0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

PreSonus TubePre V2 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the PreSonus TubePre V2?

Questions about the PreSonus TubePre V2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Brent
    from Missouri December 23, 2015

    PreSonus TubePre V2

    I love it, I tried testing it out and my vocals sound more powerful and crispy, its an upgrade for your studio.

  • Brian
    from USA June 13, 2015

    PreSonus TubePre V2

    It does everything that Sweetwater says that it is suppose to do. Thanks once again Chris.................

  • Oswaldo Contreras
    from Bakersfield, CA February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Powerful Sound!

    Ok so I've been in complete awe with this pre amp, I never thought something so small would make my vocal recordings so crisp, I love it and have highly recommended this product to my peers. Thank you PreSonus for such a great product and thank you Sweetwater for the amazing price :)

  • Drew Campbell
    from United States July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar player for 40 years

    A great piece of equipment

    This is a great product at a good price. I used it as a preamp for an accoustic guitar at a gig last weekend. The sound was fantastic and plenty strong for the amplifier effects

  • Eric_K
    from Northern Minnesota September 14, 2016Music Background:
    Working Musician

    Banjo Magic

    After finding that both the EMG acb-5 and Fishman Rare Earth pickups were far less than ideal for my specific open backed banjo, I took a tip from a friend and mounted a Shure SM-57 on the coordinator rods. The mic is placed inside a 4 inch piece of foam pipe wrap facing the neck and held tightly in place with two velcro straps so itís easily adjusted or removed. An XLR cable with a 90 degree jack comes out of the mic, and it goes into the TubePre V2 preamp which provides a volume control for silent tuning, a "rumble switch" to reduce the sounds of fumbling around on stage common to banjo players, AND a really nice amount of warmth to the signal on its way to the board. The signal produced is a bit hot, but as long as the person running the board takes it easy, itís not a problem. The mic in the banjo itself is not overly prone to feedback. After just one week of use, Iíve already had numerous compliments from audience members, band mates, and sound guys. Itís a simple set up that sounds amazing. Iím a bit wary of the mostly plastic construction of the unit itself, but with a proper mounting system on either a mic stand accessory tray or a pedal board it shouldnít be an issue. The VU meter looks pretty cool, too. ;-) I can envision numerous other uses for this versatile unit.

  • Victor
    from Circleville, OH July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Voice Over

    Just the ticket!

    I needed a some additional gain in my microphone chain, and didn't need any extra functions (processing, digital) so this preamp is just what I needed! Very clean sound!

  • Teejay Riedl
    from Chicago, IL May 4, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician, engineer, producer, studio and live

    Great, Inexpensive, Relable!

    Over the years, I have acquired six of these (v1andv2). I LOVE these little boxes! I have given another seven or so as birthday or Christmas presents to fellow rockers.

    I bought my first because of a challenging technical problem related to my old recording rig, where I needed a separate preamp from those in my mixer. From day-one, I was impressed with the openness of the sound, good dynamic range, and stout gain.

    As I used my first, I kept bumping into more and more scenarios where "it'd be nice to have another [x quantity] discrete mic preamps laying around", so I just kept buying them. It's a VERY respectable preamp for the money, so I could stage my capital expenses over time, versus dropping a lot of coin on some later unified solution. When one such as I works pro-bono for charity, one does what one must!

    I've used them on drums, horns, guitars, and - mostly - on vocals. They shine in every scenario. Drive that tube too hard, and it'll break up on you, but dial it in right (you'll hear where in 45 seconds or less), and it gets nice and fat and jolly, real quick and real nice.

    Don't try to match a v1 and a v2 in stereo - they have different gain stages and a slightly different color- but pair the same versions together and they are incredibly-consistent. My life is too short to fuss with tube-swapping, but I imagine if you dropped a Mullard in it, it'd be fatter still.

    Years and years gone by, good gigs, bad gigs, beer, whiskey, a studio flood, left in the car on 113* days by mistake,... These little guys just keep on cranking out the tunes. None has ever failed.

    I love these cute little blue fellas! So why not five stars? Because I've heard myself through some reeeeeallly expensive mic pres. These are not those.

    Look, let's be realistic- these are not high-end preamps. If you need a Neve or Shadow Hills or Manley or Avalon, that's what you need. But if you (like I) are real working-folk that need a perfect balance of function and cost, I can't rate this highly-enough. For a buck-thirty, don't hesitate. Get it.

  • christine stevens
    from nashville, tn July 12, 2013Music Background:
    voice actor

    working well

    Cables worked out great.

  • Peter Zamuka
    from July 14, 2015

    PreSonus TubePre V2

    I use the PreSonus V2 for my vocals. It adds a live component to the vocals, a warmth that was not achievable through my PA. I engaged the pad button on the mixer so that the PreSonus would have more control of the incoming signal via the Drive (tube) and Gain controls. Nice tool.

  • Pablo Sk'Bano
    from Phx, Az June 1, 2012Music Background:
    Producer/engineer

    Not a bad little mic pre

    The clarity from this mic-pre is not bad at all. The XMAX mic-pre's are pretty clean for this price range. One little negative I noticed is that when recording vocals, I use a Akg C214 mic, the Vu meter does respond well and I get a signal overload in pro tools 8. its not a big issue I sent it back for a new one, thinking this issue was due to a defect. When I received the replacement, the same thing. Simple work around but I am happy and I'm going to replace the stock tube with an Russian made tube and see what I get. Don't hesitate to buy this mic-pre if you need to upgrade your front end on a budget, it will help your mic as well if your using a not so expensive one.

  • christine
    from nashville TN July 12, 2013Music Background:
    voice actor

    still trying to figure it out

    Low rating as I am still trying to get a warmer sound on my voice overs. Following some advice from tech so hope I can get the hang of it
    I am sure if I was more technically minded I would find it easier to work it out. Hope in a day or two I will have ahandle on it.

  • Customer
    from Los Angeles, CA October 22, 2014Music Background:
    Mix Engineer

    High Noise Floor

    This is obviously a consumer product so I won't be that harsh, but the noise floor is really noticeable on this preamp. No matter which mic I used on it, I would get a really loud hiss. I can attain the same gain level from those mics with other pres without any hiss, I couldn't even compress my mix from those pres a lot harder without any hiss coming through compared to this pre. I ultimately sold this pre to someone else due to this problem. You will not really have an issue if you are recording into a thick track with a lot going on, but it's absolutely terrible for acoustic music, or any simple soft music. You will notice the hiss coming through when gating, or fading out your tracks. It's worth it to spend a little more money on something that is higher quality.

  • Travis Jackson
    from July 24, 2012

    Not Bad....But Not Worth It

    Through my expierience the mic pre was too hot and hot little to no head room. To get a good signal you have to turn up the gain enough to get the needle in the "Clear" but by doing so you increase the signal going to your AD Converter giving you distortion and unwanted noise. The workaround that i used was placing a -10dB to a -30dB pad on the ouput of the Presonus going to my AD Converter and it worked...sort of. if you are looking for something to get just to get better sound than just using an MBox or any other low end AD converter than by all means buy this pre cuz it will get the job done but if you take engineering seriously than change out the tube or buy a different Pre.

Questions about the PreSonus TubePre V2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway