0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Steinberg UR22 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 31 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • David Means

    Of the many small-footprint audio interfaces I've used, and the UR22 stands out because it's simple, it sounds good, and I can use it with both my Mac and my PC. I've used my UR22 with several different microphones, and I'm always pleased with the results.

  • from New York April 11, 2015Music Background:
    Vocal recording for rap/hip-hop music

    Great interface

    I've worked with M-Audio Fastrack before and it would crash my computer (Win7-64bit). This interface works reliably well and offers great quality. I have it connected with Neumann TLM-102 mic and I'm blown away by the quality. Definitely get the interface from a vendor (like Sweetwater) that stands behind its products.

  • from Santa Barbara, CA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, Performer, Recording Engineer, Producer

    Excellent Unit - Stable with good output control

    Very unusual to get a unit this good these days. I've tried Roland, M-Audio (many versions) and now this one because my Roland one kept crashing (m-audio was worse). Here's the pros and cons
    Pro:
    1. Very stable on my win 7 system!!
    2. Well built, good connections, feels solid.
    3. Good output control (mix, headphone, output), work well and are located in good locations.
    4. Has midi for the money
    5. Clean sound, good latency
    Con:
    1. Only a peak indicator, wish it had a LED array or green-signal/red-peak type situation. I found, on my quitar I have to run it so it never touches the peak or any extra loud strum will peak the unit. I know it's short on real estate but sometimes led's can double as green/red.

    Summary: I'm super happy with this unit and I'm sure their upper end ones are even better. The driver is amazingly stable. I don't periodically lose the device (like Roland) and it's solid on boot up. I'd definitely but this again!

  • from Orange County February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Musician

    Using with Yosemite

    I bought this interface as a portable audio output device for use with MainStage and Ableton on OS X Yosemite. So far, everything works great! I was between this and the Scarlett 2i2. My sales engineer recommend the UR22 because it has the MIDI in-out capability incase I need to run another midi device. Build quality is very rugged...seems perfect for use on gigs where I'm just throwing it on the floor.

  • from Valdosta, GA March 20, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Amatuer Recording Engineer

    Great!

    This thing is amazing. I've only had it a couple days but it's so user friendly and connects SO easily to whatever DAW you are using. The unit is big enough to to useable and small enough to be portable. I tried the ART USB Dual Pre before this and found the controls in the back way to difficult to use, and the preamps noisy. But not this Steinberg. Everything is out front on the UR22 and very easy to get to. ULTRA quiet preamps, I get zero hum from this little guy. I love it. Great for small home studios

  • from New Albany, IN February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Student

    Amazing!

    I got this as my first personal interface. My school has Mbox 2s and the UR22 is so much better in my opinion. The sound that I get from it is clear and the front inputs were a very nice change from what I was use to. The sturdy medal case makes it very durable. Will buy again if I need to.

  • from CT January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very nice

    This being my first step into the world of recording, this item was recommended to me by an employee of my local music retailer. Being that my main audience is my dog, the UR22 is perfectly suited to my needs. I love that it has a gain control and a clipping light on the front as well as a high impedance input for plugging a guitar directly into the unit. I also like that the unit comes with Cubase and is powered by a single USB 2.0 port, there are too many cables laying around my desk already and it's nice to not have to look for a place to hide some wall wart power plug. Overall if you're new to recording and don't require a professional level setup, but want pro quality sound, the UR22 is perfect for you.

  • from Elizabeth city, NC January 23, 2014Music Background:
    10 years recording/Production/Mixing/Mastering

    The Ur22

    I love this thing i was looking at some negative comments about it
    But i said let me try my self and wow this thing will stand beside any other audio interface that's out their.Even your high dollar pro-tools interfaces.Roland y'all are a beast.This box does just what it says no white noise no stumbling and clear and powerful.I would tell any body buy this.And im not a rep. I just buy hardware and tell it like it is.

    The only thing this box is missing is a midi clock yall add a midi clock to this and it will be like the club / a record deal / a world wide beat contest on steroids in a good way. Besides that 1000% happy with it.

  • from Baltimore, MD January 8, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Just what I needed

    I have been building my composing/recording suite. First starting out with DAWs and now have gotten the latest Cubase. I was really impressed with Cubase's engineering so naturally I would see what audio interfaces they had. After doing quite a few comparisons using Sweetwater and the web I chose this product and it has been amazing. I dont need 16, 8, 6, or even 4 channels to record. Just two and simple analogue controls to go with it. Portable and sturdy and works flawlessly with Cubase. I look forward to producing even more in depth music with this interface

  • from Merced, CA December 30, 2013Music Background:
    Live and recording engineer, musician

    Incredible for a USB powered device!

    I am surprised at how little this device differs in audio performance from the UR824, which I bought first. The surprise is the apparent power and headroom of the inputs and outputs. The specs reveal that there are some limitations at the extremes working from bus power compared to a dedicated supply, but there aren't any discernible differences in quality of sound within a normal working range of levels. So the analog is superb, the drivers are flawless, and the price is very reasonable. This is not a bells and whistles device with a bunch of extra ins, outs, and processing. It IS a simple stereo device of the best available quality. There is nothing here that you will not like.

  • from Nashville TN and beyond September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Singer / songwriter for 20 + years.

    Awesome

    You can see all the other reviews on this thing. I'm not sure what I can add but I'll tell you this... I'm recording on my boat and space is a premium. This thing is great, small and the pre's are transparent and sweet. I love it. Well worth the money. Wish I went for the UR28... I thought I'd use the midi in's and out's on this but my controller is USB... duh. Buy it. Sweetwater is fantastic too. Great group of folks!

  • from Stafford, VA September 22, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, 3D Animation Production

    WORTH EVERY PENNY!

    My sales associate, Jason Koons, suggested this device for my recording studio and I'm glad he did. Firstly, the D-Pre preamps are crystal clear and sound absolutely amazing. The knobs are very responsive and the build of this unit is that of a tank. Also, the drivers for the unit are very stable, no issues with installing on Windows 7 (64bit) platform. Overall, I have to say I'm impressed with this unit and glad I purchased it. I would definitely recommend purchasing this unit if you are in the market of a professional audio interface.

  • from Santa Cruz, Ca. August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Jazz guitarist etc.

    Seamless

    Simply put, it works! I run Cubase 7 along with other programs and it is absolutely seamless. Finally something that works the way it's supposed to. It lets me get to what's really important and that's making music.

  • from McPherson, KS July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    AWESOME

    Minimal latency (for USB), great quality, I have nothing bad to say.

  • from Chesapeake, Va June 7, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, singer/songwritter...

    So simple even I can use it

    A couple of friends showed me their CuBase setups and it confused me...but this set up is awesomely easy to understand. A great starting point. I'm sure it does a lot more than I know now, but it is super easy to get started.

  • from Florissant, MO March 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Profesional Producer of 20 Years

    Top Notch Mobile HQ

    For the price this can not be beaten. Work seamless not just with Cubase but with any ASIO supporting application. 2 months in with my unit and it has not dropped a nano second. If you are a mobile DJ and Producer on a budget this will get er done with close to zero latency. Great service at Sweet Water as always!!!

  • from newport, rhode island 02840 February 28, 2013Music Background:
    professional audio engineer,producer, artist.

    yamaha and steinberg always !

    this unit was given to me as a birthday gift, my go to daw is cubase so i was shocked when i opened up the gift wrapped box and seen the ur22 i had to hold the tears back. well later that night when i was alone i hooked it up to my lenovo t510 thinkpad did the drivers and thought to myself when i 1st heard the sound. does it get any better than this ? went to the studio to do some vocals and i asked the engineer to plug the vintage mic straight into the 'dpre' and tracked vocals.the engineer is now ordering one. tell 'jeff law' i will be contacting him soon.

  • from April 16, 2015

    Stienberg UR22

    Haven't been using it for very long, but I am very impressed with it! Someone who has EXTENSIVE experience in the industry recommended the UR22 to me and I'm glad he did. The sound is VERY clear! Also, the service my wife and I received from Sweetwater was above and beyond the call of duty!! Kudos to all!!

  • from Hartselle, AL February 13, 2015Music Background:
    Music educator, choral music director

    A simple but solid solution

    I needed a simple (but high-quality) MIDI/audio interface to support a Hauptwerk virtual pipe organ installation. After investigating units from Focusrite, Behringer and others, I chose the Steinberg UR22 because it was inexpensive, easy to connect and install, used a standard USB 2.0 computer connection, included MIDI in/out ports, and can operate independently of the available Cubase AI software. The UR22 is compact, but built like a tank. Since it is bus-powered (no external power supply), and I'm using it with a MacBook Pro, I was concerned initially about energy drain from the laptop's battery; but thus far, that has not been a significant problem. In operation, the UR22 accepts live MIDI input from a digital organ, then converts the digital audio stream from Hauptwerk software to analog audio, which it feeds back into the organ's sound system. Beyond this, the unit is essentially invisible - which is exactly what I needed. Clean sound, simple operation, MIDI integration, solid construction - if those are your needs, I can highly recommend the Steinberg UR22.

  • from Texas January 22, 2015Music Background:
    Live musician, recording musician, church musician

    Perfect for small home studio

    I did extensive research before purchasing this product, and I am pretty satisfied. The preamps are great (although you tend to get a lot of noise before cranking the knobs to 50%.The latency is relatively low; you can notice it only if you have the MIX knob on the headphones halfway. I would definitely recommend this to anybody starting a home studio.

  • from September 27, 2014

    Perfect little interface

    I first saw the UR22 when I was looking at the Focusrire 2i2. I was hesitant to try it because both of my guitars have active pickups, and there were reports of clipping issues.

    I'm a novice home studio recorder, and I wanted a nice, simple ASIO interface for tracking guitar in Reaper. This unit is just perfect for what I want. The installation was simple, the features work the way they should. The knobs are nicely dampened, the case is solid metal.

    Setup was simple and straightforward, all of my applications recognized the device without any issues. The sound quality is just wonderful. This is a simple device, and it does everything its supposed to, period.

  • from Texas August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Solid & Great

    Haven't had it long but so far it has been great. At this point I've only been using it to connect my guitars and record with DAW's either at 96Khz or 192 Khz. I have not connected it to a mic yet. Will comment further on that aspect if needed. At this point, all I can say is you can't go wrong with this unit, it's solid and well built. For the money I have not seen any interfaces with 96Khz or greater.

  • from Orlando,FL June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Semi-Pro Musician

    Perfect for now and the future

    24 bit and 192 kHz. I've found zero latency. Built like a tank.
    Preamps have zero noise and everything works except I couldn't get the headphone jack to work. But I don't use it and only tried once.
    The audio quality is unmatched. Better than my Focusrite.
    Easy to use. Using a Mac with the new Mavericks and no problems.
    Thanx

  • from March 24, 2014Music Background:
    Audio engineering student. Guitar & bass player. Singer

    Good little interface

    It is a great interface.
    No noise at all (used shure mics and cables)
    No issue at all when recording guitar (i keep gain at minimum and it sounds loud using a Fender strat)

    It clicks if not used with the supplied USB cable (hope it doesn't break soon)

  • from MESQUITE, TX October 21, 2013

    Not Just for the money

    This box is not just "good for the money", it's good period. The preamps are all that. Comparing this to my Presonus Firebox, it sounds a bit better, though not as versatile. I judge by how it sounds clean, always. I run my guitar through a no amp chain that sounded good before, but even better now. I've thrown in some amp plugin's and none of them sound as good as my chain into this preamp. Only complaint is that everything on the front panel is a bit close together.

  • from Central Coast, California July 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    Excellent Value and Performance

    Tough to beat at this price point. In addition to the two 1/4-inch/XLR combo inputs, there are MIDI in and out ports, a feature not always included in comparable USB interfaces. Solid metal case. Knobs are plastic, but feel secure. Time will tell. Love the phone jack/DAW fader knob --- I plug in my bass to the Hi-Z jack and play tracks in my DAW (Reaper) to practice along with. Great for late-night practicing in places you need to be quiet. I just throw this unit, a mic, and appropriate cables into my laptop bag and am ready to roll with a mini recording studio that I've used multiple times for group songwriting. Highly recommend.

  • from Detroit, MI June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Incredible Bang For The Buck

    I used this unit to replace a Pro Tools Mbox 2 which never quite lived up to my expectations. What you might not know about this unit is that it is Steinberg on the outside and Yamaha on the inside meaning it is doubly awesome. The sound quality is great. The mix knobs, volume knobs, and headphone knobs are all responsive. The multiple style front plugs are great! It doesn't have the problem the Mbox 2 does with input volumes. It also doesn't have an annoying habit of recording whines from seemingly nowhere. This thing truly responds well and records at a much higher quality than my previous interfaces into Propellerhead Reason 7.0 Very happy.

    Only complaint: there occasionally is a static buildup through the usb line from the computer which can be easily fixed by unplugging and replugging the unit. It doesn't occur very often and may be a result of other equipment in my rig, though I didn't have this problem with the Mbox 2.

  • from Kansas City, MO February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer & Producer

    Quality

    Setup was quick and easy and when it came to recording and playback sound quality was amazing.

  • from Yarmouthport, MA December 28, 2013Music Background:
    pro player

    Disappointing

    Very disappointed. Bought this, based on the initial reviews I'd read. However, as a guitarist, and vocalist, the product far from suits my need. Vocal recording works great. Do not buy this if you're looking to use with an electric guitar, going directly into your pc. Even with the gain turned to minimal level, this clips. If you chose not to use HiZ, your guitar will sound like mud. I have subsequently read other reviews saying exactly the same thing. If you are a guitarist, do not buy. Other users have hoped that Steinberg would step up, by fixing the issue, but apparently not. Very disappointed at having spent money on this unit, only to have to buy something else!!

  • from August 11, 2014

    Not a true stereo interface

    Wow - after purchasing (from a local retailer) I found out that the front inputs are mono. They are only stereo selectable if recording with a hard pan left and right and then playing it back in stereo. You cannot direct monitor in stereo. Needless to say my keyboard comes out in mono only through the interface when direct monitoring. Terrible design and nothing on their website indicates mono direct monitoring.

  • from February 18, 2014

    Noise

    Noise low level hum through out computer tested with just ur22 connected no mics or cable to either instruments or speakers

    try a different sound card !!!

  • from Allentown, Pa January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    bad preamps

    The vocals distort at a modest volume. This is by far the worst interface I ever used. I wasted precious hours of my time trying to record clean vocals only to be frustrated and disappointed. If you have a decent ear you will easily pick this up. I learned a huge lesson in futility with this unit, and I will not make the same mistake twice. I've been recording for a long time and the good reviews have me baffled!

Reviews

  • Sweetwater
    9-23-2013

    Looking for a compact USB 2.0 audio interface to take on the go or for building a space-conscious studio at home? Need a straightforward interface with a pair of inputs but want all the essentials, such as phantom power, latency-free monitoring, headphone out with volume control, stereo line out to monitors with volume control, and MIDI In and Out?

    You've just described the Steinberg UR22! This compact interface has all those features, plus it supports 24-bit/192kHz operation and is compatible with all major audio software. The Steinberg Class A "D-pre" mic preamps sound smooth, dynamic, and detailed, while the pristine analog circuitry passes your audio without degradation or coloration. The UR22 comes with Cubase AI, which provides up to 32 audio tracks and up to 48 MIDI tracks. VST processors, instruments, and loops are also included to get you rolling. Add a mic and some monitors or headphones, and you're making music!

    For those who need a small, portable USB interface with great sound quality and a full set of features at a remarkable price, check out the UR22!

Questions about the Steinberg UR22?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway