0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Behringer Guitar Link UCG102 Reviews

3.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Behringer Guitar Link UCG102?

Questions about the Behringer Guitar Link UCG102?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Customer
    from January 26, 2017

    NO. it works just fine!

    Plug it in, jack in your guitar and pull up your DAW. I'm using GarageBand. Cheap (or inc for free w/ Mac) Throw out the CD! Use the DAW amp models.

    It works great. I know people just want to hate on Behringer.

    Seriously, I don't get the negative comments, the device itself works perfectly.

  • Dr. Blues
    from Central NC October 18, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-professional.

    Just what I was looking for!

    Worked right out of the box...quick and easy set-up. I was able to start playing my guitar into Audacity, creating multiple tracks with no problems. Using Windows 7 Professional on my computer dedicated to music. Service from Sweetwater was quick and completely satisfactory. The package of treats in every shipment is always a nice touch (they take the "sweet" in "Sweetwater" seriously).

  • Michael Norris
    from Somerville, Alabama USA February 6, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student

    Great product and service!

    I love the Guitar Link. Works great and is easy to use. Quick shipping and they even sent me candy! Best customer service out there. Thanks!

  • John
    from Michigan September 17, 2014Music Background:
    student

    Great product for everyone. Really enjoy this.

    Works so well with the right software.
    Very conservative way to play, listen, and record guitar.
    You need to try it to believe it.

  • Wayne
    from United States July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Played guitar, drums, bass, piano, and sang for about 20 years. Also a sound engineer hobbyist.

    Great iOS interface!

    I know this isn't advertised as an iOS interface, but it works really well as one. Of course you need the CCK (camera connection kit) to use this with an iPad. I am using it with my iPad mini to connect my guitar to Amplitube, and it works extremely well for that! Sounds great, and even gives me a line-out so I don't have to use the headphone jack on the ipad. Can't say that for the iRig-HD or Apogee-Jam. Also since it's USB, you can take a powered USB hub, and then connect this along with a USB mic, or a USB midi controller all at the same time into your iPad giving you a lot of options, versus both of the two other interfaces I mentioned use an OEM connector, so if you have those connected to your iPad you can't connect anything else at the same time.

  • Ken Schorr
    from Columbus Ohio March 9, 2012

    Great

    Works like a charm sweetwater shipping time was Great any proublem i have they where there

  • ZMarko
    from Ellenton, FL June 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Behringer Guitar Link UCG102 great device!

    I think that the Behringer Guitar Link UCG102 is a great, inexpensive and easy to use interface. I am a hobbyist and I use mine for bass guitar in conjunction with the Audacity sound recorder. I needed something simple to start out at this point and this was the the ticket. (Some higher-end stuff cost as much as medical equipment!) This was my first time using a musical instrument interface so I had to realize that that once it is recognized by the computer you will not hear your instrument until you call it into whatever audio program that you want to use it in. Once I realized that the mystery was solved! It works great on bass guitar as well and is just plug and play.

  • Customer
    from NC February 7, 2014Music Background:
    I started playing guitar in the 50s

    the link is great

    I love the link, it took lots of help from Sweetwater Tec to get it working due to the manual being out of date, but all in all it's great....cnx

  • Morry
    from Olympia, WA January 30, 2014Music Background:
    student

    Behringer Guitar Link UCG102

    Sweetwater was excellent to work with. Fast shipping, great followup! Product doe's exactly what I need at a reasonable cost. Easy installation. East to use software.

  • robert bowles
    from new albany, IN September 29, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar player and songwriter since 1987.

    Works like a charm!

    This handy little device sets up in seconds and does exactly as advertised and does it well. I use it with TH2 Overloud and Amplitube 3 and have not had any issues whatsoever and the addition of a headphone jack is handy as well. If you are looking for an affordable device to plug your guitar into your PC this is ideal.

  • Warren Rogers
    from Ohio November 23, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Hopeful writer

    Doesn't work well with supplied softwre.

    This review is a bit preliminary as I have only owned the thing for a few days. So far it seems to work pretty well with PG Music's Power Tracks Pro Audio 2015. It worked horribly with tremendous latency with the Audacity software that came with it or even when I downloaded it from the audacity site. Horrible latency issues with that. Audacity would not accept the ASIO drivers and the Behringer drivers didn't seem to work very well and didn't allow me to adjust latency very well. I bought mine from Sweetwater because they have excellent technical support, 30 day return policy, and a free two year extended warranty. I had them help me get the thing to link up with the Power Tracks Pro Audio program and they were extremely helpful with that. They actually logged into my computer remotely although I'm not sure the guy actually had to do very much and I think just restarting the program made everything linkup. At any rate I haven't had any problems with pops or clerics and the latency thing seems to be well taken care of. I will update this review later. It seems to work well and is very handy however I am only giving it a four out of five because the software that came with it sucked and was relatively hard to configure to a satisfactory state. The Native Instruments Combo Pack wouldn't register and I have an email into them but it hasn't even been a full day at. I will update that too. I have yet to try it with my iMac/Garage Band.

  • Customer
    from December 26, 2013Music Background:
    20 years of music recording using Cakewalk, ACID, Sound Forge, and other PC music software.

    UCG102 Guitar Link does not work as advertised.

    Does not work like advertised. The Native Insruments link in the Amp package did not work so I was not able to register the product and activate my Combo pack until after finding the NI registration software on the NI site. You know things start bad when you have to update the software just to register it. The packaged recording Software, Audacity, does not even recognize the USB input and the amplifier package output is so faint as to make it inaudible. It took 3 hours of messing with the ASIO settings just to get it to that level. The problem seems to be that none of the packaged software and nothing I am currently running (Acid, Sound Forge) readily accepts the USB link. I've had better results running a Pocket Rockit directly into the microphone jack of the computer.

  • Kier Tinker
    from Pittsburgh February 24, 2016

    Please do not buy this piece of crap.

    In an ideal world you plug the device in, install the drivers, and it works. In the real world you plug the device in, install the drivers, futs with configurations a bit, and it works. With this device you install and plug, and then scour the internet going from one hopeful piece of advise to the next, only to accept the fact that the device only costed $35, so maybe it is best to just cut your losses and buy something else.

  • Richard L Walker
    from Florida December 13, 2015Music Background:
    I strum chords.

    Operating System Sensitive

    I fear I have to agree with those who say "do not buy." I have struggled with this product for days and have yet to hear a single note. I have Windows 10 and that is probably a HUGE factor. Those who leave glowing testiments probably use either Windows XP or have managed to click the right buttons where I failed at the same tast. Either way, This is a very high risk item. For now I'm just going to go buy a small amplifier so I can actually HEAR my instrument. After that I might go back into battle from time to time. I won't, however, be holding my breath.

  • Michael
    from June 30, 2015

    Don't buy this crap

    1. This piece of equipment is meaningless without proper software. The windows software that comes with this unit is made for 32 bit windows xp that is long gone. Initially i tried windows 7 Pro and then windows 8.1. Both initial attempts were without success. The installer is very confusing and essentially it is a redirect to asio4all driver. Manual is useless and does not match the real installation process.
    2. Being an IT guy i made it work but it was an effort.
    3. This product comes with some additional software but i didn't even try to use it after what i have been through.
    My conclusion: not worth the money.

  • James V Quirk
    from United States March 13, 2015Music Background:
    intermediate

    Didn't work

    Tried everything, but it would not function on any of my PC's. Replaced drivers, tried different USB ports,no success. I'm assuming it was a defective unit.

Questions about the Behringer Guitar Link UCG102?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway