rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD Reviews

5.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD?

Questions about the Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from March 28, 2017

    Well done, Behringer.

    The UMC204HD is one of the biggest unsung values in pro audio right now, period.

    I use mine as a general purpose headphone and mic pre-amp for mixing and tracking in Pro Tools. It's built like a tank, the headphone amp is dead silent, and the mic pres are not only high quality, but have enough gain to squeeze decent sound out of an SM7B or RE20 without much background hiss. It's also entirely USB powered (a huge bonus for me).

    It's also built surprisingly well.

    I'd recommend this unit for podcasters, voiceover professionals, and just about anybody that needs an ultra portable audio interface.

  • from New Port Richey Fl. March 11, 2017

    Budget Friendly

    This is my first audio interface, so I don't have anything to compare to. Other than trying the line in port on my PC and a USB microphone. I was in the market for an A.I for under $100. There seems to be a lot to choose from, but I wanted to be able to hook up my drum machine using midi cables. That pretty much narrowed the field down to two. This and the Presonus AudioBox.

    I read a lot of reviews about the AudioBox pre-amps running hot. Which is a bad thing. (so I'm told.) By comparing the two and looking at the price...It was a no brainer.

    I ordered it on a Friday and it arrived a day early on a Monday. I opened the box and hooked it up and couldn't be happier. This little black box has lots of buttons, knobs, and holes to hook up all my equipment.

    I installed the drivers (which need to be downloaded from Behringer's web site.) on my Windows 10 machine with no problems. I opened Sonar and there it was. Now I can hook up my amp or guitar into the UMC204HD and make beautiful music without dogs barking and kids screaming.

    I highly recommend this product to anyone starting a home studio on a budget, or to anyone looking for a small portable A.I that is strong, dependable, and has several I/O configurations.

  • from Ypsilanti, MI February 10, 2017Music Background:
    Touring singer/songwriter, session player, mix engineer

    Versatile, well-built, killer deal

    The U-Phoria is one of the handiest tools in my arsenal. The Midas pre's are nice and clean, a rarity for something this inexpensive. The I/O is perfectly suited to simple recording sessions, overdubs, mix projects, or live midi/backtrack handling. I love tossing this thing in my messenger bag and getting work done. Also, the U-Phoria is completely plug and play. At least in my case, no trickery or special drivers were required. I unboxed it, and got it talking to Logic the moment I plugged it in.

  • from Kettering, Ohio January 9, 2017

    Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD

    It does everything it's advertised to do and everything my sales agent (Marshall Oliver) said it would, and does it cleanly and easily. I don't see how anybody could go wrong with this unit, especially for the money. GREAT bang for the buck!! Highly recommended!!

    The "Musical Background" (below) won't let me post, but I have over 40 years playing guitar, mainly Country with some other genres added in. Thank you, Sweetwater and Behringer, for a fine product.

  • from Virginia October 11, 2016Music Background:
    Beginner Audio Engineer/Composer

    This Interface KILLS IT.

    I'm just starting out on making music and this whole audio engineering deal, and I needed a really cheap interface to start out with. You know, people recommend stuff they're familiar with; the Focusrite Scarlett stuff, Presonus, etc. But if you're like me, and you're budget for this stuff is virtually equivalent to zero, then this interface KILLS IT.

    Now, I have no way to compare how the preamps sound to the way more "professional" preamps sound, but they sound great either way. The gain control is stable, and the pad feature is VERY handy. I'm starting making Rock and Metal music. Running my guitar through a DI Box then through this into my amp sim (Toneforge Ben Bruce) sounds fantastic. I haven't really recorded too much vocals, but so far the vocals, even without a normal preamp, sound great.

    Since I program bass and drums, two inputs was all I needed. For $80! You're probably comparing this to the 2i4, which, now that the 2nd generation is out, is maybe a little bit better. But that $120 difference doesn't say so. For just $80, this is an absolutely killer interface. At the VERY LEAST, it's convenience is absolutely unbeatable for those with a low budget.

    Not only is it budget-friendly, but it also absolutely destroys the stereotype of "cheap interfaces will always suck". It destroys it sonically, and, since it's metal, it doesn't feel as cheap as you might expect it to be. The knobs aren't loose, the inputs feel nice and tight, all the features on this thing will come in handy when you least expect it.

    This thing is crazy good. If you're having doubts, throw them away because they don't deserve to exist. BUY THIS THING!

  • from October 10, 2016

    WOW!!

    This audio interface is crazy good for the price...I mean crazy. Behringer kind of has a reputation of making low- quality products, but that's just not true. Over the past few years, they really have made some great products, and this isn't an exception. I literally, opened the box, plugged it into the computer, download the driver from Behringer's website, which was really easy to do, and within five minutes I was recording. This thing has a great build quality too, full metal body, knobs very smooth and don't feel cheap at all. Most of all, it sounds great.

  • from USA August 24, 2016

    Best Cheap Interface

    *This uses the same Cirrus Logic AD/DA converters as the Focsurite 2i4. Sounds very good.

    *Drivers are stable and fast. According to RTL tests, it is one of the better usb interfaces. Not quite as good as RME, but better than most usb interfaces. Three months of using it, I've not had any dropouts or audio glitches. Latency is very good, able to track VSTis with no perceived latency.

    *Very loud and super quiet headphone amp. No hiss.

    *It has channel inserts that allow you to bypass the mic preamps. Just insert standard 1/4" cable to first position. (Ofc, they can be used as standard channel inserts to patch in gear using a balanced "Y" cable.)

    *It doesn't require the computer to be on to operate. As long as it is getting power to the USB port it will work as a mini mixer and/or for phantom power to mics. With a USB power adapter, it can conceivably be used as a mic preamp for phantom power at live gigs.

    *Supports multi-client audio. It operates seamlessly with multiple applications at the same time. This allows you to loopback audio (from the duplicate 1/2 outputs) into another application. Great for ripping music for your audio productions or practice.

    *Real time monitoring and "mix" knob lets you match incoming levels with PC playback easily without having to bring up the console application. Very easy to use.

    *Cons: The DI inputs do not sound good with high-Z instruments. If you are tracking instruments directly, you will need a high quality DI, or convert the signal to low-Z.

    Summary: Amazing interface, especially for the price.

  • from Anaheim CA August 23, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, Producer, Engineer, Multi-Instrumentalist

    Very Impressed

    It's compact, extremely well built and the preamps are ultra clean. It has enough clean gain on tap to power an SM7B without the need to use a cloudlifter, and there is no noise. Did I mention the price?

    The U-phoria series is a home run for Behringer. Well done and thank you.

  • from July 9, 2016

    BEST starting INTERFACE ever!

    Preamps are INCREDIBLY good, up to 192kHz (although I only use 48k), has MIDI, Phantom power, 2 inputs! And the price? You can't beat that! THIS IS AWESOME!

  • from October 23, 2015

    Excellence

    I bought this interface I love it and easy to use recommended thanks sweetwater

  • from VA October 16, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Producer/Mixer

    Great Interface for the $$$

    For 80 dollars, this is great! Very impressed with it so far. Everything sounds clean, from guitars to vocals and the fact that you can go up to 192K is awesome.

    Would recommend it. I just replaced my steinberg ci1 with this. Did a few ear tests comparing the two and was favorable of this one..

  • from August 3, 2015Music Background:
    Bassist, Engineer, Producer

    Amazing Interface

    This thing is unbeatable. Its feature set is similar to those other interfaces in its price-range, except for the ability to record in 192khz, but it does those same functions even better. Noise is never an issue because of the nice preamps and there's very little latency when monitoring. This is the perfect interface for the mobile musician and for the engineers who can't always have their biggest, baddest gear to take home from the studio.

  • from South Florida May 22, 2017Music Background:
    Professional

    Great audio device

    Built like a tank. Every bit as functional as any other in it's class.

  • from January 11, 2017

    Awesome Product

    so much for such a small price. this product is awesome. I would highly recommend this for the on-the-go producer.

  • from December 20, 2016

    Excellent option

    Exceptional value. The interface makes mid level equipment function well, and keeps up with more advanced hardware well. If you don't have a $300 to $1500 microphone, and want an interface that will give you the best possible performance from your microphone or midi hookup, this is an excellent choice. If you purchased a straight to PC diaphragm mic or similar hardware, and are disappointed in base line noise hiss or input range control, this is a good choice to manage the issue, and can give you near-zero baseline noise. A brief note, you will need a proper XLR cable for a mic requiring phantom power.

  • from New York September 28, 2016Music Background:
    Worship leader, have been playing keyboard (and other instruments) for 18 years

    A great interface for live keyboard

    I bought this interface to replace a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 that went missing on me. Although the Scarlett worked perfectly for me, the U-Phoria was cheaper and had more features, so I though I'd give it a try. I use it primarily for playing keyboard live at church using software plugins, so I haven't tested the inputs much. However, the TRS main outputs are great, and the sound man hasn't complained at all about background noise or hum - in a live setting, I wouldn't be able to tell the difference between this and the Scarlett. Also, the ASIO drivers work without any problems on Windows 7, and I can play with the latency set to under 10ms with no glitches whatsoever.

    Another plus with this interface is that it actually has 4 outputs, and the headphone jack can be switched between 1-2 and 3-4. I'm going to be DJing a wedding in the spring, and this means that I can send the headphone mix to 3-4, and run the TRS main outputs to the speakers, so I don't have to worry about hum from my computer.

    One additional note - the USB jack in my Scarlett had gotten a little loose over the years, so I had to keep it and the cable in a certain position so that it wouldn't lose power while playing. The U-Phoria has the tighest USB jack I've ever seen, so I don't think I'll be having that issue for a long time.

  • from September 25, 2016

    A nice little unit

    I bought this for my new computer as I had the need for another audio sound input device. I have to record out from a Edirol Sound Canvas when creating a backing track with Band in a Box. This gives me some options for recording the tracks back to my PC. I like the input and output choices on the U-Phoria. I haven't actually tried to use it for recording my pedal steel yet, but I suspect it will work great for that as well. A nice little unit and it didn't break the bank.

  • from NY, USA May 3, 2015

    comparing with Focusrite Scarlett 2i2

    I just opened my Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD a few hours a go and am doing comparison with my Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.

    I will describe what I noticed about recording quality from line input. On balanced line input, both show low distortion. On unbalanced line input (no signal on one of T(tip) and R(ring) of the TRS), UMC204HD has significantly more second order harmonic than Scarlett 2i2. Second order harmonic distortion component by itself is not so harmful, but I noticed that UMC204HD also has significantly more intermodulation distortion than Scarlett 2i2. For example, on spectrum analyzer, we can see significantly higher level of 1kHz tone from UMC204HD than from Scarlett 2i2 when tested with a 19kHz & 20kHz IMD test track. So it seems that the more expensive Scarlett 2i2 does some things better.

    UMC204HD does the advertised 192Khz sample rate recording when it is connected to my Windows 8.1 computer. I downloaded the driver from Behringer web site. On UMC204HD web page, there is no link to a driver. So I downloaded a driver from UMC204 web page.

    I appreciate that this seller (Sweetwater) gave us a piece of useful info on the web site: "Tip-send/Ring-return 1/4" insert points let you incorporate outboard processors." I looked at the enclosed manual, but could not find out which among T(tip) and R(ring) of the TRS is input or output. Does this indicate that this seller has actual usage experience about the products it sells? If yes, it is a good thing for customers.

Questions about the Behringer U-Phoria UMC204HD?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway