0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B. Speaker Simulator Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B. Speaker Simulator Pedal?

Questions about the Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B. Speaker Simulator Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Robert Williams

    I play bass in a variety of environments and need a compact, versatile rig with quality tone. The Torpedo CAB is essential to my signal chain since I primarily go direct. I recently upgraded the firmware and in addition to new cabs from Two Notes, easily uploaded cabs from RedWirez and Ownhammer. The addition of ambience per preset eliminated the need for an external processor. And with the resolution of the impulse responses, I don't need as sophisticated a preamp (now using the Bogner Harlow). The sound of my instrument comes through loud and clear. My pedalboard setup is as simple as plugging in power, instrument and signal to the house.

  • from Arlington, TX January 25, 2017

    Great piece of kit!

    I watched several review videos of the Torpedo CAB before purchasing and knew it was a good piece of gear. I wasn't prepared for how much it increased the quality of my bass in my in-ears. Now I can get back some of the beefiness you lose by using in-ears. The DI signal I'm sending to the front of house is also much closer to the sound of a great amp mic'd up.

  • from December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Ex-Studio Engineer, Old Grumpy Bar Fly

    A Real Solution

    This is one well thought-out piece of gear. After a 10 hour learning/play-through session, I was impressed by the straight forward design. Nothing stumped me. Everything made sense. Editing, after one gets acquainted with the layout, could not be simpler ... even without the computer interface. Of course, what really fried my noodle for those 10 hours was the variety, quality and depth of the IR's. There is plenty right out of the box to wet the appetite, but a quick cruise through their online store ... and 6 more cabinets downloaded really made for a fun afternoon. By now, most of us have had experience with good amp modelers. The Torpedo C.A.B. offers a way into that high-level IR world without savaging the bank account.

  • from Tampa April 20, 2016

    Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B.

    The Torpedo C.A.B. Is absolutely amazing, authentic cabinet IRs, with tons of options, cabs, mics, etc........

  • from Muncie, IN April 16, 2016

    Pairs nicely with Eleven Rack

    I have an Eleven Rack for all the same reasons anyone wants to use modeling and playing direct without a live cabinet. I love it, but the ER cabs just aren't realistic enough. I put the Torpedo CAB in my effects loop and bypass the ER cabs. It makes a huge difference particularly when playing with headphones. I even throw a splash of power amp simulation from the CAB (even though the ER does that) and it gives my rig a robust, powerful sound.
    I don't see a lot of discussion about the La Boutique feature and the Two Notes store. The CAB has great cab sims built in, but the La Boutique feature lets you go online and test out all of the great IR's in the Two Notes store. I was immediately drawn to the Fried30 cab, and I purchased it within a few days of receiving my CAB.
    The La Boutique feature is so much fun, and very easy to use. I have spent some long nights hearing all of the wonderful tones I can get out of the CAB. I have literally lost a lot of sleep over this thing...in a good way.

  • from FL January 2, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Hobbyist

    Two Notes Torpedo CAB is awesome!

    This has been something I have wanted to try for a while. I just finally did it and I don't regret it. The CAB is compact and easy to hook up. There are many presets in the unit and there are also many open spaces for you to create your own.
    If you are looking for a solution to carrying a traditional cab to gigs or simply looking for a quiet way to play, this is a particularly effective unit.
    It's not a load box, like the Torpedo Live, yet offers you the silent option and the direct to FOH option that is super convenient.

  • from November 10, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarrist, recording, mixing, mastering.

    A must have pedal

    I am a person who is used to play with analog pedals and amps, so playing with digital interfaces or using emulators is not my first option, because it is imposible for me to get the tone that i am expecting to. When i wanted to record my equipment, i had to take my mic, amp and stompboxes and take my signal into my inteface. But now, i can do something easier and better, i can use my torpedo cab with all my pedals and get an awesome sound, with full flexibility ...... Besides, i have a few preamps stompboxes, so i have all the sounds i want for recording and .... Yes!, when i want to play live too! I used about a week ago and it was great!, full control, full tone, outstanding! The main reason why i did not get the bigger versions with the loads, was that i only have one head amplifier and i do not want to buy more, so for me this is the best version. well, this pedal opened me a new world of possibilities, which i am still learning from.

  • from Lake Havasu city January 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbist musician

    Recording studio in a box...

    Wow! is right, this little box is a "Recording studio in a box" You don't need to drag out your amps & cabinets or mess with mics, just plug in your guitar/bass and effects, click on the Torpedo remote and your set, great D.I into the house mixer for live gigs, live & studio recording or practicing with head phones, It's a "Must Have" to add to your rig or studio...

    "Two thumbs up" to the Two notes Engineering staff...

    Thanks...

  • from Johnson, VT September 9, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazingly realistic and very easy to use!

    I got this to use with my Mesa Boogie Triaxis / Stereo 2:Ninety rig when playing at night without disturbing the wife, but it is also aces for multitracking into my DAW. I even use the amp that's built into it with my acoustic-electric guitar for a little boost. I had a complete set of REDWIREZ 24 bit 96K IRs and it was super easy to upload them with the Two Notes REMOTE software over USB and create my own presets. This pedal may seem expensive, but the quality and ease of use make it well worth the money! I have also ordered a load box (Jettenuator) so I'll be able to use it with my own amp, which should be a real treat for me!

  • from South Texas November 8, 2016

    Gig without an amp or cab!

    Awesome pedal, adds a power amp and miked cab to your pedal board!! Tons of cab IR's for guitar and bass, although there really should be more options for bass. Takes some time to tweak but when you create and save a tone you like, you can get it everywhere you play, directly through the PA and without an amp. A tremendous leap forward in accurate tone when compared to other modeling gear.

  • from November 1, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Great pedalboard IR host

    This is a great IR host for pedalboard formats. Reducing by 1 star because I feel the A/D and D/A conversion could be a little better. Comparing identical settings to the Two Notes Wall of Sound III plugin in Pro Tools was like taking a blanket off the speaker in terms of revealing details. In fairness, the studio I work at does run a high end interface with class leading converters.

  • from February 16, 2017Music Background:
    Hobby player

    Could have been better

    I'll start with the good: 1) The Torpedo C.A.B. can definitely sound really good. 2) The amp power section has a huge impact on the sound and it feels dynamic 3) The EQ is powerful. 4) There are a lot of cab emulations. 5) Works equally well on bass.

    And now the bad: 1) Why couldn't they make this a USB audio interface as well? It's really a wasted opportunity for Two Notes. Streaming audio from this directly into a computer would have made everyone's life a lot easier. 2) It's too tweaky. Yes, it can sound good, but in my case it takes a lot of fiddling to get there. It's easier to make it sound bad, in my opinion 3) I wish the EQ had presets. It would be time-saving to have a pull-down menu of presets to at least get you started. 4) The input is a bit funky. This is supposedly designed to take pedals, but most of mine don't really load the input well. Clean boosts sound good, but distortion pedals just sound thin and/or boxy. Tapping the effects send of my Mesa Boogie Mini Rec into this this sounds much better than any pedal. In fact, it sounds downright killer (but that comment belongs above). That may be a cheat since the Min Rec pre is probably better than any pedal,but still. This thing is supposedly made for pedals; it should take them better. 5)Too many obscure cabs. I'd rather have more variations on meat and potato cabs. 6)The room ambiance...meh. I prefer it off.

    Sorry to be such a wet blanket, but I probably wouldn't buy it again. It's overkill for me. Other software options are enough for me.

    Bye the way, this thing has a weird dongle-like internet registration process that IDs and associates this device with an associated e-mail address. That may make this hard to resell if you were so inclined.

Questions about the Two Notes Torpedo C.A.B. Speaker Simulator Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway