0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Neumann U 87 Ai Set Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone- Nickel Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Neumann U 87 Ai Set Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone- Nickel?

Questions about the Neumann U 87 Ai Set Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone- Nickel?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Joseph Secu

    No studio is complete until they have a few Neumanns in their mic locker. This mic specifically is the standard. I've been to many studios and consistantly I can count on seeing several U87s in the mic locker. If you're looking for a great sounding versatile microphone and want to maintain credibility in your studio, then look no further. You have to get this mic!

  • Kenny Bergle

    Really one of the few solid industry standards. If you need a world-class quality mic, the U87 is always on the list!

  • from Voidstudio.biz December 9, 2016Music Background:
    Pro studio owner and performer over 20 yrs

    U87 Not just studio bling!!!!!

    I must admit I at first mainly bought this mic for the studio bling effect. After Not landing a couple customers due to my mic locker, even though my mics were great, I needed to upgrade. The fact that it was to lower costing Neumanns made me realize in a world of everyone has a computer and everyone thinks they own a studio, I needed the real McCoy the big gun. Boy was I surprised at the quality this mic actually brings. All these haters of the supposed old school greatest are mainly just jealous.. There is a reason this mic is held in such high thoughts for so long, it is excellent, it is smooth, it brings out the details other mics barely touch, & it is studio bling. LOL. I love it, my Rode K2s while still awesome have takin a backseat finally, where I still say they are better than most of the other more expensive mics, the U87 does blow them away in many many ways. I mainly stick with Neumann and seinheiser now..

  • from Denver, CO April 27, 2016

    U87 Neumann

    Yes, it is everything they say it is.

  • from March 27, 2016

    U87 is a great mic

    This is a very accurate mic, has nice character and mixes with little effort.
    It has no magical power that will make you sing better, but will make good singing sound great

  • from June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    My best purchase so far

    I am a singer/guitarist primarily, and a producer secondly... I have recorded my own vocals in my ever growing home studio for 10 years... Before using this mic I was using a $600 tube microphone (K2) which sounded really really good to my ears (at least for the price) but I always felt like it lacked something, some gloss and CLARITY... Finally I decided to buy this microphone and the Focusrite ISA 430 as a preamp. I was afraid before, as it has bad reviews in some sites BUT DONT LISTEN TO THEM! , this microphone was the best investment ever made so far. CLEAR, SMOOTH ON THE HIGHS, and with CHARACTER... I also like the fact that it sounds so modern and stacks incredible with multiple tracks. Even my girlfriend said WOW the first time she listened to it. I learned that microphones are this expensive for something. Do yourself a favor and buy it, really!

  • from Sacramento,CA December 2, 2012Music Background:
    Music composer

    An amazing microphone

    I had a cheaper mic that was still a very good mic around the $500 range. There is no comparison. This mic sounds just perfect. It doesn't pick up back ground noises like other mics, it's like it has it's own built in noise gate. Every other mic I've ever used sound too hissy on the high ends. This mic has such a perfect EQ spectrum. Through an SSL channel strip it just sounds unbelievable! I've always wanted this mic but price wise couldn't pull the trigger. I finally did and you certainly get what you pay for! - Thanks Paul Allen for your continued support !

  • from Coeur d'Alene, ID November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Composer, Pianist

    Don't be fooled

    I was concerned by some negative reviews for the U87ai and some reviews that stated that a lower priced mic can do the job. I now see clearly and hear clearly with this fantastic mic. I'm using a pair to record my 1980 Baldwin Concert D Piano and it's better than I could have imagined. It's just perfect and I'm so happy with my purchase. If you can afford it, buy it!

  • from USA June 24, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Recording studio

    The Professional Standard for Vocals

    This is a monster. Many people criticize this microphone unfairly. When I started recording, I had to use the budget microphones. I used to complain about this mic and how I could get just as good of a sound with cheaper gear. I WAS WRONG!!!

    It wasn't until I owned a U87 that I realized how amazing this mic actually is. It is the standard for pro-vocals for a reason. It sounds great; it is durable; and it is easy to use.

    Is it always the best option? No... Other great high end mics are awesome too, but is it always awesome? Yes! It always sounds great, and it takes EQ very well. Achieving a pro vocal sound is easy with this mic. All you have to do is record the lead vocals in cardioid (6 to 8 inches from the capsule with a pop filter) and add 1.5 to 3db (depending on the vocalist) of highs in your EQ, and the vocals slide perfectly into a mix.

    I have worked with an AKG C12 and a variety of other high end mics that sound wonderful too. However, the U87 is the easiest to record. You can get great results in the least amount of time. The mic is professional! It is worth every penny. Don't waste your money on a TLM 103, TLM 67 or an M147. Go with this mic! It will allow you to compete with the pros instantly.

  • from Iquique Chile June 15, 2012Music Background:
    owner Recording Studio, drummer.

    AMAZING..... A MUST IN THE STUDIO

    Incredible....I always thought that one way or another, all condenser microphones were similar (high price at least), but it took a test, a recording and it is definitely the best microphone you may have, definitely the standard in the warmth and clarity of the voices that a record ...... its price is high, but see it as an investment, which ultimately pays for itself

  • from South Africa July 30, 2010Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer, Pro musician

    Ai is the new holy grail

    I record my Bass, Acoustic guitars, Vocals and Room with this mic. It's my favorite mic, and I can't imagine running my studio without the U87Ai!

  • from Los Angels, CA USA June 13, 2010Music Background:
    Emcee

    An emcee's dream/Lives up to the hype.

    I've recorded in many studios as an emcee (few speak for us on here. Lots of singers) and we always hear about pairing up this mic with the Avalon 737sp mic pre, but let's be real: most of us are not in a position to get within a city block of one of these expensive units. Well, I did a mixtape recently, with a collection of songs I did on 4 different set ups. Some professional top quality, others not so much. Lo and behold, the last place I went was an apt. in studio city that didn't have air conditioning, but for some reason this guy had the neumann and the avalon! I did two songs in there, and I must say: despite the lack of virtually everything else (we used a laptop, there was no vocal booth, the guy was not the best-trained engineer) my voice sounded 10 times better. In other words, if you have this mic and the avalon, your project studio can capture your RAP vocals as good as anyone anywhere using anything else.

    Your only issue will be the highs can end up overbearing if you do not understand how to use EQ and Compression on the front end of the signal capture. It is also probably why your vocals end up sounding so crisp, tho.

    So Idunno. I'm speaking for the artists who aren't full sail graduates. LOOK FOR THIS MIC. If the studio you are paying has this mic (or basically ANY Neumann), that's the first sign you are in the right place. I give this 5 stars because it's quality is so good, it's a beacon for a quality studio. To compare, if you have a so-so mic, you better have the world's best engineer to make it "work". A Neumann u87 Ai takes a lot of the luck out of getting an excellent recording.

  • from Dietzenbach, Germany April 25, 2010Music Background:
    Music lover

    U 87 ai - the perfect mike !

    Whenever I hear the word sound I think synonomously of the letters and numbers that make up Neumann U 87 ai .The Neumann U 87 ai creates sounds that are distinctivly indistinguishable from nature.It is impossible to tell what is the recording - and what is reality.A few such mics in the mike locker will set you back by a little and buy you a solid future as a solo artist or as a mayor recording studio.I can only recommend buying a U 87 ai ! It is the only choice.I had Tori Amos literally begging for to let her use an U 87 ai.It was humiliating to watch.

  • from Tucson, Az November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, Producer, Recording Engineer

    That Sounds like ME

    Ok so ive used a few mics over the last five years and the u87 has been my most recent purchase. I really wish it was my first or second mic. Not because it translates audio with perfection. its because ive used enough mics not to be impressed or blown away, but i understand why this mic is so popular. if you have a great natural singer this mic is perfect for them but its not going to fit every persons voice. there's no extras with this guy just perfect recordings. its hard to explain the sound from this mic besides saying what you put in is what you get out. which is perfect for some situations but too perfect for others.

  • from Houston, Tx USA April 8, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    Neumann lives up to its legendary name.

    I wouldn't say that I was "blown away" by the sound of this microphone. Be that as it may... It is an awesome piece of gear. A very accurate reproduction of the source sound. Isn't that the idea? There is a reason why it is the standard for serious studios.

Questions about the Neumann U 87 Ai Set Dual-Diaphragm Condenser Microphone- Nickel?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close