0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Wampler Tweed '57 Overdrive Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Wampler Tweed '57 Overdrive Pedal?

Questions about the Wampler Tweed '57 Overdrive Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 12, 2017Music Background:
    26 years, a little of everything, blues, jazz, jam, rock, alternative

    As expected

    This is only my second wampler guitar pedal but it has quickly become one of my favorite brands. I bought this pedal to go with my fender 68 reissue vibrolux reverb and it worked exactly as I had expected. It complements the amp very well, and has a very organic sound, really blending with the tube amps natural sound and compression well.

    As I noticed with my other wampler pedal, ego compressor, the tweed 57's controls are very sensitive and have a lot of range. You really sound a difference as you dial it up. It's easy to dial in a balanced volume and there is a lot of dynamic to the gain channel, I here the most variation in th 0 to 50% range of the gain. And the gain does articulate notes better than some of my previous distortion pedals. I prefer the Linked channel because it give me more volume to the sound but the normal and bright channel are lighter and give more of a vintage sound. I was a little surprised by the EQ. My main set up is a messa mark five amp, and I usually dial in a fairly steep V on the EQ but after looking at the two wampler videos on the pedal I took his advice and cranked up the mid and found that gave me the best sound.

    I play mostly jazz fusion, blues and jam band music so I wasn't looking for a heavy distortion with a lot of chugging crunch or wailing sustain, and I've always liked fender distortion, so this pedal is great for me, but i wouldn't use it for any modern high gain sounds.

  • from Des Moines, IA December 2, 2016Music Background:
    Weekend Garage Rocker

    OD

    I can't testify as to how faithfully this recreates anything that it's supposed to be able to recreate. What I can tell you is that this is an incredibly flexible overdrive. I don't want to put across that this thing is plain vanilla. It isn't. It can get pretty heavy, actually - just not in a modern, high-gain sort of way. I'm able to get a bunch different sounds out of this thing though - from a really warm clean tone on one extreme to thick fuzz at the other. Even at the trebly end of the tone spectrum, it isn't exactly what I would describe as "sparkly". It's a little darker than most other dirt pedals that I've played through. This really works well for me as my amp is a little on the bright side. Apart from that, the build is impeccable. It's totally quiet when bypassed. It'll run just fine on a 9 volt battery, in a pinch.

  • from New Jersey September 19, 2016

    Great sounding pedal.

    I use this pedal with a telecaster into a Princeton Reverb.

    This pedal was purchased to approximate some "tweed" tones out of my Princeton. No particular model or era tweed amplifier, just that flavor.

    I was really surprised by the versatility of the pedal. Dial the knobs all to noon and start on the normal channel and you have a good tone to start from, all you have to do is tweak to get the tone you are after.

    The three way switch is also very useful as is the three band EQ. In my opinion all pedals should have this feature over a single knob tone control.

  • from Ohio November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Hobbyist

    Tone!!!!

    I admit that I am one of those pedal lovers. I have quite a number of them but none are as good as this Wampler. You have to Hear it to believe it!
    Strat neck pick up thru the Wampler Tweed '57... WOW

  • from Contoocook,nh August 12, 2014

    Dial in the tweed you need -its there waiting

    Being a musical dinosaur,I was somewhat concerned about too many knobs to dial in,but turns out they all make sense and allow you to find the tweed you need in short order. Very natural sound that can be gotten at the volume you need to be at. I love my vintage and vintage clone stuff,but this pedal,a trem pedal,a reverb pedal and a Pro Junior in a 12" speaker cabinet let me do what I like to do in ALL the places I play in very convincing fashion.

  • from Memphis June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Versatile pedal

    I bought the Tweed 57 pedal because it is capable of producing several vintage style tones. And it does that very, very well. I've been running between Memphis and Nashville doing session work, and the Tweed 57 has the versatile tones that I've needed to give a unique tone to the sounds of the eclectic musicians I've been working with. Flipping switch that changes the input tone make the pedal sound totally different than any other pedal that I've used. One thing that you have to keep is mind is that this pedal will not give a clean tone, regardless of where the gain and volume are set. This is an exceptionally tonal pedal and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for vintage type sounds with exceptional versatility.

  • from North Carolina March 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Wampler Tweed 57

    This pedal does exactly what it claims. I have a few other Wampler Pedals and every experience with Brain's products have been a positive experience. This pedal can dial in many variations of those classic tweed tones. If that is what you are looking for, this is the pedal for you!!

  • from Utah November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Vintage Madness

    First off, this is not at all my type of distortion. But I usually give all Wampler pedals a shot because they have never let me down.

    This is a very bright, clear distortion. Very vintage. Meant to emulate the sound out of 57 era Fender Amplifiers. Very amp like in response, listen to the demo and decide for yourself. It's given by the man himself. Brian Wampler. I'd recommend it to anyone, even if this type of distortion isn't your thing. You wont be disappointed. It's an awesome amp in a box.

  • from South Central MI September 15, 2014Music Background:
    Mr. Muckabout

    Cranked!

    As stated many times before, you can easily dial in a nice, overdriven, cranked tweed amp sound. By futzing with the controls, you can get pretty close to a fuzz, too. Very nice!

  • from January 31, 2017

    Wooly!

    For me, this is a very unique sounding overdrive pedal. It really gives you the feel of a tweed amp being pushed far beyond it's limits! Gain knob takes you from wooly to compressed Implosion. So the pedal is pretty successful in sound and feel but I wouldn't consider this a boost/more type pedal which is what I was hoping for. But, this is pretty interesting.. and I can see why Wampler pedals are in such high regard.

  • from Santa Fe, NM February 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tweed '57 rocks!

    Yeah, this really sounds like it's supposed too. It's dead nuts on the money. Plus some. Three band eq makes it way better than the old ones. You dreamed that your tweed would sound this good. I'm using an Am Delx Tele middle position, S1 switch "in", thru a Bls Dlx Repop. I'm all over the board with the pedal's eq and gain knobs and sim switch. Never paid this much for a pedal. Costs way too much, and worth it. Might buy another.

Questions about the Wampler Tweed '57 Overdrive Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway