0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Eventide TimeFactor Delay Effect Pedal Reviews

5.0 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Eventide TimeFactor Delay Effect Pedal?

Questions about the Eventide TimeFactor Delay Effect Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    Guitar Pedals are not just for guitar players anymore. In the world of live electronic and computer music, musicians like to effect their drum beats, synths, and master output from their computers. The TimeFactor is an amzing piece that will give you very tweaky effects. You can make your glitchy beats sound similar to the style of Aphex Twin, Squarepusher, Autechre and other abstract electronic musicians with the TimeFactor.

  • from Canterbury, CT November 5, 2016Music Background:
    Originals, and whatever anyone throws at me even tomatoes lol. 30 yrs playing guitar and still learning

    Eventide Monster delay

    I have owned this pedal for 3 years now and every review pretty much covers the wide flexibility of this stomp box its simply a great straight up delay out of the box and so much more if you spend a lot of time discovering the immense complex rhythmic soundscapes you can create I even pair it with a boss digital delay to add a triple this insane delay for extra spacey love.


    Someone pointed out the one thing that bothered them was the limited ability to add it to an effects power box and to that end being an electrician it was easy for me to come up with a simple safe way by incorporating with a 120V feed thru from my power source, I made a short extension cord to add the power adapter that comes with the pedal and then using Velcro straps supported it to my floor rack, all nice and neat and very secure,

    Since I have not had the time to delve into the programming I am looking forward to doing that in the very near future. I am sure my wife will be wondering if I will ever come back to earth.

    Also great thanks to Josh from SW who turned me on to some great pedals and this one is the center piece of my effects loop lineup

  • from Atlanta, GA April 1, 2016

    Awesome delay pedal!

    I've owned my Timefactor for almost a year now. This thing is awesome! I love being able to blend two deal sounds and get some really cool sounds. I primarily play at church, and this delay is perfect for that. We play to a click each week, so I'm able to pre-program my delays and easily go through my presets.
    It's difficult to use this pedal without some kind of Aux switch. You can use the Digitech 3 button footswitch (can't remember the exact model) or many small builders make them too (I got one from T1M, it's great). I have not had any issues with this and Sweetwater is the best place to buy any gear.

  • from Ardmore, AL February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Amazed by this pedal.

    This is so much more than a delay pedal, this pedal can do phasers, reverbs, flangers, whatever you want basically. PLUS IT HAS A LOOPER!!! It's expensive but it's 5 or 6 pedals in one, not to mention it has amazing delay's that are infinitely customizable. Buy it, you won't be disappointed. 5 stars easy.

  • from NYC/NJ October 30, 2015Music Background:
    Growing Dental Floss In The Studio

    Timefactor. The Greatest delay pedal ever

    The TimeFactor was one of the original stompboxes Eventide released when they first brought their legendary effects expertise to the realm of guitar pedals. Featuring 9 of Eventide's best studio grade delay effects and a Looper, the TimeFactor is potentially the ultimate delay toolbox for covering all your delay needs on stage and in the studio. The emphasis is on being able to easily dial in twin delay lines for all the available delay algorithms, a real godsend for guitarists (or any musicians for that matter) that prefer the rhythmic complexity of using multiple delays at once. This pedal could be the ultimate solution for pulling off "Edge" style dual delays. Is it the best twin delay effects pedal available? Let's get on with our Eventide TimeFactor review and find out!
    Features:
    Eventide-TimeFactor-Review-Best-Twin-Delay-Effects-Pedal-02
    Eventide's 9 best delay effects plus a Looper.
    Twin delays with up to 3 seconds of delay each.
    Support for instrument and line level connectivity.
    External Expression Pedal and Aux Switch jack for external control.
    TimeFactor supports up to 50 Banks/100 Presets. Instant access to any 2 presets at a time.
    Bright, easy-to-read Billboard display.
    Extensive MIDI functionality.
    Software upgrades via USB.
    *********Make sure you install the beta version OS letting you use the H9 Controller! which a lot of users don't know exist. After you register your Space, Timefactor, Modfactor or H9 stompbox and you update each box to the 5 Beta which lets you use the H9 Controller, in which, will let you use the many patches and algorithms in your boxes in a neat editor on you laptop, iPad, and such. It's amazing the sounds and settings you all achieve using this utility.

  • from October 7, 2015

    Amazing!!

    Have wanted this one for a while. Without a doubt the best sounding digital delay I've used. So many features, just really study the user manual. The switches are really soft. Very well built!! Sweet water service was phenomenal as always. Super fast shipping.

  • from September 30, 2015

    Other wordly

    I use this in conjunction with a TC Nova Delay. I use the Nova for quarter and dotted eighth delay and the Timefactor for ally slap back and ambient stuff. This pedal is unreal. If you can afford it, buy it. It will do whatever you need, hands down. Until it breaks and can't be repaired, this pedal will never leave my board. It is THAT good

  • from United States April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Blown Away!

    Best delay pedal I have ever owned. So easy to use and soooo many sounds.

  • from United States February 23, 2014Music Background:
    Worship musican

    Good, but very annoying to power on a board

    All the reviews about this pedal sounding amazing are right on. There's nothing more I can add to that side of it; sounds fantasic and was actually easy to dial in once you get used to the layout. If you're spending this much on a pedal, also go ahead and pick up an aux switch. Well worth it for live situations to be able to go bank down or use other functions.

    Now for the down side and for me; it's a big one. The pedal CANNOT be powered with standard pedalboard power supplies like a DC Brick. It's a reverse polarity pedal but I've even tried a reverse adapter that did not work. This is a HUGE issue for live situations because the power supply that comes with the pedal is a wall wart and a very poor quality one at that. I'm really disappointed in Eventide for basically trying to force you to buy their PowerFactor and not making a pedal that can be easily and universally powered. I got a good deal on mine but if I purchased it new, would be enough for me to return this unit and save up an extra $100 and purchase the Strymon Timeline. I won't purchase another Eventide pedal because of this issue.

  • from valencia, ca. February 18, 2014Music Background:
    46 years guitar and bass playing

    the best delay pedal

    These pedals are all about quality sound. For live situations, you might not need this much quality but for home and studio, this is it.

  • from Anderson, Indiana February 8, 2014Music Background:
    FOH Engineer, Student, Musician.

    Awesome!

    The TimeFactor is a very advanced delay pedal. One major feature I like is the stereo duel delay. My second favorite would have to be the loop function. I would recommend buying a Aux switch or Tap tempo along with this pedal, as you can Not chance your tempo without one while in a preset

  • from Walls ms. November 21, 2012Music Background:
    pro.

    The best delay for the money

    This thing sounds great....right out of the box---but make sure you study the manuel--you shall be rewarded !!! nothing you can't do with this baby !!.....can be tweaked to your setup....I use it in the effects loop, but did not sound bad plugged right into the amp....well built, and I think for the price range a steal !!!

  • from November 12, 2012

    Brilliant

    This is a masterpiece of pedal technology. It is just flat out brilliantly engineered with sound that will match or exceed the quality of anything you put up next to it. Yes, the price of this unit is pretty intimidating, but I don't think I've ever had a greater sense of "getting what I paid for" with any piece of gear, ever. Once you open the TimeFactor up and see what it's actually capable of, the stellar sound quality and unbelievable versatility actually make it seem like a fairly reasonable value. All that being said, I'd definitely caution people to consider what they really want before buying this pedal. If delay is a central part of your sound and you need a staggering amount of versatility in any setting, there's arguably nothing better on the market. However, if you just want something simple that's going to sound great, or if you're just starting out, this pedal could be too much too soon. Eventide did an incredible job of making the interface as simple and user friendly as possible, but this isn't the pedal that you buy in a pinch and use at the gig that night. Getting "your" sounds requires a substantial amount of time reading the manual, learning the interface, and then dialing in your settings. Furthermore, you'll be much more satisfied with this pedal (and much less overwhelmed) if you've played long enough to hear the difference between things like Tape Echo and Digital and know the general function of things like low-pass filters and mod functions. But make no mistake; if you're at the point where you need the absolute best in sound and versatility from a delay pedal, I can pretty much guarantee the TimeFactor will be at the top of your list.

  • from Austin, TX, USA September 18, 2012Music Background:
    musician, Home Recording Engineer

    A monster!

    Simply the best multi function delay pedal I have ever used! I have a rather large (ok its ridiculous) pedal board and collection of both very old and classic pedals and tend to shy away from many of the newer products. Not here. This is classic eventide! It can get you anywhere you want to go when it comes to delay and echo, both with digital and a phenomenal analog emulation... you can dial in exact times and tones. Take your time with this product and read the manual (several times)! Nice functions and connects easily to the internet for updates. This and an original memory man takes care of all my needs, just keep that manual nearby!

  • from Charlotte NC December 29, 2011Music Background:
    Guitar Player 25 yrs

    Eventide Timefactor

    Outstanding studio quality effects. You can dial in any combonation of delay and modulation. The only downfall is that you wont have enough time to play with this thing. It will provide years of fun.. and it should for the price.
    You wont be disapointed... I wasn't.

  • from Aberdeen, MD June 18, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome unit that Does NOT suck tone

    4.5 rating instead of 5 because changing presets takes just under 1 second to load. You will notice the delay sounds drop out and then come back with the new preset.

    The delay algorithms are extraordinary on this unit. Seriously awesome stuff. You can get a great chorus when the modulation delay is set to zero seconds. There are many options for chorus wave form.

    I've tried out several effects processors with the Diezel VH4, Diezel Herbert, and Mesa Mark V. When in the effects loop of these amps, the Eventide TimeFactor sucks less tone than the AxeFx, G System, and G Major 2. I used to be a die hard fan of running reverbs and delays in "Kill Dry" with a parallel loop because of the TC and Fractal Audio stuff degrading the original signal. The Eventide TimeFactor is so good with the A/D conversion (and back) that I now run the Serial Loop in ALL my amps... no bull.

    Another big plus that Eventide has over the AxeFx and G System is that I needed an Ebtech HumEliminator to resolve ground loops with the TC and Fractal Audio stuff. Eventide TimeFactor has ZERO hum. I no longer need to use the Ebtech HumEliminator.

    Don't get me wrong --> AxeFx and G System are great units and do many things the TimeFactor doesn't. But the TimeFactor has advantages over those units. Eventide has really impressed me with the TimeFactor.

  • from Vail, CO July 10, 2010

    A fine pedal indeed

    This is a rich and true sounding delay pedal. Very pleasant response and useful control parameters too. A quality component!

  • from Austin March 25, 2010Music Background:
    Electro, Indie, Rock, Alt, Folk, Avant, Experimental

    Good God This Pedal is Good

    I never write reviews because I'm lazy and don't think it's generally worth my time, but I had to share how impressed I am by this pedal. I've owned so many pedals over the years I can't count (Line 6 DL4, Boss DD-6, etc..), and this one is on a whole other level (I think it's called professional). That's what separates this pedal from everyone other one, it's professional sounding. The cleanest, neatest, delays and reverbs I've ever ever heard (at least in my studio), that's including signal processor effects too. I've started using this for everything (vocals, keys, guitars, synths, drum machines). Eventide didn't scimp, you get eventide goodness for $400 bucks, ridiculous. Please God Eventide please make a dedicated Reverb pedal as well.

  • from Jellico, TN February 18, 2009Music Background:
    Worship Musician

    In the end there can be only one

    I have tried and owned just about every major delay pedal on the market. They were all good, but never found the complete package. I always liked the sonic quality of the Boss DD series pedals.

    The Line 6 DL-4 is great for those ambient type delays and its powerful looper. The Nova Delay is great because is has a plethora of banks for you to save patches. Giga Delay is super easy to use and has many of the combined features of the above mentioned pedals. But what is you wanted the strengths of all of the above pedals in one package.

    Furthermore, what if you wanted all to have 2 delay pedals stacked together and a ton of great sounding modulation on top of the delay. You would have to buy at least 2 of the pedals above and a versatile chorus pedal on top of it to pull it all off. Or, you could by the Timefactor.

    Once you get the free software upgrade you double the power of this pedal by adding 20 more locations to save presets. The looper is great. The modulation is out of this world. This pedal also includes an awesome infinite hold feature that when coupled with a volume pedal lets you create some very convincing PAD sounds.

    Lastly, you can add an expression pedal to this unit and control 1 or all of the knobs in real time with the pedal. It is truly amazing. This is the be all end all delay pedal.

  • from San Francisco, CA February 10, 2009Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Engineer, Maker of Noise

    Probably the best delay pedal in existence

    I'm not sure how many delay pedals I have -- at least five plus this one, including the Line6 Delay Modeler, which is very respectable. None of them even comes close to this one. The available sounds and the flexibility of each one is remarkable, and the sound quality is uniformly fantastic. The analog and tape delay sounds are just right, and I have an old Space Echo with which to compare it. The programmability takes time to learn, but it's terrific. I'd say the only thing on my wish list is to be able to use the loop sampler to loop the delayed sound (that is, get a delay going and then capture it). But that would be beyond the call of duty. As it is, this is certainly the best delay pedal I've found yet.

  • from Richmond, VA May 11, 2008Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, amateur recording engineer.

    The Real Deal

    Want studio quality live sound without the hassle of a tape echo unit? This is a truly great module, musician friendly, multiple control options, 20 presets, midi capable, great support. All that...and it's the best sounding echo unit I've used to date (actively gigging for 42 years). Just buy it.

  • from Orlando FL January 18, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician - Rock

    Finally a greatstomp box for echo

    Great stompbox for echo effects.
    Simple to use out of the box, though you can really get a lot of different things going on with it if you want - and I do.
    Great support from the Eventide web site.
    I cannot stop tinkering with this device!
    It is really great!
    Worth the cost!
    I really recommend!

Questions about the Eventide TimeFactor Delay Effect Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway