0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Mackie Thump 1000W 12" Powered Speaker Reviews

4.0 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie Thump 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Mackie Thump 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Yolchie
    from August 27, 2016Music Background:
    Studio engineer, producer, multi-instrumentalist.

    YES!!!

    Super lightweight, versatile, great sound, very affordably priced. Our church bought 6 of these guys...4 for monitors, and 2 to use as mains with a sub for some of our smaller mobile gigs so we don't have to load up our giant mobile system all the time. We couldn't be happier!

  • Customer
    from February 15, 2016

    mackie thump 12 speakers

    Easy to set up and sound terrific

  • Customer
    from November 15, 2015

    Thump 12

    Did my first gig last night 6 hours of music. Superb sound

  • Paul
    from Saginaw, MI July 1, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Mackie Thump 12

    I bought two of these speakers and they are every bit as good as I'd hoped for. They're loud, clean and light. And for the price I paid....you can't get a better powered speaker. Period...:~)

  • Customer
    from May 25, 2015Music Background:
    Seasoned guitarist and vocalist.

    Big sound in a portable speaker

    Bought these for doing acoustic gigs. Needed great sound in a lightweight, portable system. Amazing clarity across all frequencies. Killer sound low and loud. Highly recommend.

  • Michael
    from Cocoa, Florida April 28, 2015Music Background:
    Professional DJ and singer

    Awesome speakers, learn to mix properly y'all!

    2 systems ago my DJ system weighed in at about 700 pounds. After an experience with soft ground, long grass, and my cart wheels not turning I downsized to a system that weighed in at around 300 pounds. With as many travel gigs as we do I wanted to try out a powered system and a good DJ friend recommended these speakers. In thought I'd give them a try but I held on to my passive system and amp just to make sure I was happy. The 1st gig we did with these was a military ball in a huge room with 1272 guests. I had the opportunity to really push these for about an hour when I did sound check. I used only a pair of these, a 1500 watt powered sub, and I was able to get loud, clear music with thumping bass throughout the whole room.

    This is now my main system and I am coming in at under 200 pounds including lights!

    I have since used these in smaller venues without the sub with great results. They are excellent for Karaoke as well!

    If you are not getting results like this from your Thumps then get somebody to teach you about mixing!

  • john
    from October 14, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Awesome & Lightweight

    The older version was OK but this new Thump12 has improve a lot.
    I'm using them mostly for monitor.
    @ a flat EQ setting they sound pretty good and loud with a momentarily red clipping , but turn down the low end completely counterclockwise and you will get about 3 to 4db louder before clipping just by rising your volume AWESOME.....And about the Price (no need to talk about it).

  • Dennis Lester
    from Harlingen, TX USA September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician (48 years), Bachelor of Music Education

    Monitor Electronic Drums

    I'm am currently using one Thump 12 to monitor my Roland Octapad SPD-30 on gigs. I lay it sideways like a floor wedge, facing me. I send a line out to the PA for band mix. Everybody loves it! I hope I get to play my acoustic drums again, someday.

    A fellow musician recently bought a Mackie powered speaker to monitor his keyboard because he liked mine so much!

  • Alex Brown
    from Smithfield, RI, USA August 28, 2014Music Background:
    DJ

    Wow

    I love this speaker (and the price) the bass is banging and it just sounds great i have nothing bad to say

  • Joe Davis
    from Lima Ohio July 22, 2014Music Background:
    Home recording studio, live sound , band

    Love the Thumps

    I was using a previous model thump 12 for our drummers monitor and it worked great. Then at a gig I was playing an Ipod (Dream Theater, to be specific) during our setup and it sounded outstanding. The feed was up loud and it just, well, Thumped . So we replaced our lower line 15 tops with the Thump 12s and we have sounded cleaner and clearer than ever before. Highly recommended.

  • Customer
    from March 24, 2016

    Great low cost speaker

    I bought a second pair so that I would have the same sound when gigging in AZ as in NJ...I sold my JBL 515XL and couldn't be happier with the Thumps. Lightweight, great mid's and has all the Bass I need for my acoustic gigs.

  • Jeff Beck
    from Las vegas April 6, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Mackie Thump12

    Great sound very clear! light!

  • Jack
    from Philadelphia February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    Mackie Thump 12

    Excellent sound, good size. Great for small venues.

  • Ray Morton
    from June 9, 2015Music Background:
    Bass Player & Mobile DJ

    Mackie Thump 12

    Great Surprise!! I bought the speaker to use as a satellite set up for the many events in which I require both a indoor & outdoor set up simultaneously. It performed so well that I used it in place of my main DJ rig for a graduation celebration. It performed flawlessly with crisp highs and thundering bass for such a compact size. I can only imagine what the Thump 15's sound like.

  • Yarrow Harvey
    from United States January 26, 2015Music Background:
    always trying to be a better musician, engineer...

    Very Happy With These Speakers Over All

    Very Happy with the sound of these speakers considering the price point. They lack a bit of clarity, but they are not harsh - which is much harder to overcome in my opinion. Some of the mud can be pulled out via the onboard eq - great feature. These are a great value considering the price and i have been happy with the purchase.

  • Macro Paul
    from June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Singer songwriter and acoustic guitar player with over 15 years of experience.

    Terrific sound clarity and bass- A+ sound!

    Lots of power, fidelity and an awesome bass response for being a 12". I tested various powered speaker models and brands to compare and by far the new Mackie 1000 watts blew me away not to tell you about the price. The new 15" is also a dream.. more base with same clarity. I really like my sound to be as clear and crisp as possible being an acoustic player. I run a mic, a nylon guitar with a boss oc-3 and a stompbox through a passive mixer and the quality of sound doesn't stop to amaze me. Can't wait to buy another one for my complete set up!!! Thanks Mackie for making a great quality product.

  • Blue Frog Studios
    from June 13, 2014

    It Kicks !

    Did a side by side with the older Thump 12. Definitely higher output, tighter low end, and crisper highs. Using for floor monitors, it kicks the older Thumps (not that they were bad sounding)

  • Customer
    from July 27, 2016

    Mackie Thump

    I purchased the Mackie TH-12A 400w (version one) a few years back and loved it, until the amp module went out. Finding the parts, even on ebay, are impossible and repair shops want way too much. For the cost of repair, might as well buy a new one. I'm just not sure I want to purchase another "disposable" product.

  • Miguel Gonzalez
    from Weeki Wachee, FL February 12, 2015Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist/ Sound Engineer/Band Manager

    Not sure

    I might be doing this wrong. At first the volume was low then it cranked loud. it was good but i know from experience that this thing is louder. Also the RMS is only 500 W meaning that its truly not a 1000 W speaker. I'm going to try something else if it doesn't work its going back.

  • Customer
    from May 28, 2016

    Sounds like 200 watts

    What do u want for 300 bux ,, You bought it because its cheap and light ,, so did I . its front ported , and that matters , rely matters !!!!!!!!!!!
    works great for a solo gigs in coffie shops , or if turned ALL THE WAY up in a very small bar .
    its light , sounds ok ... I like it ... If you want great sound ,,,,Buy Ev ...
    I use mine with a very fine acoustic amp , for guitar and vocal ,, xlr out to the 12 .. it works ..
    when it blows up ,, I'll get another one

  • Caster Blaster
    from northern, NV November 22, 2014Music Background:
    variety, venturing into bass

    Fool me once

    The Mackie Thump 12 is a really nice build that inspires confidence when seeing the outside case. But upon use it lacks clarity and and has more overcast sound than I expected. There were 2 more issues which made me lose confidence in the product. The volume control has 2 settings in my opinion: soft and loud. It sits at soft until the volume control is about turned up all the way then suddenly jumps to loud The final issue is although I was expecting to have less power than the advertised 1,000 watts, I really feel short changed upon using it. I don't like hyped up product performance. I like solid foundation truth. This is much lower than the 1,000 watts in my opinion and is so much lower it seems that Mackie is taking this to the extreme. The package sure looks nice. The case design is a 4 star. But performance is really in the price range----far from the advertised range. I will never buy another Mackie product again. They've lost my trust and respect. I don't care if that's the industry standard to advertise peak watts and not perform. Because their are companies advertising the same stats and have their products performing. Fool me once.

  • Chuck
    from December 8, 2015

    Not A Great Speaker

    I've had three of these. Build quality is good. Had to send one back as it fuzzed out. Mackie does have excellent customer service, but this is not speaker you would want to use to impress your audience. I've used worse, but I've also used much better. If you want quality, you can get a decent sound at a low volume. Anything louder than a coffee shop crowd of 20-25 people, and I would look at another speaker. A sub would definitely help compliment this speaker, as the low end is not there. As another reviewer noticed, there is a volume spike at around 3 o'clock. I don't care for the EQ section, either. I rarely use it and just run flat. Of course, if you don't have a great sound to begin with, EQ won't help much. This speaker was what I could afford at the time, but if you want sound quality and clarity at a higher volume, save your money and get a better product. I actually like Mackie gear, but this is definitely not a high-end speaker. Just for the record, I'm a life-long performer and project studio owner, and have higher expectations than most. If you just do an acoustic solo / duo gig or use these for light stage monitor use, these will probably be okay for you. If you're a discriminating singer / musician, then you will probably want to go for higher quality.

  • Ken
    from Erie, PA March 16, 2015Music Background:
    30 Years, DJ

    It's a good speaker

    This is a good speaker, for what it is. It does get loud, however you really can't put it up against anything high end, but then you're not paying a premium price either. I'm carrying it as a back up, should I ever need one. It's light weight and easy to store. It does what it's supposed to do, and I'm not unhappy with it.

  • Michael
    from White Plains, NY March 6, 2016

    Great sound but beware

    I bought a Thump12 for a rehearsal space and it's very lightly used. The sound was perfect for my application but after four months the Thump will no longer power on. Sending it back to Sweetwater is extremely expensive in relation to the cost of the unit and the local Mackie authorized service center has very poor ratings so I avoided them. All the cost savings of Internet purchase were lost so my recommendation is to evaluate service as part of your purchase priorities.

  • party addict
    from September 8, 2015

    mackie th 15

    good quality sound at very low volume ,the peak light it constantly on at higher volume and its far from 1000 watts

Questions about the Mackie Thump 1000W 12" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close