February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Home studio guy

    Superb plugin

    I was impressed by the demo, but I tested nearly a dozen other channel strip plugins just to be sure. Slate won the competition in my mind. The mix knobs on the compressors are invaluable for parallel processing & dialing in the sound. The equalizers sound amazing. Plenty of helpful presets to get u started. It doesn't hurt that the modules look cool -- not like some other plugins that look like a weird cross between Star Trek and a child's play set. PLUS Steven Slate has some great mix tutorials freely available on youtube. What's not to love?

  • from January 6, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter,Producer

    Nice!

    I heard and read a lot about Steven Slate, he seems to know what he is doing, so I purchased my first Slate Digital plugin and it will not be my lasted.

  • from United States September 30, 2014Music Background:
    Owner at THStudios, Film Sound Designer, Recording/Mix Engineer

    VBC Does Not Disappoint!

    VBC became my go-to from day one. If I had 1000 words to describe them, I would simply say, "Magic sauce." I have never used their hardware counterparts, so I cannot attest to their "accuracy" - but I CAN say that they are by far, the best sounding buss compressors I've ever used! If you're looking for some creamy, analog vibe - these deliver. If you couldn't care less about vibe - they're still phenomenal tools that will blow you away.

    Treat your mixes to VBC today, and tomorrow they'll still thank you!

  • from Syracuse, NY August 11, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Awesome

    These compressors are great, musical compressors. Whether you want compression, or just the color of the plug-ins on your tracks, these will do the job. You don't even have to have the needles moving and these compressors make your mixes sound better.

  • from Minneapolis, MN USA June 23, 2014Music Background:
    Been in the music business since 99, engineered a US #1 single.

    Enhance your mix

    Slate does it again! I'm just waiting for him to come around and say just kidding you owe me another three hundred dollars for that. I throw the red compressor on my drum buss with super light compression then the other two on the master buss. I usually don't even compress with the ssl style compressor just want the harmonics it ads, this is a must have.

  • from Clarksburg, WV June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and Home Recording

    Steven Slate Digital makes a 10 + on this one.

    After looking into Waves and the Apollo Quad. I thought I would try the Slate Digital VBC and I must say I was blown away! The compressors did everything I wanted without busting the bank or extra fees. At the advice of my Sales Engineer Tyler Berggren (ext. 1258) who does everything possible for his customers. I tried the FG-GREY on the Main Mix, the FG-RED on the drums and the FG-MU on the vocals and master with great results. I love the FG-RED on the drums! It gives me the heavy punch that I look for and keeps everything under control. Sometimes I find that to be a thin line to walk on, but the VBC does the job with a 10+. I will be purchasing other Slate Digital products as they become available in AAX. As always great job Slate Digital and Sweetwater.

  • from Alabama May 20, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Arts Pastor, Engineer

    Incredible Tool

    I Am Loving this plugin. I have been one that has struggled with the blandness of digital recording, and processing in the past has just not achieved the complexity of sound that you get with certain hardware.

    Plugins like this get us a step closer. There are subtleties to the sound that cannot be achieved through alternative means (EQ, distortion of any type, multiband compression, exciters, etc.)

    I now have VBC, VCC, and VTM. I have all 3 on every mix I have done since.....just phenomenal.

  • from El paso texas May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/Mixing engineer

    Just Incredible

    Sound amazing
    i can used almost in everything from individual instruments or also in the master two buss

    300 % recommended

  • from Tampa, FL April 21, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Producer, Mix Engineer, Musician

    Fantastic

    I told my sales guy - I really don't need any more plugin compressors. I have plenty and what I want is more hardware. And then, I downloaded the demo....

    WOW! How did they pack so much analog goodness into these plugins ?!?! Seriously, these are fantastic. The Red really captures the vibe of the hardware, and in my mind is the best plugin version of that unit I've used.

    I can't speak with much authority as to how "spot on" the Grey and Mu compressor models are, but they sound incredibly good and again, I believe they may be the best sounding plugin versions of these units I've heard.

    I really like using the Red and the Mu together to glue the tracks, its rich and beautiful what it does. Overall a stunning collection, and a great deal for the price.

  • from April 9, 2014

    Slate VBC

    As someone who has used the Waves SSL collection, and Cytomic's "the glue" the VBC blows them both away. I was going to buy an SSL bus compressor clone kit to assemble the hardware myself, but I had to try the VBC before. The different compressors change your mixes in different, but very musical ways.

    Definitely in the top three plugins I've ever invested in.

  • from Seattle, WA February 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro

    A must have Plugin

    Bring your mixes to life. So good.

  • from United States January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    This is the magic sauce I have been looking for

    Slate Digital has done it again. I am very impressed the VBC plug-in bundle. VBC provides the "glue" to my mixes that i have been looking for. When your mixing "in the box" things tend to get a little stale. I have tried many other buss compressor but VBC adds something more than just compression. I can put it in to words exactly, but its adds vibe, depth, warmth and space somehow. If you mix in the box, VBC will add new life to your mixes IMO.

  • from December 28, 2013

    Life! Sound!

    The VCB is the best plug-in I've ever used. I tested it on some mixes I had worked on in the past to see what it could bring, and the answer was life! Energy! The mixes widened, thickened, and the bass tightened up! The controls are intuitive and give some amazing options - the low freq by-pass being my favorite. So I bought it. I'm still digging into the possibilities and learning how to finesse a sound that moves me, but after a few weeks I feel like I'm finding a work flow that works for me. I've used the individual compressors on stereo busses too, like strings and drums, and they've completely beat out the compressors I've gone to in the past.

  • from Tucson, AZ November 30, 2013Music Background:
    Mastering, Recording, Live Sound, Keyboardist

    Amazing!

    I have used Izotope Ozone 5 Advanced almost exclusively in my mastering chain.... until now! These amazing compressors go into my mastering chain almost every time now after Ozone and before maximizing with another iteration of ozone. I am not exactly sure what these things do, but all I can say it is like adding digital magic! I use the FG-Grey on almost all of my Drum Buses, and usually FG-Mu or FG-Red (or both) on my master bus. I have also used slight variations between the M and S components of the signal using FG-Mu with excellent results.

    I have toyed with getting more compressor plugins, but then I think to myself... Why? While I still use Ozone for multi-band compression, these have definitely filled in a very powerful niche for single band compression. These are modeled after some VERY expensive ($3,000-6,000) compressors, so for the price of this plugin, it is kind of hard to go wrong!

  • from San Luis Obispo, CA November 21, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer Producer violinist composer

    Give me more

    There's nothing like these compressors. My only wish is that they make more!

  • from November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, Vocal Trainer, Choir Director, Writer etc.

    Buy IT NOW!

    I normally used the Solid Buss Comp from Native Instruments for some time now. However, after downloading the demo version of this it was a no-brainer. The kicks become tight focused and punchier. The colour palettes are beautifully euphonic. It is definitely a game changer for In THE Box production. I bought it and immediately advised my other producer friends to purchase it. You won't regret this purchase... it's not just another set of compressors... it's what the digital world has been waiting for

  • from United States July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording engineer

    Slate VBC rules!

    I decided to purchase this for my Windows system and after reading some reviews on it, I felt it was probably a good thing to use on my tracks. Wow - I was totally blown away by this - I DID NOT expect it to sound so awesome! From a freaking plugin! Definitely worth the money and will make your master buss scream! Believe me - nothing compares to this! So happy I bought this!

  • from Poland July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musicia

    Excellent Compressors

    I have a trial version for a few days and I'm impressed.

    I compared it with Universal Audio, SSL Duende and Powercore and I know that I must have them! Mixes sound like never before until now, you have a little twist and feel the plugins but the effect is the bomb. It adds heat to the mix, and despite the large compression can still have a strong kick at the bottom.

    We recommend three great compressors for the price :))))

  • from July 30, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer - Studio Owner

    Sold Some Analog Gear Once I Bought This..

    I'm not a 5 star reviewer, I always believe that things can be better...but gosh...this product is really ****** good. I sold a Drawmer Comp once I added this to my plug-in arsenal (freeing up cash to buy more Slate gear?) and I am more than pleased. Slate has the best stuff in the plug-in world. I'm behind him and Fabrice 100%. Awesome stuff.

  • from Bulgaria February 23, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Steven Slate VBC

    It is a great plug-in.There really is some kind of magic inside this compressors

  • from baltimore MD January 6, 2014Music Background:
    production Artist/writer/producer

    Glue that mix!

    These are great compressor plugins! I had read a review on Pro Tool Expert Users Blog about these then watched a video on them that Russ had done. I wanted them right there and then. They are like glue for your mixes or across a buss. They have a sound which I like a lot. I have used a Fairchild hardware compressor in studios before but am not really concerned about it sounding like hardware; thats not now I work now everything is in the box and these sound great.

  • from Tucson, AZ December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist with full-time passion

    Pretty Solid So Far

    This plugin is by far one of the best that I've bought. I'm not a plugin guy and usually would steer away from encouraging people to buy them, but this thing is awesome! Just throwing on tracks makes them better. I use the Grey as my stereo mix bus comp and the red for drums since it's super fast. The Mu hybrid is great on vocals and other instruments with high freqs. Overall using them together can really glue a mix together. I must note that this these plugins all sound different and offer their own unique characteristics. Good job Slate Digital team, now give me more!

  • from December 26, 2015

    Wow

    It says what it does it brings a feel to your mix your hear things that it does like it knows the weak points it enhances everything

  • from Helenwood, TN December 27, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound & Recording Engineer & Performing Musician

    Great Character

    The FG-Grey reminds me alot of the Hardware G SSL Buss compressor that I have.

    I have most of the Steven Slate products and am a big fan but I think this one is the best one so far.

    Can't wait to see what is next !!!!!

Questions about the Slate Digital VBC Virtual Buss Compressors Plug-in Bundle (download)?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway