rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Egnater Tweaker 15-watt Tube Head Reviews

5.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Egnater Tweaker 15-watt Tube Head?

Questions about the Egnater Tweaker 15-watt Tube Head?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Jefferson, MD March 20, 2017Music Background:
    24 years of playing. Small gigs, breweries, dive bars. Garage rock, classic rock, blues, punk, pop, and indie.

    An amazing amp at an amazing price!

    I want to start by thanking Chris Jenkins for helping the process of purchasing this amp go smoothly. On to the amp itself. While the amp is designed to pull up tones from a variety of other manufacturers, the truth is that this amp has a ton of character all of it's own. I love the simmering clean channel. It's a nice VOX tone but with more bottom end. This amp takes pedals extremely well and has an effects loop. I plugged straight in to the front of the amp and had no issues. It's super loud for 15 watts and feels like you bought a much more expensive amp for the variety of tones that you get out of this little monster. It's small and super light, which is what I was looking for after selling my Fender Deluxe. I have it paired up with a 12 inch Epiphone Valve Jr. Cabinet that contains the Emminence Lady Luck speaker. It's a killer combo. I highly recommend this product. I don't know if you can do any better for the price, quality, and tone.

  • from December 14, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur

    Great amp, very versatile

    This is a really great amp, great features and mostly, a HUGE SOUND one. Tweaking can lead to very different tones, such as Vox, Fender or Marshall.

    Loving this amp

  • from MD, USA September 17, 2016Music Background:
    20 years of playing guitar

    A great amp at any price

    A note on my perspective: I use this amp to record; I don't play live with a drummer.

    Looks 5/5 -- Personally I just think it looks classy as heck, especially when paired with the matching cabinet.

    Build/reliability 3.5/5 -- This amp seems to be built well for its cost. I've never had a problem with the controls or switches. One thing to keep in mind is that the older versions run the tubes really hot with a lot of current (the cathode resisters value was changed on later units). Mine cannot run many standard 6v6s--a lesson I learned the hard way after wondering why all the power tubes I was ordering were microphonic and hissy. JJ 6v6s were recommended by Bruce Egnater as a reliable tube for these and that is what I use now. I do wonder if the hot tubes are partially responsible for how amazing the amp sounds. Minus 1.5 points because of the tube issues and because it doesn't seem any better built than any other factory PCB amp.

    Controls/features 5/5 -- I can't think of a feature I want that this amp doesn't have. 4/8/16 ohm output? Check. 120 and 240 volt mains support? Check. Great cleans, crunch and distortion sounds in a variety of flavors? CHECK! All the mini-switches are useful depending on the sound you want, the amount of gain, and how you have the other knobs/switches set. The tone stack works great at dialing in what you need. And the effects loop is so useful. Although you can run a few different power tubes in it, I've always stuck with 6v6s.

    Sound 5/5 -- I run this through the Tweaker 112x cabinet. It's hard to find a bad sound. I am partial myself to the USA cleans and the Brit crunch/drive. The AC cleans and breakup sounds are great, too. The amp has so many good sounds it beggars belief. I don't know if there's a rock guitar sound you *can't* get with this amp, especially if you're willing to swap out the power tubes!

    Value 5/5 -- Ridiculously cheap for what you get. I could record all my guitars through this amp and be happy with the results.

    Overall 5/5 -- I have owned or do own tube amps from Fender, Vox and Marshall. But the Tweaker is my "desert island" amp. It really punches above its weight. I honestly like the sound as much as my silverface Fender and handwired Vox.

  • from San Francisco June 17, 2016Music Background:
    Much Gigging and Recording

    This Thing is Great.

    The versatility and tones that you can get out of this little amp just blows me away - and my brother - and my best friend guitar buddy. Beautiful clean tones - which is where an amp needs to start, or else nothing else matters to me. Once you get past the awesome cleans, there are tons of sound tweaking options (thus the name?) and I can dial in anything I need. I do wish that it had reverb - my only wish on this thing - because it does everything else so well. Matched it up with the cab and it just sounds awesome - and selling at a price that is fair and affordable. With all of the voicing options this thing has - maybe use a distortion/overdrive and a delay/reverb and you can do just about whatever style you want.

  • from Phoenix Arizona area March 27, 2015Music Background:
    Been playing tube amps since 1964 and I have hadd all the great ones.

    Bruce Egnater knocked it outt the park with this one

    This thing is one excellent little 15 watt tube amp. I can get the fattest cleans (which is all I want from an amp). Then I effect it with tube distortion stomps and digital reverb stomps. It rivals my Hot Rod Deluxe for tone in this way. It is well spent money. It is Deluxe Reverb loud if you need to play it in a band situation.

  • from Oak Ridge, TN (USA) July 4, 2013Music Background:
    Musician for 49 years

    Best amp ever!

    This is without a doubt the best amp I have ever purchased! Bruce Egnater knows what he's doing when it comes to building amps! A great big thanks goes out to Joe Milne for turning me on to this amp. The head and matching cabinet is unbelievable!

  • from Front Royal, VA January 4, 2013Music Background:
    27 year Hobbyist

    Unbelievable little amp!!!

    When you shell out $350 for an amp you don't expect it to have great tone, versatility in tone or features that you would find on amps that cost twice as much. Well...this little amp has all of that and more. I'm running the amp into a Marshall 4x12 with Vintage 30's and this little beast will pump it out. For a 15 watt amp it works the 4 30's easily. There is a sweet spot at about 1 o'clock on the master volume where it really wakes up. When I first purchased the amp I figured I would end up using the Marshall setting primarily due to that sound being what I'm most familiar with using. Instead I'm using the AC setting and getting an unbelievable tone. Another feature I really like are the various tubes that can be used with this amp without the need to bias or have any work done to the amp. I cannot stress enough what a good purchase this is. I was EXTREMELY skeptical and did a lot of research on this amp. I would not hesitate a second to recommend this. If you're on the fence then go for it. You will not be sorry.

  • from Grandview MO December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend warrior , hobbyist

    Great Little Amp!

    I ordered this little tube wonder after reading many reviews. Kurt Martin my service guy got it sent In short order. I have been doing business with Sweetwater for about 5 years and they never dissapoint! After plugging this little tube tone wonder in as was pleasantly suprised. I have in running into a Early 70"s Fender Bassmaster. After "tweaking" some of the settings I got the sound I have been looking for in an amp. It really roars! Thanks again Kurt for your prompt attention. You have a customer for life!

  • from Tecumseh, MI July 20, 2012Music Background:
    Live and studio musician

    Very versatile amp!

    So many tones from one amp, and for such a reasonable price! You can go from ringing clean to metal distortion with everything in between just a tweak away. Versatile enough for studio or stage, I recommend this amp to guitarists that hold great tone at a high standard!

  • from Arlington, VA July 14, 2012Music Background:
    Degrees in music performance and musicology; former music teacher (classical guitar and Renaissance lute) and professional musician; playing electric guitar since the age of 12 (long, long ago). I love, love guitar.

    Tweaker 15w head with Tweaker 112x cab

    This is an incredibly versatile tube amp. Wide variety of modern and vintage tone offerings combined with 15 very loud watts with the 112x cab. I ordered previously a Tweaker 112x cab to go with my 15w Fender Super Champ XD. So, I now had two Tweaker 112x cabs to go with my Tweaker head and, talk about great sound possibilities and enough volume to fill a small auditorium (local church auditoriums) and small to medium sized normal gig venues! The basic amp selections are Fender (USA), Vox (AC) and Marshall (BRIT). I go between these three using the clean channel option vs. hot, varying between modern/vintage and bright/normal. Compact and lightweight, it's great for transporting around town. This is a great, great amp. I presently have Victoria and Fender amps and the Tweaker is every bit as good in sound quality, but more versatile. Stuart at Sweetwater was pleasant, very knowledgeable and helpful as always.

  • from Minnesota April 21, 2012Music Background:
    35 year hobbyist

    Great and Versatile

    I love this amp. I can get great sounds at any volume, and what a great range of sounds. I own an old Fender tremolux which is great for that clean sound, but I was looking for something on the other end of the tone spectrum. The Tweaker gives me bowlfuls of crunchy goodness as well as chimey cleans. I can get any tone from old-school clean or crunch to modern overdrive. I will be able to use this amp with any group I play with and cover an immense amount of territory. When I ordered, I got a free matched set of EL34s, which I know I will like even more, but I haven't swapped them out yet because I am still exploring the stock tones and really liking it. It reacts very well to all the pedals I use. I considered the Haze 15, Tubemeister 18, the Carvin model in this watt range, and several others. Being most;ly a basement player, I had a hard time justifying the $$. I am convinced that I got a great-sounding versatile amp for a great price. Simply put, this is one of the best gear investments I have ever made.

  • from Salt Lake City April 17, 2012Music Background:
    35 yrs playing/teaching. Masters in Music Theory.

    AMAZING

    This little guy is not so little. I purchased two of these heads on advice from my rep. Mike Soper. Mike always comes through. These little luch box heads are flatout amazing. From the different clean settings, to the amazing gain settings they just astound me. I always play stereo. I run them through two Marshall 1960 cabs loaded with 2 t-75 and 2 vin -30 each and I get a sound that is all my own. I giged 2 nights ago 3000+ crowd and I did not need to mike these "15 watt" amps. They are so loud is suprised me. They can do so, so much. Buy one.

  • from Normal, IL March 10, 2012Music Background:
    semi-Pro musician

    Fantastic amp

    I have owned an Egnater Tweaker for 9 mos and absolutely love it, in fact I love it so much I bought a 2nd Tweaker for stereo. The ability to change the tone with the small toggle switches is unsurpassed in my opinion. I have been repairing, modding and building amps for 30+ years and I never came up with anything with so much flexibility. If you can't find a tone you love with this amp you either are doing something wrong or playing death metal (it may even work for that but I'm not a death metal player so I don't know for sure). I play my Tweakers thru a pair of sealed back 2-10 cabinets from an old Gibson GSS-100 amp (that was destroyed in shipment) and they sound fabulous. I have also used them with a pair of 4-12 cabs, open back 12", 15" portaflex cab and a closed back 12" cab it works well with all of the especially with a change in the tight/deep switch. I have found this 15 watt amp to be more than adequate when I used it on a club stage, if I was playing a larger stage I would use the pair of them. I have also done some recording with the Tweaker and found it to be perfect for that purpose, I have doubled tracks changing the switch settings and ended up with wonderful amps tones. I think the Tweaker would be a great amp to have in a recording studio as it's switching along with a few different cab styles would satisfy most players and producers. They are also a great deal as you get a lot of bang for the buck IMHO.

  • from Indiana November 28, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist +

    TUBE TONE!

    This little amp is about the size of a lunch box, but no one would ever know that if their eyes were closed. The number of different sounds you can get is staggering- and they are all very useful sounds that you can use on almost any gig. I've had it for a month, my favorite sound is the "usa" clean tone. The beauty of this amp is that you can add ALOT of dirt to the clean sound and still have control of overall volume. I use the matching cab with the G12H30 speaker. Just add a great overdrive pedal and you may not even miss having 2 channels. Unbeatable for the price. And reverb is overused anyway, right? Well if you need it, just put it in effects loop.

  • from Minneapolis August 15, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Guitar Instructor

    Tone Monster!!!

    This little head has never done me wrong. I've owned it for over a year now & it always sounds magnificent. Super light weight & portable. I run mine through a handmade 1x12 cab, loaded with a 12" WGS 30W Reaper Speaker. It will go from very clean jazz, to Fender spank, to Vox glassy, to Marshall crunch, & even High Gain Metal. I love the versatility of the EQ section & the wide range of the gain. Takes pedals very well.
    I am often asked about my amp at gigs. Everyone loves the tone. They always ask where I got it, & how much it costs. When they find out the price, they typically start talking about buying one themselves.
    I believe that this is the best amp head in it's price range. & even better than many heads costing far more.

  • from January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, engineer, songwriter, producer

    Sounds even better when tracked

    Very versatile little head. I've had it for years now as a second/third head hooked to an old Fender Bandmaster 2x12 mic'd with a Sennheiser e609 at the dust cap/cone edge and get a better sound in Pro Tools than live in the room. Can't believe how great this sounds when tracking! Not super high gain death metal amp by itself but works great with pedals of all sorts. It contrasts nicely with my other amps and cabinets (Marshall SL-X and Mesa Boogie Single Rectifier with 1960 A and B cabs). If you like it's sound, try recording: it gets even better and I don't have that kind of luck with my Marshall or Recto.

    I never regretted buying this little babe. It's SO versatile and I love to tweak settings. Love the VOX and Fender settings with my Am Std Tele (stock pickups) for clean or crunch tones in rock, pop, funk, jazz or country. I'm surprised how nice the Marshall setting records for rock or hard rock with my Les Paul 25/50 anniversary issue or Jackson Dinky (both with EM81/85 pickups). Again, sounds better in my DAW than in person for Marshall setting.

    Although I only use it in my home studio, its size is great to take elsewhere. Oh yeah, forgot to mention... it gets plenty LOUD enough, you know how tubes are (seem louder than transistors at the same wattage). So far, I've never needed 10 on the master volume even when set for a clean tone. Thanks Bruce Egnater, I'm a fan now!!!

  • from August 11, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist since 1963.

    Quality 6V6 Sounds with added versatility

    Really like this amp, and I've only begun to TWEAK. Had a Rebel 20 for a year or so and never felt that the 6V6 side of that amp nailed a Fender sound. But this one definitely does. As my bass player said, when he played it, "sounds like my Champ, without the noise." Enough power to keep up with a band, especially once the Volume is past 2:00 or so. Lots of gain range and useful tone modification. I like the Marshall tone stack setting, not as good or as accurate as the Fender setting, but it gets close. In addition to the perceived drop in volume in the Vox setting, I just don't hear that Vox sound. To quote the Loaf" "two out of three ain't bad." The Fender stack setting sounds better with 6V6s (I've only tried the stock 6V6s, thus far). I think the Marshall setting sounded a bit girthier and more accurate in the mids when I put a couple of Mullard EL-34s in. But, as you might expect, the Fender setting did not sound as "authentic." The loop works well. Now, on to a pair of 6L6s to see if that will give it a little more bottom end.

  • from Syracuse July 17, 2015Music Background:
    Experienced

    Almost perfect

    I bought one of these to use for small parties, recording and jams in my home studio. With the paired 112 cabinet, this thing is an absolute beast. It cranks, is easy to use, and you can really dial in an incredibly filthy, mean sound I've never heard anywhere else. Easily cuts through above a drum kit, so if you're doing a small gig you won't even need to mic it. The only thing I'd like is a footswitch. But that's not a bad tradeoff considering the sound, looks and portability. Not an amp for metal, but if you're playing blues, alt rock, even punk, this can do it well.

  • from Allentown, PA December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Frustrated guitarist /keyboardist playing 30+ years

    Amazing Bang for the buck

    I talked to my sales rep, Wayne Davis, on Wednesday, I was at my door on Friday by 1pm. and that was the free shipping! Packaged very well with the factory packaging protected by an outer hoax with more packing material in it!

    One week in with the Tweaker and I'm simply amazed by it's versatility. I play mostly blues and classic rock and this amp with my Strat just nails the clean tone that I've been searching for, clear articulate, bell like even, LOUD! Just a touch of power tube OD when you really dig in, very expressive. Grab the Les Paul flip the switch to Brit and the Pre to Hot, and roll back the master some and crank up the gain and you're in Led Zep territory. Nice classic crunch at a volume my wife doesn't yell at me about! I definitely prefer the strat for clean tones and the LP for crunch. But I haven't tried a pedal yet, this is all just str8 in.

    I rate this amp a 4.5 because honestly I wish it had a half-wattage switch as I'm playing it through a JCM800 1960 4x12 cab and it's pretty loud! I opted (for the time being) to pass on the matching 112 cab, I have played this head through the Eminence 12" in my vintage Musicman combo and it sounded great, not quite as great as through the 4x12 Marshall Cab, It's kinda hard to beat that closed back punch and bottom end.

  • from Berkeley, CA November 12, 2014Music Background:
    playing since 1980, hobbyist/enthusiast

    The Gateway Drug to Tubes!

    I picked up one of these heads as a second tube amp. I primarily was looking for something to A/B/Y with my Marshall DSL40 in my home studio. It's a killer amp. It comes stocked with the Egnater/Sovtek 12ax7 tube which are very solid tubes. It has a wide range of tone, and I've tried it through a few different speakers including the 1x12 Egnater Tweaker Cabinet... which I honestly really like and own (the speaker in the Cab retails for $169.99).

    I think where this amp will fit in someones's life is an amp you can you can get a wide range of sound out of for the player that needs versatility, or just wants to understand more about tone chasing. I can't say "this amp sounds like a VOX, Marshall and Fender in one" because it doesn't, but it gets you in the ballpark.

    You can run a variety of power tubes in this, which is a bit esoteric, and a variety of pre-amp tubes. To me, it's worth experimenting to find a sound that works for you. I swapped out the stock tubes (again, which are pretty good) for JJ 12ax7's and it brought more spank to the picture and more bottom end. I have some others I will try swapping in as well. For the money, I sort of wish I had looked at this before my Marshall DSL40c. While the DSL40c is sort of the next level of amp, this does really well and the head/cab configuration makes it easy to carry and gives you the option to run this through any conceivable cabinet with it's 4/8/16 OHM switch (the marshall is only 8/16). The 1x12 has a superior speaker to the marshall, and a quick tube swap brings this into a new league. Very happy with this amp!

  • from New York, NY February 8, 2014Music Background:
    Apartment Musician

    Great and Versatile Amp

    Was back and forth between the Tweaker and the Rebel and finally opted for the Tweaker. It is a great and versatile head. The Tweaker can adjust to my Gretsch 6120, Fender Strat, and Les Paul and sounds great through a 10" or 12" cab.

    Clear tones can be had at various volume settings, great for my New York apartment. I am not gigging so I have not pushed the amp.

    Definitely happy to have the amp.

  • from Southern California June 6, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist/amateur band

    Versatility with loudness

    Thoroughly enjoy this power packed amp head. Settings can be tweaked for super clean to slightly crunchy blues to Nirvana grunge with the flip of some switches and the turning of some dials. I can play in the living room while the children sleep as well as on a stage with a crowd. Hence, versatility with loudness

  • from Long Island, NY June 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Works great with modelers too!

    I have a line6 x3 live that i hook up to the tweaker via the effects return (just using the power amp). All i did was eq it in the x3 a little, plugged it into my marshall 412 and WOW! I cant put my guitar down, just tone for miles! I swapped out the power tubes with EL34"s, my high gain marshall patches sound amazingly thick and rich, I finally have the sound I was searching for!

  • from March 28, 2017

    Egnater 15

    Has great tones for a guy on a budget! Love the toggle switches. I've heard it's not a good gig amp but I disagree. My band has a rebel 20 and a tweaker 15 now!

  • from December 27, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist / gigging player

    egnater tweaker

    great amp . clean sound is great but not as great as my fender hotrod ( but what is? ) . light and loud . the heaviest setting is not quite heavy enough for me but is good to play hard rock ( not metal) . no annoying hum or buzz like the night train i tried , even at loud volume . i have only had for a day but me likey .

Questions about the Egnater Tweaker 15-watt Tube Head?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway