0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TASCAM US-1800 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 14 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris Sanders

    The Tascam US-1800 is a workhorse in my home studio. The eight mic pres are perfect for drums. The independent gain controls offer loads of control, and its clipping indicators make gain staging a no-brainer. With all the I/O, I'm able to drive two headphone amps with separate mixes and keep the sessions going all night.

  • Pat L.
    from Hanover, PA January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Nice interface

    You can't beat this Tascam US-1800 for the money. For my situation, I had to have the 8 mic ins for recording live drums. You don't get that with many interfaces in this price range, so I bought it just to check it out. I was pleasantly surprised how easy this makes recording tracks in Pro Tools 11 because of the front load mic inputs, two line/guitar inputs in the front, and two more in the back. Some nice features here for the minimal cost. If you are on the fence about buying this, and on a budget, I can tell you that you won't be disappointed if you get this.

  • Jread
    from South Jersey January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician.

    Great Unit, Incredible Value

    I've used many other interfaces that I either owned or used/rented. This is by far the absolute best interface for the price. The preamps on tracks 1-8 are very clear and clean. The limiter lights are very helpful and responsive. The switches(power, phantom, gain) all feel very robust and I trust that I won't accidentally push one into the unit or break them. The unit is solidly built, I suggest a rack case for travel. Latency is incredibly low right out of the box, I did next to no fiddling and was satisfied. Output could possibly be expanded, but If you know what you're doing the output options are flexible enough.

  • Robert Martin
    from Warner Robins, GA USA June 17, 2012Music Background:
    Church Sound Engineer for 29 years, TV for 10 years

    Great little box

    I've only had it for a couple of months and I'm only using it to record stereo from the TV sound board at my church... for now... So far it has been flawless. I'm using it with Soundforge 10 and had no issues mapping the line inputs 9 & 10 (coming from a compressor) to channels 1 & 2. I use Outputs 1 & 2 as a return feed to the sound board. The recorded sound is almost indistinguishable from the live sound. Clean, clear, no funky coloration. Thinking of getting another one for home use with my quartet. At $300 this thing is a steal of a deal.

  • John Larson
    from Eagle River, AK June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Musician,

    Fantastic Sound

    Really quiet, lots of headroom, great quality, built well. I'm using Logic Pro 9 and it was easy to pair it with my computer and set it up in my DAW. I have not had to EQ any guitar yet cause they sound great right away. I am very impressed with this product.

  • Jess
    from North Carolina February 9, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Sound Tech, Recording Engineer

    Well built and easy to use.

    The TASCAM US-1800 works as advertized and feels solid. The switches and knobs don't make you feel like you have to be careful with the gear. It's ready to go - simple as that.

    Pots are predictable. No fussing to find a level. Everything is clearly labeled and there are no mysteries.

    It came with free CUBASE DAW software. CUBASE is NOT intuitive at all and has a steep learning curve. It was free so this is not a complaint, just a heads up to anyone making a gear purchase based on getting a two-fer with the software. Starting from zero with CUBASE is like playing a Mario game with hidden features that aren't clearly detailed in any of the tutorials. I'm staying with Adobe Audition.

    The TASCAM, though, is a solid piece of gear and the special pricing from Sweetwater made it a no-brainer. If you're looking for something of similar specs, look no further.

  • Josh
    from January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Awesome Interface

    I purchased this interface on a whim as the Firewire one I wanted sold out. I was a bit skeptical at first of a USB interface, but this purchase has paid off hands down.

    It has a total of 10 preamps (8 XLR, 2 1/4") plus 4 line inputs on the back. With two rack mounted preamps, I have a total of 14 inputs, perfect for my studio. The knobs feel a little cheap, and they're hard to see under low light, but for $250, I cant complain

    Contrary to popular belief, this interface works great on mac. I connected it to a brand new Macbook Pro using Reaper as a DAW, and everything worked fine.

  • Customer
    from March 20, 2012Music Background:
    Student

    Excellent for the money

    Great interface, everything works like it should. My only complaint is how confusing it is to initially set it up with recording software. I had to look online to figure it out.

  • Erwin
    from Caldwell, NJ December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player, Guitar player, small recording studio owner.

    TASCAM US-1800

    It took me a little while to figure out how to use the Tascam US-1800 properly, but once I did I quickly learned to love it. My biggest issue with it was learning to use Cubase LE 5. (I come from a Protools background) I found that the documentation for Cubase LE 5 was not very detailed, but after searching online (Mostly youtube videos created by users) I was finally able to really get a grasp on it. The Tascam US-1800 itself is a very good product, & it is very affordable. It allows me to do things in my small studio that I wasn't able to do before. When I purchased it Sweetwater was running a sale on it & there was also a $50 rebate from the manufacturer, which is the reason that I finally purchased it (After researching it earlier in the year). Very happy with it...

  • Josh Dagg
    from July 2, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Great Bang For Your Buck!

    I've had this interface for about two years now, and it's hands down the most invaluable piece of gear I own. I record all 16 inputs at once into Reaper, and using the software monitoring I get 4ms latency - unbelievable for a USB interface!

    My only gripe with this unit is the knobs feel cheap, and are starting to wear out, but for a $300 unit I can't complain.

    This interface is a great unit for just starting out, or for the backbone of a working studio!

  • Daryl Andrews
    from Cambridge, MA December 30, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, & Sound Designer

    Best Interface In It's Price Range.. Hands Down

    I've had this bad boy for almost 11 months now and I must say this is the best interface I have heard in it's price range.. Crisp, clean sound great for recording guitars as well as vocals there is quite a bit of color too it though but I've found that just a few tweaks here and there in the mix should fix that... The only things besides that is that all of the inputs are in the front and that there are no XLR outputs but that's just personal taste.. Other than that, it's a pretty solid interface... A few Mac users have had problems with compatibility issues and random buzzing coming from the interface but it works great on PC with no problem.. So if you're on a PC and can afford it, I'd say overall this is definitely one of the best out there for the price..

  • Alejandro Hiraldo
    from September 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, musician, composer

    Best USB 2.0 Multi-Channel Interface For The Price!

    I searched all over the internet for weeks trying to find an interface that would let me record 8+ independant channels at once and that was USB because I dont have firewire port. Here are the pros and cons:

    Pros:
    - Amazing price! (bought it on Labor Day special at $199.00)
    - More than enough inputs for most studio applications.
    - The "Mix" knob lets you route the signal either directly to the speakers from the interface or through the PC and then the speakers. This is great because for some applications you just can't afford to have that 0,5 ms of delay.

    Cons:
    - Horrible drivers and software. I get an error each time I turn the interface on. I am running on Win 7 / 64 bit. Dosent seems to affect performance while recording or playing back though.
    - The overall quality of the product isn't as cheap as I thought it would be, but obviously you cant say its top of the line.
    - The preamps are kind of bad but they will get the job done without applying too much noise.

    Overall, I give this interface a 4/5 stars. I would give 5 if their drivers and software where better. I am really satisfied so far, have had it for about 2 months now and its working just fine.

    If you are looking for an interface with lots of inputs and support for USB 2.0, I would definetly recommend this one!

    Note: Sorry for my english, its not my native language.

  • Kevin
    from Shelbyville, TN USA March 16, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Leader/Pastor

    Good for USB

    I am very happy with the quality of recording I got. It actually malfunctioned and I am in the middle of swapping it out. The USB could longer connect to my Mac. Seems to be a problem with some of them. But, Sweetwater took sweet care of me and sent a return label and picked it up. So, I am very happy. Hopefully the next one won't break.

  • Kevin H
    from United States December 1, 2014Music Background:
    Home recording production, mixing, musician

    Better than I expected, but buggy

    I've used this frequently over the past month. When it works, it works well. The issue is frequent out-of-sync (lag) issues, even doing simple tasks like playing music in Windows Media Player. When this occurs it translates to poor performance in the DAW. To remedy I have to power cycle the interface, then like magic everything works fine for a while (could be hours, but usually no more than a day). I fear for the power button wearing out after the warranty expires.

    For the price I can't complain, I was able to retire a mixer and headphone preamp in lieu of the bountiful configurations available with the US-1800. The rebate also arrived very quickly.

  • Customer
    from Pennsylvania, US September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Vocalist, Guitarist, Hobby Recording, Professional Audio Software Development

    Poor Driver; Needs A Fast PC

    The unit is solidly constructed and performs the basic functions of an audio interface, so long as you have enough computing power to handle its woefully inefficient driver (only tested on Windows 7 x64, highly optimized).

    The problem with this interface is that, because it uses USB to interface with the computer, the CPU is responsible for directing the input and output operations required to transfer audio to and from the machine, by responding to system interrupts. This can be a disadvantage, because it uses up resources you could be using for VSTs and the like, but normally it would be manageable. Due to the design of the driver for this interface, however, it can quickly become taxing on the CPU, inevitably leading to SEVERE audio distortion, regardless of ASIO latency and/or sample rate, essentially rendering it useless. The cause is that the driver is queuing up the operations for far too long, then flooding the CPU with interrupts to send the data to main memory. On a Core i7-920, it works just fine (though it is spiking CPU usage), but on a Core i5-2400, audio artifacts occur almost immediately and total breakdown of audio output occurs within 1-2 minutes of recording with 1 input (one!), and 2 outputs (stereo).. I suspect the reason this problem doesn't occur on my Core i7 machine, which I use for software development, is because the i7-920 has HyperThreading and 24 GB of RAM, which is massive overkill for this kind of application.

    I suppose if you happen to have a very powerful computer and need a cheap interface with lots of I/O, and are not concerned about output latency, this may be worthwhile, but with that many qualifiers, you might as well just save up $100 more and get a decent FireWire interface.

Questions about the TASCAM US-1800?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway