rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Spectrasonics Trilian Reviews

4.5 stars based on 39 customer reviews
Questions about the Spectrasonics Trilian?

Questions about the Spectrasonics Trilian?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Aaron Smith

    If low end is what you're after, Spectrasonics Trilian is the answer. This is THE library for acoustic, electric and synth bass. I have used this in literally every single session since I added it to my studio. Do yourself a favor and add it to your virtual instrument arsenal. When your next studio session comes around, you'll be giving your bassist the day off.

  • from March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Arranger/ Producer

    Covered for bass

    Nice to know i can't do better for bass sounds and don't need to audition any other sounds from various modules. I'm covered with Trilian.

  • from Louisiana May 21, 2016

    Best of the best!

    I'm using the Fishman TriplePlay to trigger the sounds and I've gotta say, this is the most convincing set of bass sounds I've ever heard. Out of the box I can trigger slide ups on the acoustic bass just by picking the string a little harder. I played back a track I recorded acoustic bass on for my bass player and then told him I used the Fishman TriplePlay and Trilian to create the bass part. He was blown away. You can hear the wood - string slapping against the fingerboard, etc. Just incredible.

  • from Salem, MA January 15, 2016Music Background:
    Former recording artist with CBR Records. Owner of Cool Crow Music and lead songwriter.

    Trilian Total Bass Mudule

    I downloaded Trilian Bass from cds. It took a really long time 4 or 5 hours? But the sound I'm getting with my MIDI is unbelievable! I started with the acoustic bass. I had to apologize to my bass musician friend because I won't be using his talents as much in the coming year now that I have Trilian even though my friend is an outstanding bass player and instructor at Berklee College of music in Boston. But Trilian is so good, it's as though I'm recording a live acoustic bass in my studio when I play the MIDI keyboard. The Fender Electric samples are scary too and incredible. I'm sure the Synth bass sounds are superior as well but I have not gotten to them as yet. I'm still hung up with the acoustic and electric. Go onto Spectronics' website and watch how they recorded every string noise and finger pluck and be amazed. As a songwriter, this software is a godsend to my writing and recording. Cool Crow

  • from Hastings, MI December 1, 2015

    Best Bass Ever

    To the point, this is the best sounding bass I have ever heard. Electric, acoustic, synth. Best.

    There are four basic components to music: Bass, drums, chords, melody. It's usually a puzzle and a matter of taste what is best to satisfy each category. Not here. You get Trilian, you got the best.

    Easy to use, highly tweakable if you like, superb samples. It just works. It just sounds great. Get this and consider the bottom end covered.

  • from Santa Maria, CA September 3, 2015

    Love It

    Spectrasonics puts out amazing product, and the instrument is a must-have.

  • from Golden, Colorado August 8, 2015Music Background:
    Performer, Composer, Engineer

    Spectrasonics' Trilian

    I remember the times, circa the 1980's, when I waited desperately for a piano sound which actually sounded like, uh, oh, right, a piano.

    Now arriving in the year 2015, I have searched desperately for a bass package which could actually emulate a real bass; I'm a complete stickler for realism and have baby-like tantrums when I don't get them.

    I will keep this review short, but in a few words, I can very much say that if you need a realistic bass guitar sound, and you do no own Trilian, you are making a very big mistake.

    Perhaps the only downside I can present with regards to this product is that, while many rave over the ease of use and UI simplicity, I find it to be rather complicated. That, however, is not to be unexpected with something so wonderfully designed on the audio side which is, of course, the most important.

    This is the bass package I've waited to own my whole recording life. You simply have to hear it to believe. Round Robin keystrokes, velocity changes in articulation, key switches, multiple classic and fine sounding instruments; this thing is unbelievably fantastic.

    Just be prepared to spend some time learning your way to making the sounds come alive the way they can; nothing which sounds this good comes without a learning curve!

  • from Laconia, IN July 22, 2015

    Spectrasonics does it again!

    High quality instruments come with ease of use, and the ability to change them to your heart's content. VERY powerful tool!

  • from Santa Barbara, CA April 3, 2015Music Background:
    Composer, Performer, Engineer and Producer

    Just scratched the surface, and it's BRIGHT and SHINY!

    I'm very impressed so far with the plug-in. Glad I bought it!! No dongles to screw with either. Excellent bang per buck and seems like it will probably be a good "go to" bass unit. Lots of bass sounds as well, all types, includes cool things like slides, etc.

  • from United States November 7, 2014Music Background:
    Producer

    Very Impressive Sofware

    Pretty much any bass guitar you could think of is included in Trilian, with a huge amont of articulations and editing tools for each guitar. Also included are a ton of electronic basses as well. This software is truly amazing and mind blowing with how much comes packed in it, and what it is capable of!

  • from El Segundo, CA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Band-leader, songwriter, engineer

    Incredible Bass Software

    This sounds like a real bass... which ever one you choose. Incredible. Thanks Tony Dayton Sweetwater.

  • from irvine July 18, 2014Music Background:
    music producer & engineer

    best bass collection i've heard

    any kind of bass you can imagine is here in this plugin. i'm extremely happy with it and finally found that phat sub synth i was looking for. great product!

  • from Kona, HI June 4, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist/Composer/Engineer

    Beyond Awesome

    It is ridiculous how good this thing sounds. Some of the patches actually give me chills when I start playing with them. Massive sound library. Super versatile. Cake to use. Doubles as a soft synth in a pinch. If your computer can't handle it, get a new one. Spectrasonics if the real deal. I'm wishing I had just bought all their goodies right off the bat and saved myself some cash on competitors products which I will now hardly ever use. Just buy this, watch the tutorials, and be happy.

  • from Charlotte, NC March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Student & Semi-Pro Musician

    Awesomeness

    I already had Omnisphere so I kind of expected typical Spectrasonics quality, but when I installed it and heard the Chapman Stick I was seriously blown away. I've already used it on several tracks. Makes me want Stylus now so I can complete my Spectrasonics set.

  • from Charlotte, NC April 19, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Home Studio

    No Brainer On This One!

    I have several VI's that have GREAT basses. Also have Kurzweil and Yamaha boards that have GOOD basses but neither can touch Trilian. If you are looking for real life sounding basses then your journey is over my friend!

  • from Boiling Springs, SC USA March 8, 2013Music Background:
    Studio owner, Engineer, Musician,

    Just Scratching The Surface

    Just getting into this bad boy, but Wow, it's powerful !!! Bottom line....If you need real bass guitar sound, and don't play bass, or have a session player, this is absolutely top notch !!! The way it sounds like a real player when using a midi keyboard is just surreal !! It sounds different every time you touch the notes, it is just so Real !! I Love it, it's a game changer !!

  • from Hampton, VA USA February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Project Studio owner, recording engineer, Guitarist

    Trilian is Awesome

    Love it! Love it!
    If you Omnisphere, Trilian is the logical next step for you. Resistance is futile. It is easy to use, sounds great, and works just like Omnisphere.

    If you don't have both of these soft synths you need to get them. You don't have to be a great synth player to get great results.

  • from Jackson, MI December 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Makes a drummer a great bass player!!

    I'm not a bass player but I needed some great bass sounds for my recordings - I could not find anything that didn't sound like a fake bass until I got my hands on this! I can easily record with a controller or through Melodyne, turn an old bass recording into midi and instantly improve the sound with minor tweeking.

  • from Birmingham, AL USA December 12, 2012Music Background:
    Music Producer, Guitarist, Recording Musician

    Spectrosonics Trilian

    I am using Trilian on a mac-mini with Logic Pro. From day one Trilian became my go to instrument for bass sounds. I found it to be easy to use and the realistic sound was just mind-blowing. I really like the layering feature that allows you to be really creative in making sounds as full and responsive as you want. For sure I have a total bass solution.

  • from Dallas, Tx November 30, 2012Music Background:
    Artist & small studio owner

    Trillion infuses new ideas and simply sounds amazing!

    Put this purchase off for over a year and wish I would have bought it sooner! This one is a no brainer, buy it!

  • from Kapolei, HI November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Military Bassist, Touring, Teacher, Freelance Producer

    Part 2 of Arsenal

    I have Omnisphere and i got this part of the puzzle about 2 wks ago. I would be lying if I did not say that these are the MOST PERFECT SOUNDING SAMPLES OF EVERY TYPE OF BASS INSTRUMENTALIA ( remember that , Mark?) I HAVE EVER HEARD!!!! theres just no going back to my other libraries. STYLUS RMX,NEXT STOP!

  • from Kapolei, HI November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Military Bassist, Touring, Teacher, Freelance Producer

    Part 2 of Arsenal

    I have Omnisphere and i got this part of the puzzle about 2 wks ago. I would be lying if I did not say that these are the MOST PERFECT SOUNDING SAMPLES OF EVERY TYPE OF BASS INSTRUMENTALIA ( remember that , Mark?) I HAVE EVER HEARD!!!! theres just no going back to my other libraries. STYLUS RMX,NEXT STOP!

  • from Oregon, USA October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Song Writer, General Musical Goof Off

    Trilian Bass

    I've heard about Trilian Bass for quite a while, but was somewhat put off by the price. I was given the chance to submit a project for broadcast, so I broke down and bought the package. As the old adage goes, you get what you pay for. The basses are flat unbelievable! The acoustic bass is fat, warm and detailed, with enough variation in the various notes to make it extremely true to life. It pops right out of the mix (in a very good way). The electrics are equally phenomenal. Attention to detail is evident in every note, whether plucked, snapped or glissed. I haven't scratched the surface of the synth basses yet so I'm unable to comment on them, but just the acoustic and electric bass portions of the package are in my opinion worth the price of admission. I will say that you'll need a lot of ram to run this beast and and not drive your cpu crazy, but if you've got the ram I suspect you'll love Trilian.

  • from Omaha, NE May 28, 2012Music Background:
    Lifelong musician, always learning and improvising

    Spectrasonics Trilian

    Great product. It took a little to figure out the power, but the options and ability to shape the sound to exactly what you need is nothing short of phenomenal. Documentation was a little lacking, and "free training videos" were disappointing. So you have to do some looking and experimenting on your own. All that said, the bass sounds are amazing, and exactly what I was looking for. The Chapman stick is a wonderful addition. And I have actually ended up using it the most. The multiple synth bases included were a surprise. I was neither looking for them, or thought that I needed them. I was wrong. Already implemented into several songs. I highly recommend the product, and looking to the Omnisphere product as a potential next step. (Even though I have been a hardware synth guy ... for ... literally decades!

  • from United States April 24, 2012Music Background:
    musical production, live and studio

    great sounding

    I don't know why I took so long to buy Ttilian, it's the greatest bass mod on the planet.

  • from San Francisco, ca August 8, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer/composer

    Awesome!

    Thus thing just kicks butt.... From mind blowing bass synth
    Sounds to natural acoustic and upright basses,
    It goes way above any conventional VSTi softsynths
    Or sampler it sets an entirely new standard.
    I usedbto think VST's couldn't touch hardware until
    Using Trillian. It's a game changer to be sure.
    If you can't find a way to use this Swiss army knife
    In your tracks, you are doing something wrong.

  • from Tennessee June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Recording/Live Sound Engineer/Musician

    Buy This!

    I can't say enough about Spectrasonic's stuff. They'll take your music to another level. It's the real deal. I own all their products and they are just amazing.

  • from Morton, IL April 2, 2011Music Background:
    Indie Studio Owner, Producer, Electronic Musician

    5 more stars!

    I simply cannot say enough about this product!
    I bought this to go with Omnisphere, and I couldn't be happier! Terrific sounds, perfect integration with Omnisphere (even gives you the "VIP" library), and I get to know that I'm helping support the Spectrasonics guys and the amazing work they're doing with these products.
    If you're even thinking about this one, just do it. You won't regret it!

  • from March 15, 2010

    One word: Amazing

    Yet another astonishing release from Persing and Co. When you couple this with Omnisphere, holy $H!T!

  • from December 30, 2015Music Background:
    Composer/Producer

    Very pleased

    I would have bought this for the Jaco samples alone.

    Easy to build whole multi-layered & stacked basses, good round robin. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 was the weak Chapman Stick.

    To those interested... totally worth it.

  • from December 30, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician (Composer/Perform/Produce)

    Excellent Bass Module (see notes)

    #1 This is a really good module for the money. Lots of basses, great sound, slides, plucks, you name it.
    And some sweet synth basses. Pretty much a go to module.

    #2 Disk base install, no problems, just a swap-a-thon

    #3 If you run multiple instances of this, you may need to freeze your tracks when in Sonar when you try to bring in audio live or you'll get latency. Once frozen, no problem. Apparently a single instance doesn't have this issue.

  • from November 8, 2012

    Trilian

    Trilian offers me just about any bass sound I could ever need. It offers me so many options that choosing the right one is almost daunting.

  • from Westville NJ USA September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    A super plug-in recommended by the Murph...

    My long time sales rep suggested this plug-in and was spot on... features abound... sounds thrill and creative juices flow... no, I will not return Trilian under any circumstances.

  • from Chicagoland, IL October 19, 2014Music Background:
    Musician/Composer

    I'm a mean Bassist!

    I'm a keyboardist/composer who used to play bass at age 13, but switched to keys. Composing in my project studio by myself, I could never get my bass lines to sound like a real bassist was playing them. No slides ,etc, but now I can say "That's me on Bas" even though I'm playing keys LOL Thanks Spectrasonics.

  • from southern california March 6, 2012Music Background:
    pro muso

    Best bass VI

    Trilian is the successor to Trilogy and delivers.

    My only complaint is the sheer size of the library and individual patches. It's nice to have a gazillion articulations for every possible instrument in every possible scenario, but for my purposes the majority of it is bloat.

    Trilogy was MUCH smaller but does not sound inferior at all.

    Nonetheless, Trillian is the gold standard for bass VI's.

  • from January 21, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    One of a kind

    This bass module has everything u will want and so much more. When I bought it I thought it was jus acoustic & electric but it has great sounding synth bass. It has helped me so much in my production. Other modules just can't keep up. Unlimited possibilities.....if your computer can handle it

  • from MA, USA April 21, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Product

    I'm a keyboard player and I need to get a good bass sound on my tracks without bringing in a bass player for every session. THe samples are great - the ability to color them with gliss and other effects is amazing - in fact, it's so complex you can get lost in it. I highly recommend the MacProVideo Trillian video tutorial - just buy it, you'll need it - but that said, there's no better bass product. A memory hog for sure - you need a lot - but there are tweaks that enable you to use it without taking the system down - so load up on memory and get crazy.

  • from Laurel, MD May 14, 2010Music Background:
    Producer, Keyboardist

    Absolutely essential for music production

    i upgraded to this from Trilogy about a month ago. I still use the same basic sounds i used before, but now those same sounds are MUCH bigger, and fill out my tracks much better. Since i don't often use live bass on my tracks, Trilogy(Trilian) is CRUCIAL to what i do. I highly recommend it.

  • from May 31, 2016

    Compromised but redeemable for non-bassists

    Trilian has close to 30 sampled basses. There is only one good one, which at 110MB is inexplicably one of the least belabored instruments here. The TR-Modern 4-string (Yamaha BB3000 with active pickups) is the reason I bought this. After rolling off the low end, the DI pickup sits perfectly in my indie mixes. I don't even need to reamp, but look forward to the opportunity to do so. It's a generic sound, but for a company that created something as outlandish as Omnisphere, it's nice to hear a very basic pure sound.

    The biggest problem with Trilian isn't its lack of good content but, as a VST, it forces you to compromise your playing. You're not gonna realistically pull off 16th notes or even quick 8th notes. We're just not at that point in music computer technology. You have to play in a more conservative way and maybe change your bass parts to accommodate the soundsource samples. But Modern 4-string - wow! It sounds even better than the Fender basses.

    As an owner of Omnisphere, I can say without trying the samples that there's gonna be A LOT OF TIME-WASTING GARBAGE. I guarantee that 95% of the soundsources in the Trilian library (including the electric and acoustic basses) are gonna be virtually useless for your music. But there's gonna be cool stuff in there, too. I gave the Omnisphere upgrade an unfair 1.5 rating - I would now give it the same rating as Trilian for the same reason: you have to swim backwards through crap to reach the shore. But don't buy it on a whim - find a way to demo Spectrasonics before buying.

  • from Bowie, MD March 28, 2012Music Background:
    Professional composer

    Very disorganized

    The sounds are ok. Disappointed cos there is is no hammer-on articulation. The slides are not customisable so if you are lucky, they would work with the tempo of your project. Worst of all it takes forever to find stuff. I hate the way it is organized. I wish I had bought steven slates bass instead

Questions about the Spectrasonics Trilian?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway