rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Egnater Tweaker-40 112 40-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Egnater Tweaker-40 112 40-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Questions about the Egnater Tweaker-40 112 40-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 5, 2016Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Blues.

    Tweaker 40

    This amp has it all, any tone you want and sounds good with my Strat or my 69' Les Paul. Get a good delay and reverb pedal and your set. This amp is very pedal friendly and sound even fatter when you plug in an extension speaker. It has plenty of punch for a small or medium venue. For the $ totally worth it.

  • from Champlin, MN May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, Home Recordist, Singer/Songwriter

    Classic Tones

    I have owned this amp for a couple for about 6 months, and I can say that I am very pleased with the overall tone and quality of the amp. I was in the tube world for about 15 years until my Crate Vintage Club (30w) self destructed. So, instead of getting that fixed, I foolishly went for a Fender Frontman 212, a decent solid state amp but way too much power, and missing that nice warm breakup. I sold the Frontman and was able to pick this one up.

    This is a warm, sweet amp that sounds best onstage with some volume to it. It works in a bedroom, but the higher wattage means to have it sound best, you need to crank it a bit. I went with the 40 rather than the 15 for those occasional times I play out. It is a good compromise.

    I have found that usually I find a certain sound on an amp and I stay there. But, unfortunately, when you go from a clean to dirty channel, one is always better than the other. What I love about this amp is that you start with two identical channels, each you can custom mold to sound like you want, with little compromises. I tend to favor the Brit tones with a deep sound and less high end. I was able to fine tune the amp to get there.

    The AC switch nicely emulates the Vox sound. I haven't played too much with the "modern" tone, but I have found that these "tweaker" switches are more subtle than overt, and again allow you to "dial in" a tone that you want much more precicely.

    To get a lot of overdrive, the hotter the pickup, the more you get. I have a John 5 tele which has a high output pickup, and I get a lot of sustain and cruch with that, and my strat less so (lace sensor gold pickupx). I have not been able to get a really extreme overdriven metally sound, but I have my Roland Cube for that. This is an entirely different animal and so good for vintage and retro tones.

    I did set up a reverb/delay unit through the effects loop, and it seems to take pedals really well, as I use tremelo and chorus. I have not had the need to use any distortion boxes with this. I found I did miss the reverb when it was not on the amp, but putting a pedal in the loop works just fine.

    This is a bit heavy for an old guy like me, but it actually weighed in at 7 pounds less than my Frontman, which I do not miss at all.

    Overall, I am very pleased to be back in the tube world. Absolutely love the amp. Recording with it has gone well, and it is easy to mic and get good sound out of. I am very pleased.

  • from Sunnyvale, CA USA April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, producer, recording engineer

    My Egnater Tweaker -40 112 fits my needs with perfection!

    The Egnater Tweaker -40 112 is my first all tube based guitar amp. I've been playing in the industry (as a guitarist) for around 25 years. My first amp I used was a carry-over Peavey keyboard amp from my keyboard years. Nice down the middle sound; basically a PA system sound. I then gravitated toward VOX amps. My primary amp has been my VOX AC15VR in the last 5 years. Kinda tube kinda not. Still though, I love that sound. However, it's been nagging at me for years to try something a tad different and new to my ears. Enter the Egnater Tweaker series. From the start I was sold on the control of flipping a switch here and there to adjust the sound just so. I've also used solid state amps with nice modeling but I have a great multi-FX board and really just wanted a basic amp that offered me two channels for supreme clean and for dirty crunch. But the Tweaker takes it to a different level without offering up another modeling amp. Again, those switch flips create just the slightest changes in sound. Want a modern sound? Done! Want a vintage sound? Done! My favorite tweak is the BRIT to AC to USA. This gives you an amp that suddenly has Marshall tones or a VOX AC30 or an unmistakeable Fender guitar amp tone. You can also play with the tight and deep switch for a sound of crisp tones versus a more bottom-heavy tone. Whatever the case, it's all up to your ears and liking.
    This amp also comes with a foot switch to easily switch between the clean tweaks channel you've made and the distorted crunchy tweaks channel you've made.
    Gigging, this amp by itself could easily be all a guitarist needs. I would consider adding a nice Reverb pedal for the effects loop feature (also switchable on/off from the foot switch) as this amp does not come with reverb but to be honest, I'm thus far not missing the reverb. I'm still enjoying all the various tweaks this amp offers. Bruce Egnater created this amp and he makes it feel like he created an amp just for the guitarist at heart and in mind. I know that sounds lame - I mean it's not like he was thinking of a flutist when he engineered this amp - but in a huge sea of corporate designed amps with a bazillion overwhelming features (which definitely have their place at the table too) -- I don't know; this amp is kind of a meat and potatoes amp with some great sizzle, seasoning and overall superior taste. It will satisfy most appetites with great pleasure.... I would strongly encourage this amp for the guitarist seeking an amp with a strong sound with basic needs plus some much needed tweaks! Enjoy!

  • from PA USA June 25, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Versatile and all tube, what else could you ask for...

    I was looking for amp to do fender cleans in the studio and was just about to purchase a Hot Rod Deluxe when my Sweetwater rep suggested the Tweaker instead. What I got was fender tones and more. I am very pleased with the recommendation. Now I did have a problem on week three while recording I could hear strange vibrating noises on certain low notes. It sounded like a bad tube or something was loose inside. I sent a recording to the manufacture and Sweetwater. The manufacture suggested I take the amp to a repair center which I was not really happy about, but then I received an Email from Sweetwater tech department saying they are shipping a replacement amp. Less than 24 hours after reporting the issue a new amp was on its way. So two days later receive the new amp, used the same day to record and all is well. I guess thatís the Sweetwater difference.

  • from United States April 23, 2012Music Background:
    Long time player

    Great Little Amp...

    Love this little amp. It sounds so good it makes me want to practice/play and is tremendously versatile. It is plenty loud for small to medium venues, but you can back it off and it still sounds good for practicing. I can dial in pretty much whatever sound I need and would buy it again in a heartbeat.

  • from United States April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Awesome Combo!

    This little 40 watt 1 x 12" packs a ton of tone. When I decided I was ready to purchase a new amp, I had very high expectations and a fairly limited budget. I put in a ton of research for a few months before finding and deciding on the Tweaker-40 112 and I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.

    First things first, the fit and finish of this amp is very impressive and the construction is solid. I have no reservations at all about putting this amp through the gauntlet of heavy gigging. Not that I plan on knocking it around, it's much too beautiful for battle scars! It also has a fairly long power cord and the foot switch is sturdy and compact with a nice long cord (though there is no space for storing the two, not that I really care about that). There is also a vent at the top that makes me want a cover for the amp.

    Construction aside, I am able to get pretty much exactly the tone that I had in mind with this amp. I play guitar in a heavy-ish progressive rock band and I needed something that could give me a growling distortion tone that was clear enough for some of the more complex chords to stand out. A nice pristine clean channel was also a requirement, as our music is pretty dynamic. This amp has all of that and much more.

    I should mention before getting too far into this that I switched the 6L6 tubes out for a pair of EL34's. The stock 6L6's sounded great, but I found that I was able to get a little more grit out of the EL34's. When I add an overdrive/boost pedal into the mix, I will probably try switching back to the 6L6 tubes, because I really loved the clean tones it was getting with the stock tubes. Changing the tubes was a bit of a task - you have to remove the entire back panel with pretty much everything but the speaker attached to it, but it wasn't too bad.

    Moving onward - the Tweaker is aptly named for the amount of tone shaping that is available. I feel like I'm pretty picky, especially about my distortion, and it took no time at all to find what I was looking for. Likewise, I've had other guitar players play through it for a night and they dialed in their tones within moments. So far, I've had nothing but compliments on this amp. I would love to get into all of the details about each setting, but this review would end up being a few pages long. (Page 14 of the owner's manual gives a technical description of each of the toggles and modes. It can be found very easily online). I was drawn to the 40 watt version over the 15 for two reasons: 1. It has two channels. 2. I was concerned about getting enough volume. Let me tell you, this amp can get *loud*. Much louder than I had expected.

    So, overall I am extremely pleased with this amp. It doesn't have reverb, which is kind of a bummer, but no big deal. I don't often use reverb and when I do, it's a very small amount. I'm currently researching overdrive/boost pedals to find a good match so that I can get a more subtle distortion and a boosted lead tone. I've also recently purchased a TC Electronic Flashback Delay (which I am utterly in love with, but that's another review for another time). I've never been more content with my guitar tone.

  • from New York, NY & New Haven, CT September 1, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging Hobbyist

    Sweet Versatility, Sweet Tone, Built Like a Beautiful Tank

    I've gone through quite a few amps in the past few months searching for the perfect studio/gigging combo amp for me in the $600-800 range. Other amps I've owned and returned include the Blackstar HT Studio 20 and the Fender Deluxe VM. This baby is INCREDIBLE - I have never played a more sweet-sounding, dynamic, versatile amp, save for maybe a Mesa/Boogie costing 3 times the price!

    Since this product (as of the time of review) is relatively new, I imagine that it's probably the first production run. As far as I can tell, there are no kinks due to its newness or anything like that. The build quality of the Tweaker is absolutely fantastic - it is a very sturdy, well-built mostly closed back amp. The cabinet I believe is made of birch ply, which is a nice touch that you'd be hard-pressed to find in a combo amp at this price (almost all of them are particle-board - it lends a subtle but noticeable difference in sound, and a vast difference in sturdiness). Every seam of this thing is basically flawless, and the attention to detail really floored me. It really is a beauty.

    My experience with the Tweaker was actually first with the 15-watt Tweaker 112. Of all the amps I tried out at my local music store, it was the Tweaker that stuck out as having the sweetest break-up, and by far the most tone-shaping possibilities. All of these are still true with the Tweaker 40 112. Keep in mind that since this is a higher wattage amp, that it sounds best and fullest at volume levels that are overall significantly higher than a 15-watter like the original Tweaker. That doesn't mean it can't work as a bedroom amp, but rather that it sounds sweetest at recording to stage volumes. When I cranked the volume high enough (which all things considered really wasn't that high), the familiar organic gritty breakup of the original Tweaker jumped right out. Both the clean and hot channels are fantastic. These combined with the myriad Tweaker switches (one set per channel, except for the 3 circuit voicing options, which apply to the EQ circuit for both channels) and with decent pickups give you the power to sound like *anything*. I have pulled off blues, hard rock, jazz, acoustic, and even high-gain metal all equally convincingly. Granted, to pull off the higher gain stuff you will need to use a guitar with relatively hot pickups - in my opinion that will give you the greatest range of tonal possibilities (you can always roll back your guitar volume, after all - cleans up very nicely).

    The EQ voicing switch can take you from a British sound (Marshally, mid-range punchy) to a VOX AC sound (haven't played around enough with this one to say how it sounds yet, but I think it has more top-end sparkle) to a bright American (ie. Fender) sound. Every setting does sound noticeably different, and to be honest, I have been completely unable to dial in a bad sound on this baby! If you've played a lot of amps, then you know that they may have one good channel, and the other sounds like crap; or both sound pretty good, but if you mess with the EQ settings then you just ruin it completely. Everything I have tried, every permutation of switch and pot settings has sounded absolutely glorious. It all sounds sweet, present, warm, and full.

    If there are any downsides, they are more mild disappointments than anything else. I wish it had a line out / speaker simulated out for plugging directly into a PA / mixing board. Although, if you want that, you could always go for a Rivera RockCrusher power attenuator in tandem with this. Also, it is not a totally silent amp. I have it connected to a Monster Power conditioner, which makes everything essentially silent. The Tweaker is silent in that absolutely no hum or noise comes out of the speaker, but when turned on you can hear an audible hum coming from the amplifier circuit itself (and *not* the speaker). I assume this is normal, although if I notice any strange behavior I'd get it looked at. Either way, it's not noticeable unless you're in a quiet room practicing. I also wish it came with a cover, but eh, not at all a dealbreaker. I actually just ended up ordering a custom made amp cover from a guy on eBay instead.

    Oh, it does come with a footswitch as well, which is made entirely of metal - a nice touch, I thought. It's not midi footswitchable, unfortunately, but only two parameters are footswitchable anyway (channel and the buffered effects loop).

    Don't be afraid to mess with the settings on this - it is called the Tweaker after all. I'd be willing to bet that *your tone* is in here somewhere. I have to say, after a long grueling search, I think I'm pretty smitten now - and I think if you give it a shot, you might be too.

  • from April 26, 2017

    very impressive.

    Shockingly clear sound, warm, and very versatile. This is an affordable amp that can really produce some of the best tones in this price range. I'll definitely end up with more amps from this company, so long as they maintain the build quality they have thus far.

Questions about the Egnater Tweaker-40 112 40-watt 1x12" Tube Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway