0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

ART Tube MP Studio V3 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the ART Tube MP Studio V3?

Questions about the ART Tube MP Studio V3?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Colorado March 8, 2017

    Art Tube MP Studio V3

    Slick little unit. Warmed vocals. and quiet. For me, it's just right.

  • from GOTHAM CITY January 21, 2015Music Background:
    UPCOMING HIP HOP ARTIST, MIXING, MASTERING AND RECORDING ENGINEER

    A GREAT PREAMP FOR COLOR , AND SATURATION OPTIONS

    I HAVE A FOCUSRITE INTERFACE , BUT I USED THIS TO RECORD LIKE 15 HIP HOP TRACKS THE OTHER NIGHT , GOING THROUGH MOGAMI CABLES, AND RECORDING AT 96KHZ SAMPLE RATE. AND I LOVE THE SOUND OF THE VOCALS. THE ROTARY KNOB WITH THE PRESETS IS JUST A FUNCTION OF CHANGING THE TONE , AND THE TUBE SATURATION COMING OUT OF THE MIC PRE. I LIKE THIS BETTER THAN MY PERSONS TUBE PRE V2 . I MIGHT HAVE TO GET THE ART PRO MPA 2 IN A FEW MONTHS. I THINK ALL TUBE PREAMPS SHOULD HAVE ROTARY KNOB TO CHANGE THE TONE AND SATURATION OF THE TUBE, INSTEAD OF BUYING DIFFERENT TUBES. I AM PRETTY CONFIDENT MY MIXTAPES AND ALBUMS WILL COME OUT GREAT , THIS COMBINED WITH PLUGINS LIKE A Waves Scheps 73 AND A CLA76 WILL BE A DREAMY SOUND.

  • from AZ October 7, 2014Music Background:
    Play in a giging rock band.

    I love this thing

    I needed a way to pad down my pedal board signal as it hits my solid state amp. The amp has two channels, clean and "lead". Clean gives me the clarity and tone my pedals require but the lead channel has a harsh fuzz like distortion when engaged. By lowering the output level my signal hits the amp just under it's harsh level and gently feeds my signal to the amp. I do this by setting the output level at 9:00. This smooth's the distortion to an overdrive. Perfect.
    Then, it gets better, by using the "multi" setting and setting the input at 3:00 the tube and compressor warm the tone. This is apparent at any volume or channel.
    It's perfect for warming ss amps, and inexpensive enough to be used by all. Too Cool.

  • from Malibu, Ca August 7, 2014

    Excellent service and product

    I bought this as a quick, inexpensive fix to a larger problem. It worked beautifully .

    The real praise belongs to Stewart Hisey ,my Sweetwater rep. He answered every question in a kindly, professional manner . Stewart gave me number of possibilities in all price ranges . Even though he knew it was a small purchase, I was treated as if I were spending thousands.

    I am very grateful to Stewart Hisey and Sweetwater.

  • from VA, USA December 5, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer, Producer, Hobbyist

    Amazing

    I got way more out of this thing than I thought I would. I got it to warm up vocals that were going through a cold condenser mic. I now run everything through this and get a great tube sound for all my tracks. It's a nice analog sound in a digital age.

  • from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA January 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Hobby Recorder

    Loving it!

    Started recording with this last week and I love it. Really warm vocal sound and even sounded awesome when I plugged in my bass. Sweetwater were fantastic. Shipped it quick and in perfect condition.

  • from Brooklyn, NY March 9, 2012

    Awesome preamp

    This device made my acoustic sound huge and turned a thin, weak sounding headset mic sound like a very expensive vocal mic. I have not used it for recording yet but it definitely makes a big difference in a live setting. For the price it can't be beat.

  • from Virginia September 22, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Fantastic

    Extremely clean sounding preamp. Perect for my project studio. I have reccorded plenty of songs with it and it has yet to let me down.

  • from Milwaukee Wisconsin April 29, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, singer, producer and sound man

    Art Tube MP Studio V3

    The first one I received had a noisy tube and was replaced almost immediately by your crack service team. The new unit functions well and gives a diverse selection of EQ's and punch for a variety of voices and instruments. It is warm, full sounding and clean. For the price I don't think that there is anything around that can touch it.

  • from February 14, 2016

    ART Tube MP

    This is a comfortably priced (Tube) Mic PreAmp. It's easy to use (Out of the box)! The unit has a nice sound, especially for the price! You can't go wrong with this!

  • from Elizabethtown Il. USA December 17, 2012Music Background:
    Owner /Operator of Recording Studio

    ART Tube MP Studio V 3

    I found the ART Tube MP Studio V3 to be a sweet-sounding little mic pre/DI box. While it might not be up there with some of the of some of the models that use high-voltage tube circuitry. I thought the tone was great for the price. The per sets make setting up quick and easy for a starting point to get you up and running.

    Most of all thanks to the Sweetwater staff. I always use Sweetwater. When I need something it is shipped usually that day and I can be working with it in no time.

    Thanks Sweetwater

  • from Toms River, nJ October 24, 2012Music Background:
    Physicist, singer, audio engineer.

    More than I need

    The preamp gives me more than enough gain, the only worry I have is that I won't be able to use the full dynamic range of my system. But so far the recordings have been full and take advantage of all the stages. Like a few features such as the voicing controls to round out the signal. I use it mostly for vocals, so it's neat to experiment with them. Only weak point is the OutPut Level Meter which doesn't register until you're cranking pretty high. Overall, I'm more than satisfied, and the support from Sweatwater is outstanding.

  • from Garner NC October 13, 2013Music Background:
    semi-pro musician

    Good as a instrument preamp

    I play keys and bass in a band, using my left hand on second keyboard for bass. Getting a keyboard voice patch that sounds like a bass (regardless of the bass rig used), especially for reggae and rockabillty is a challenge. I have tried using pedals/preamps from all the major makers, but to date nothing is delivering the added depth and warmth that the V3 does. Using the OPL bass setting is all it took. I did find, however, that changing the tube over from a 12ax7 to a 12au7 made a world of positive difference.

  • from Wisconsin September 24, 2008Music Background:
    One man band/studio

    Does the Job

    First thing first - wattage-starved tube gear is inferior to gear with optimally utilized tubes. This unit consists of what is a 100% solid-state path, with the additional ability to mix in a desired degree of starved-tube distortion. Really, starved tube distortion is about as unsubtle as solid-state distortion, so since owning this device I've considered the tube essentially a sales gimmick. Now forget about the tube - as an affordable solid-state preamp, it's pretty good. It won't add a bunch of noise and the sound is pretty clear, just don't expect it to sound like an Avalon or something. The "voicing" really works as a number of different EQ curves which can be quite useful for adding/removing high end from sources. Features wise it has the basics - phantom power, polarity reverse, input and output gain. The limiter is pretty useless, it just sounds distracting.

    In summary, it's a decent solid-state preamp/DI that can add different EQ curves to the signal if desired, with the added ability of mixing in mediocre tube drive.

  • from Petal, MS March 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist,

    Disappointed

    I've been using this in my set up for about 5 months now to run my vocals through. The first day I used it I noticed the XLR out cable felt a little flimsy when inserted. About 30 min into using it started getting a bad noise coming through the pa which ended up being that same XLR out causing the problem. Tried several different cables with all the same result. Now I have to use the line out to the mixer for my vocals. Works but would be nice if they'd just fix the problem with the XLR out. I have the other ART Tube as well that I run my guitar through which I've had about 6yrs and love but it has the same problem with the XLR output as well. The overall sound coming from the ART is good (nice warmth) but I can't honestly say I can tell much by adjusting the knob to the different settings. All in all it's good for now but I'm planning to remove it all together so I can make longer (less interference) runs with the XLR cable.

Questions about the ART Tube MP Studio V3?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway