0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Universal Audio UAD-2 Satellite FireWire QUAD Custom Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Universal Audio UAD-2 Satellite FireWire QUAD Custom?

Questions about the Universal Audio UAD-2 Satellite FireWire QUAD Custom?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Santa Clarita CA May 16, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Producer/Composer/Arranger/Music Director

    I'm Blown Away by the UAD-2 Satellite!

    I recently upgraded to the UAD-2 Thunderbolt Satellite QUAD Custom, and I am in analogue heaven.

    I was just finishing an album project for a client, and wanting to swap in the real UA Teletronix LA-2A plugins on the vocals, rather than using other brands of "optical compressor" clones. Initially I balked at spending this amount of money on a hardware/software plugin system, but I already loved my UA LA-610 Mk II Mic Pre, so I went ahead.

    I am completely sold and 100% satisfied...and JAZZED! I have never experienced ANYTHING like the warmth and "glue" that this system injects into my mixes. Beside the LA-2A collection, I am especially in love with the EMT-140 Plate Reverb, the Precision Maximizer, and the Studer and Ampex Tape decks. And the collection of included LE plugins are also simply fantastic.

    I can not recommend this system highly enough, and of course my Sweetwater Sales Engineer, Jason Koons, has been taking care of me since around 2001, and he is simply the best. He is always my first call when I get an inkling about something I want to add to my studio or live set up.

    Happy camper!

  • from Jersey City, NJ May 20, 2014Music Background:
    dj/producer with releases in stores on major house/dance record labels.

    GAME CHANGER!

    Definitely one of the best purchases ever and is a MASSIVE upgrade from native Ableton Plugins.

    About the unit - sleek sexy and does it's thing without taking up big real estate on my small desk.

    About the plugins - WOW. If you get one of these spend the extra for the custom bundle, it's well worth it. Glad I did get the Quad, I've only once maxed out the DSP, but I would do it frequently IF I got the less expensive one. I owned a UAD 1 card and at the time didn't know what I was doing and the technology has come a long long way in 10 years plus there's many more plugins available.

    The Studer! Amazing all the way, the fatness it adds to the low end is amazing and I also use it on my busses if not then definitely by drum bus, many times not in parallel.

    Fatso- bought w bundle, don't use to often from lack of know how

    Lexicon Reverb, only started using it more recently, but sounds great.

    EMT 140 - great sound an easy to use. Came unit during Sept 2013 promo when I purchased.

    Neve 88rs. Great channel strip, although for me EQing w/ knobs was a new learning curve. Very great plugin, not DSP intensive. Also was came w/ promo at time of purchase.

    EP-34 Tape Echo. Great delay unit, I used it to make a feedback effect in one of my tracks, worked well, need to use this more often. Also came w/ promo.

    HINT - If you're considering this look out for promotions AND get the Custom, you'll have LOTS to work w/.

    I bought this to improve my mixes and was considering this or new monitors at the time. I'm glad I got this instead of monitors. I can get by with what I have although not ideal, but these plugins definitely give my tracks the fatness and warmth I was looking for.

    Thanks to my rep Aaron C for steering me in this direction.

  • from Grand Terrace, CA February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician, Producer, Student

    Really Dope

    This little unassuming box is the business. I use a thunderbolt-to-firewire connector to plug this into my iMac, so that it doesn't have to share bandwidth with the external hard drives already connected thru FW. This thing runs REALLY smooth as, and the plug-ins are really, really professional sounding... This here is a very robust piece of equipment that I highly recommend for home studios or mobile setups

  • from Fort Wayne, IN November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, composer 13 years

    AMAZING!

    This is a really great investment! I first bought a Joemeek 2Q for outboard mastering.I was not happy with it and the results from my Waves plugin was far better I wanted something that works really good and versatile.

    UAD is the answer! you get access to the TOP plug-ins and they work so well with any sort of music. I work with Acoustics, Trance, and hip-hop mainly, and this has brough it up 2-3 folds in quality. The EQ plug-in are so transparent. The compressions is stunning. I was very worried that investing in another software plug-in would be the same as lets say Waves, or some other plug in. But if you pick this up you will hear the detailed difference.

    With the Custom it comes with voucher for free plug ins from their website plus the typical 4 they include.

    If you can't buy the actual hardware, (Manley, Emperical Labs, API etc) This is a very good alternative to have access to all of that with $1000's saved!

  • from Los Angeles April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Mixer, Musician, Composer, Songwriter, Vocalist

    Unbelievable Clean and Beautiful!

    I had been using Waves plug ins until I got my UAD-2 Quad. I pulled up a mix and used the Manley Passive, LA2A, 1176 and Studer in place of what I had been using. Incredible clarity and presence on the vocals and the instruments. The mix now sounds as good as a mix can get. Love Mark Bruhn for recommending this and I'll never go without it for my mixes.

  • from Valparaiso In. November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Home Studio

    Best sounding plug-ins

    bought Apollo Duo plug-ins blew other plug-ins away needed more DSP to run more U.A. plugins, now I can run all the U.A. plug-ins I want

  • from Odessa, Fl February 11, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist in recording (on a budget)!! Play simi-pro around town.

    Satellite Quad

    Id give this a five except that I spent a lot of time and an extra 170.00 to get it to work. If you own an Apogee Duet, MAKE SURE that your sales engineer covers the potential need of getting a firewire relayer. I've never heard of one before I bought the Satellite, but now Im very familiar.

  • from Melbourne, FL August 12, 2015Music Background:
    Engineer, Reflections Sound, Florida

    Nice!

    I, like many others, enjoy the portability of using a MacBook Pro with ProTools for my music needs. Before the UAD-2 Quad, some mixes were banging my CPU into the ceiling. What a nasty sound. Ugh!

    It took me a while to decide to drop 1.4 large for the Quad-Custom but I'm glad I made the right decision to do so (for my use and budget anyway). CPU issues are gone! The bonus for me was to find the UA plugins having stellar performance sonically in comparison to some others I use. The biggest problem I'm having now is deciding on which of the 3 plug-ins I need to fulfill the 'custom' part of this deal.

Questions about the Universal Audio UAD-2 Satellite FireWire QUAD Custom?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close