0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Ultimate Support Ulti-Boom-TB Reviews

4.0 stars based on 21 customer reviews
  • Customer
    from June 16, 2015

    Best in the business

    I've used countless boom mic stands and this thing is in a whole different league. The counter weight allows me to get the mic closer to me than any other mic stand I've used while still being very stable. Costs a bit more than most other stands but it's totally worth it. I have two now and will surely get more for the rest of my team eventually.

  • Lou Cicconi
    from Odessa, NY September 21, 2012Music Background:
    Musician...

    Short Boom

    Much more comfortable than the longer booms...Works well in conjunction w/my I-Klip & IPAD...

  • joe from crofton
    from crofton July 18, 2012Music Background:
    long time amateur

    industrial grade

    unreal value. this thing is built like a truck. bought four of them. will buy another four.
    really convenient size, and adjustable to the max.

  • Vinnie
    from Angola, in. May 28, 2012Music Background:
    Bass player

    Awesome product!

    This is a well made mic boom. Easily handles the rigors of band life.

  • Jef Hogan
    from Los Angeles August 11, 2011Music Background:
    Pro

    Superb craftmanship

    Smooth

  • Luis Martinez
    from Bronx, NY August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Really well made.

    This mic stand boom arm hold the microphone securely and it is very flexible. It is very well made, and it will hold your mic in the position you desire. Highly recommended.

  • Kev
    from San Francisco July 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very sturdy boom arm

    I replaced my on stage boom arm with the Ultimate Ulti-boom-TB and this thing stays put where I want it. Easy to adjust and it looks great too. I am very happy with my purchase!

  • Michael Dean
    from Nacogdoches, TX April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    UltiBoomTB has the fix

    I posted a review that Ultimate had a flaw in this boom, the telescoping arm knobs did not tighten enough. I phoned them and they sent me replacement knobs. Now it it good to go. I still wish they had wings to grip better, but I'm very satisfied. Thanks Ultimate support.

  • Peter Previte
    from Chelmsford, MA April 30, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend warrior (average 40 gigs/year)

    Fresh Treatment Works!

    I had recently bought a new keyboard stand and wanted a new mic boom attachment to replace the well-worn one I had. I was intrigued by the specs for this fresh new design from Ultimate Support and ordered one. I was very pleased and found it to be a good value for the money.
    PROS: Beautiful and durable black finish - NO chrome; easy to manipulate knobs; fully adjustable; a robust counterweight that does the job.
    CONS: None to report

  • Chad
    from Springfield Ohio April 30, 2012Music Background:
    MTSU Recording Industry, church multi-site production, home studio, always a student...

    So far so good

    These booms are working well and seem to have rugged components. I really like the large wing nut. I may check back in after a year of volunteers using them.

  • Donn Stephens
    from Springfield, IL March 30, 2012Music Background:
    performer, writer, educator

    Good stuff

    I ordered the Ulti-Boom-TB for our church use. We needed something solid, light-weight, affordable, and rugged. From its description, this product sounded like it fit our needs and criteria. When we received it and used it, we found that it was exactly as advertised. Great product. Sweetwater, you continue to encourage me to keep doing business with you.

  • TJC
    from Conway, MA December 27, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    U.S Ulti-Boom

    Very sturdy. Works well for live performance as it's easy to adjust.

  • Texas Brass Rock Band
    from Houston, TX December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Engineer and Performing Musician

    So far so good

    The biggest test will be the reliability of the adjustment knobs over time. I bought 2 of these, one for a new install on a keyboard boom and another as a replacement. It is easy to use and very robust.

  • Eric
    from Northeast, US February 6, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician, worship leader, recording hobbyist

    Nice boom!

    This was purchased to sit on top of my keyboard stand to be used as a vocal mic while I play. I wanted the benefit of adjustable length for when I might stand or sit and this fits the bill just right. It seems to be of good quality and knobs are easy to turn. I have used adjustable booms in the past and the adjustment knobs were not easy to turn at all. I do with is were just a little longer but it does do exactly what I need it to do!

  • Ray
    from USA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent boom for good price

    Works great on desk top mic stand. Very well built, good quality.

  • Sue
    from pennsylvania July 22, 2011Music Background:
    non-professional, play for fun

    ulti boom TB

    kind of makes the stand a little top heavy. I tried to adjust it so it dont tip over.

  • Michael Dean
    from Nacogdoches, TX April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    UltiBoomTB needs one fix

    First, I have always liked Ultimate equipment. I agree with most of the positive reviews about this stand. It is solid and I love the large, easily gripped nut to adjust the boom arm. So, why are the knobs to adjust the telescoping function so difficult? They are round and cannot be tightened easily. Once tightened, they cannot be undone. It makes no sense. I'm writing Ultimate for a replacement knob that can be gripped. If they can hook me up, this is a 5-star product. If not, I can't use it.

  • Larry Kriz
    from Elgin, IL June 29, 2015

    Um...

    I've had this boom arm for a while now. I read through most of the other reviews. Interesting how much variation there was in the responses. There is one thing that needs to be mentioned first and foremost: that so-called "counterweight" is nothing but decorative plastic that "looks like" a counterweight. It has no counterweight properties at all. Which makes the entire thing not so good for heavier microphones. Also, as already mentioned in other reviews, the securing knobs are the smallest I've ever seen on a boom arm. Which makes them very difficult to fasten down enough to hold the arm in place. The larger knob by the stand end is ok, I guess. But if you're trying to attach a large diaphragm condenser mic (for example) you need to really crank on that thing to keep the arm from drooping. That middle section is huge for reasons I can't figure out. When you pull it out of the box it looks and feels like a tank but in actual use... it's a Chevy. Two simple fixes would be: 1) put an actual counterweight on the end of the thing and 2) larger securing knobs. I really like Ultimate Support products but this thing is kind of a dud for anything other than a small light-weight condenser mic

  • Mat Getsi
    from Mt. Vernon, KY (USA) February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Sound Engineer (live sound), Performer

    Disappointing

    These booms seem really great at first, but they just don't hold up. I bought six of these booms, and all 6 quickly became un-usable. The problem is with the telescoping boom arm lightener. They are supposed to be easy to turn and lock the arm in place without having to tighten excessively. The problem is that they quickly reach the stage of not tightening well enough to hold a heavy mic in place. I will be replacing all of them with something better-built.

  • PRBroste
    from Culver City, CA USA August 16, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Engineer, Film School Sound Designer, Gigging Musician

    Not Impressed

    When telescoped fully out, the arm wobbled like crazy at the joint. Not cool. Knobs didn't grip in my hands very well either. Sent it back. Trying an Atlas instead.

  • Ron Fife
    from Indianapolis, IN August 25, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer/Percussionist/Vocalist

    Bad batch?

    Received the boom I ordered only to discover that the receiver that secures the mic-end portion of the boom wobbled no matter how much the knob was tightened. I was passing through Ft Wayne between gigs so I stopped in Sweetwater to exchange it but the the next one we tried had the same defect: the plastic plug that is supposed to secure the boom tightener in the outer boom did not secure it adequately. Disappointing because I like the tilter which can be tightened enough to secure the mic's position but allow the boom to be pushed up or down as need while playing without having to adjust the knob. No disappointment with Sweetwater's service. Salesperson Steph McDowell was very helpful.

Questions about the Ultimate Support Ulti-Boom-TB?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway