0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

ART Tube MP Project Series Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the ART Tube MP Project Series?

Questions about the ART Tube MP Project Series?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Stockton, CA May 26, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer/ Songwriter

    I'm A Believer

    I've grown accustomed to using some amazing preamps and I was about sceptical concerning this one. This pre has added so much clarity to my recordings. I have a Saffire Pro 14 interface and I use the Blue Bluebird as my main vocal mic.

    I must say this pre does the job and I'm completely satisfied with it.

  • from Muscat, Oman May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Audiobook Narrator

    Perfect

    I needed this in order to add warmth to my spoken word projects. I use an Apogee Duet 2 and while its pre-amps are very clean and crisp, they are too much so for audiobooks. I wanted that vintage, barely perceivable distortion that I had heard on audiobooks in the past and so a "valve preamp" was the way the go.
    I was reluctant to spend a large amount on what was essentially an experiment, so I chose the ART Tube MP after a lot of research. Within minutes, it was clear that I had made the right choice. Warm, vintage and quiet. Perfect for my needs.

  • from Buffalo, NY January 28, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist, occasional gig, americana music, pedal steel wannabee

    ART tubeMP used with resonator

    Thanks for all of your input into my "electrifying" my resonator. Here is what I did and if you like, pass it along. I installed a Fishman Pro-Res-001 passive pickup ($120) under the cone as instructed, drilling the jack hole in the center of the back below the string attachment endpiece. I used a tapered titanium bit, taping the wood to prevent splintering to drill the hole for the jack. Since I am not a luthier, it was my first time with this type of installation-it worked perfectly. I bought an ART tube preamp ($60) and plugged it into my Fender Acoustisonic amp. Here is where the experimentation came in: I used an unbalanced TS instrument cord from the guitar into the preamp and an XLR cable from the preamp into the mic input on the amp (I could have easily done the same with a PA). With a bit of tweeking for my ears, it worked perfectly and this resonator is now a "hot" instrument. The preamp is the ticket: user friendly, economical, diverse in its use. Your advice was spot on.

  • from June 8, 2012

    ART TubeMP

    Nice product, shipped really quick would love doing business again.

  • from Michigan July 25, 2013Music Background:
    Engineer / Student

    Unbeatable

    I've worked with some of the super pricey preamps before, but I still prefer this thing!

    Once you burn in the tube, it produces a really warm yet transparent sound. It doesn't have a lot of fancy features, but that's one of its strengths.

    I run as much of my mics through this as I can. Some people make fun of me for using a $3000 mic with a $70 preamp, but I don't care!

  • from central oregon February 18, 2017

    I like it

    A lot of people knock art products. But so far it is working great for me. I t gives my vocals that little something, that makes them round out. A little fuller and warmer. I really like it.

  • from Virginia September 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musican for 45 years

    Great Preamp

    This a great preamp, especially for the money. However, the first thing you need to do is replace the stock 12AX7 preamp tube with a quality tube. Such as Tung Sol, JJ, Mullard or Genelex. The unit is very quiet, adds warmth, and body to your recordings. The filter and other features allow you to tighten up your sound nicely.

    A very nice unit for the price. I'm very pleased with my mine. In fact, I'm so pleased with ART products that I plan on buying the ART Voice Channel, which has more controls. ART Preamps rate very high in professional reviews. Such as "Sound on Sound" and "Gear Sluts".

  • from November 9, 2012Music Background:
    learning audio engineer

    pretty good unit

    I mean its good but not great. Bit of noise in the booth but not to bad has some of the lip smacks in the back ground and with a bit of low freq noise. I connected it correctly so no its not me it the cheap Gain the have in the unit whrn yu turn it high jus to be able the use the LED fuction.

  • from Dallas, TX August 4, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist, internal corporate podcaster

    Pretty nice if you replace the stock tube

    I needed more gain for some dynamic mics (the wimpy preamps in my Alesis io14 were clean, but weak) and this one filled the bill. However. The first 30 minutes after powerup it sounded like popcorn. It settled down after that and performed pretty well, with occasional bursts of noise. After being on a few hours, it developed background noise like a jet airplane at takeoff. So I bought some replacement tubes from a tube specialist on eBay (The Tube Store)--some GEs made in the '60's, very low noise, high gain. He diagnosed the stock tube as "gassy", taught me some interesting stuff about tubes. Spent way more time than I expected on this transaction.The replacement tubes make the ART unit sound great--absolutely no tube noise at full gain, and it runs all day without changing. The replacement tube cost about $30, about half the original price of the unit, but worth it.Since I bought two tubes (for $60), I am going to get another ART TubeMP, pop the GE tube in, and get going with my two channel voice work.

  • from Portland, OR January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Local performing musician and sound engineer

    ART Tube MP is decent -good preamp for the money

    These ART tube amps are not too bad. I have two of them which I use for live sound acting as a DI, and also for recording. Most of the gain is clean and undistorted, but near the top end the tube is overdriven slightly (I think this is by design) which is a good place to be if you want to get a little bite on a guitar for example. As a mic pre I can pretty clearly hear the character of the mics come through.

Questions about the ART Tube MP Project Series?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway