0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Roland Studio-Capture Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Roland Studio-Capture?

Questions about the Roland Studio-Capture?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Plymouth, MI November 6, 2016Music Background:
    Berklee College of Music MP&E 2009

    Mobile 12 Pre Production Rig

    I purchased a used Studio Capture online, and I'e been using it for recording live jam sessions. I was skeptical about running 12 mics, four with 48v into my pc, but I have had zero USB or DAW issues while pushing this thing in Cubase 8. It has advanced on board audio processing capability and is quiet and transparent.

    You could easily spend twice as much on a boutique interface with 8 fewer preamps and not notice a difference in performance or quality. It's a professional, budget buy for the intelligent engineer. I keep it in a large gator case with a mini-atx pc and portable monitor. I like how it's design isn't overly large like most rack gear. The utilization of space on this machine is a notable feature in itself.

    The only con I have is that the super cool auto-sens feature can be a little unpredictable in it's results, and you shouldn't rely on it entirely (Don't hit it and immediately start recording, knuckleheads), but I'm sure if I read up a bit more on what the chip is actually doing I would be able to predict and utilize it's benefit more.

  • from the lou February 7, 2016Music Background:
    Missouri

    It's a Roland

    I know, and you will probably secretly admit, that all things Computers, Software, and Electronics are work of the Devil, and thus possessed by Demons and Bugs, and SKEEERS me. That being said, Roland's Studio Capture worked flawlessly and immediately with the latest version of ProTools 12 on the latest version of Windows 10. No crashes, no conflicts, just works. Very intuitive, which for the totally intimidated and uncomprehending TechnoPhobe like me, also SKEEERS me. How do it Know?

  • from August 19, 2015

    Great sounding interface

    This interface works flawlessly on windows platform using studio one pro as my Daw of choice. Recording live drums couldn't be any easier with the auto sens function. The mic pre's sound amazing on every acoustic instrument you can throw at it. This is the only unit you need to get amazing results with the great A/D- D/A converters. I can hear every little detail in my mixes on play back. You have zero latency recording on all channels because of built in dsp chip. If you need an interface with lots of I/O , you should buy this unit without a doubt. If this unit failed on me tomorrow, I would purchase another one without hesitation.

  • from Dayton July 20, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer

    Works well.

    I needed a lot of inputs to record my drumkit. I'm currently running 8 microphones simultaneously, two running on phantom power. I haven't had one problem with the unit whatsoever. The auto-sens is great since I'm often recording the kit by myself. You just arm all channels you want, hit the button, and then I can run behind the kit, play, and it will set all the levels for each microphone. I haven't used the on board compression much so I can't comment on that, but I haven't had a need to use it yet. The little software that comes with it is nice in that you can save levels and other settings for different projects. I've only used the monitor page a little but you can send out different setups, so I have one for my reference monitors and send another to my headphone amp.

    If you need multiple inputs like I did, I'd recommend it. It's a bit pricey, but I think Roland makes quality gear.

  • from The Woodlands, TX July 3, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician / Engineer

    It Just WORKS :)

    I have tried for years to put together a stable, hassle free, great sounding computer based recording system. I have used all of the top name, top sellers, and top DOLLAR interfaces... All of them had some sort of issue that made recording a complete hassle! I was constantly dealing with clicks, pops, crashes, poor sound quality,... You name it! I should also not that I'm a drummer and need an interface that can record high track counts simultaneously. For the past year I had just given up on using a computer interface for tracking. I purchased a Tascam DP-32SD for tracking, then I would export my tracks over to Logic for editing. This worked well, however my recordings were always a bit "lack-luster" due to the preamps and A/D converter quality of the Tascam. I ran across the Roland Studio Capture which had great reviews and said "I'm gonna try this one last time", so I dropped the cash for it (keeping the box in great condition fully expecting to send it back)... All I can say is WOW!!! I have the latest and greatest MacBook Pro (always had the latest and greatest with the other interfaces as well). This interface just works. In fact it works VERY well! Not one issue has caused a single glitch since I have began using it! The sound quality is equally as good as my friends Apogee Ensemble. I'm serious about that too! My friend even told me he felt a bit "ripped-off" after hearing my Studio Capture next to his $2500 Apogee! I'm not saying that it sounds better, but our ears can't tell a difference... If I broke this unit, I would IMMEDIATELY purchase a new one just like it. If you're on the fence, just buy it! It has made recording fun again for me :)

  • from Seattle May 30, 2015Music Background:
    Musican, Engineer

    Great Sound

    I am very happy with the sound quality of this unit. The sound is very open and detailed and my tracks are so much easier to mix as they stack up into high track counts. I am just hearing so much more detail in everything I listen to through this interface and I love it.
    The numerous inputs are great for having everything always plugged in at the same time The high input count also allows me and my laptop to be the smooth functioning central hub when a group of friends I record with gets together to make new music.
    I have had the unit for about a year now and I have not a single issue with the drivers or sound quality. It hasn't frozen once, never has a made a pop or a crackle, and it just runs so smoothly that I have sort of began to notice myself taking it for granted a bit, forgetting that I used to have troubles with my old interfaces from time to time.
    I couldn't be happier that I decided to get it and I'd certainly buy it again if anything happened to it.

  • from Hebron, Ohio March 11, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Engineer

    Captured It

    Solid Clean Pre-Amps with plenty of gain. Very to use interface and routing system with a well worded manual to help out with any questions you may have.

  • from Phoenix, AZ March 4, 2015Music Background:
    25 year hobbyist

    Why did I wait?

    I've had an Aardvark Q10 for over a dozen years. They were known for their discreet circuitry and low-jitter clocks. They went out of business when Windows 2000 was current. I have nursed this interface through XP since then. It did a good job and my tracks sound good.

    It died recently, so after looking at the options I settled on the Roland Studio Capture. Upon setup I found out that the output of the Aardvark (fortunately not the inputs) was crapola, at least by Roland standards. My old tracks sound open and 3 dimensional. I've been missing what good I had done. Weird on Aardvark's part that the output wasn't as good as the input, but at least 10 or 15 years worth of work isn't crap.

    This is a long prelude to saying Just Buy It Already. Sound is stellar! The auto input sensing takes away 90% of the setup frustration. I can get up and ready in a minute rather than 5-10 minutes and so I have workflow and can keep the mojo going.

    There is a reverb for monitoring only, that is in the monitoring section. It is useful, and not in the recording chain, and that is a good thing, because it isn't very good. But the purpose if it is to be able to hear your pitch when you are singing, so I have no complaint. It is cheesy to save processing power for the real recording.

    The monitor section(s) are extremely flexible and useful.

    And the real recording is f-ing awesome. I can't tell you how much the depth opened up. Both my old tracks and my new now monitor like "professional" recordings. This thing is the real deal. Quit looking and buy it. really.

  • from Phoenix, AZ February 13, 2015Music Background:
    25 year hobbyist

    So much more than expected!

    I've tried to write a useful review 3 times now, way too much detail because there are too many things to talk about. Former interface Aardvark Q10. I'll just try to itemize a few things...

    Roland Studio Capture Input sound: open, dynamic, clean, clear. Output soundstage: 3-dimensional, so much easier to mix with it's almost silly! Workflow workflow workflow the automatic input gain setting is so essential I will never own one without it again. No kidding, just this one feature makes me want to record every night. I had no idea how frustrating it was to screw around for many minutes every night getting levels right for what I was doing. Now I turn on and 30 seconds later EVERY CHANNEL is set up and ready. So far the compressor sounds good, and the monitor routing and reverb are very useful. The drivers have been flawless and stable.

    It's everything I could ask for. Killer!

  • from United States November 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician / Recording Artisit

    Great Compact Interface!!!

    I've been looking for a long time for an interface that made sense for my setup. I was never able to get everything I wanted until I found this unit. It is robust, sounds amazing, has MIDI, lots of flexibility, lots of inputs/outputs, and it is still very compact. Its easy enough to use given its power. If you like having everything plugged in like I do but don't want a rack unit taking up a lot of space (yes this unit can be rack-mounted if you desire) then this may be the perfect unit for you. It was the perfect find for my new compact desktop music setup. I don't write a lot of reviews and I am not often impressed enough with equipment to feel compelled to write a review. But this unit is a class act. I am not a roland fan-boy. The only other piece of Roland gear I currently own is a smaller USB powered version of the above interface to use with my iPad. Thank you Roland and Sweetwater for helping me find such a great little interface!

  • from Tampa, November 13, 2014

    Roland Studio Capture

    This is an upgrade for me from a Roland Octa-Capture as I needed more analog preamps. The preamps are the same as the Octa-Capture and how good they are has already been documented. The new Limiter procedure of setting the limiter on all channels at one time is a welcome upgrade. The addition of the LED level meters is also a nice addition.

  • from Tampa Area October 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, producer, recording engineer, former amp tech

    Studio Capture

    I needed a unit with more mic preamps. I had a Roland Octa-Capture that works well and low latency. I looked at others, including higher priced units but they didn't have the number of built in mic preamps that I needed. The Studio-Capture with the 12 mic preamps fit the bill for me. It was an easy transition from the Octa-Capture to the Studio-Capture as they are very similar units with the same low latency.

  • from Abingdon, VA June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Roland Studio Capture

    I knew this unit was good before I made the purchase but I was blown away as it out preformed all my expectations.

  • from Redding, CA May 11, 2014Music Background:
    Recording and Mixing engineer

    Incredible sound!!!

    I first bought a more expensive interface but it just did not sound that great. So I set out to find the best sound I could in my budget. I use to record with the Roland VS2480 years ago and it sounded great. So I decided to to what Roland has to offer. After my research I decided on the Roland Studio Capture. It was everything I had hoped it would be. It sounds so much better then the flagship model of another manufacture I bought first on a suggestion by a friend. I rerecorded the same band with all the same instruments, mics, and rooms. The Studio Capture blew my other new interface out if the water and at less then half the cost. I finally have the open top end sound I have have been looking for. I highly recommend the Studio Capture. It sounds great, is easy to use, and has fantastic features. My other interface is for sell.

  • from Sacramento, California October 2, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Student

    AWESOME!

    I did my research for months and found this Treasure. I Ordered it and Greg Savino was my Sales Engineer. Within an hour of buying it, He called me and thanked me for my purchase and offered any help or answers to any questions I had. He was Great! I received the Studio Capture on the exact day they said it would be at my house. Easy Installation of Software and started recording within 10 minutes of taking it out of the box! Excellent Preamps with no noise and the Auto Sense function is SO convenient! I recommend this to anyone with a home studio and looking for a Professional, Fully Loaded Interface for a Low price for what it can do! And I give Greg S. a 10/10 for service! Sweetwater is THE BEST Company to go to for any of your music needs! Knowledgable, Friendly, and Honest Staff! I couldn't be Happier!

  • from Concord CA USA January 4, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist but also do work for my software development company.

    Excellent unit, highly recommend.

    I've used a Motu Ultralite on my Mac (Logic Pro) for many years and was very happy with it. However when I tried to use my Motu Ultralite on a PC (Windows 7 using Sonar) I had all kinds of issues ... so I looked at alternatives and the Roland appeared to be the most Windows 7 friendly unit with similar specs to the Motu Ultralite.

    So after a few weeks of use the Roland has proven to be a more capable unit than the Motu Ultralite (and I really loved my Ultralite) -- audio quality is pretty much identical (both recording and DAW output), my old ears can't discern a difference.

    I had some fear of the Roland after people reporting "noise" and/or "noise" whenever one touches the pre-amp knob/buttons, but so far I've not heard and noise (no clicks, no static, no hum) so fortunately those rumors appear to be end user error and not a fault with the Roland.

Questions about the Roland Studio-Capture?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway