rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Steinberg UR44 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Steinberg UR44?

Questions about the Steinberg UR44?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Fort Wayne May 20, 2017

    Best interface in this price range!

    I was looking to upgrade from my 1st gen Scarlett 2i2 a few months ago, mainly because there were so many issues with the drivers on Windows. I was deciding between the Presonus and this, but after awhile I decided investing in this. Right out of the box, it just worked. No issues with drivers, connections, or anything. It's also probably one of the cleanest sounding interface I ever owned as well!

    The only downside about this interface is the UI (lack there of) of the standalone I/O. It looks like something from the 90's and the only control you have is within your DAW. Not worth knocking a star though.

  • from Puerto Rico May 11, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/Producer/ BeatMakerRapper/Mixing and Recording Engineer

    A Great Budget Audio Interface

    It's pretty interesting how Steinberg products such as this audio interface are not that relevant in the audio world comparing it to Focusrite, Audient, Presonus or even Universal Audio. Sure this interface doesn't cost as much as others out there, and may not be as popular. But let me tell you something about the UR44. This unit works like a charm, the preamps sound very good, clear and pleasant with enough gain to record anything you want getting a very professional sound out of them. I haven't come across any problem or situation where I feel like I wasted my money. For $299 you got a lot with this baby 6 ins, two headphones jacks, low latency, dsp processing, the drivers are very stable and believe me you can't go wrong with this unit. I used to have a Focusrite 2i2, before that I had an Apollo Twin Usb 3 and before that the Audient Id14, All of them good interfaces don't get me wrong. But The Audient had a little thing that bothered me a lot. Everytime I would pass 0db I got a very awful and painful distortion sound out of it. The 2i2 was ok nothing special but came across some weird issues with pop and clicks, And the Apollo Twin Duo Usb3 was an awesome unit but when it came down to my daily use $899 for a two channel interface was a lot of money and if you take away the plugins from the apollo, the preamps are just ok nothing major, if you want to get the real deal with Apollo you need to get the new black ones. Anyway back to the UR44, I'm very happy with my purchase, Every Daw works perfect I use FL Studio, Bitwig Studio, Studio One and Reaper. I recorded a couple of take with a Rode Nt1 and a Blue Baby Bottle and both of them sounded very good with the D-Pre's.

    If you are on a budget and wan to get a very solid and good audio interface without breaking your wallet. Get this baby. You won't regret it at all.

    Me? I'm a happy owner of one! and some of my colleagues who are using Apollo and Focusrite interfaces told me that the things I show them recorded with the ur44 sounded awesome so I'm good!!!

    Get One, and rock the world!

  • from White Plains, NY April 16, 2016

    Versatile, Great Sounding, Up To Date Interface

    There are many great things about this interface. First of all Steinberg keeps the drivers up to date. I've gotten past three MacOS upgrades and Steinberg has drivers each time. It is compatible with old and new versions of Pro Tools, Garage Band and Logic which is handy. What I've found to be extremely useful is the the software that comes with the device and the effects built in. The built in reverb and channel strip work great for live mixing and monitoring. This is very useful for practicing when you don't feel like fighting w a computer or moving cables to a mixer for a monitor setup. Even with the computer off this unit works for live monitoring which is quite convenient. The mixing app (dspMixFx) is very useful with and with out DAW software. A versatile and great sounding interfae.

  • from Adrian, MI March 12, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Highly Recommended

    I sold my MOTU Track 16 and purchased to this unit. I liked the MOTU, but the massive loom made it less than portable.
    This interface is very nice. The drivers are rock solid (better than MOTU on Windows for sure) and the pres sound very good. It's got a straightforward layout and the form factor is convenient. The build quality is everything it's advertised as - this thing is built like a tank. For the money you just can't go wrong here!

  • from United States January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist.

    Solid Performer

    This is a solidly built piece of hardware from Steinberg/Yamaha. Plenty of inputs for a smaller studio, great sound quality, flexible monitoring options, and most importantly for me, that monitoring is latency-free. This is a crucial component to tracking great vocals - it lets your singers hear themselves with great accuracy, thereby giving greater confidence, control, and ultimately a better performance. When you sound better, you sing better. All of the included plug-ins sound great and are really useful - as good or better than some of my stand-alone software. Buy it.

  • from Portland, OR USA August 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Some of the best preamps in the price range

    The Yamaha D-Pre's are excellent sounding preamps, and make anything you run through it sound great. I initially purchased this because it has a few more I/O ports than most of the other USB soundcards in it's price range while having lightning fast ASIO performance and some DSP FX for monitoring. I didn't expect to really like the DSP FX, as I have some nice VST ones but I wanted some reverb for zero latency monitoring of vocals and was surprised that I actually really like the Rev X reverb. Unfortunately I've been unable to get the plugins to be recognized in my DAWs. I think it's that the hosts don't recognize VST3 plugins. I'm not even sure they work because I don't have a host that supports VST3. But if you do it should work. The DSP FX work fine however and I can monitor or record with any of the effects applied through the included dspMixFx software. I just can't use the effects as a plugin in my host. So no editing of effects or automation after recording. Again this is something that as far as I know is host side, and could be fixed if the hosts supported VST3. I just thought it would be good for other potential owners to know in case they are having problems getting their plugins to work.
    Again the Yamaha D-Pre preamps in the UR44 are amazing. I think they sound fantastic and make pretty much everything you run through it sound a little better. You'd probably have to spend alot more money to get preamps that sound better. Feature wise the UR44 seems to be best in class and I've been really enjoying using it lately. Highly recommended.

  • from Illinois January 1, 2017

    PERFECT !!

    This is a great interface for the price point. The two headphone in-put is an added bonus and quite useful. I like the ease of turning the preamp on and off with a touch of the button located up front on each channel. The direct monitoring option is a must for all interfaces and of course the UR44 doesn't disappoint here. I'm using my UR44 with my Cubase DAW and as would be expected the marriage is perfect.

  • from Denver, CO January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fantastic Audio Interface

    At first I was upset, thinking that I had received a defective unit because the sound was full of glitches right out of the box. But then, after Sweetwater helped me discover that it cannot connect to your PC's USB 3.0, (it requires 2.0), this interface exceeds all of my expectations in terms of sound quality, design, and included effects. Having 2 headphone jacks on the front is so nice! Clean, transparent sound allows you to add your plugs to a clear canvas in sound... or not!

  • from ATL August 24, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar

    UR44 works great

    Interface is seamless. Seems to work fine with good quality sound so far. Haven't really used it a lot yet.

  • from Seattle January 26, 2016Music Background:
    Serious Amateur

    Great for four mics

    It's a very good interface, and the fact that it comes with Cubase makes it even better. I have been using it for several years now, and it's been a high quality piece of equipment. It captures what goes in. You can't ask for much more than that from an interface. My one complaint is that it's not expandable. It's getting to a point that I want more microphone inputs, and unfortunately, you can't link it to another UR44 or other Steinberg interface. It is compact, reliable, easy to use, and sounds good. Which means I'll be keeping this one even when I get another interface with more preamps.

  • from Norath Bangor, New York June 5, 2015

    Steinberg UR44

    I started out with the Steinberg UR242 and was so impressed, i traded up for the Steinberg UR44.

    The class A preamps are first class. It has plenty of outputs on the back of the unit. I use this unit for a
    small recording studio and it does a great job.

    I highly recommend this product.

    Joe Lewis - Mr Music

  • from San Diego, CA April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A Very Good Low Cost Interface

    We purchased the UR44 for a broadcast production studio which didn't need a great deal of I/O. It fits the bill rather well. USB drivers installed without a hitch on Windows 8.1, and the functionality is rather straight forward if a bit limited.

    There are no digital ins and outs for expansion, so you are limited by the box's analog I/O and even though there are 6 output jacks, there are not 3 sets of stereo outs for the integrated mixer, only 2.

    The first "Mix" controls the control room outs, the analog outs 1&2 and the headphone 1 port. It also has the option to control headphone 2.

    The second Mix control the 3&4 jacks and the option to control headphone 2.

    The integrated DSP effects are very good, but even though reverb send controls can only be used by one Mix at a time, for some reason both mixes are affected by the send level. Returns are luckily independent.

    There were no problems with ASIO integration into the DAW, 6 inputs and outputs are available.

    The Preamps are very good, D-pres are an excellent design, thought the performance quality of the converters is just average. Not a big deal for the home user.

  • from December 27, 2016

    noticeable noise problem

    probably going to return it. when i play something through my DAW there is a constant ground noise loop that i cant get rid of for the life of me. also, the outputs dont show up in my DAW either.
    besides that, it sounds nice and clear.

Questions about the Steinberg UR44?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway