rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Bugera V55 1x12" 55-Watt Tube Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 7 customer reviews
  • from Ottawa, ON Canada January 5, 2014Music Background:
    Experienced player

    Great sounding amp, a sleeper

    Very surprised how great sounding this amp is; clean channel warm and smooth, nice bottom end. A switch on back changes the 12AX7s from triode to pentode, neat feature. Bias adjustment can be serviced without removing the chassis, it's on the underside, easily reachable. The stock speaker and tone stack are quite suitable. Reverb fine, A smart-looking amp that has a boutique appearance, very good quality, great price-point.

  • from Miami, FL March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Tube Amp for the price!

    I was always looking to get a tube amp but the cost was always too much for me. I was looking at PRS SE 30-50 watt model range but they got discontinued. So, I thought I was out of luck since I didn't want to spend 1,000+ on an amp. I came across this 55 watt Bugera that was extremely affordable and had some good (if limited number of) reviews. So, I scoured google and youtube for any and all reviews of this amp and I was surprised to find almost all of them were VERY positive. And from the sounds I could hear from youtube it sounded like what I was looking for. Which was an amp with great clean tones and vintage gainy sound with a nice crunch.

    This amp is not made for metal players who like their amps to provide all the gain they need. However, if you don't mind using pedals then this amp is very pedal friendly and will get you what you are looking for. That being said, if you want to use the amp by itself it provides a great clean channel with a nice bottom and a very nice vintage gain channel that handles all 60's, 70's, 80's to today classic rock. Again, metal players will need to use foot pedals to get that extreme gain.

    I have only had it a month but I love it so far. It is quite powerful and can power separate speaker cabinets if desired. It has a great clean channel and a nice vintage gain channel. I use mainly the clean channel with my Digitech RP1000 providing all my effects. But the amp still sounds great when I don't want to set everything up and just plug the guitar straight in.

    Caveat - Not sure how road worthy this amp is since I don't gig weekly at clubs (just events and parties). So if you perform at clubs weekly I don't have any information for you on how durable it is dragging it around multiple times a week.

    Pros - Great Price
    Great Clean Channel and very good Vintage Gain Channel
    Looks Great
    Good Feature Set

    Cons - None that I have come across. Maybe a little heavier than I thought it would be but then again I'm just getting older.. :-)

  • from Morgantown, WV October 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro guitarist playing jazz, rock, blues, gospel

    NICE AMP

    Nice tone! The high gain channel sounds better at high volumes. Clean channel sounds like a Fender. What irked me is the CHEAP handle which came apart in less than a week. I had to replace it with a handle from an old amp. Other than that, you can't beat the tone for price!
    I have a pedal board and use the Blues Driver instead of the dirty channel. I don't have any complaints about the speaker. A Celestion would definitely increase the price. I have no problems with the stock speaker.

  • from Maryville Tn October 10, 2012Music Background:
    song writer pro musician worship guitarist

    great amp love it

    Fat full sound this amp rocks for the money

  • from Rome City, IN USA June 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Good Amp, Better Service :)

    I played this amp at sweet water and was comparing it to a Vox ac15, I'm a huge Vox fan but I could just not pass up this bugera for the price. I wanted the classic Vox jangle to go along with my gretsch (which I also purchased at sweet water ) but this bugera can deliver som great jangle tones along with the favored tube grit that it gets on the dirty channel, plus it's 55 watts! I was skeptical about getting this amp because I did my research and found that some of these amps start to switch channels randomly but I know that if anything At All happens to my amp sweet water will gladly repair it for me and send it back to me so I can keep on rocking. I also need to say that this amp is stunning, and pictures do not do it justice. So if you on the edge about this amp just do yourself a favor and buy it you won't regret it.

  • from Central Texas March 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 20 years

    Great vintage cleans

    Excellent value for the $$$. The cleans are great! Almost silent with the main volume on 10. A bit disappointed with the gain channel. It seems muddy to my ears. However, with the right pedals in front of the clean channel, you can get any overdrive or distortion you want.

  • from Mt. Pleasant, NC January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Working musician

    Great clean tone

    I have the head version with matching 212. This am has great bottom end on the clean channel. It is very very close to Fender clean tones. I play a hotrod strat and an Ibanez s470 and both guitars are great through it. I love the power cut and effects loop. Now on to the crunch channel. You can get some really great and warm tones out of this. I replaced the cheap tubes for grove tubes and that did the trick. There was more bite to it. It sounds great for country and rock. And lastly this amp is quiet. Completely cranked there is no his or hum. If you cant afford high end stuff then you should consider this amp.

Questions about the Bugera V55 1x12" 55-Watt Tube Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway