0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Traveler Guitar Ultra-Light Electric - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Traveler Guitar Ultra-Light Electric - Natural?

Questions about the Traveler Guitar Ultra-Light Electric - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 17, 2017

    Perfect Practice Tool

    I really like this guitar. It is the perfect travel companion and a great addition to any guitar player's arsenal of essential tools for every day use. The profile is so small, which makes it really nice to take along anywhere to practice. And the crazy thing is that it still has a full size fret board. It works and sounds great whether plugged into my full size rig or connected to my iPhone using my iRig and Amplitube App. I actually sat in my car one day, plugged it into my stereo (using the iRig) and jammed away while waiting on my wife who was at an appointment. People where walking through the parking lot wondering where the concert was! I even like to use it unplugged while watching TV as I do some scale work. Tuning it does take a little bit to get used to, but you get used to it pretty quickly. Plus, it is a little awkward at first not having a full size guitar body to rest your hand/arm on, but you get used to that as well. Again, if you think of it as a tool to help you learn/improve/maintain your skills, it is well worth it. I love it!

  • from December 29, 2016

    Too Cool!!!

    Arrived about an hour ago and I'm very impressed. Finally, something that's compact and incredibly playable. This little guitar is going to see a lot of the country over the next few years.

  • from Tulsa March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Retired sound engineer, musician

    Unbelievable!

    Considering the price, I was not expecting much from this travel guitar. Then it arrived--a day early, in fact--and I extracted it from Sweetwater's usual great packing. My newest travel companion was in tune, perfectly intonated, and had an action perfectly suited to my taste. How could this be?

    Fit and finish are as to be expected...the frets are adequately finished, the neck straight, and the tuners work well. The guitar holds tune well, even after a string-bending Blues fest. Its travel bag fits it snugly, with room in the added carry pocket for a pack of strings, a tuner, a capo, and a Vox mini rock plug in headphone amp. The pocket also holds the removable bent wire leg rest (which I've only used once as I like the guitar better without it.)

    Needless to say, I'm very happy with my purchase. I take the thing everywhere and play it: in the car while waiting for my wife to shop, while walking the dog, while watching TV. And because its got a full scale neck, I don't suffer from fingerboard schizophrenia when playing my other electrics. The pickup sounds serviceable enough, after all if we had wanted a Les Paul sound we would have bought a Les Paul. No, it doesn't have a volume control. No, neither does it have a tone control. At this price point, why bother? What we're really purchasing is portability and playability at the cost of more features. This Traveler Guitar fills the bill quite nicely.

  • from Austin TX October 14, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist, sound engineer

    Fantastic

    I was travelling 50 weeks a year when I got my Ultralight 4 years ago and have been extremely pleased with it. The neck is comfortable and about the size of a Teles neck, with fully dressed, high quality medium nickel frets. The tuners are in the same position as if they were on a regular headstock, and the guitar stays in tune 95% of the time! Throw the steel leg rest in a drawer - its not needed. The peizo pickup works great on any kind of amp and for any kind of music. I restrung mine with electric strings and regulary play metal with it! For a headphone amp, I strongly recommend getting some Vox Amplugs. I really like the Joe Satrioni model; the ClassicRock model sounds like a Plexi, and the Metal model sounds like a Rectifier. I would love to have the "Pro" -or- Ultralight Electric model since it has both a rail and piezo pickup.
    I have a LP, Tele, a Yamaha acoustic and others ... and if I was forced to have one guitar - it would hands down be my Traveler!

  • from Las Vegas, NV USA September 3, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist!

    holy moly its here!!!

    i've been waiting 10 months for this product!!! minor delays from production, but this will be worth the wait!!!

  • from Houston TX April 14, 2011

    Perfect for someone working away from home.

    This is literally the perfect guitar for someone who works away from home. I work offshore so my luggage is limited to a duffel bag and being that it's only 28" and literly "ultra light", it fits inside my bag and doesn't add hardly any weight at all. It comes with a gig bag style carrying case that you can fit at the very least a 3 foot cable (I might recomend a slightly longer cable), spare set of strings and an iRig into. I love how it's a full scale neck so when I do get back home to play my normal guitars, it's not a weird transition at all to play what I've learned while away. It sounds great plugged in too. This model does not have tone or volume knobs but I have not had any need for them using the Amplitube app on iPhone. The only negative thing I have to say about it may be my personal playing preference, but the addition metal bar to rest on your leg is in bit of an akward position for me. I usually play it without using it but it's not a big deal. Overall this guitar is an awesome buy. Definitley look into getting an iRig (sold here on sweetwater) and the Amplitube app for iPhone for the best and lightest traveling guitarist experience possible. One of the best purchases I've made in a long time. Well worth the money for the comfort of playing guitar while working away from home.

  • from May 30, 2016

    Traveler guitar

    Plays good sounds decent, could use a volume knob. Stays in tune relatively well. Definitely has improved my playing! Lite weight easy to carry. Takes up little room .

Questions about the Traveler Guitar Ultra-Light Electric - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway