0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Mesa/Boogie Tone-Burst Clean Boost Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Tone-Burst Clean Boost Pedal?

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Tone-Burst Clean Boost Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from San Angelo, TX December 23, 2016Music Background:
    Pro, session, worship, Rock

    FAT!!

    It is exactly what it says it is, a burst of tone! Ruggedly built, easy to dial in, and it makes your tone gain about 200 lbs immediately. Not for use on every amp for every situation though. I ran it through my Mesa Mark V found it to be a little bit of overkill for classic rock, but awesome for Metal. However, running it through the Hughes & Kettner that I use at my church, it makes a great sounding amp sound FANTASTIC. The gain boost is subtle on higher gain amps, but you definitely notice the beef in your tone. On a cleaner channel amp, you notice the beefy tone and a nice little drive to your tone.

  • from N Dallas November 13, 2015Music Background:
    long term guitarist/musician

    Another cool Mesa Engineering Pedal

    I also have the Mesa Flux Drive and just got this Tone Burst. Mesa gets a big recommend from me.
    This pedal is on the subtle side, A clean boost, not an "overdrive" but but not designed to be "transparent". You can easily drive an amp cranking the level but the gain is relatively low, which is what I like. Adjustment of the tone controls is where this pedal gives its magic. It adds not just low end or sparkle to your tone but overall enhances the tone quality but sounds natural and when off you really hear the subtle enhancement it gives to your tone. Adds a little something in articulation and note bloom enhances other drives and effects down the chain. I pulled my highly adjustable compressor pedal for this to give me some thickening and enhancement but not the compressive squeeze on the tone spectrum.

  • from Odenton, MD March 9, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/Engineer/Producer

    Addictive Sound

    Great/addictive sound from this pedal. Wish I had it many years ago- would have saved me a lot of money and hassle. When you switch it off and back on it is startling the difference in sound. I use it primarily with a Fender HRD III and/or Twin Reverb. Also have a Mesa Boogie MKIII but not really necessary with that amp (obvious reasons). Good stuff!

  • from Browning, IL May 27, 2014Music Background:
    experienced musician

    Awesome Boost Pedal!

    This pedals works great on a pedal board through the front and through the effect loop. If you have a small amp with an effect loop and you want a more volume out of it or even just a more defined sound, it acts as a boost/eq pedal. I own this pedal and the Mesa Flux Drive pedal also. Both very good pedals and was my first experience with the Mesa Boogie Company and I am very impressed with their quality and reputation. Try one. I'm convinced.

  • from Baton Rouge La, USA May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, ex-giging Musician in cover bands, Home Recording.

    Outstanding

    I am floored by the sound I am getting from this pedal. It really enhances my pick attack. It just really brings out the small nuances of chording and strumming. And easily/softly picked solos really shine. But the best part is the quality of the subtle overdrive. You don't get this kind of OD from any pedal I ever used. It's the kind of OD the is very subtle, but adds a character to a clean sound that is beautiful! This pedal was worth every penny!

  • from San Antonio, TX. April 25, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Wow - Just wow

    The Mesa Tone Burst is just incredible. Without a doubt the best clean boost ever. Ridiculous vintage sounds when saturating overdrives and sounds great clean also. Plays nice with other pedals too. Can't get a bad sound out of it. I didn't thing anything would beat Xotic RC Booster but Tone Burst was the clear winner. My ears are still ringing but I love it. Finally my pedal board is DONE!

  • from Beaumont, TX February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro

    Add a New Channel to Any Amp!

    This is a real beauty from Mesa. Right away I could see the solid construction and great vibe of this pedal (even the box it comes in has a great vibe).

    Getting down to the tone..oh yeah, this pedal has it. Flawless signal integrity with a fully useful range of settings. The Bass & Treble allow for precision adjustments of tone and the Gain goes from clear and clean boost to a modest overdrive. Level can be set to give the exact desired mix when the pedal is engaged. Think of the Mesa/Boogie Tone Burst as a whole other high end channel added to your amp with it's own level, gain and tone.

    A final bonus I noticed was a subtle enhancement of string attack when engaged. It seems to bring out picking nuances in both melodic and chordal work with clarity and precision. This is a great pedal that goes beyond boost to add sparkle and versatility to anyone's sound. Well done, Mesa!

  • from Rhode Island December 28, 2016Music Background:
    Experienced

    Great boost pedal

    Really fine boost pedal from the folks at Mesa. I use this pedal in front of my Mark V to boost my signal both volume and gain wise for solos. I like that it has a 2-band EQ. I generally run the bass high (3 o clock ish), the Gain high (pretty much all the way), and keep the treble around noon and the volume above unity. It provides a nice fat, distorted boost for my solos. It also works well as a stand alone EQ pedal in a pinch. I ran it in front of a Fender Deville and it really opened up the distortion on there. Hot rod overdrive sounds like mush to me. This people cleared it up a bit. My one knock is that I wish the Gain knob had more gain on tap, but it really does have enough for most people's applications. There are cheaper boosts out there, but this is excellently built and I am a loyal Mesa user.

  • from Cape Coral, FL February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and Hobbyist

    A must have

    This pedal paried with my Mark V Amp and the Throttle Box complerte both saturation and clean options. Cannot do with out it!

  • from Alburtis, Pa. USA July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician. Electric Violins, etc.

    Excellant Pedal for boost. Level, Gain, Treble, and Bass all g

    Good and easy to use pedal.

Questions about the Mesa/Boogie Tone-Burst Clean Boost Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway