0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Native Instruments Traktor Kontrol S4 Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • from Coatesville, Pa September 8, 2012Music Background:
    beginner

    awsome

    surprisingly incredible, a bit intimidating at first due to so much to learn as a new dj. I learn something new every day, It does so much.

  • from United States September 4, 2012Music Background:
    Professional amateur

    So far, so great!

    I was a DJ for years in Boston using MIDI controllers and Ableton Live. The S4 has been a revelation. Even though I prefer more aggressive styles of DJaying, it's amazing to be able to just turn on the laptop, the s4, and get into the mix.

  • from NJ July 10, 2012Music Background:
    DJ, Student

    Great mixer, great service!

    This is just a hands down awesome device. There is just so much control at your fingertips and what I like the best is that I never have to touch my laptop, everything you need is right there on the mixer. Thank you to the sweetwater staff, my sales engineer Karl really helped me through the process! Thanks

  • from Woodbridge, VA August 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent Device

    I purchased this device from Sweetwater. The device came in brand-new perfect, well packaged condition. Cheers to my Sweetwater engineer Chris Lewis. I have an old Numark Mixtrack unit that I've used on very simple gigs. I'm not a super DJ. I'm just your average music provider called to the scene when there are 80s parties going on and they need simple continuous mixing of music free of charge (as long as they feed me). No fancy quick hands or scratching here. The Traktor Kontrol S4 is a major step up to what I currently have. The S4 is VERY user-friendly. Everything is laid out in a very easy to understand, flowing work process. Installation was easy. Make sure you have an RCA cable to connect your S4 to a pair of powered speakers so you can easily hear what's ON AIR ,while listening to your CUEING with your headphones. Overall, this is a great investment. Not bad for the price. Buy it from Sweetwater.

  • from Santa Fe, New Mexico July 11, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, DJ

    Traktor S4 and Cutomer Service!

    Expceptional Top Notch Customer Service! Great Product in the Traktor S4 DJ Control. Love this Piece of equipment but also love the payment plans SweetWater offers along with their automatic 2 year Waranty and Free Shipping and Handling! What a Sweet Deal, watch out Guitar Center and Grandmas Music!

  • from Vashon, WA June 3, 2011Music Background:
    DJ

    All I ever wanted in a control surface for Traktor

    This does it all. Great quality knobs and faders. Seamless interface. Excellent!!!

  • from South Korea May 3, 2011Music Background:
    DJ

    Kontrol Your Life!

    First off let me thank Sweetwater. I placed my order from South Korea and received this amazing piece of equipment in 5 days! Wow! From the second I placed my order, to the time I opened the box, I knew there was a level of care and customer service next to none.

    As for the S4... I've had about a week to test every aspect of its capabilities and I have to say I'm blown away. I'm new to Traktor as I was previously an SSL user. The interface is simple and spot on. There were no calibrations needed for the jog wheels or fine tuning what so ever. Every knob, paddle and button is sturdy and feel like they could take a beating. If I could change anything, I would make the jog wheels a bit bigger so they would feel a bit more "adult sized" but that's just my opinion. The "sync" feature is amazing. I almost feel like I'm cheating just by using it. Using the "sync" feature virtually makes every thing you do, seamless. No more stopping a track to find the perfect place to land a loop or cue... this features lays down the beginning of your cue right on the down beat. How easy is that?!

    The possibilities are endless with this thing! I wanted to take the time to write a review to help encourage any of you "on the fence" trying to decide which of these to purchase. I know I read review after review, comparing multiple brands and finally made the choice. Man... I just can't say how happy I am with my purchase. Best bang for your buck!

  • from Ohio, USA April 22, 2011Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician, DJ

    First DJ Interface

    This product is absolutely phenomenal - and this the first time I've taken the chance to review anything. It helped me get into digital DJ'ing and is a wonderful learning and performing tool. Professionally built and seamless integration with the software, I've had no problems what so ever. Plus, it looks brilliant.

  • from queens, nyc April 8, 2011Music Background:
    dj / home studio /still learning

    traktor s4

    I just ordered the s4 kontrol 2 days ago an got it already. the more i mess with it the more i love the thing i mean you can get really creative with all the effects and everything. i jus got an email 2 hours ago at 2: am from native instruments about the free traktor pro 2 software and quickly downloaded it the new software is frickin awesome. the have some new effects and bout 4 color waveforms and the setup wizard is fantastic. also you have the option to use cdj's or turntable with the new software as timecoded. i just love this thing

  • from Australia November 27, 2010Music Background:
    Musician

    Lost all Kontrol

    I guess the reason there have been no reviews so far is because everyone that has purchase is just having too much fun.
    Slick ergonomics and very functional even for a non DJ like me.
    Sound card is a 4.5. Loading times for tracks and samples fast.
    I knew this was going to be a hot item and I got in on the act as soon as I heard about the release date. My sales engineer Dennis Konicki got me one of the first shipment and had it in 3 days international. Others in my country are still waiting. This is why it's important to develop a good relationship with your salesman as he is like your second brain. Thousands of miles away but a relationship built on trust. I cannot speak highly enough of my dealings with Sweetwater and that's why I keep coming back for more product.

    Oh just ordered the case and payed as well.... get them while there hot !!!

    Cheers

  • from Charlotte, NC June 15, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Amazing

    I absolutely LOVE this thing! I could go on for hours about how this thing really should be priced higher due to it's capabilities and ease of use. The only thing I didn't like about it was the fader between the two jogwheels, it's almost too tight. If you're looking to do crabs I suggest replacing the fader. 8 hot ques are very helpful for getting sampling in too! essentially all the buttons you see on this thing? Imagine there being two of them, this thing is loaded with features. My favorite part about the S4 has to be the filter section. It's SO responsive. Also, you don't have to be running pre-recorded audio to get the filter section to work! I can run ANY of my audio signals (synths, vsts, guitars, anything) into my mixer, out with RCA, into the analog input, and use the filter while sequencing or looping an instrument and wow! The filters are very responsive and have a wide range. One neat trick if you're into EDM is to turn the sample speed all the way to 32, not .32 or 32., then loop on turntable in for about a second, and the other song in for about half a second. then twist each of the loop speed knobs back to .32 or 32., and either use and lfo or the faders to made a wobble bass. You can use the tempo bar or the jogwheels then to adjust the pitch, and even have more fun by alternating using the faders and filters to cut the sound in and out manually. I've had this thing for less than a month and have already figured out alot about it! It's a great tool for any dj or producer who is ready to give up using actual turntables to get a MUCH more hands on experience with your DJ-ing. I mainly use my S4 for production, but this thing is powerful. If you're considering buying it, buy it. I never owned a turntable before this one of any sort, but a lot of my friends have had them. I've messed around with numark turntables, my dad's actual turntable mixer, and even got to test out a pioneer turntable system, and if you're looking for something that will give you more than what you pay for, get it.

  • from Seattle, WA October 28, 2011Music Background:
    Drummer, DJ, Recording Engineer

    Traktor S4

    Overall this controller is HOT! I sold my Traktor Scratch Dua and Audio 4DJ to upgrade to the S4. I kept my 1200's and now I have a four deck digital rig that I can combine digitial and vinyl and use my 1200's as controllers or straight analong decks. It's a great rig and if I want to go portable I can just bring out the S4 and leave the 1200s behind. My only complaint is the headphone output. It's not very powerful (volumen wise) compared to my old mixer. It does have a cue mix, which I like but the lack of split cue is something I miss from my old mixer.

    I did have a problem with my first unit. One of the jog wheels was intermittent but the great folks at Sweetwater took care of it right away and swapped it out for a new one that has worked flawlessly.

    I must say if I could rate Sweetwater on this I would give them 10 STARS!! If you're going to buy this or anything else, buy it from Sweetwater. They have the best customer service of any retailer I have ever dealt with. These guys wrote the book!

  • from Rexburg, ID USA March 13, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Student, DJ

    S4 Is Super Nice and Easy to get started!

    Straight out of the box plugged it in and away it went. Seamlessly mixing tracks together. There is a lot to this and i learn a little more each time i use it. I've had it for a little over a month and am DJ'ing parties and countless people admire the equipment. You cant go wrong with Native Instruments S4!!

  • from New bedfor, MA USA February 20, 2011Music Background:
    Hip Hop DJ, Producer, Artist

    Perfect Traktor Companion!

    I had the S4 for a little over a week so far and I must say I am verty satisified. I rather use turntables anyday over a midi controller but the S4 actually impressed me. The software that is shipped with the S4 is a newer version of Traktor, pretty much a sneak preview of Traktor 2. The set up isn't cluttered its easy to get around. The 4 deck control is a breeze with assignable decks and fader preference. I wish NI made a fader control knob in the front of the S4 but it can be controled within the software. The software has the new Loop Recorder which comes in handy as well as the sample decks for live performaces. The jogwheels are on point I could get some pretty good scratches out of it. It would of been thoughtful for NI to have some type of marker on or around the jogwheel for DJs that like to look at their hands instead of the monitor. Hands down seems like the best control for Traktor & the best for the price.

  • from Auburn, Ga February 19, 2013Music Background:
    Recording producer / Musican

    Has it's strong points as well as weaknesses

    I obviously like this controller. I read as much information as I thought possible prior to buy it. I wanted it to work with my machine and the Komplete 8 ultimate applications. The tutorials avillable on you tube and Native Instruments are not as helpful neither are the many different NI user manuals especially the difference of controllers and how they specifically inter react with each other. The Controller Editor is close to rocket science. My preferences with both Machine / Traktor S4 is to use it most effectively with my RME UFX Fireface Audio Interface an excellent in just about way including ease of set up and simple easily understood user manuals. It seems that the set up and the Traktor's audio interface is not the best fit to integrate most effectively with my RME set up to really operate excellent in every way I can imagine example I run three 500 watt Powered PA Monitors and a 1800 Mackie sub awesome.

    My rub is it is almost impossible to locate the information on what the logical set up to use Machine / Traktor S4 with again a superior audio interface ?

    The Software searches your computer and imports music files into its browser and duplicates it wasting resources and does not tell or address how to remove duplicate music files.

    Once I can figure out how to effectively how to actually use the two together for a live performance /. And also a studio production I believe it can or will be a good match for me

    It seems when I change settings in the S4 with machine it draws gain power from my RME interface Total Mix Digital Interface so I am still working on a solution on that and hoping to correct that .

    Otherwise it is a pretty good system to use as a DJ operation as it suggests in Machine and Complete 8 ultimate documentation

Questions about the Native Instruments Traktor Kontrol S4?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway