0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Bugera V22 Infinium 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 42 customer reviews
Questions about the Bugera V22 Infinium 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Questions about the Bugera V22 Infinium 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 20, 2017

    Absolutely love it

    Really enjoying this amp.. sounds great + low price.. 100% would get another.

    took off .5 because there is a 6in scratch down the side of the amp- but nothing bad.. not worthy of a return imo.. adds character ;)

  • from USA March 23, 2017Music Background:
    Have played for 40 years.

    Bugera V22 Infinium

    I've owned several amps in my lifetime, and while I can't knock any of them, this amp blows me away! Wish I had it way back when I was gigging! You just simply can't buy boutique looking amp that performs the way this one does for the money! In fact, it would be a great deal at twice the price (you didn't hear that Bugera)!

    Unless you're just wanting to spend a lot of money, buy this baby... you won't regret it!

  • from California January 30, 2017Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Country and even 50's.

    FANTASTIC AMP! A BEST-BUY FOR SURE!

    I've owned many many amps in my career - from Marshall to Mesa. I am telling you, this amp is truly first-rate regardless of it's very reasonable price for an all-tube amp.

    I use a Boss GT-100 FX pedal, so I have everything I need in a single pedal, so I do not use the reverb.
    I plug into the clean channel and set the input to pretty much full tilt. Treble almost off. And it rocks. I can go from a feisty clean to a rockin' hard sound no problem.

    You can NOT go wrong with this buy. I like the looks too. I always prefer the knobs to be facing me instead of top or back so I can see at a glance the settings. And it properly has a stand-by switch.
    Ya don't need anything else any fancier believe me!

  • from Spring Arbor, MI December 26, 2016Music Background:
    Student slowly turning Pro

    A Killer!

    A phenomenal amp with a multitude of clean and dirty sounds - works very well for Chicago electric blues sounds ala Muddy Waters, Howling Wolf, etc. Responds well to pedals - I run a five-pedal Jimmy Hendrix-influenced rig through it and it takes them like a champ. Other amps have NOT worked well with the same setup. It is quite loud for its size; I've used it for both practice and gigs (without an extension cabinet). I prefer the Pentode mode, as it seems fuller than the Triode mode.

    Overall, I highly recommend this amp - I love it!

  • from Menomonee Falls WI December 12, 2016

    Bugera v22 is a must buy

    First of all, the price. The price was amazing for what this amp is, and that's an all tube amp at 22 watts, for $. Second, the sound is just amazing. I owned the V5 before upgrading to this one and I have only played this amp once since I got it yesterday, the first impression is always the most important. And I was absolutally blown away. And last, this thing is built very good, it's heavy, but it's worth it. I love my new amp!!

  • from November 18, 2016

    Tone machine

    I have been searching for an amp like this for years. I started playing guitar seriously in my late 30s and I am now 48 but it my time I have had jcms ,blues deville,blackstar, vox etc.I could never hear that sound in my head ,no matter what pedal I used or speaker or valves.
    I just wanted something to play at home as these days I don't have much time to commit to a band.This thing has just blown me away .The clean channel is warm and bright and what ever pedal I put through it ,it sounds great .The overdrive channel is also nice for blues and rock. I don't think it's a metal amp.It also looks great, very retro and it looks well built. I am not sure if I will have the chance to crank it up in a band situation but I am pretty sure it will handle it well.
    If you have the chance to get one don't hesitate,you will not be disappointed.

  • from AZ November 8, 2016Music Background:
    A/V church tech fo 20+ years, aspiring guitar player

    VERY Happy with this Amp!

    I used to have a mid-60's Fender Reverb Amp that was all tubes. When I went to college, I sold all my gear. Now that I'm retired, I'm getting back into guitar. I looked & listened to some solid-state amp, but didn't like their tone. I started looking at re-issue amps using tubes. Most were way too expensive and too large for my needs.

    One of my favorite guitarists is David Gilmour. By accident, I came across his "Gilmourish" website. One of his pages talks about amps.

    After I saw this, I did further research and decided to try it. I am very pleased with the tone and solid build of the amp - box & all. At 43 lbs. it is no light weight.

  • from AZ October 15, 2016Music Background:
    Church Sound Tech, New Guitar Enthusiast

    Fantastic!

    I thought I was buying a "small" amp. This thing is a tank! The 43 lb. listed weight should have clued me in. Really nice sound both clean and with gain boost (distortion). I really like the effects loop. I have plugged in my DigiTech RP300 XP and it works & sounds great.

    Very pleased with the purchase.

  • from CT September 30, 2016

    Get it!

    I own an American made Peavey Classic 212 (4-12ax7s, 4-EL84s). V22 produces same tones, clean and overdrive channels. NOT a grab and go amp, weighs in at just over 50 lbs. A Blues Jr. is 31 lbs. Note of reference for us 50+ players :(

  • from Tennessee August 30, 2016Music Background:
    extensive, I'm almost 55

    Love it

    I did not buy this from Sweetwater, I bought lots of other stuff from them and they rock. Mine was B stock and Infinium, plus Bugera older speaker. The new amp with the new speaker sounds great. However, I bought a Celestion B stock from Sweetwater and new tubes from JJ electronics. This amp is sweet!!! Buy a new one and it already has the newer speaker, tubes aren't too bad anyway.
    Really love this amp, and the footswitch. Why should you have to purchase an additional footswitch? Many amps require just that, not Bugera. This amp gives a great classic rock/blues tone without any pedals. I have a few pedals that I run into it and it sounds super sweet. Mine is set in Triode mode usually so I can really push it, even at home. It's not a vintage AC30 or Fender but for the price, it could be. I use a Tele, Strats and Les Pauls, sounds good with them all. Had I bought it from Sweetwater I know customer service would have been awesome. I have bought a bunch if stuff from Sweetewater over the past 5 years and they've always been first class. I also like this amp a lot. I started playing in England in 1978, when old Marshalls and Vox were super cheap. This amp has it all going on

  • from Santa Cruz CA August 10, 2016Music Background:
    Playing guitar since 1971, Blues,and Southern Rock

    Bugera WOW !

    I just received my Bugera V22 Infinium from Sweetwater this morning.Fed Ex takes such good care of these deliveries. Even the outer box didn't have a scratch. I knew I was going to like it,but I just didn't know how much. I plugged my Strat into the normal channel.Used the footswitch that comes with it ,and started with a clean sound. Right away ,that beautiful airy single coil tube chime came right through,then stomped on the footswitch for leads and that overdriven but controlled tube growl was music to my ears. These are the sounds that I thought you could only get from Thousand dollar plus amps. How do they do it for $400? It's a beautiful thing. I can't say enough about Sweetwater. This amp was not my first choice,but it was the best choice . Brian,and Zack made sure that I was happy,and got the amp I really wanted,and it's now clear that this was the amp I really needed.Cannot thank you guys enough. You are a class act.This was a great experience ,and I'll be back for more.

  • from Denver, Colorado June 25, 2016

    Love this little Booger

    I'm really blown away by this little guy!!!
    First things first, I use this guy only in the studio. I bought it because my other amp blew a filter a cap, and I'm in the middle of recording an ep for a client. I had never heard it or played through it before it arrived, but the reviews were just too good so I took a chance. Boy, am I glad I did!!!!!
    This Booger has some unique features you dont find on amps of this price range. Firstly, it uses el84 tubes, which are smaller and less powerful then Thierry big brother the el34. Not a lot of companies use this gem of a tube, but they are really cool. If you already own an amp with el34 or 6l6 tubes, this guy will fit nicely in between. Has a different character than the other two, an old school clean like a vox, but much more adjustable. The tubes break up early which I love!
    The pentode/triode switch is really cool! In a lot of ways it's like 2 different amps. Haven't had a chance to try out the Infinium thing as ,surprisingly, I got tubes that actually work. However, when I do retube I know it'll be a bugger to get to. A great little speaker in this guy too. Mics up easily, and really easy to dial in.
    Sweetwater has been great to work with. Will be ordering more gear soon!! :-)

  • from South Carolina June 3, 2016

    Great amp, great price...and great service!

    Got my new Bugera V22 amp yesterday—only two days after I ordered it! Talk about quick service. And the free shipping? Well, that’s the icing on the cake.

    The amp is wonderful. Clean, bright, way loud enough for my home and I’m convinced it would work very well on gigs—loud enough for smaller clubs and miced for larger venues.

    This amp really rocks. Clean is delicious…throw it over to high-gain and there’s some power and grit I never got out of my sold state amp. It’s going to be real fun discovering all the voices this amp can sing with!

    Only one negative I’ve found to the Bugera v22: When it comes time to replace a tube (read on), you’ll have to go through all kinds of contortions to remove the tube cage. One of the screws holding the cage was so difficult to get to that I had to disconnect and pull out the speaker before I could get to the screw. That’s bad design. And that tube cage? Well, it’s gonna gather dust in the bottom of my closet.

    That aside, this is the best amp on the market for less than $400. And I think it may be better than many others priced at two, three times as much…maybe even five times as much! Find one at a local guitar store. Try it…then buy it from Sweetwater!

    Why Sweetwater?

    First, my sales guy, James Masterson. He has never pushed me to buy anything, but he’s a master at helping me look at the pros and cons on the gear I want. If I have questions, he has the answers—if not, he’ll find the answer and get back to me…quickly. I feel that when I’m talking with James, I’m talking with a friend who has my best interests at heart. He’s never disappointed me and that matters a lot to me.

    Second, the service. When I cranked up my Bugera, it sounded great for the first 10 minutes or so. Then I noticed a problem with the sound. Some bad “after effects” when I played a chord or a lead. Ouch! I had no idea what it was but I was really in panic/depression mode for a few minutes…especially after the yellow light on the front of the amp began flashing! I called James and he listened to my problem, immediately referring me to the tech/repair department. When I reached them—two minutes before time for them to close up shop—the tech stayed on the phone with me (for at least 10 minutes) and talked me through some steps to help diagnose the problem. He was courteous and patient and very clear in his instructions, helping to calm me as I went through the testing steps he gave me. We discovered it was a bad preamp tube. He said he’d send one right out to me…and they would overnight it at no extra charge! Now…that’s what I call real customer service! I couldn’t be happier.

    And, with Sweetwater, there’s always the free shipping I mentioned earlier.

    I really like dealing with these guys!

  • from Florida March 3, 2016Music Background:
    Pro/Semi Pro Musician 45 yrs.

    Buy It Now!

    Just purchased/received the V22 from Sweetwater. I've played professionally and semi-professionally for 45+ years and have owned 'em all. Tweeds, Blackfaces. Marshalls, Soldano, Vox etc. I've used Vox all tube combos (AC50, AC30 & AC15) exclusively for the last 10 years. In researching smaller (lighter) tube combos, I kept coming across the Bugera V22 with very positive reviews. I figured for $400 to my front door, I'd take a chance. Right out of the box the thing is friggin awesome in all respects. With my Tele, Strat, Les Paul and a little MXR Dyna Comp, I have no complaints period. Both channels sound great. EQ is very responsive, build quality appears very solid and tastefully done. In my opinion, the V22 will hold its own against tube combos costing 2 or 3 times as much. Do yourself and your tone a favor and check out the V22 combo.

  • from Ossian, IN March 1, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Alternative, Indie

    Best Tube Amp Sub $500

    I have spent the last 4-5 months searching for the right amp. As a worship leader at my church I needed an amp that was very versatile and could go handle pedals very well. I tried every tube combo and head I could think of. From Backstar to Vox and everything in between I tried them all. I really loved the tone of the AC-15 but just could not afford that price point. Along comes the V22. This amp has all the chime and sweetness of an AC-15 with the pluses of an effects loop, triode/pentode switching, auto biasing tube sections, and a foot switchable 2nd channel. I tried it with my Gretsch Electromatic Jet and PRS SE245 as well as a friends Fender Strat and this amp shined with all three. If there were any concerns with this amp they would have to be with the second channel and the reverb unit. The second channel sounds good when pushed very hard but at low gain stages sounds thin. However, the lower gain stage stacked with another low gain pedal such as a morning glory or soul food really makes this channel shine. The reverb is very intense and has a slight tonality that I find slightly annoying but for me it doesn't really make that much of a difference because I run an external reverb in the loop. All in all this is a fantastic, versatile amp that takes pedals extremely well and cannot be beat for the $399 price point.

  • from Fort Collins, CO February 3, 2016

    Best Tube Amp Value Out There

    I have to give this amp five stars. I was looking for a tube amp under $500 and I kept getting directed towards Fender and Orange, and then I stumbled upon this bad boy. It's got just as much kick if not more than the Fender and Oranges priced at the same value or higher. The volume is absolutely incredible. I put this thing on four or five and it fills up a room in my house with plenty to spare. There normal and bright channels have a slight difference but it's negligible. It might be a little more noticeable under some effects. The distortion is my only beef on this machine. It's a very dirty, bluesy distortion, but you can make it sound nice and rocky with a few tweaks. I haven't tried any pedals on this amp yet, I may have to edit in the future. But it really brings out the flavor of my Epiphone Sheraton II. I can't say enough good things about this amp and that guitar.

  • from January 10, 2016

    Awesome!

    Exceeded my expectations! Great sound! Versatile. Nice smooth and warm overdrive and nice cleans. I wanted something with good amount of gain as I play newer style rock. Sounds great with my Schecter that's equipped with EMG 81's. Very happy with this perchase. Also my MIM standard telecaster sounds amazing through this amp. Buy it!

  • from Napoleon OH December 19, 2015

    Great Amp, Greater Value

    I'm primarily a drummer but have been playing bass and guitar for several years. I started with a couple of very decent solid state amps but became more aware of their shortcomings when I tried out an Epi Les Paul 60's Tribute through a tube amp before I bought it. After that, I began to keep an eye out for a decent and relatively inexpensive tube amp.
    I tried out various amps at different places and was impressed by the Bugera. I liked the sound, functionallity and the retro looks as well as the price and wound up ordering one from Sweetwater.
    Sweetwater's service was stellar as usual and the amp was here within several days. While I'm a drummer and not a connoisseur when it comes to guitar gear, I know a good value when I play it. The amp has an excellent clean sound and takes pedals extreme well (right now a Way Huge Aqua Puss Delay, a Joyo Deluxe Crunch distortion and an Electro Harmonix Neo Holy Grail reverb). The dirty sound is very organic and works for blues, hard rock and about anything up to metal. As a "bedroom guitar hero" I'm very pleased with it. The presence feature and normal-bright inputs are nice features, as is the pentode-diode switch, which is great for keeping the volume down. This amp can put out some pretty serious volume, though. More than my poor old ears can handle! Highly recommended.

  • from escondido california December 17, 2015Music Background:
    2 year player

    Bugera V22 Infinium

    when i received it i had my best friend a very experienced guitar player for 40 years bring over his Carvin V guitar and play through it and he was blown away with the sound very clean and strong even at low volume it was still there. he told me that it would be plenty for club playing and would not ever need a bigger amp. when i play through it it does not even in the same class as my peavey 30 watt vipr a lot more range than my peavey. tone is right there even at low volume. just have to wait to neighbors go to work so i can really hear it. for the price there is nothing out on the current market that will compete with it.

  • from December 5, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar/Keys with We Are Messengers

    Suprising amp!

    I recently purchased this amp needing a solid tube amp while not breaking the bank. I did a side by side comparison with this and a Vox AC15C1 and personally, the Bugera had a much better sound than the Vox with more features to go with it. This amp looks great in person and has a wonderful clean tone. The drive channel is usable enough to gig with, but I prefer using my pedals on the clean channel. From what I can tell, the Infinium series has corrected most if not all problems regarding build quality. The Turbosound speaker sounds great as well. I doubt I will change it any time soon. If you have any doubts, remove them and go grab this amp before the prices shoot up on these things. I'm hoping Bugera will have a better name for itself after a few people grab these amps.

  • from November 5, 2015Music Background:
    Worship

    Surprised by it. Amazing amp.

    Nothing Negative to say to this beautiful amp. Had it for a week now and I am always excited to go home from work to spend time to this beast. Sounds fantastic and it can handle any pedal I put into it. Money well spent seems like a steal no kidding.

  • from Natchitoches La. October 22, 2015Music Background:
    Country/Rock/Jazz

    Bugera V22 Infinium

    I noticed very quickly,that this amp had sound that I had been missing.Its clean and punchy and has awesome harmonics.Used at a large community festival,the sound engineer said He liked the sound of that amp! I liked the fact that I received this amp in 3 days of ordering. It was shipped safely in perfect condition.

  • from Jacksonville, FL August 13, 2015

    Outstanding Amp for the price

    Upfront i will admit that I am a very novice guitar wannabe! I once had dreams of owning a blistering made in U.S.A. Fender Twin Reverb, but I have come to the conclusion that I do not need it for what I do (Trying to get the perfect Electric Blues sound) . Sitting in my bedroom this amp gives me the exact sound that I want without rattling the windows! I previously owned a Fender Blues Junior and I honestly can say (IMO) that head to head w/o any pedals, the BJ cannot touch this amp. I also own a Fender Deville 212, very nice, but very loud to get the sound that I want. For the price I would be really suprised if there is anything that can beat this amp. I am so glad that I got one before someone gets smart and jacks the price up on it. The amp looks and sounds great - I cannot speak for durability yet, but for the price I paid I think it will be alright!

  • from CA June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for many years but seriously in the last few

    Amazing sound, lots of options, great with pedals

    I've had the Bugera V22 Infinium for about two weeks now and I am very happy. Along with playing solo at home, I used it for band rehearsal once and it held its own against a custom built Randall 55 watt combo, drums, and a bass. Everyone commented on how good it sounds. I will use it to play a house party in a month and I'm confident it will perform well.The clean channel is rich and warm and sounds like a tube amp should. Turn it up and it just gets better and doesn't have that splatter that you can get with lower priced solid state amps; it remains clean and clear. If I hit the gain button and turn up the gain and volume knobs I get all the crunch and dirt I will ever need. It looks great and everything feels solid including the knobs. I switch between the Triode and Pentode modes when playing with others or just practicing; it's nice to get the tubes cranking without blowing the windows out of my house while practicing.
    It takes my Boss Distortion/Overdrive, Compression, and EQ pedals very well. I haven't tried the foot pedal yet for gain and reverb but I will add to this if necessary. The reverb is solid state but sounds great and can achieve that "large hall" vintage sound.
    At this price point, I know I couldn't have done better. I play a G&L Legacy electric and it brings out all the great qualities of that guitar. I also play an Ovation acoustic/electric through it and it sounds beautiful.
    ++Shaka Dhladhla is my sales rep and he has been great. Sweetwater is going the extra mile to keep my business.

  • from Round Rock June 12, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sounds Good to Me

    After reading the previous review. I could not disagree more. Bugera took nearly a year and half from introducing this V22 Infinium Combo at NAAM 2014 and it finally coming out. I also own the V22 Infinium Head that I use through a pair of Marshal 1x12's and to my ears I like the new Turbosound speakers better. Enough so that I'm considering by the 1x12 Tubosound Cab.
    Since this Amp just came out I'm interested in others opinions but for my money this one is a winner. Enough so that I sold my Vox AC30c2 and passed up a tremdous deal on the AC15C1.

  • from Missouri June 11, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Don't be dissuaded-it's a great amp

    Before you judge this 22-watt 1x12" tube combo amp, read ALL the positive reviews of the V5 & V55 infinium. I own both the V5 infinium (for serenading the misses in the living room) and a V22 infinium (for more punch at the low end in my music room) and find them both an exceptional value for all-tube combos. I must admit these are my 1st forays into tube power, but I really love the tonal qualities made possible by the EQ and amazing Reverb. The Tube life Multiplier Tech can only be a plus, but time will tell. Many thanks to the positive reviewers who have gone before me and helped sway my decision to purchase these amps. Ordered the V22 infinium on a Tuesday and it arrived on Thursday AM. Very satisfied with the entire process from purchase to delivery to customer service follow-up!

  • from NH September 3, 2016

    Great tube tone

    Great tube amp. A few minor things to take care of once you receive it. Remove the speaker so you can remove the tube cage. It rattles and it will need to come off once the tubes fail. Do not overreact when you play a chord and hear a strange rattle, just the tube cage which appears to only be installed to protect tubes during shipment. 2nd, order a set of replacement tubes because its only a matter of time. High end replacement would cost what this amp costs new, so it appears booger uses inexpensive tubes from the factory...they had to cut something in a $400 amp, which is fine by me. I probably would have retubed it anyway, even if stock tubes didnt fail after 30 days. This is great little amp with awesome tone that would normally cost double or triple the cost of booger to achieve. I installed JJ tubes and this amp CAME ALIVE. Very impressed, plenty loud enough to rehearse or gig with a drummer (mic required for large rooms).

  • from August 28, 2016

    What an all around champ!

    For the price, you'll be hard-pressed to find another amp with this many features. The one thing that everyone who does research on these amps wonders: what about the quality? I can only attest to the V22 that I own. I traded a guitar for this amp some time ago, so I received the amp 2nd hand. To this day (and knock on wood), I haven't had a problem with it at all. For 22watts, it's loud. The 2 channels, offered reverb, and bass/mid/treble/presence controls are just a small insight into how flexible this amp gets. Furthermore, the option of triode/pentode just makes this amp incredibly versatile. Throw in the effects loop and 2 different options for input (normal vs bright), and you'll find that you can experiment for days on this amp. I am absolutely astounded by its playability. Yeah, it's no Marshall/Fender/Mesa, but for the money, you really can't find a more well-rounded, versatile tube combo amp!

  • from San Antonio March 14, 2016

    Great sounding amp.

    4.5 stars because of the strange rattle every so often. I'll replace tubes when I finish troubleshooting. Great cleans, reverb, very usable gain channel, works great with all digital and analog pedals. Also, great versatility the mode switch doesn't just knock the watts down to 13, it's very percussive. Ridiculous price for a great amp.

  • from Santa Clara, CA March 2, 2016Music Background:
    Classic rock

    Bugera V22 Infinium combo amplifier

    This amp has a great retro look and sounds fantastic and all for a very reasonable price. At a modest 22 watts, it is surprisingly loud and cuts through the band mix with ease. The amp has incredible tonal range with lots of top end bite. The bright channel, with gain set at 6 or 7, absolutely sings with a sweet, creamy tone and eagerly slips into harmonic feedback. Outstanding value for money!

    The only reason I didn't give 5 stars for this amp is that the first one I received had a defect which appeared to be related to a bad tube. I had to return the amp but full marks to Sweetwater for promptly sending me a replacement which I am delighted with. If you are looking for a compact tube amp with a great sound and vibe you should seriously consider the Bugera.

  • from Tampa, FL July 31, 2015

    5 Years Old - Sounds Great

    My Bugera V 22 is 5 years old. I have owned it for 3 years as I bought it used. I replaced the tubes upon purchase just because I didn't know the amps history. The sound from the V22 is awesome and the reverb is great. Not so crazy about the gain so I use a Boss Blues Driver pedal. Quality of this unit has been great.

  • from Long Beach Ca. June 29, 2015Music Background:
    Active player.

    A Fantastic value.

    I bought a demo Bugera V 22 amp for Sweetwater after using one at a local store. It arrived a few days later and I was quite impressed with the quality of the amp. It looks just great and feels solid when you pick it up. Not too heavy but not a feather weight either. My first impression of the sound was disappointing. I used a 50's Fender reissue strat and felt the amp had way too much mid range tone. Not sweet or glassy at all. The overdrive channel was loud and had great harmonics but it was not sweet sounding. I considered sending it back but after contacting Bugera they suggested the pre amp tubes may be faulty. It was a demo after all and the tubes were loose when it arrived and had to but pushed back into the chassis. It was necessary to remove the grill protecting the tubes to get at them but I got it off and I happened to have a matching set of pre amp tubes. What a difference! The tone really came alive. Bright, sweet and harmonic. Since then I have not had a single problem with the amp. Every tube amp I have ever bought has needed some attention out of the box. They are somewhat delicate instruments and don't respond well to FedEx travel.
    I couldn't be happier with this amp. It has tremendous power and presence. A fantastic value.

  • from MI July 9, 2016

    First Tube Amp

    Within the past year or so I have been playing lead guitar more and more in live situations. Nothing big just small jams at bars and such. I knew the time was coming where I was going to need a real amp. I was looking for an all tube combo with 2 channels and a fx loop and found this I was very hesitant with the price it looked way too good to be true... finally I had to make a decision on something as I was asked to play with a band at a 4th of July celebration. I ordered this from sweetwater knowing how good there customer service is. Received it, plugged in and warmed the tubes up and was impressed! played for an hour before taking it down to it first jam night... after a few songs in the light started flashing and it got very hot smelling. I contacted Sweetwater and they told me it sounded like more than just bad tubes and sent me a whole new amp that I received two days later!! Very carefully and nervously I tested this one out hoping I wouldn't have the same problems and so far so good, it made it through the rest of the month and played through the 4th of July gig last week and I've been very happy with it!...... My advice is if you really want to give this amp a try, go for it! just make sure you have the patients to get one that works properly. Im aware of the quality problems this Amp has had and I just wish Bugera.. or Behringer.. or whoever would just bump the price up a hundred bucks and make it a little more reliable! if you can get one that works though, it is very worth it in my opinion! Thank you Sweetwater for your great support and service!

  • from August 26, 2015

    Bugera V22

    Found the Bugera V22 to be the right weight and size I was looking for. Bugera's construction is excellent and it's retro look is beautifully executed. The British tube sound of the Bugera has that warm thick bodied sound everyone talks about when it comes to tube amps and the 22 amps are plenty of power these days for most situations, in the studio or the clubs/ festivals. Most of my guys insist on micing the amps so they can best mix the sound so the V22 does the job and more. The design of the control panel sports two channels and a mid range selection that was not present on other Bugera models along with a good reverb unit . The tube cage makes it a little inconvenient to get to the tubes for replacement but the tubes themselves are very well protected when it comes to how much an amp is moved about if you are a performer like I am. Well that's about it ..... yours truly ...... very pleased.

  • from New Orleans, LA June 17, 2015Music Background:
    30 plus years, piano, flute, sax, clarinet, drums, 6 string, bass own a strat, les and PRS 24 custom

    Great First Amp

    well after 5 months, one bad tube had to be replaced ;( so 6 weeks later I get it back. great mids, you can scoop it some but you need a equalizer. also handles pedals great. got it going through my mesa 212 rectified and it gets LOUD! with pedals and patience you get use to its quirks.
    clean channel 1 but you will have to balance it out as the gain is somehow wired into it? so channel 2 had ok gain up to 1985 standards. with a tube screamer or any pedal you like will work except one. blackstar ht pedal my amp couldn't handle the boost and I couldn't be within 30 feet or full on distortion! so watch what you do. this is a learning and practice amp with great attributes except one which they could improve is having to bias the tubes!
    this is why I gave it a 4 but I would recommend it for country, blues, clean, and oh with my pedals, I use a red witch chorus and wampler tape going through the effects loop and my wah, and whatever else through the front and when im playing channel 2 solo lets say some Tool on my PRS or LES, when I mute, SILENCE!!!!!!!!!
    must I say more, hand built, ceramic components. made to last years. wound not recommend though if you have to move it a lot then carry extra tubes and a meter to bias them. one reviewer evidently thinks tubes last! thats why your amp not sounding right
    I change my tubes after 6-8months of operational time. sometimes sooner in triac mode as you only using 1/2 the tube so its harder on tubes imo.

  • from marstons mills, MA March 25, 2017

    great and all, but...

    Great sounding amp- I love it... but mine came with a big scratch (like from a box cutter) down the side. Not bad enough to where I'm gonna return it, but... cmon maaaan

  • from Bruceton, TN October 29, 2016

    Good jazz amp.

    Might make a great jazz amp. Cleans are thick and good response. Clean channel stays clean even at a cranked volume which is a problem for me. I want an amp with more breakup. Maybe its the 80w speaker but I don't know. The amp is not bad per say just not my style.

  • from Maine May 23, 2016Music Background:
    Pro since 1980m...Original's, classic rock, modern rock, blues and blues rock ....

    Nice little amp

    I've owned many amps both solid state and tube and this one here is waaaaay above many that I've owned in both quality tone and craftsmanship ....
    It's my go to gig and practice amp now.
    It's great for classic rock and blues and points in between but I wouldn't really consider it for metal but that's my 2 cents worth.
    All in all, it's a very nice quality bargain.

  • from May 2, 2017

    Great amp

    Pro: Great amp. No hiss! Great for all styles except metal.
    Con: Needs better inspection. One of the transformers looks like it was dropped on the ground then mounted. It has a dent and scuff marks.

  • from June 5, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, Guitar player, mixing engineer

    Frustrating

    First of all, I have to say that this is not exactly the amp I bought. I did buy the standard Bugera V22, not this Infinium type, which is new. However, I needed to express my opinion somewhere, and since the old V22 is no longer listed in this site (as I am typing), I’ll review it here. Moreover, the only apparent change between the two amps is the Tube Life Multiplier Technology anyways. So, summing up, I am very disappointed with this amp. It is extremely midrangy and honky, especially the drive channel. I have tweaked the hell out of the amp and tried it with three different guitars (two Gibsons and a Fender), but nothing seems capable of cutting this midrange out. Just to give you an idea of how midrangy and honky we are talking about, I am using the normal input (not the bright one), with the mid knob all the way down and mid boost disengaged, and I still have to cut some mid frequencies by 6-7 dbs with an Eq in Pro Tools when I record it. It’s funny because I remember trying one of these amps in a local guitar shop a couple of years ago, and it sounded amazing. It was slightly different though, it had the vintage Bugera speaker, not the Turbosound one that comes with the V22 now. I contacted Bugera and they claim the change of speakers was an improvement, even though the old amp I tried back then sounded much better. It doesn’t have much gain either. It works fine for classic rock, but a tube screamer would be necessary for heavier stuff. Bottom line, I either got a defective unit or it just lost quality. I am still giving it 2.5 stars because the clean channel is good, but as a rock player, there is not much use for me.

  • from April 13, 2017

    Entry Level Tube Amp

    I've owned this amp for a little over two years and was looking for the cheapest tube amp I could find. I had previously owned a Fender Deluxe Reverb, which I had to sell in order to pay for my wedding. In my experience with this amp, it does have "tube tone", but I would classify this amp as an entry level tube amp. While this amp gets plenty loud, the tone doesn't even come close to touching that of the Fender Deluxe Reverb. The tone seems very two-dimensional compared to that of other higher quality, more expensive tube amps I have played. Also, the build quality isn't the best. The channel switch button fell off of mine, and somehow the foot switch doesn't work anymore to switch channels. If you want to make the jump from solid-state to tube amps and have a limited budget, this could be a good option for you. But, if I were you I'd probably save a few hundred dollars more and invest in something a little bit higher in quality.

  • from Park Forest, IL July 6, 2015Music Background:
    Professional guitarist 25 years-recording-tours-commercials-Broadway shows

    Great Sounding Amp-Questionable Quality

    I played this amp during Gearfest and was really impressed with the sound quality. It sounded wonderful and I couldn't believe the price. Sweetwater had the head on sale and I bought that one and it had power problems. So they offered me a great deal on this amp and man did it sound good, just as I remembered. Within minutes of playing the amp, I noticed it had a strange rattle and contacted Sweetwater tech support. We couldn't figure out the problem so I returned it. Again, the amp sounds wonderful. It sounds like my Fender '65 Deluxe Reissue for a fraction of the price. They offered to replace it but after two amps I just said, "no, thank you". Incidentally, when I spoke to the Behringer rep at Gearfest who invited me to try the amp, I told him that I was dubious about Behringer quality and he told me that he understood and that Behringer now manufactures all their own parts and builds their products in one facility so their QC is vastly improved. Sorry to say I believe they still have a long way to go.

Questions about the Bugera V22 Infinium 22-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway