0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Mackie Thump 1000W 15" Powered Speaker Reviews

4.5 stars based on 36 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie Thump 1000W 15" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Mackie Thump 1000W 15" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Maryland March 13, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Mackie 1000W 15" Speaker

    Incredible speaker for the price. Works great in live environment under heavy load!

  • from NJ February 1, 2017Music Background:
    DJ

    Love These Speakers

    Great Speakers have two of them and i am very satisfied with my purchase!

  • from November 15, 2016

    Excellent

    I use it for a monitor at Church I'm blown away by It's loudness

  • from November 13, 2016Music Background:
    Semi pro

    Awesome all around

    Been using these for monitoring. Had a fundraising event with many bands and soloist with can music. The church was small about a 250 person room. Did not exapect to get the sound from them that we did. But it was put awesome. Set the eq flat on the back of the speakers tweak the eq on the UI16 and you have some great live sounding front of house speakers. Theses speakers not just for DJ work.

  • from Westland, Mi. October 24, 2016

    Boss! Speakers. But clip! To to soon"

    Love these speakers only had them for 3 weeks. And used them 2 times. Today i used for a block party and one of the power cords. Has a short in it that was a drag for me. Will be calling my rep Jimmy H. To have it replaced. Problem #2. Clipping! Now i know why i never own power speakers. I think they all clip! A lot other then that i love the sound

  • from Louisiana August 29, 2016

    One Man Band

    I heaved tried just about all the speakers out there and the Mackie Thump 15 blow them away!!!!

  • from Connecticut June 12, 2016Music Background:
    Occasional weekend warrior

    Happy customer!

    I purchased this speaker a few weeks ago, having had one a few years ago. The bass that it adds to my PA system is perfect! And it is light, has eq, and is powered, so if my PA system should ever fail, I can fall back on this for my little venue gigs. Justin, my sales engineer once again gave me great service! As always! That's why I keep coming back to Sweetwater!

  • from February 14, 2016

    8 piece band

    I was blown away with how it handled a full band . It was clear and crystal at the high end and the mid frequencies was very nice , I used it with 2 mackie1801 subs. Can't beat the price. I will purchase two more very soon.

  • from November 18, 2015

    Mackie Thump 12

    I bought a Mackie Thump 12" 1000w speaker. Man I am so blown away by this little beauty. I took it along to an outdoor gig I did recently. I was singing with a 16 piece big band. It's not easy to get over the top of a big band let alone with one 12" powered speaker. This thing sounded fantastic and I only had it up to about half volume at an outdoor gig.

  • from SF bay area September 22, 2015

    when i do it will be perfect i am sure...

    have not had time to open it, but i am sure it will be just what i need
    i have been slammed with recording dates so, 1st things 1st - )
    i Know Brian steered me right i have NO worries...

  • from NY August 27, 2015Music Background:
    DJ

    Back for another pair

    I have had these speakers for six years and I have never had a problem with them. I have draged the up and down steps in heat and cold and they were never an issue unlike my laptop. I was looking to get another set of speakers and a friend said get another pair of the speakers you trust. So here I am looking for another set. My set have never clipped,and never over heated. so I going back to what I know. And I heard the new ones sound better then the older one I have. They must have put a better seal on the cabinet.I have never heard anything bad about these speakers from other DJs with more time in the game them myself.

  • from June 21, 2015

    Right Ratio all around

    For the price and quality of this speaker I am impressed. The ratio of highs to lows couldnt be better.

  • from May 31, 2015

    Karaoke/DJ

    Bought Mackie thump 15's and Mackie fx 12 mixer on Friday ,had my first gig Saturday !!! Great sound and bass . Was concerned about karaoke but these speakers rocked with awesome sound for karaoke and DJ music !!! Great buy with a great price .. I'll be adding more in the future

  • from United States February 21, 2015Music Background:
    DJ AND SINGER

    SINGING DJ BOBBY JAMES

    I JUST LISTEN TO THE MACKIE THUMP 12 SPEAKER ... IT WAS GREAT SOUNDING , I HAVE THE JBL 515XL THERE UP FOR SALE NOW SPENT 499. GOOD SOUND LIGHT WEIGHT ..NO PUNCH. I WILL BE BUYING THE MACKIE 15 THUMP FOR MY KICK *** SOUND. 5.0 WOW BLOWN AWAY... SWEETWATERS IS THE BEST FOR YOUR MONEY ..NOBODY AS FREE WARRENTY, ONLY SWEETWATERS PLUS.. HANDS DOWN THE BEST PLACE TO BUY YOU GEAR. SINGING DJ BOBBY JAMES

  • from TORONTO CANADA December 30, 2014Music Background:
    PERCUSSION

    GREAT FOR HEAVY BASS SOCA MUSIC

    I got them about two years ago and they have taken a great deal of abuse with parties. Have not disappointed me with any type of music. Great power and the equalizer makes it easy for setup.

  • from Canton, Georgia November 21, 2014Music Background:
    semi-pro DJ/KJ

    Thumps are GREAT! Plenty of power!

    I'm an amateur/semi-pro DJ/KJ and just added two of the Thump15's to my setup. Plenty of power for larger parties, yet light enough for one guy to set up quickly. Was initially disappointed right out of the box, but with the adjustable EQ, you can dial in the correct sound. They take plenty of abuse without distortion. Very pleased.

  • from Yucca Valley, CA October 26, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Host

    Great sounding speaker!

    I've used JBL's, Yamaha's, Peavey's etc... Was surprised at how crisp and full these speakers sound. Removed them from the box and placed them on stage at an Oktoberfest event I hosted. Matched with a Samson wireless mic and a mixer, the sound was incredible. Nine full hours of announcing and music with no problems. Light and easy to handle. Lots of comments from members of the bands on how great they sound. Excellent choice for just about anybody!

  • from ny September 27, 2014Music Background:
    musician/Dj

    great speakers, great price!!

    Regardless of the negative comments, these things really do crank out the sound & you won't need subs for these if you're Dj'ing i use a Yamaha mg 124cx mixer & it sounds Awesome!! plenty loud with speakers set to unity!!they sound better than speakers twice the price!!

  • from Dallas, TX August 20, 2014Music Background:
    Vocal Artist/Pro Musician/Recording-Live Sound Engineer

    Great PA Speaker!!!

    I've had a lot of pa speakers with 15" woofers that were 2-3X heavier than these but they never sounded out great!!! These are mainly for my practice sessions and small gigs. I am so proud to own these! Sure there are more expensive ones out there but who's going to always haul them for you! These are powerful and have a great clean sound! I have had back problems so I can't always lift heavy speakers in and out of my vehicle. I CAN easily carry these without any problems! I was going to buy the thump12's but when I compared the weight between the 12's & 15's, I choose the 15's as my mains. Now later on, I will get two 12's for monitor floor speakers. I have no problem getting sound out into a crowd of 500+ people outdoors with just two of these! And again, even turned up, they remain steadily solid and just don't distort the sound!

  • from San Bruno, CA June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Mobil Dj

    This is the best speaker

    So I was kinda afraid that this speaker wasn't the one for me because is the first time I buy mackie speakers and I been using QCS brand but I was in the need of a couple speaker that I can use with out a sub and not very expensive because I have the qsc k10 they're excellent speakers but if u Dj for more then 80 people with out a sub u won't get that bass so I call my man Matt Masek for help I explain to him my situation and I asked about this so he say this my work for you so I got two of them I got it on a Friday I had a gig for 150 people on Sunday but I didn't wanna bring any sub but I wanted something pushing enough bass and let me tell you that I was blown away with the power of this speaker I can't imagine how laud u can get if you add a sub to this baby's

  • from Franklin oh November 8, 2016Music Background:
    Pro for 52 years

    Great

    Sound great. Light weight

  • from February 18, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, sound technician

    Respect for the Thump

    I just received my thump 15 the other day and I'm still breaking it in but so far I'm impressed. Put it through a litte work out with a keyboard and vocals. Sound ID definitely clear and articulate. Also has power to spare. I've been mostly a peavey Pearson but figured I would try Mackie and see the difference in out put. The thump vs the pv115 the thump wins right now for volume. Clarity is a toss up depending on how you set everything. The test will be reliability never had a problem out of peavey though just largeand bulky for some of my smaller gigs. I will give more feedback after a few months of service but for now I highly recommend trying a pair. Looking to get a full set with a set of subs. By the way they have amazing bottom end.

  • from Philly Burbs August 19, 2015Music Background:
    Old pro - vocals, drums, guitars keyboards

    E Drums, DJ & Karaoke - Great All Rounder

    I'm impressed and this speaker earns almost 5 stars but it could get a little louder to totally please me. But finally I found a powered speaker that can shake the floor and thump out the bass on my Roland E drums without the bass distorting. I had tried the Behringer and EV versions of this 15" speaker but both of those crapped out badly on the bass drum at higher volumes - not the Mackie! Actually this was somewhat expected as I sometimes jam with a friend who has his own Roland drums paired up with a 2nd generation version of this speaker and I always liked how the drums sounded but wished they were a little louder, and I still do, but that's my only serious complaint. If they had included a few more ways to connect sources like bluetooth and mini-plug, that would have been greatly appreciated but the overall sound is very pleasant and balanced with no harshness in the high end. I also have a weekend DJ/karaoke business and feel these would work well for that purpose. With the $50 rebate, I have enough money left over to buy another and then I'm pretty sure the volume would be plenty for my drums.I just need to convince my wife that stereo is the only way to duplicate real drums and you can only do that with 2 speakers...

  • from North Fort Myers, FL August 4, 2015Music Background:
    Sound engineer, mobile DJ/KJ

    (Not happy I missed rebate) So far during break in THEY ROCK!

    I break all my speakers in as soon as received I won't put them into protection for a couple of days plenty loud without going there. Im a private mobile DJ, do movie nights for elderly, and karaoke shows

  • from Lagrange, GA June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, recording engineer, sound engineer

    Really Great Speakers

    I've been using these with my band for about eight months for our smaller venues and they have performed great. They are very lightweight, easy to handle and really pack a punch. They are crisp and clean, the high frequencies are not enhanced so FOH is clear. If I had one minor criticism, the low frequency for live performance is a bit muddy when adjusting the lows on the speaker itself, we usually couple them with the Mackie 15" subs and roll down the lows on the Thumps so the subs are able to support the frequencies below 120hz. I've used these on DJ gigs as well - they did very well - not as much low frequency "punch" as I like but hey they did very well - for the price, you can't can't beat'em!

  • from Boston, MA April 21, 2015

    Perfect for Small Club/Pub gigs

    Ok, so I purchased two (2) Mackie Thump 15's together with a Mackie ProFX12 Mixer for small clubs/pub gigs and couldn't be more pleased. It should be noted that we've been using the system for about six months without any glitches. We're a four piece cover band, and we're essentially using the system for vocals and acoustic guitar, although our keyboard player has, on occasion, gone direct through the system with fabulous stereo results. I would definitely consider purchasing longer power cords however, since the stock cords aren't always long enough.

  • from Central Florida April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Musician of 20 years

    Great for the price

    I have owned these speakers for a little over a year now and want to give them an honest review. I am a gigging musician who plays 2-3 gigs a week in both bands and single/duo settings usually to about 50-100 people in smaller to mid size bars and restaurants with the occasional private party or wedding thrown in. I primarily use these speakers as mains in a Sub/Sat setup to take some pressure off the Thumps.

    First off let me say that for the money I think this is a great speaker. It has an overall good sound and decent volume and is also very lightweight and easy to move. They have the volume for almost any gig I play in my local area and I have only run into them clipping at a house party while playing heavy hip hop for an extended period of time during the break. So far they have never failed on me and I use them a lot.

    That being said I want to mention a couple of negatives to give a fair review. As I mentioned the speaker does have a good sound, however it is a $350 powered speaker and with that in mind I have heard a lot of speakers that do sound much better (at a much higher price point). If you run these hard you are probably going to hear some distortion. The highs can be a little harsh and you will most likely need to do some EQing on these speakers every gig you play. They also have a modest amount of idle hiss that increases with gain.

    I gave these speakers a 4.5 star rating because I don't think there is another speaker in this price point that can compare to the Thump 15. However I did recently upgrade to a set of EV Live X 15's because of the much sweeter sound and higher SPL output. I will use the Thumps as monitors and I honestly think that is the best use for this speaker if you are a working musician. I think a DJ on a budget could also do well with this speaker.

    Final thoughts....I have gotten by with these speakers as mains and for what I paid I think they have done a great job. I DO NOT however recommend them for a band as mains because I think most bands are going to expect more from them than this speaker can produce. If you need monitors for your gigging band or a practice space I say buy this speaker and you will not be disappointed. If you are a mobile DJ and need something cheap this is a pretty good buy as well but I would recommend combining with a sub/subs as you will most likely not get the bass you want out of a pair of these.

    Great for the money, just be realistic of what a speaker this price is capable of.

  • from new york ny usa July 31, 2014Music Background:
    none

    mackie thump 15

    Very good volume not that loud

  • from December 9, 2016

    Clip to much

    Speakers are great not as loud as I thought 1000 watts not even close they clip as soon as you turn the volume up not even in the red on the mixer but speakers clip out not very happy with that but they are good speakers nice sound and nice low end

  • from Monticello, KY March 17, 2016Music Background:
    Bluegrass/Acoustic

    Plenty Of Bass For Me!

    The Mackie Thump 15 does indeed have the "thump" for a sound system with no subwoofer. Does it match a setup with a 4X10 Sub Cab with a 250W Powerhead? No. But unless you want to rattle windows and need a really muddy sound, these will do the trick. We play an acoustic setup and so far (after 3 uses), they seem to be the real deal. I have not used outside, so I am waiting to see if that thump billows away in the breeze, but for a 5 pc Bluegrass group, using the Behringer X18 mixer, and some good Shure mics, we had all we needed.

  • from Providence December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Serious hobby (gigs 1-2 times a month)

    Great sound, but blos easy

    I'ts tough to write this review because these speakers do sound amazing...... when they work. The first time I turned these up in our practice space, our jaws dropped. It's got phenomenal low end, just as advertised.

    BUT!!! DO NOT buy this if you use analog gear.The Thump15 is just not built for that kind of load.

    I was running a DSI Tempest Analog Drum Machine into a mixer (signal in was only reaching half way), then Main Outs to the speakers - with instrument cables. The speakers were turned up just under 3/4 of the way and I completely blew out one of the speakers during our first practice.

    Maybe I lost track of the low end on my machine, I'm not exactly sure how I broke it. But I do know it wasn't too loud, and so it didn't take much.

    Luckily SweetWater was excellent about getting me a replacement speaker.

    Just a week later though I already damaged my one other remaining speaker at a show. This second one was just outside of the warranty. It's not ruined, just lost a bit of low and end and sounds like crackling paper when it really low lows. Even after ripping the first one, I was still surprised to have damaged this one.

    I think maybe 1,000 watts is just too much for this type of speaker. Agin, I never turned these up past 3/4 of the way, and that was enough to absolutly destroy one of them. So I think it's just poor design. 1,000 watts is a great selling point. That's a big part of why I bought them. I feel tricked.

    Complaints aside, the quality really is out of this world. So much so, that I'm actually going to repair my broken speaker and buy a better mixer with a built in compressor, Just to help minimize the chanced of ripping these again. I'm willing to take the risk for such amazing sound quality.

    So if your a DJ who's careful with their gear- these are amazing! Go for it. You will not find a better sound, especially if you want to avoid hauling around a sub.

    But for fellow basement dwelling, electronic musicians- Steer clear! It's just too risky.

  • from Providence July 8, 2016

    Only good for DJ's

    I'm an experimental electronic musician who plays synth and programs on an analog Drum machine.
    I have blown 2 woofers in in the past year. Each woofer outside of warranty cost almost $100 to replace. So you need to be very careful. These speakers are way too sensitive to plug in anything un-balanced from a standard/cheap mixer.

    If you plan on using them as a PA for a band be sure to have a very strong EQ, because if you dont cut the super low-sub on these, they will break in a heartbeat. I had to buy a special mixer with 64 band graphic EQ+low cut to really get the most out of these without destroying them

    I primarily use them for my instrumental electronic music and I love the sound. BUT-
    I tried to use these speakers as a Vocal PA the other night at a basement show and they just couldn't get loud enough. The vocals just could not cut through the instruments. The show was loud, but these should have been louder

    If you play pre mixed/super balanced music through these they do sound amazing. They just don't go nearly loud enough to justify their size and weight.

    I thought I could use them as my own stereo PA in smaller venues, but they just cant get loud enough.So now I just keep them on the floor tilted up and use them as my own personal stereo monitors- which is usually a lot better than house monitors.

    All in all- these things do sound great but they are NOT versatile.

  • from Detroit Mi December 17, 2015

    Not that Happy

    I bought a pair of the Mackie Thump 1000 watt 15"s, and I must say that the speaker does sound good and has alto of bottom but likes to clip out. As a mobile DJ doing sets for 4 to 5 hours you can expect for the red light to stay on during your set. You want to consider buying a powered sub to got with the 15's, for longer play. As a beginner these are great for the money. But I plan on selling these to get a pair of EV's.

  • from CT November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging musician.

    Okay

    I've had these for a couple of years now and subjected them to moderate use as mains without subs and as a floor wedge. The 1000 watt rating is for continuous, not RMS, which is common marketing hype. These are not loud speakers by any means. But they have performed well overall. They do not distort noticeably at 3/4 and have a modest amount of hiss at idle, but nothing awful. I have read some horror stories about failure online, and would probably not have bought this if I had read about this before purchase, but they've held up with gentle handling. I will probably sell these at a decent loss at some point while they still work and invest in something better, like a QSC or maybe the new JBL EON's. Not a bad speaker as long as your expectations are realistic and they don't break.

  • from Woodbridge VA February 14, 2017

    They suck no good

    The mackie thump 1000 watt powered speakers are a bunch of junk, played 4 gigs with them and 1 speaker started squilling. No base at all, what the problem was that the woofer went out, a nd at the same time the amplifier for the woofer also went out. Put it in the repair shop, they cant figure it out. So i called mackie they werevgiving me the run around about fixing them. Checked on the back of the speaker where all the controls are, thats where the amps are. After spending that the speaker still may not work. Be careful when you purchase these speakers. Cheap not worth it.

  • from Portland, OR June 19, 2014Music Background:
    Mobile/Club DJ, Live Musician, Recording/Live Sound Engineer

    Not Impressed

    If you want to DJ any real kind of gig, these are worthless. These speakers CANNOT be 1000 watts, that seems like a lie.
    I bought a pair of these to replace what I usually use, which is a pair of no-name, passive cabinets that I loaded each with one Peavey Pro12", 350W RMS speaker and standard horn. I run these chained off one channel of a QSC GX5 amp (single 18" sub on the other channel), so I'm only delivering about 250W to each of these little cabinets - and they are at least twice as loud as the supposed 1000W Thump 15's. Even without the sub. They're just 12's!! My Peavey's don't have the low end, but if you want to get any decent volume out of the Thumps you have to roll pretty much all the bass off anyway.
    As I said, they do great for a wedding ceremony: background music and spoken word - but not for anything else. I just got home from using them at an 8th grade graduation dance. I had them up only halfway and the limiter was working hard the entire time. I know all about gain-staging and tried pushing less or more into them from my mixer, but it didn't matter. Any prominent bass line or kick drum in the song and the limiter would just cut everything down, and quite harshly at that. And you could still speak over the music. I had to roll all the bass off to get the limiter to stop ruining everything, and I was left with shrill, tinny music for two hours.
    IF I keep these, I will HAVE to lug my subs to every gig, other than weddings. If you buy these for anything other than quiet events, or speech, you will NEED to buy/bring subs along so that you can roll all the bass off from the Thumps and get any real volume.
    1000 Watts? Impossible.

Questions about the Mackie Thump 1000W 15" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway