0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

D'Addario Planet Waves Headstock Tuner Reviews

4.0 stars based on 21 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    Finally, a tuner I can count on! These babies should be in every guitar case!
    Not only is it easy (turns from red to green when in tune), easy to see (illuminated all the time, even in full sunlight), and easy to use when loud volume exists onstage (works on vibrations through the guitar neck, not on the output of the guitar or sound onstage) but it's conveniently small and so affordable! Small and cheap enough to have one for every guitar case. I actually carry one around in my front shirt pocket (YES, my name is Kenny Kenny Bergle and I use a pocket protector!) so I can tune other people's guitars when they ask me to check theirs out. Also I use it on bass guitar and upright bass and my son Benny uses it on his cello. Honestly, the best tuner
    I have ever used, including my old, heavy, expensive, persnickety strobe tuner from the 70s. Here's a tip, try tuning to 442 sometime. I have to for my duet with a vibes player and now 440 sounds a little puny to me. INteresting!

  • Simon Picazo

    As a guitar player I rejoiced when I got this tuner, then my wife tried it on her French Horn. Now I have to save up for another one! A very quick and easy solution for accurate tuning without the wait that comes with sound-based tuners. Since this tunes from vibrations you don't even have to make everyone else pipe down so you can tune!

  • Michael
    from Chandler, AZ July 22, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist/Singer/Songwriter

    My Favorite Tuner

    These are great! Accurate. One, slim piece--I carry one in my pocket at all times. Very affordable (I have 3). Prompt delivery. I do have to say one thing about the delivery though--more Bit-O-Honeys.

  • Brent C. Goldthorpe
    from Deer Lodge, MT September 13, 2011Music Background:
    student

    EASY TUNE JOB!!!!!!

    This made tuning my guitar EASY!!! You can tune in any noise environment. It was my first guitar to tune and it took me one minute is all!!!

  • Lorna Flowers
    from Nashville, TN July 15, 2011Music Background:
    Pro songwriter, producer, musician

    Planet Waves headstock tuner

    This little tuner is awesome. It's very small and VERY easy to use. It's simple...if it's in tune, the LED is green and if it's not, then the LED is red. Dead easy to see in dark places and because the part that picks up the vibrations is on the underside of the tuner, it's sitting right on the headstock so tuning is more accurate and great even in a band or other loud situation.
    I have spent hundreds of dollars on foot pedal and headstock tuners and this is the best so far !

  • Ray Blanks
    from Cheshire, CT June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro Guitarist

    Great Tuner!

    This is a great little tuner. Very convenient to have right on the head stock! While I love the value of this bundle, I am not a fan of eroding margins and potentially driving business to China our outside the US. WE NEED THE JOBS HERE! The original price is a fair price for such a convenience. I'd have paid the $29.

  • Bryce Steiner
    from Antwerp, OH June 26, 2011Music Background:
    Riverside Christian Church band

    quick and accurate

    I got this at the Sweetwater Gearfest. This little tuner seems to be sturdy, contrary to some reviews on Amazon. I put this on my acoustic and compared it with the built in tuner/preamp and it was right on. I then put it on an electric and then a bass. All were nailed right on. It didn't have to think and adjustments in tuning were immediately acknowledged.

  • Jason Engle
    from Anderson, IN November 12, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    I absolutely love this little tuner!

    I know it's just a tuner, but it is so cool and convenient. Just clip it to your headstock and leave it there! The display is red when you are out of tune and turns green when you're in tune! It weighs nothing, runs off of a little round battery like a calculator and turns off by itself if you don't use it for a few minutes. It tunes by vibration so it is great for loud environments. The tuner starts off in concert pitch, but has a little button that allows you to change that. I like 442 Hz. It is incredibly accurate as well. Just buy it, you won't regret it!

  • Jason
    from West Palm Beach FL August 7, 2009Music Background:
    guitar player for 20 years

    very coool tuner

    I just bought this tuner and I love it. It is very small and light and works great. Very good , easy to use display, it tracks quickly and accurately. Super easy and accurate. I will prob buy some more and just keep them on each guitar. Can't go wrong for this little money.

  • T.C.
    from Chicago, IL July 31, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Wow!

    I bought this tuner for the bassist in the band I work with. He plays an upright acoustic bass and was not getting accurate results with the traditional sound-input tuners on the band stand

    He clipped the Planet Waves tuner to the tailpiece and voila! accurate readings no matter how noisy the band stand may be. The small price tag, coupled with the fact that this tuner is accurate and easy to use makes this a no brainer

    Highly recommended.

  • Brandon
    from Cushing, TX USA May 16, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Product!

    i bought this tuner a few weeks ago and absolutely love it! It is very small and easy to carry around and it has a good screen. its quick to tell u the tone and you can be in a room full of other musicians playing and it tunes the same! i would definately recommend it for anyone

  • D.V.
    from San Diego May 12, 2010

    Very good tuner

    This is one of the best clip-on tuners out there. Reliable, accurate and economical. The shape and size are also perfect. The tuner isn't attached to the clip with a puny plastic pin like most of the competitors, so it should be more sturdy.

  • Bill
    from Southern CA January 28, 2010Music Background:
    Simi pro musician and recording engineer

    An amazing little tuner

    Accurate, easy to read. While everyone else is plucking away you can tune silently. This tuner has a low profile and does not stick way out from your headstock as some of the tuners of this type, making the others highly susceptible to breakage by hitting something near your headstock. I gave it a 4.5 for two reasons. FIrst the grip on the headstock could be a bit firmer and 2 the plastic battery holder is a tad weak. to get around this I place a bit of tape over it so IF and I say IF it pops out on a dark stage I won't have to treasure hunt for the cap and battery. Its mostly me being extra careful really. I really like this tuner and if I lost it or it broke I would most defiantly buy another.

  • Gregorio
    from Fort Wayne, IN January 28, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    guitar tuner planet waves

    It is a great tool for all guitar players, professionals or beguinners.Works great

  • Tony
    from Longview,Wa December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Beginning Musician

    accurate nice little headstock tuner

    It is accurate if placed I'm in a sweet spot. Works well for me when I have used it. Does have some weak points such as the plastic and hinges. However should last long with proper care- I keep one in my case or gig bag. However I have recently started using the Marshall footswitch tuner more often; that I also received an awesome deal from SW on by the way. I would say it's one of the best headstock tuners out there currently.

  • Doug
    from Portage, IN December 14, 2010Music Background:
    active guitarist

    great little tuner !

    I had been looking at these for quite some time, and finally decided to purchase one. I honestly don't know why I waited so long. It's simple to use, and I find it more accurate and precise than all my other chromatic tuners. Display is well lighted and easy to read. Sure, it's plastic and you have to be careful with it, but I take extra care with all my gear anyway so, no problem. I definetly recommend this tuner!

  • Steve
    from Boston July 15, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    Great but.....

    This item is great. Wonderful accuracy BUT it has a design flaw: the clip hinge is weak and over time WILL develop a crack from stress and eventually break off. I've had two of these already and would rate them 5 stars if it weren't for the hinge issue.

  • Customer
    from NY,NY May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Amateur

    Go with the Mini

    Dont get me wrong, this is a great tuner, but the NS mini is the same cost and will fit anything. This one need a lot of headstock room to grab on to, which some guitars just wont have. Even harder to find the right orientation to get it into the case without taking it off! At $20 throw the mini on every guitar you own and never worry about it again

  • Kyle Pratt
    from Austin Tx. December 26, 2011Music Background:
    life long hobbyist

    Great tuner when it works

    I like the tuners so much I'm on my third one. But that's the problem. Its the third one in 2.5 years. The first got into a mode where they turn on for about 5 seconds and then shut off. Swapping batteries doesn't help. #3 is still ticking but I've only had it for a few months.

  • Todd Shaw
    from Hartford, WI USA September 30, 2010Music Background:
    Lead guitarist, lead vocalist, song writer, worship leader.

    Works great but breaks easily...

    Love the tuner, it does work great, but only until the plastic clamp arm breaks off when you bump it. Construction should be much more mechanically robust. Very cheap mechanical design / construction for the clamp arm. Fix that Planet Waves; then you'll have a great product!!

  • Tom Walker
    from Powell, WY March 20, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Don't let an airline put it in baggage

    I loved this tuner until I had to check my guitar on a recent flight. The tuner was in my guitar case and it didn't survive. Since that flight it powers up but otherwise no longer works, and yes I replaced the battery to no avail. Don't fly with it unless you can take it with you in the cabin.

  • Joey Fralli
    from Paso Robles , California June 22, 2011Music Background:
    Gigging musician

    I did not like the Planet Waves at all ...Terrible!!

    limited tuner-
    1) First it only has Piezo Mode....no microphone/piezo option
    2) Screen difficult to read
    3) Limited Hz range
    4) Awkward button placement
    5- Limited clip on mobilitly

    I ended purchasing an Old Boss TU-12 and a GoGo TT-1 Clip-on tuner

  • Todd
    from Glen Cove, NY May 14, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer

    disappointed

    found the clip to be not strong enough and the lack of swivel was a big drawback. Also thought the screen would have more definition, in that I mean just brighter!! Since this did not work for me I bought the GoGo Tuner TT-1 and love it. hope this helps somebody out.

Questions about the D'Addario Planet Waves Headstock Tuner?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway