0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Bugera V22 1x12" 22-Watt Tube Combo Reviews

4.5 stars based on 61 customer reviews
  • from Upstate,NY August 25, 2016Music Background:
    Experienced

    This amp is worth 3 times the price and is one of the best buys on any Tube amp on the market today. You DO NOT need to change the speaker. It sounds great and the few people I know who did change the speaker ended up changing it back to the Bugera speaker. the Tubes also sound great and last longer than any tube amp you will ever buy. They too sound great too and DO NOT need to ne upgraded at all. this amp reguires nothing but a decent Guitar to get some great tones. One of the best clean amp in the market and the 22 watts that someone said wasn't enough has probably never even played a Tube amp.22 wats tube is like 100 Solid State amp, this is a great Powerful amp that can really put out the sound and has absolutely nothing but very impressive tone. In my opinion the best Amp you will ever buy for the money and sounds better than Tube amps costing 3 times as much as this. It is by far the BEST TUBE AMP ON THE MARKET TODAY. especially for the price. I know it's made in China but so is every amp Fender makes and if you think your Vox (which this badly outplays) is made in the UK-SURPRISE. the VOX Ac-15 and AC-30 are both made in China. They must be doing something right because this amp is by far the BEST Bang for the Buck you will ever be luck enough to own.

  • from NJ April 27, 2015

    Great sound, great price

    This amp has an amazing sound. Even at lower volume it delivers a clear, rich tone that is easy to control and customize for different guitars. I wanted a tube amp but did not want to spend a load of money. There were some others in thus price range but they did not offer as much bang for the buck. Very happy so far.

  • from Harlan Counyy,Ky. April 14, 2015Music Background:
    playing for47 yrs.

    Awesome combo amp

    After 27 years of faithful service,my Marshall halfstack died.I spent 6 months researching different amps because I couldn't afford to buy another Marshall. One name kept popping up,the Bugera v22.I watched YouTube video's,read reviews etc and called Sweetwater and ordered this amp on 3 payment plan.I had the Bugera in 3 days.I am thrilled with this amp.Great sounding Tube amp.The speaker is a 12 in Bugera Turbo.I play Southern Rock,Blues and Classic Rock.This amp covers all the bases very well.My Gibson Les Paul Sig T( I bought from Sweetwater in 2013)sounds fantastic through this amp.I would buy this amp again but only through Sweetwater.

  • from United States March 18, 2015Music Background:
    been playing since i was 11 yrs old now 48 yr's old

    Bugera V22 1x12" 22-Watt Tube Combo

    Well.To put it in a few word's.I have to say this really surprised me!! has nice tone.awesome gain channel.clean high's even though the speaker hasn't been broken in yet.i was looking at an amp that cost more then 4 time's the price of this.i'm glad i made this choice !!! So if your thinking about buying it just do it !!! And i would love to thank jared for his awesome support for everything i buy here at sweetwater !!!!

  • from Wetumpka, AL March 3, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Hobbyist, Home Recorder

    As good as the best and better than the rest

    I am a 60 year old guitarist that has paid way to much for my amps in the past, until now. The more expensive amps were not any better than this amp, they were just more expensive. I am not knocking my previous amps, they served me quiet well. This amps features like the mid boost, reverb, alternate bright channel, alternate gain stage and obvious detail in speaker selection accommodates electric acoustics, single coil and humbuckers very well. If you are young and don't have a lot of money to get an expensive tube amp or if you are older and want to re live you glory days without the wife saying "How much did you say you paid pay for your toy!" Buy this amp!

  • from Cameron Park, CA March 1, 2015Music Background:
    Producer, Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Studio Engineer

    What a sweet amp!!

    Unbelievable tone for the price. Sweet and rich sound. It looks great, too. Highly recommended!

  • from Palm Bay, Fla USA February 28, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for 53 years

    Outstanding Tube Amp

    I've been looking at this Amp for about 6 months and finally bought it. This is one outstanding Tube Amp. It is just as good, if not better then the more expensive amps in its class. It gives me a really great Country Blues sound along with a little jazz and a lot of Rock & Roll. The overdrive channel is more then enough for most leads and it also takes pedals very well. The Clean Channel is sweet, crisp and clear. Its not for Heavy Medal.

    If your thinking about it, buy it before they sell out again. Can't beat the price either. Do your shopping at Sweetwater, its the best place to buy online and their service is excellent.

  • from U.S. Army Garrison Japan January 20, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just what I needed...

    I've been playing off an on for 30 years but am just a hobbyist that loves to jam mostly with blues and funk backing tracks, occasionally metal. I got called up to the stage a few weeks ago during a blues open mic night and was asked to play again next month. This is the perfect amp for me and this type of small club gig. Affordable, great tone, great looks, small, lightweight, knobs are excellent. Love the clean channel and the lead channel has great crunch. I'll need an OD/DS pedal for heavy rock/metal. The speaker is a Turbosound vice Bugera. This was a pleasant surprise because Sweetwater and Bugera web sites show this amp with a regular Bugera speaker.

  • from Abingdon, Virginia January 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great, Solid, All-Tube Amp With Killer Tone!!!

    I have had this amp for almost a year now and I still get amazed at the tone you can get out of this thing! From a Fender-esque clean to a Marshall-y crunch! When you play it, you will soon find out why these things stay sold out! They take pedals very well and are solid built! I recently took it to the shop and had new JJ Tubes put in. This added a little more volume and warmer tone. The stock tubes are fine, though. The tech guy I took it to, with over 20 years of experience, called me over and said, "Look at this." He pulled the tubes out and said that the tube sockets were made of ceramic. He said that he works on a lot of amps and was impressed with the build quality. He said that a lot of the more expensive amps have plastic tube sockets in them. If you are looking for your first tube amp or a replacement, look no further!

  • from January 9, 2015

    Best Bang for you Buck!

    I really like this amp. I bought it for my studio as a temporary amp in hopes of purchasing a better in the near future. I must say that I'm pleasantly surprised. Also, the first one I received came with a defect, the lows were intermittent, but Sweetwater had a new one here the very next day! Very, very pleased overall.

  • from Baton Rouge, LA. January 8, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Really Good Amp Period

    I am blown away because this is simply a great sounding amplifier for the money. Yes it is made in China, but have you noticed how many big name amplifier manufacturers manufacture some of their amps in China, yet their prices remain much high than Bugera? Some say it is a shameless copy, but what do you think classic-style tube amp engineers do? They are using the same style tubes and circuits that have been around for decades. The V22 is good looking in appearance in a retro way. The features are all you need for blues and blues rock (my primary genres). Two channels, effects loop, standby switch, serviceable on-board reverb, plenty of tone handles,etc. The clean channel sounds great with both my Fender single coil and Gibson humbucker guitars. Plenty of headroom. The lead / drive channel sounds great as well. Not metal, but you have an affects loop if that is your thing. Plus you have the option of running in pentode or triode modes. For blues or blues rock guitar, you can get the sounds of so many of the guitar legends of years past. Incremental pedals are not as necessary for these tones IMO.

    Bugera has "quietly" upgraded the 12" speaker (Turbosound...a well respected company) and the footswitch (it is now a metal housing as the older design was dinged in reviews from years past). The footswitch seems now to be as sturdy as any pedal.You can also drive an external cabinet and you have alternative impedance matching settings. Lots of functionality compared to more expensive amps like the Fender Blues Junior for less $$. Add to all these features the great service from Sweetwater and it simply a fantastic low powered traditional style tube amp.

    I have not had this long, so difficult to comment on longevity / reliability, but it seems very well constructed. I am stoked. My main complaint is that the boost function is not accessible from the supplied footswitch. That may be the primary reason for an external pedal for the style of music I play.

  • from Tacoma, WA December 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Bugera V22 is all you need

    I wanted to address something about this that I have seen in other, what I assume to be older reviews. The footswitch is as beefy and sturdy as you could find anywhere, so please disregard the nonsense about the footswitch. A steel fully enclosed box is as sturdy as you could ask for. If you see a negative comment about the footswitch, just move on. It's solid. I have waited a long time to get this amp and it just arrived and it is just everything I had hoped for. My accoustic/electric sounds great. as does my Epi Dot and my Bullet Tele. If you have dreamed of owning an ALL TUBE amp, then look no further. You simply cannot go wrong with this purchase

  • from Fort Wayne, IN USA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro gigging musician

    Must Have...Tone Monster

    You have gotta hear, then buy this amp.

    I am a Bugera fan and own a 6260 which is great for power, but I wanted an all around gigging amp that had CLEAN and vibrant tone. This thing has it in spades and couldn't be happier. I just got it so the durability factor has not yet been considered here, however, it is a hand built amp and it is a solid built amp. Gettcha One!!

  • from Albemarle, NC USA December 8, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist, collector, occasional performer

    Great Amp

    First I love the looks of this amp! Read the reviews and saw the price and gave it a try! Sounds great, looks great and great price....need i say more? Matches well with every guitar i have played through it and has lots of versatile tones. Right choice for practice or small gigs. Get one.

  • from West Milford, NJ December 2, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Everything You Want !

    I was searching for a small, versatile & quiet amp and was looking at the usual suspects - Fender, Vox, Marshall, etc. I read the rave reviews for the Bugera V22 and the $ 379.99 price convinced me to give it a try. WOW.... everything they said is true. Fairly small and loud, the good-looking V22 can produce almost any tone you want. Become a believer like me and order the Bugera V22 from Sweetwater - you WON'T be disappointed !!

  • from Nashville, TN. October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Something like that

    A Steal

    Being a tube amp it's a steal.

    Great tone, vintage look and built well. You will not find another product close to this one and for under $500. I have no idea how long this price will remain under $400 but if you are thinking about buying a new amp, this is the one to get. You will not regret it.

  • from Cromwell Ct. September 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Hand-built at bargain price!

    Beautiful looking , vintage sound and built solid.
    What more can you ask for?
    Oh yes the price!
    Everything that this amp is there nothing out there even close.
    Look, listen and you will want to buy it!
    There is nothing else to say about it that has not been said already.

  • from mathews ,virginia September 16, 2014Music Background:
    been playing since i was 14

    its a great little amp

    i already own a showman amp ,a marshall half stack amp,blues deluxe and a few more but this amp has become one of my favorites its got tone that just does not quit, its versatile for just about any style, takes pedals well and its light compared to anything i own. not about to give it up its here to stay. the service here is great Bart Amburn gets it done quickly.THANKS AGAIN BART.

  • from Boynton Beach, Florida USA September 8, 2014Music Background:
    GUITARIST/VOCALIST/SONGWRITER/PERFORMER

    BUGERA V22.......LITTLE MONSTER!!!!!

    This AMP is OFF THE CHARTS!!!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE SOUND!!!! Just What The Doctor Ordered!!!! I'LL Call it MY LITTLE MONSTER!!!!!! GET ONE.......You Won't Be Disappointed!!!

  • from Southern Sierra Nevedas September 5, 2014Music Background:
    50 years of playing mostly Blues and R&R, Folk and Bluegrass

    Great little amp

    This little amp sounds ridiculous good. I was completely amazed when I fired it up and got great tones right out of the box. The clean is very clean and warm, in fact you have to really push that channel to get it to break up, while the crunch is all I could ask for and then some. Very full and punchy with my Les Paul. Strat sounds great too but exceptional with the Paul. I don't play metal style so I can't comment on that kind of sound. It gets pretty durn loud too. It looks and feels well made. A winner all the way around, in my opinion.

  • from United States September 2, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician / Songwriter

    Very Nice

    I was concerned that this amp would be nowhere near what i'd hoped for since it was priced so well. I shouldn't have been. It's completely warm, vintage - garage sounding. (although it can have some bite if you want). Classy little number that gets as loud as i'd ever need. It can sound Vox AC15-ish just by scooping out the mids, but it does much more than just that. Don't expect to sound heavy metal, though. (I never go that route so i didn't matter to me). I'm blown away at how nice this is for the price. You won't be disappointed.

  • from Tennessee July 26, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Sweet Amp all Tone

    This is one of the most versatile tube amps I have ever played. The amp is nothing but a tone monster. For a small venue you can't beat this. I was able to tweak it to sound like a Fender or a Marshal and even a Vox. One of the best amps I have ever owned! Great retro look and feel. For this price range this amp is gooderns!

  • from Shepherds ills, Ky July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Church P&W, Classic Rock, Blues

    If your looking at the VOX Ac15 look here first

    This amp is fantastic! I was considering the AC15 but after playing this amp I have learned like many things in life you pay for the brand name. The V22 offers every tone drone clean crispness to gritty crunch. Awesome all tube amp. It gets loud so you don't have to worry about getting lost behind the band. Save that $200 and pick up the Bugera V22

  • from Bowling Green,IN July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, and songwriter

    Amazing tone for amazing price!

    Bought this amp from a musician I know when we were in studio together. The clean tone is amazing, and the distortion has a nice creamy tone. With this amp I've been able to pull off some of the same tones that you can get from bigger names, and it doesn't break the budget. All around great amp, and pairs well with several pedals too.

  • from Clovis, CA June 7, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro Hobbyist

    Excellent price and excellent sound!

    This is a great tube amplifier for under 400,00. Not only does this amp look great with it's vintage styling it has a great warm sound that only a tube amplifier can give you. I play a lot of blues and classic rock and this amplifier matches up perfect. I tried a lot of other tube amps at a local store but nothing compared to the Bugera.I have been playing for over 30 years and have had alot of different amplifiers. This is my favorite so far. This amp is a loud 22 watts and it is really great to be able to use the footswitch that comeswith it to switch between the clea channel and the dirty channel. My Strat and my Les Paul both sound great through this amplifier.I highly recommend this amp.

  • from Delaware May 8, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing on and off for 30 years.

    Wow!!!! Money well spent

    Buy this amp. After reading all the reviews I had to get this amp to see what all the hoopla is about. First impression pulling it out of box was this is a sharp looking amp! Then I plugged it in and was blown away. I have owned numerous amps from Marshall to vox and this thing is better by a mile. Do your self a favor and get this amp and you will be amazed.

  • from Tx April 19, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Unbelievable

    Starting a new project... My drummer told me I really needed a tube amp instead of the solid state marshall I'd been using. He suggested Mesa, Blackstar, Bogner, Hughes & Ketner. I began doing research... First of all, those brands he brought up are really good brands but they are priced for hobbyist who have plenty of money to sit around and admire these multi thousand dollar pieces of status symbol. I'm an actual musician, we are poor. I came across Bugera, I studied the brand, I read the reviews, I ordered the V22. The quality is insane, the sound is something to behold. Made a believer out of my drummer. I will only ever play Bugera Amps as long as we both shall live.

  • from Elkview, WV April 2, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player. Praise and worship.

    Awesome amp!!!!! Great price!!!!!

    I had been shopping around for my first tube amp. I didn't want to break the bank account either. I had checked out all the well known names. I really couldn't swing their prices. So. I looked up a few demos of this little monster, and wow was I surprised. The price for my budget, and the sound this thing can make really blew me away. Great amp, great price, and sweetwater is hands down the best online music site ever. Thank you Karl Long. You rock

  • from MI March 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Yep, you cant beat it for the money

    bought the V22 as a utility amp , the sound out of the box inspires me to play more than the blackstar soloist, replaced the preamp tubes with tung sol and it sounded much better, just for kicks put the celstion 70/80 from the blackstar in it and wow it really sounds good. the sound is good but you can tell that its a bit thin , for the money its a good buy.

  • from United States February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Thanks Clint

    I would not have looked at this amp if my sales engineer Clint hadn't suggested it. It is just what I was looking for and it helped the budget greatly.

  • from Upstate,NY February 12, 2014Music Background:
    I've played for over 40 years. I'm 57 and I'll never stop. Even with M/S

    BEST TUBE AMP FOR THE MONEY AND MORE!!!!

    This is by far the BEST Tube amp you can buy for under $400 and it should be compared to 600dollar amps plus. It looks are Killer and it's sound is Amazing. Thanks to my salesman Luke Harrington who really helped me out in picking a great amp at an extremely reasonable price! This sounds fantastic with Les Paul's or Strat's, (unlike the Marshall DSL 15 that only sounds good with Humbuckers and gets muddy way to quick) This Amp does it all and does it VERY WELL!!! Great with Strats or Les Paul's this amp is easily worth double the cost and an absolute steal for $379. You will find nothing in this Amp to disappoint. It's by far the BEST Tube Amp in the Market even if you doubled the price.Thanks to Luke Herian. for steering me in the right direction again. If you can find one BUY IT. Almost everyone is on Backorder and Sweetwater is the only Dealer on the internet who has these in Stock.Get one before their all gone. There is a reason that everyone on the internet is sold out of them-GREAT AMP-GREAT PRICE-GREAT SOUND-CLEAN OR DIRTY. One of the most Versatile amps I have ever played. I have an AC15 C2 and I end up plugging into the Bugera V22 more than the Vox it is just so good sounding and versatile. It really is a joy to play. Thanks Luke!!! You made my day again!! Steve
    )

  • from ventura ca, February 5, 2014Music Background:
    ben playing for 29 years.

    Bugera v22

    i played fender for years and,and my buddy turned me on to the Bugera V22 a i will not by a nother amp again. and i spent 100,000 if not more on fenders,but i love my V22.and its my first tub amp.

  • from NC January 12, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader, ex studio musician, tone junkie etc.

    Way more than I expected!

    I'll try to be short and sweet. If you're not a materialistic high priced boutique junkie, then this is the amp for you! But if you like paying a high price for a "name" or hint hint "Color". Maybe this is not for you. Lucky for us working men and women, they created and amp with a 1500 dollar sound for 400 bucks! This amp has exceeded any expectation I ever had on it. I was in the market for an amp that was quadruple the price, but when I played on one of these at my local guitar shop, I decided that I would rather "have my cake and eat it too". I was able to purchase mine used at a good price. But if your considering purchasing this v22, I highly recommend sweetwater. I buy a lot of items from this site and it has always been hassle free and best priced! Enough ranting from me, just buy it!

  • from Upstate, NY December 28, 2013Music Background:
    Been playing for over 40 years and owned about every tube amp made

    "The Final Word"-is BS

    Nothing wrong with this amp just as it is, sad to see such egotistical know it all's who think they can design the worlds greatest amp and do nothing but point out faults on am amp that stands alone in it's price range as one of the finest amps you can own. His 1,2 and 3 are ridiculous. Check out you tube and judge for yourself. The speaker in this amp are outstanding and the tubes that are in it are fine just as they are. It out preforms amps twice it's price without changing anything. The build quality on mine was outstanding and I personally think it is one of the NICEST clean amps you can buy. Great amp, Great price and you don't have to do a thing to this amp but plug it in,let it warm up and have fun playing it. You will not be dissapointed with ANYTHING with this amp. Buy It! You will NOT be dissapointed in any way shape or form. This is a 5 Star amp- Hands Down

  • from Arizona December 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Bugera V22 ....WOW

    Owned lots of amps in my day....really needed to have smaller lighter gear that still sounds GREAT at lower volumes.... THIS IS IT!

    I didn't think I would use the 11W setting maybe for practice but no....you crank this thing up on the triode mode and its like a Vox dimed out.

    The clean channel is just warm and smooth and the reverb sounds very natural.

    Based on how it sounds and for the price you cannot beat this amp....

  • from Leavenworth, Kansas November 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    V22 Sweet Sound

    This is an awesome amp! It's heavy, rugged and sound great at any level,
    I reccomend watching the demo on YouTube, there is no one yakking just sound as the adjustments are made. It sold me this amp! The range is everything you expect in a tube amp that could cost you a lot more. Clean or overdriven this amp rocks...

  • from georgia August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Front man in a garage band of old guys. Play a couple gigs a month.

    What a great amp!!

    Got my Bugera V22 a couple of days ago. Opened it up and was instantly amazed! I have played through a bunch of high end amps that didn't sound this good. Now I'm sure a lot of it has to do with my lack of tweaking the others to get the most out of them and maybe not having the knowledge or ability to coax the best tone out of them and that is the point. This thing sounds just like a million bucks right out of the box. It is simple and straight forward. Clean is very very clean but full and loaded with that TONE that everybody is always looking for. The drive channel is nice all the way from just beginning to break up all the way to Billy Gibbons. The only draw back is full on metal distortion and I don't need that anyway. If you play rock, blue, or jazz this may just be your best choice. Oh yeah and the price is way below those other amps I mentioned. I'll let you know about the durability but first impression tells me it should hold up well with average care.

  • from anniston alabama March 18, 2013Music Background:
    semi ro

    Had one, sold it, going to get anotherr one.

    I loved my Bugera when I had it. I have been playing through my 1975 Peavey Classic 50 amp that I have actually bought in 1975. This amp has a transistor pre amp and 2 6l6's for power. Yea, it screams with over 50 watts and is in great shape still of a 38 year old amp, but it weighs in over 65 pounds to haul around. So, I decided to get this Bugera V22 to replace it. Due to money situations I had to sell it. I was offered more for it than the vintage Peavey. Now that Sweetwater has the play and pay, I am going to get my Bugera back. I love the clean sounds so much. Using an acoustic through the bright channel, well, the Ovation never sounded better. The Strat I build from ground up SCREAMED through this amp when you pushed the gain. I am using 3 Seymour Duncan Hot Rail pick ups (double blade). In the neck and middle pickups are new Duncans, the bridge pick up is around 30 years old and is wound hotter than the new ones. If I could give you some positive comments on this little screamer... BUY IT!!!! I have no bad things to say about it. I am going to order mine around the the first week of April when I get paid. I can promise you, you will not be unhappy with this little screaming monster.

  • from Aberdeen, MD USA June 21, 2012Music Background:
    Voice Actress, Amature Musician, Student

    My first tube amp

    I LOVES IT SO MUCH!!! <3
    The Bugera V22 is my first Tube amp ever, and was meant to replace an old Peavey Envoy 110 (solid state) that I've had for like 16 years now. What an upgrade! I was really close to getting the Marshal Class 5, but after comparing the two side by side I was totally sold on the Bugera. From what I understand this company is pretty new to the amp market compared to some of the others, but so far I'm really impressed by what they have to offer, and especially for the price. I think I've been bitten by the tube bug.

  • from United States April 5, 2012Music Background:
    30 years experience, Musician, Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer

    Outstanding

    Got my Bugera today , unpacked it, plugged it in, strapped on my Epi Dot and was completely blown away at how good this amp sounds. I play in a 7 piece country rock band fronted by 2 female singers with 3 guitar players, one plays a Mesa Rocket and the other has a LIne 6.........they were both completely impressed with the tones this little critter produces, it is very touch sensitive, smooth and creamy sounding..........just like it is supposed to sound, classic, vintage, tube vibe going on here. I am going to wait and play it in stock form for a while and see how it sounds after more burn in time, but will probably upgrade the tubes to Mesa's and the speaker to either e Celestion or a Mesa. Totally happy with my choice here, would definately recommend it to players at any level.....its just that good.

  • from February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Played guitar for 4 years

    Couldn't be happier

    I ordered this amp not knowing what to expect. I never played it before ordering and just went off purchasing it from research and video demos. First off this amp is ROCK solid. It looks and feels to made of premium housing. Now after playing it, the first day I received my amp, I instantly fell in love with my Bugera. I play a lot of blues/blues rock ( Stevie ray Vaughan, Jimi Hendrix, the black keys) and rock ( led zeppelin, ac/dc) mix of music and this amp is perfect for that. The tubes sound very warm and smooth and when you push them, THAT'S when the magic happens! This amp is plenty loud for a 22 watt tube amp, So now your drummer won't wash you out when you gig or practice. Now if you want this amp for the bedroom and your mother or wife says its too loud, No problem, just flip the pentode switch on the back to triode mode and you'll cut the power level by 40 percent. So now you can get all that warm fuzziness from the tubes at half the volume! ( plus you have a master volume control so it doesn't really matter lol). Overall it is a gem and like all gems it should be treasured. Would defininelty buy one again. Highly recommended!!!

  • from St. Louis, MO January 23, 2012Music Background:
    30 year hobbyist

    Awesome sound

    I wanted a simple tube amp with vintage sound. I am very pleased with the bottom end. Sweet sounds with reverb (adequate) in almost all realms of music. Great bluesy crunch and the clean channel makes my semi-hollow bodies come alive. A pleasure doing business with Sweetwater. My first time but definetely not my last. Also an excellent looking amp.

  • from Calif. March 31, 2015Music Background:
    All about electric guitars. Semi-pro (Only Gig for fun, these days), Studio work. Guitar lessons to neighborhood kids.

    Bugera V22 Tube Combo

    This amplifier gives very true vintage tone, as well as the ability to crunch loud. It's overall size and at 22 watts is perfect for a practice Amp, and would work well in small to medium venues. The best experience with this purchase was the help I received from my Sales Rep (Ben Chambless). He answered all questions, the price is always right at Sweetwater - and Ben helped me make a good decision.

  • from Superior, Wi. February 18, 2015Music Background:
    weeken warrior

    I'm loving it

    Purchased a Sweetwater Showroom demo, looked like new to me. Came with the full factory warranty, owners manual, and a nice metal footswitch. Now for the sound. I am really impressed with this amp. Cleans are great. not Fender clean but a nice alternative that I personally like better than the Fender clean. I mostly use the clean channel with a few effects pedals of my choice. I don't use the distortion channel as I am more of a clean sound person. Reverb works fine for me. Give this amp a try, I think you will be pleasantly surprised, especially if you are looking for a tube amp, but don't have the cash to purchase a Fender. Like the title says I'm loving it.

  • from San Diego CA, December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Tech, live Performer

    Great tone, great looks

    This amp is not only great looking, but has great tones! I was impressed by the tone this amp can put out! Love all the features and options you can do with it, like a send return in the back for pedals, and being able to hook up another cabinet to it.

    Sweetwater, excellent service

  • from San Diego, CA November 30, 2014

    high quality sound

    Ok, this is my first Tube amp. I am a beginner and have a couple of inexpensive Solidstate amps. The warm tone from this unit is awesome, it sounds better once it warms up. The amp is of very high quality and a good deal for the price. I did much research and was actually looking at a Fender but at less than 1/2 the price I think I made the right decision.
    Now for the negative; I had to send the first one back as I think the tubes were bad. The Sweetwater dude was very helpful and no problems at all. I received the new one and it has been flawless so far. I would guess that the difference between this and say a Marshall or Fender is Quality control at the assembly line. The parts seem to be high quality so far.

  • from Grandview, WA October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Bar Musician

    A whole lotta bang for your buck!

    A great tube amp for the musician low on cash. the sound quality is really great, it does well on the mids and highs when in the bright input and can sound amazing with high end after market parts such tubes and speaker cone, and the dirty channel and reverb is really well done on this as well. The build quality is top notch, from the amp down to the foot switch everything seems to be built to last and as stated before you can upgrade the tubes and speaker cone or have a cabinet plugged in place of the speaker built into the amp. so far have had no problems with it. For it's price its really hard to tell if any corners was cut when making this, My only complaint is that the boost is not foot switchable, but with that said I very much would recommend this to anyone who wants a tube amp for cheap or who is new to tube amps

  • from Worcester, Ma. January 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist

    One of the best amps I've ever had

    Hello to all,
    I'll start with the staff at Sweetwater, There top notch , I even got a phone call from them a few days after getting my amp wondering if everything is ok and that I'm happy with the product. I've never even got that after getting brand new cars over the years...

    Now the Amp,
    I've had Bogner , VHT , Rivera , Mesa/Boogie amps over the years and The Bugera 22 holds right up there with them.
    The Clean sound is very good with plenty of tube feal and sound. Wish I could get it to breakup a bit at lower volume but it's not a deal breaker. The overdrive sound is fantastic for anything 60's 70's 80's and even some 90's music. Plenty of gain. too much really because when maxing the gain the amp can't handle it and drops volume a bit with hard cords. again, Not a deal breaker. The Pentode/Triode switch is very usefull for getting a different vibe like all the other amps I've had.
    Keep in mind I've changed the speaker to a Eminence ( The Governor 16 ohm. ).. Also replaced all tubes with Gold Lion 12ax7's and THD EL84's ( biased to 16mv ) ... They made a big change and made an allready great amp even better. I've allways missed my VHT pittbull super 30 after having to sell it during bad times and the Bugera v22 gets real close to that vibe.
    Find one of these and take the time using your own guitar and see if it can give you what your looking for ? For so many of us this amp has become our go to amp putting aside others we might have allready.
    Thanks for reading and Thank you SweetWater for your great products and services...

  • from Suburban Philly, PA January 16, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician and song-writer.

    A very good amp at a very good price!

    Great amp for the money. Beautiful clean and good amount of crunch. Love the reverb too. Can't wait to try it in band rehearsal and live.

  • from United States July 28, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Guitarist/Recording

    Bugera V22

    Got it out of the box and was immediately impressed with how it looked even though the tolex they are using on mine is not the non-shiny leather-look stuff in the picture....but it is a nice tolex job.The Amp is small and fairly light, which is what I wanted for practice and the studio. As soon as i fired it up I heard the familiar loose rattling sound of a bad tube, and lucky for me it was the first 12ax7 tube I replaced with a cheap Mesa Boogie tube and then everything was great. Here's my main complaint----to get to the tubes you have to take this black tube cage thing off with 6 tiny screws that can get lost very easy if you're not careful, here's the real suck part though-----you can't get the last 2 screws out unless you have a very expensive and small right angle cordless drill, and if you don't you have to do what I had to do......remove the 12" speaker to get to them.....what sucks about that is who in the hell is going to want to go through all that at a show or gig just to get to one of their cheap-ass tubes? If the designers would have just made the speaker cabinet 4" taller it wouldn't have cost any more to make and walla easy tube access. Needless to say because of one tube bad right out of the box i'm sure glad i found out before a gig of the impending huge process to change a freaking tube---cuz....no---- the show wouldn't have gone on. I'm not putting the black tube cage back on because number one it does nothing at all except maybe stop someone from stealing your tubes in a bad part of town.....it doesn't hold them in place and unless it was made out of pure copper is not going to draw any heat away.....so take it off folks....i know it's a drag but do it and take along some spare tubes if you go to a gig....Reverb is really nice....much cleaner than those old spring reverbs, the clean channel on this V22 is very clean and that I love...Power can be raised by putting amp in Pentode mode on the "triode-pentode" switch on back...(very cool) but you will never get to the full 22 watts advertised unless you unplug the 8 ohm onboard speaker and plug in a 4 ohm external speaker... (or change the onboard 8 ohm speaker to a 4 ohm speaker and don't not forget to switch the speaker ohms switch to 4 ohms on the back of amp)However even at whatever power rating it is at with the onboard 8 ohm speaker for practice and the studio it's perfect. Some heavy loud bands practice at ridiculous volumes and in that case you might have to mic the V22 and running it through the PA. I put the amp through an A/B test with my Budda 30 watt head and 2x12's and using same guitar with exact amps settings and guitar settings the V22 did a great job even though I think the Budda has a slight edge on full high gain sounds, but it is also a $1600 amp head with no reverb and speaker. I think if Bugera put better tubes in the V22 and dumped the whole tube cage thing (I've heard others say it can rattle that cage at high volume anyway) they could easily charge $500 for this sweet combo and it very well then could become a classic. I bet they are selling like hot cakes anyway at that price point.

  • from St. Louis, MO USA February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome sound in a small package

    Love the amp. The low end suprised me. For the price you can't find a better amp. I looks great also. I use it as a practice amp with mostly Blues and Country and am impressed with the sound and versatility. I wanted something without a bunch effects and amp models, just a tube amp with vintaged tube amp sound. It is very suceptable to attack and breaks up nicely on the clean channel. It's a winner.

  • from Sacramento, CA, USA February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Church Guitarist

    Great! Such an upgrade from a solid state...

    This is my very first tube amp, although I've played other people's tube amps before (such as the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III). I'm loving it. It's a big transition from the world of solid states. I absolutely love how my drive pedals sound through it. There's one thing I'm not liking about it though, hence the four stars. There seems to be a small rattling sound. I have no idea where it's coming from. It's not too bad. It's not really noticeable unless you listen closely. But it's becomes more noticeable at high volumes when I play certain notes on the guitar. I dunno, but it might be coming from the cage surrounding the tubes. Or it could be the vibrations bouncing off the walls of my small room, because I didn't notice a rattling when I played for a fairly medium sized church just this last week. Any who, this is a great amp! Especially for people who are deciding on their first tube amp but don't want to spend a fortune. Heck, even if you had a fortune to spend I'd still recommend this amp. So why not?

  • from Waynesville, NC January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Past professional musician

    Bugera V22

    The amp arrived expertly packaged & handled and while it wasn't easy to get it upstairs for an old man, I couldn't wait to fire it up. I flipped it on to warm up and grabbed my Tele. I turned on the power and have been in love ever since. It's a great sounding amp and it appears to be pretty well made knowing it's Chinese built.
    Personally, I like to buy American but since I'm no purist and primarily an acoustic player, my wallet put up a good fight and I caved.
    The folks at Sweetwater know their stuff and I have never been disappointed in the excellent service I've received. My sales rep, Zach, has done right well by me

  • from St. Paul, MN January 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitarist

    Nice Amp - Good Price

    This is the second amp I've bought and definitely the largest. So take my review for what it is, a novices opinion. I like the amp. Looks good. Sounds good. Pretty heavy. Still exploring what all it can do but find that I can keep the tone I want at low or higher volumes easily. Certainly louder than my other practice amp.

  • from Indy October 19, 2014Music Background:
    Hopeless Tone Chaser

    Who says you cannot use this for metal?

    I would just like to counter all the "this is a great amp for blues and country, just don't try to get heavy metal tones form this amp" people. Ridiculous. Why the amp on it's own may not get you into the realm of extreme metal, all you need is a pedal in the front end and you have a ballsy, fat, dark tone suitable for any genre you can dream of. The clean channel is a blank canvas for whatever you can paint. Think of a Marshall Pexi-ish or JCM 800 valve tone with a Tube Screamer cranked up to 10. Once again, Sweetwater delivered flawlessly and if there is any issues down the road, I know my salesman Anthony will have my back. A solid amp.

  • from Burns, WY October 9, 2014Music Background:
    former tour musician, picker for 30+ years

    Bugera V-22

    First of all, a big thanks to Sweetwater for awesome customer service!

    Now, let's get to the amp. Straight out of the box this is a nice little starter amp for a vintage tone. However, if you change out the tubes, this thing comes alive. I swapped the power tubes for JJ's, V1 is a Tungsol gold pin, V2 is a Groove Tubes R3, and V3 is a Groove Tubes Matched Phase Inverter (necessary on any tube amp). I am hoping to find a Telefunkin or RCA original old stock tube to put in the V1 and see if that does even more. The way it sits, it is entirely usable. Especially if you put some pedals or a multi-pedal board in front of it.

    Reliability seems to be a question were Bugera is concerned but it seems to be isolated to the higher powered amps. The V22 is getting great reviews everywhere. I guess time will tell. So far, this amp is my new gigging amp and has performed admirably. After retubing, I would give this amp 4.75 stars. It's not perfect but it comes fairly close. I would like to hear a bit more bass response from it but I can EQ that at the board easily.

    There is a bit of white noise that I haven't been able to track down yet but it isn't any louder than noise from other top brand amps.

    For the money, I won't EVER buy another Fender tube amp. If you think about it, even having to change a few tubes ($150ish), you are still money ahead of a Fender and there is definitely no guarantee that you won't have to do the same thing with the Fenders.

    I own a Fender Twin (vintage) and a Princeton Reverb (new) and there is certainly a difference between the Fenders and the Bugera. However, I am able to tailor the tone more on the Bugera. I am also able to dial in that slight crunch for oldies rock fairly easily on the V-22 that can be difficult to find on some other amps.

    Bottom line is this: If you are on a budget, I would definitely give this one a try. I has earned a permanent place in my musical family.

  • from Maine September 14, 2014Music Background:
    Long time hobbyist

    First tube amp

    Since I've never owned a tube amp, I'm going with 4 stars. Debated holding onto my old solid state just in case, but it is going out the door. The v22 exceeded my expectations. It's got fantastic clean tone on triode or pentode. The dirty channel gets dirty quick - starts to break up about 2.5-3. Not metal dirty, but good dirty. Scoop out the mid, or put it at 5-7 and use the mid boost, and my strat emits the sounds I've been dying to hear - all the way across the 5 way switch.

    Bottom line, the articulation is great. I can hear nuances I couldn't before. And like so many say, with tube the sound is warmer.

    The amp also makes it possible to hear/distinguish between about 20 OD/DS settings on my boss me-50 pedal, as well as clearly representing the modulation and delay options.

    A really good experience so far....

  • from Denver, CO March 19, 2012Music Background:
    Recording, touring artist

    The final word

    The only reason I did not give this amp a 5.0 is for three reasons;
    1.) Speaker + low tone response is no where to be found.
    Solution: Replace speaker with an Eminence Patriot Southern Heat 8 ohm or an Eminence Swamp Thang 8 ohm. Mod the input cap to pass more lows and less highs through.
    2.) Factory Tubes are marginal quality
    Solution: Replace with all JJ Tesla
    3.) Lacks the distortion qualities of the 333XL or similar. Definitely performs as designed but I know most buyers want closer to a Marshall sound in Pentode full Gain mode.
    Solution: Perform one of the many mods you can find out on the net. My fav is to adjust the 12AX7 driver tube output resistor (input to power amp tubes) to provide a higher gain so that you get more saturated distortion out of preamp to poweramp.

    On a scale from 1 - 10 (10 highest) I would give this amp and company an 11. The reason is that I design and build my own tube amps and it is not an easy feat to design in all the features that this amp has. Two channels, fx loop, power tube config switching (epic), the durability, cosmetics, quality, warranty, biasing method, tube protection, kick back feature, footswitch, reverb, versatile speaker impedance switching and authentic tube sound.

    In my experience, education and life on the stage and in the studio this amp (and all Bugera all tube amps) bury the competition.

    I do like Marshall but it's all midrange. Fender...all treble. The Vox AC30, that is in the same bracket as the V22, can't put a single dime patch on the V22. I think we're done paying homage to the tube amp mfgrs of the past and it's time to open the door for an evolved product.

    If you want a great tone, great amp and full features then by a Bugera...if you want to think you're impressing others by owning a Marshall, Fender, Laney, Mesa, etc then go ahead and own one and hear the whispers of being a wanna be guitarist. While you're at it buy a PRS so you can SAY you own one and walk the walk but not talk the talk . I myself will stand behind my ears, my needs in an amp, and my skills.

  • from fairport,ny April 21, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    ok amp little weak for 22 watts

    i owned fender 65 deluxe reverb much better amp,but cost 800 dollars more. this is a good amp for the money well built. I like how all controls are in the front of the amp.

  • from WIsconsin, USA June 7, 2012Music Background:
    Student, hobbyist, giging person

    Bugera v22

    After extensive research I decided that this would be a very good first tube amp. A friend of mine had his used and was offering it to me so I bought it. When I first got this amp I turned it up to about noon and it sounded pretty good. The features of tis are really what shines, it has a presence, reverb, and a volume and master knob. It also has an effects loop, so it can take chorus and delay pedals well. The tone on this is a tad bit dark, but can easily be corrected (slightly more treble, turn presence up). My only complaint is that the build qualiry was a little bit lacking. It had some loose screws, and the tubes were a little loose but other than that I'm satified with it. Overall it's not a blow your mind away matchless, but it definatley works as a good tube amp for studio, small gigs, and just practicing. I don't think it can do metal, but it can do anything lighter. Perfect for what I play (indie, classic rock, worship)

  • from April 25, 2015

    Terrible

    I bought this amp and had nothing but problems with it. It was loud enough, when it worked, and has a sweet sound, when it works. It came with a broken tube. Got it replaced, and it broke again. Just terrible quality. Not worth the purchase.

Questions about the Bugera V22 1x12" 22-Watt Tube Combo?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway