0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Roland UM-ONE Reviews

4.5 stars based on 52 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland UM-ONE?

Questions about the Roland UM-ONE?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from April 26, 2017

    Roland UM-ONE

    Totally plug n play. Windows 8.1 tablet‚Äč made friends immediately. No trouble installing drivers. Worked first time and has worked flawlessly since.

  • from North Central Pennsylvania February 27, 2017

    Midi to USB interface

    Works perfectly as described in the catalog. This is the second one I've bought to use in different DAW setups, and I have no complaints. I gave it 5 stars, but to be honest there's NO USB to midi interface that would "blow me away". But having said that, I would highly recommend this piece of gear; it does exactly what it's supposed to do.

  • from October 28, 2016

    Roland UN-ONE

    Works great for my kurzweil's

  • from Norfolk, NE October 18, 2016Music Background:
    Pianist

    Returning an item

    Like I said in my earlier review of the Roland UMN-OME interface and why I was not able to
    use it with my piano, the tech help was great. I am now working hard. But I also have to
    give Jeffrey lots of credit for immediately telling me I could return the item. So I did. It was
    easy as pie as they say here. And the day they received my return my credit card was
    reimbursed.
    Ever since I first called Sweetwater way back in January 2014 and first talked to Jeffrey,
    the only feeling I have ever gotten from everyone is that making it possible for everyone
    to make music is the goal. And that goal has been met time and time again for me.
    I want to thank Sweet water for helping me through all the hurrdles.

  • from Norfolk, NE October 7, 2016Music Background:
    Pianist

    Roland 1x1 USB Midi Interface---

    I ordered this shortly after I got my Roland Supernatural DP 90 Se piano. And like all of my smaller orders over the next week and a half, this item arrived pronto.
    But I cannot use it with the DP 90 Se piano ---the piano uses a different cable connection to a computer-the A-B cable.
    When I went to connect the computer to the piano, I realized that I had the wrong cable. I wished in some ways that I had asked Jeffrey Green which cable I would need. But now I realize that the freedom to make mistakes---as long as they do not cost much is a start to some good learning. And I appreciate
    Jeffrey giving me the space to figure things out for myself as much as possible. Jeffrey doing this for me is
    also helping me become a better teacher to my piano students.
    But last Saturday when I set out to set up the connection between my piano and my computer, I realized that I needed some help. So I called tech support. Looking back on this experience, I have to say one great characteristic of Sweetwater is a sense of humor. I had no idea what the name ---meaning type of cable that I had in my hands. I could hear Andrew chuckle a bit when I described the part that should be
    connecting to my piano. I was laughing a bit myself. He calmly said---let me look at the manual for the piano and see what cable you need. That took less than five minutes. He then told me I needed a simple A-B cable to connect to the piano and that I could get one from an electrical store.
    I checked that afternoon on Office Max here in Norfolk and they had one. I ordered the Belkin A-B cable and got it Thursday. I got my piano hooked up and opened Finale. Using the Hyperscribe setting I played the piano to record a few measures. But when I went to listen to the music I had just recorded there was no sound. I was stumped again. So after trying several things I called tech support again.
    This time the tech person-I think it was Eric---connected to my computer. In the five minutes or so that he was checking out the sound and its volume on my computer I learned more about how a computer produces sound than I have from the three books I got on recording. It was not really that complicated when I look back on how we got the music to play back but if you are a newbie to computers and recording it would have take a long time for me to figure all that out. And since Eric went to slowly enough I was able to write down what needed to be adjusted so that if my computer ever crashes and I need to re-install my programs I will know what to do.
    I am going to keep the Roland Um_One because I think that this interface may be useful later on in my work. I also went into some detail about my struggles to get my computer recording music and being able to play it back because this experience really helped me realized that Sweetwater staff are great teachers and that I am not only getting my music studio set-up and going-I am also learning how to be a good teacher. I have also started searching through the wonderful glossary that your site has. It will make a great resource when I get to the point of teaching my students recording. It is also a great resource for me as I keep expanding my music studio. And if I get stuck on something I know that help will be just a phone call away

  • from Texas July 13, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar Enthusiast

    Excellent Product!

    I bought this device to update my older Strymon Timeline. I have a Windows 10 Computer and the software installed easily. Using the Strymon Librarian tool (free from the Strymon website) I had the firmware updated in about a minute. I used it to check the new Mobius and Big Sky and all was good with those machines. This interface worked as advertised with no glitches or hiccups. As always, Sweetwater delivery was fast, and I always look forward to getting candy!

  • from Florida June 11, 2016

    Review

    Works perfectely and easy installation. I recommend everybody to buy Roland UM-ONE Midi Interface. The company also has my 5 stars. Excellent support before and after.Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from June 3, 2016

    Perfect

    We first used the mio and that gave us lots of errors, we decided to give this one a try and it's been working flawlessly with no problems! If you have a Roland keyboard we have the fantom g8, purchase this to get connected.

  • from March 12, 2016

    Simple and functional

    If you only need one MIDI in and one MIDI out, this thing will do the job nicely. Less MIDI lag than the similar configuration EMU offers, works well with Win 7 Pro.

  • from Montana January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    UM-ONE Works with Windows 10

    My old Roland Um-1 did not work with Windows 10 - computer did not even recognize it. I sent an inquiry to Sweetwater, they answered very promptly, and I got the UM-ONE, which worked right out of the box with no issues. (I was connecting my old electronic keyboard to the computer to record music using Noteworthy Composer. No issues there, either.)

    Great service.

  • from Fallbrook, California January 17, 2016Music Background:
    Jazz Guitarist

    Roland UM-ONE

    Works perfectly with windows seven.....the other brand didn't

  • from CA October 1, 2015

    Works great

    I have a Roland TD 8 I needed to connect to Sonar for recording drum tracks, the MIDI converter I bought at guitar center would not connect. This Roland worked the 1st try. Thank you Sweetwater for the great product and price.

  • from August 19, 2015

    Great little device

    Very quick and easy to set up. No complaints

  • from Indianapolis, IN August 6, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Composer, Copyist, Synthesist

    Undocumented Surprise

    This unit has a COMPuter/TABlet switch, with the instruction to use the COMP setting with a Mac/PC after installing the driver and the TAB setting with a powered USB hub and a compatible iPad. I first connected the UM-ONE to my iPad Air via the Apple Camera adapter and a powered USB hub, and all was well.

    Then, without thinking, I plugged the USB hub (with the UM-ONE still attached) into my MacBook Pro (running Yosemite) without having installed the driver. The OS recognized it just fine! I tested it while bypassing the USB hub, and it still worked. The UM-ONE would NOT recognize the USB connection to the MacBook while in COMP mode (and without a driver).

    I was wanting a 1x1 interface that I wouldn't have to install drivers for, but I bought this anyway...and I got what I wanted unexpectedly--at least for simple operations. Time will tell with more complex signal-sending.

  • from Tulsa May 16, 2015

    Works!

    Finding a simple USB to MIDI interface that actually works as it should with Windows 8.1 x64 is a big deal.
    'Nuff said.

  • from Toccoa, GA USA January 22, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer / Hobbyist

    UM-ONE MKII Works Great With iPad

    I bought this to use with my iPad mini with lightning connector, to liberate the Animoog app from the confines of the iPad.

    I was frightened at first when taking the UM-ONE MKII out of the package and looking over the instruction sheet which says to connect it to a powered usb hub and connect that to the iPad.

    I decided to try it out anyway and, lo and behold, it worked flawlessly, plug and play. You do need the Apple camera connection kit to connect it to the iPad as the usb side of the UM-ONE MKII is just a standard USB plug.

    I can't vouch for all models of the iPad, but it works fine with the iPad mini with lightning connector.

    There is no notable latency that I could perceive. I connected the midi plugs to the midi in/out connectors on a Roland TR-8 drum machine which is connected via usb to Ableton Live. I was able to play and sequence the synths on the iPad using Ableton Push. Just what I needed to get those amazing Animoog sounds out of the iPad and get hands on control with a proper midi controller.

    I'm sure it will work just fine with a midi keyboard as the controller as well.

  • from Richmond, KY USA December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader

    The UM-ONE was just ehat i was looking for.

    I had been looking for some time for a Midi cable to use to upload presets onto an older multi-effect processor I had and my Sweetwater sales engineer recommended this one. I must say I really like it. It was really easy to use and it works with both my Mac and my PC. I recommend it to anyone looking for a midi cable.

  • from Chesterfield, VA USA December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist & Electrical Engineer

    Roland UM-ONE

    Works perfectly. Really like the LED's that show if the USB connection is good and each time there is a MIDI IN or OUT signal. This is great for trouble shooting MIDI problems. Highly recommend and would buy it again. Sweetwater is the best dealer - hands down!

  • from United States December 2, 2014

    THANK YOU ROLAND

    I bought a synthesizer from here and hooked it up via MIDI to Logic and it was acting so weird. Notes were randomly playing when i tweaked the parameters, notes wouldnt play back at the same time, sysex messages not sending etc. etc. At first I thought I didn't hook it up right. I contacted sweetwater about it and even though they never got back to me about it I decided to take my chances and buy this and right now everything is working just how it's supposed to. Don't go cheap with the ebay MIDI to USB's!!!!

  • from Maumee, OH October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Recordist, studio owner, French horn, drums.

    Solved my control surface problems!

    I use 1 Mackie MCU Pro and 3 extenders with a Windows PC. I was never able to get all 4 surfaces to work with Pro Tools without causing all kinds of issues - PT crashes, the surfaces going "blinky light crazy", and PT refusing to reopen.

    I recently upgraded to Windows 8.1 and PT11, and I was hoping these issues would go away. Unfortunately not. I've always run the 3 extenders to the MCU Pro, and then a USB cable to my PC.

    I wondered if that much data was messing with the USB connection. It shouldn't, as the baud rate of MIDI is very slow. However , the USB connection from the MCU Pro is USB 1.1, so I decided to try separate USB MIDI interfaces to each surface. I chose these because Roland has up-to-date drivers for all Windows versions, including 8.1 X64. The drivers are all on their www site.

    I am ecstatic with the result! Now all 4 surfaces work instantly with no lag at all, and PT is totally stable! No crashes, no "crazy blinky lights", just the entire system fast, responsive, and working exactly as it should! And the Roland drivers didn't mess with Windows DPC latency! My interface latency is still very low with no pops or crackles.

    These are AWESOME little units, and I highly recommend them for Windows users. And my sales rep, Mike Harris, rocks!

  • from August 13, 2014Music Background:
    pro muscian

    great,only way to go

    Roland, can beat Roland gear, it tracks like you want it to!

  • from Fowler, IL July 2, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Hobbyist & Student

    UM-ONE IS #1

    The Roland UM-ONE is a great USB / MIDI Interface. I have not had any issues with it and I like the length of the cords.

  • from North Bergen, NJ June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Product

    No problems at all, easy installation, gets the job done.

  • from Prestonsburg, KY October 10, 2013Music Background:
    Church Pianist/Keyboardist, Praise and Worship Band

    Awesome cable

    I'm using this cable with a Roland RD-700 from my church and a MacBook Pro running Mainstage 3. There's no hassle with this setup getting the device to be recognized or used by the software, just installed the driver, plugged it in and started playing. I've had other MIDI to USB cables before and the delay between the key press on the keyboard and the computer getting the signal and generating sound was terrible. This is a great little cable, we've used it in practice and will be taking it on the road this weekend.

  • from Westville, Il. October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Roland UM-ONE

    I was looking for a Data Interface, for my Home Recording Studio, but did not know what I needed, or what would work best for me. I was informed of Sweetwater, by a friend and contacted them. They were great at helping decide, exactly what I needed, referring to the Roland UM-One, which I then purchased from Sweetwater. I use this device to patch my Keyboard directly through my Computer, and into my Professional Recording Program. I can also send the output of the Computer`s Audio, into my Digital 24 track. Works perfectly! I would highly recommend Sweetwater for any, and all, of your musical needs. Thanks Sweetwater, the one stop music center!

  • from United States August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer

    Perfect for Roland Vdrum Modules

    Works perfect with my Roland TD-12 The UM-ONE allowed me to update the system data/firmware of the TD-12 brain without any issues.

  • from San Antonio TX July 31, 2013Music Background:
    AV Producer & Musician

    Roland UM-ONE

    I recently purchased a rackmount Axon AX-100 synth that has a PC based Editor. My rack includes a laptop but the Axon only has MIDI connections it does not have a USB connection. I had tried a Hosa MIDI to USB cable (USM-422) but it would not connect to the Editor - even though it appeared to have connection between the laptop and the Axon. I emailed Bob Furlong at Sweetwater and included the appropriate section of the Axon manual and he recommended that I try the Roland UM-ONE. Even though I was skeptical I went ahead and purchased the cable and I am pleased to say it worked flawlessly. In conclusion, my advice to any Axon AX-100 owner is to purchase this cable - it works!

  • from Melbourne FL May 19, 2013Music Background:
    Home Studio Recording

    Roland UM-ONE

    I was looking for a midi to usb cord for recording midi from my Roland V-Drums. Got the UM-One and couldn't be happier. Works great with V-Drums/Pro Tools and Toontrack EZ Drummer.

  • from Wasilla, AK April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    IT WORKS

    i had several different midi to usb cables before this one, which have all not worked for me. Geoff Allen recommended this one to me (which was cheaper than the others) & after downloading the drivers from Roland, I am able to plug it in & everything works!

  • from April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Music Composer & Arranger . Studio Owner.

    Roland UMOneMk2 1x1 USB MIDI Interface:

    Your best friend of its class, no matter you are on stage, or in your bedroom where your music ideas and compositions blow to its extreme levels, the Roland UMOneMk2 will co-operate with you with its high speed data transmission of 16 Midi channel keyboard, and laptop. LEDs data indicator lets you work in your dark bedroom too, so you donít disturb your partner.

  • from Texas March 23, 2017Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Cheap MIDI interface that works!

    I bought the UM-ONE to replace a Yamaha UX-16 because the Yamaha drivers have not been updated and have some problems initializing their adapter. This Roland unit worked out of the box like a champ on everything from XP to Win 10. What more can you ask for at this price... I rated it down a half star because I wish the cables were a bit longer - a minor complaint.

  • from Oakland township Michigan January 11, 2017Music Background:
    10 years acoustic piano

    Roland MIDI cables

    Simple, effective and reasonable. Connected to mac and garage band easily. Needs additional adapter to connect to iPad. Solid product for someone beginning to explore digital music.

  • from Albany, NY May 5, 2016

    Awesome, does what it says

    I purchased a cheap-o Chinese midi adapter for like $6 on ebay. It worked only for simple notes on my keyboard. When I plugged in my GT-8 effects unit, everything fell apart. The Chinese adapter is now in the trash, the ebay seller actually refunded my purchase and didn't even ask for the P.O.S. back.

    Now, I have the UM-ONE working overtime sending messages to my whole rig, no errors, no issues. Worth the price to have something functioning properly.

  • from Terrell Tx March 15, 2016

    Roland UM-ONE

    The roland UM-ONE midi interface was as great price and simple plug and play. Using if for my Roland TD20 V-Drums and drumless music software. Would highly recommend.

  • from First Baptist Church Massillon (Youth Center) January 23, 2016Music Background:
    Musical Jack-of-all-Trades

    Excellent...works with iPad and iPhone

    We purchased this to use with a Roland midi controller keyboard and the Roland Apple App. It worked without issue with both an iPhone 6+ and an iPad mini (both with lightning plugs). We did have to purchase an Apple camera cable (lightning to USB), but that's no big deal, just don't cheap out. Buy actual Apple brand and save the frustration of returning cheaper parts. The unit is powered by the Apple equipment and has zero lag between unit and tones.

  • from August 12, 2015

    Roland UM-ONE

    :) Device arrived fast with nice package.

    The most important feature for this midi interface is that it capable to send and received sysex massages, if you having issues with other midi sending and receiving patches or OS upgrades save yourself from spending $$$ on something else this will work with large sysex info.

    The only down side is that you will need to follow Roland guideline and to install device drivers (Mac or PC) this is not simple plug & play.

    This unit provide midi channels, and I was able to use it without any issues using USB hub which is big plus these days when computer providing less or shared USB inputs.

  • from Tallmadge, OH March 2, 2015Music Background:
    former band keyboard player

    works great

    This unit was easy to set up. The driver install went great. Working fine so far.

  • from Cebu, Philippines November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Pretty well performance of my Roland UM-ONE midi interface

    It's working well. Only needs faster PC processor to sync the instrument keys with the sound produced by my pc ( maybe .5 second delay)

    Hoping I can secure something that can hold multi tracks with a fair budget.

  • from North central Pennsylvania September 19, 2014Music Background:
    Recording engineer, professional musician

    No complaints

    This little device does just what it's supposed to do. I didn't give it 5 stars only because it's hard to be "blown away" by a midi converter, if you know what I mean. I guess the least I can say is that if I lost this one, I'd buy one just like it as a replacement.

  • from February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Roland UM-ONE is great

    No problems with delivery or device. Sweetwater follow up is tops. Definitely want to buy more from them.

  • from West Chester, PA December 28, 2016Music Background:
    pro/am

    UM-One does the job

    I used this for a quick tablet/laptop hookup when away from the main PC gear.

    Not much to say other than the product works as advertised and the price was reasonable. The only reason I gave 4 instead of 5 stars is because the MIDI IN/OUT connectors are hard to read, especially in the dark. A nice touch would have been an easier to identify mark or color or tag indicating direction.

  • from Tennessee November 14, 2016Music Background:
    You haven't lived until you've set up Dolby on a 24 track tape machine

    No problems with Linux

    Didn't even remember to consider if this would work with Linux Mint 17.3 OS when I bought it, but happy to toss all the drivers and documentation to the side, plug into the keyboard and into the computer and pull it up on midi input in LMMS. Worked like a champ.

  • from January 2, 2016

    It Works

    The device works just fine. I followed the simple install instructions supplied with the driver CD and was up and running in 5 or 10 minutes. I used the UM-One to connect a 25 year old Roland KR-3000 keyboard which I purchased at the dawn of Midi to my computer and my recently purchased Notion software. I thought that midi from a 25 year old device might cause problems for 1 year old software but everything works great.

  • from San Pedro California December 10, 2015Music Background:
    guitar, bass, mixing christian bands

    Roland UM-1 Midi Interface

    Simple effective, compact device. Plugged in and it went right to work. No noticeable latency. The instructions leave a lot to be desired as they are confusing and not well written. It would be nice if the midi in and out plugs were better marked.

  • from massachusetts June 9, 2015

    Simple and effective

    Bought this interface as a lightweight alternative to my full-featured MOTU breakout box for doing simple hardware-based work away from my main studio setup. Installation on my Macbook was very quick and simple, and so far I have had no troubles sending note or controller data. This was the right solution at the right price for what I wanted to do.

  • from Wellfleet, Ma June 4, 2015Music Background:
    classical composer

    um-one

    Easy to install, easy to use, clear when something isn't right and easy to fix.

  • from CA April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Full time musician etc.

    Roland UM-ONE

    There's no reason why it shouln't get a 5. I wasn't blown away but I was excited that it works with all my midi stuff. It's very portable too.

  • from Albany, NY USA January 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Interface solved my Windows 8.1 issue

    I purchased a generic interface cable that did not work with my Alesis synth connected to Windows 8.1. I struggled with it for a month then called Sweetwater for help after seeing an ad for the Roland UM-One. Product was backordered but was shipped one day later. It worked as I hoped, the directions were clear and the sales engineer followed up to make sure I was satisfied, which I am.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI December 4, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Compact and Effective

    While there is not a lot to say about a USB midi cable I can say it works well on the Mac OS, no log jams, no clock errors. It is not bulky, the build quality is fine, not outstanding but good. I'd buy it again in a second.

  • from Spokane, WA August 12, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist with a lot of midi gear

    Works!

    It does what it's supposed to, and lets you send data from a USB port to a pair of MIDI ports. I've used slightly less expensive models that worked just as well, but this one does seem solidly-built, and there are very current drivers available from Roland, as of early 2013. If you're sure you only need one MIDI device bridged to USB, I'd recommend this one. Otherwise, a 2x2 adapter like the MoTU fastline is probably more bang for the buck.

  • from Friday Harbor, WA June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Lifelong accordionist learning MIDI

    Works as well as represented

    They answered all questions accurately and gave great service. There's no doubt that I'll think of them next time I need accessories.

  • from Taos, NM USA March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Church Organist

    The Roland UM-ONE

    I had purchased the UM-ONE to accept the midi output from the pedal division of a 3 manual VP organ. The manuals already were equipped with USB outputs but the pedal devision was not. It worked flawlessly even though the OS was Linux, not one of the OSes mentioned on the package. The only confusion was with the Roland UM-ONE which, instead of accepting the midi out from the pedals to the midi in cable on the Roland, would only work going into the midi out cable of the UM-ONE. Once that was figured out, it worked as expected.

Questions about the Roland UM-ONE?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway