0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

On-Stage Stands DT8500 Throne with Backrest Reviews

4.0 stars based on 43 customer reviews
Questions about the On-Stage Stands DT8500 Throne with Backrest?

Questions about the On-Stage Stands DT8500 Throne with Backrest?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    Finally my own chair that feels ok for guitar playing, with foot and back rest!
    Now I don't have to worry about bar stools anymore...

  • Aviv Naamani
    from Louisville KY April 26, 2017Music Background:
    Part time guitarist

    Throne with Back rest

    Very comfortable and easy on the back. The only improvement I can suggest is an attachment so that the legs can extend further in front

  • Customer
    from March 22, 2017

    Good chair

    Not sure yet how in love i am with it yet. but i like it.

  • Roger
    from SW Michigan March 10, 2017

    A good solution

    As a keyboard player in various venues, I have been at the mercy of a sorry collection of chairs and cushions of many types over the years.
    This chair seems to be a decent solution to that situation. It's reasonably portable and is quite comfortable.

    It was a little high for my purposes so I pulled the shaft the seat is mounted to, cut it off and drilled a new hole for the locking bolt. It solved the problen.

    I recommend this seat to anyone with a seating problem.

  • Customer
    from February 13, 2017

    too tall

    I was looking for an arm less chair to play guitar on. It works , but it seems too tall for me anyway , at it's lowest setting. I think I should have just gotten a drummer's throne.
    However the product appears solid and is easily assembled.

  • Customer
    from February 9, 2017Music Background:
    Professional folk musician

    Not really working for folk guitarist

    I think that this unit performed exactly as advertised. It is extremely sturdy, height-adjustable and transportable for the most part (although a bit bulky). The problem is that as a folk guitarist if I sit straight-on the way the footrests demand, then I get all twisted around ... either that or I don't end up with comfortable access to the full fretboard. Now that I'm paying attention, I notice that when I sit in a conventional chair with a footrest, I naturally play with my chest pointing about 45-degrees to stage left. I'm guessing I do the same thing when sitting on a conventional wooden stool. So this is probably a perfect throne for a great price, but it didn't work for me. Rather than return it to Sweetwater, I bet I find a buyer for it in zero time ... just not from a fellow folk guitarist.

  • Richard H. Cromer
    from Webster, Fl. January 19, 2017Music Background:
    Just a self taught guitar player enjoying the jams in the area.

    On the Throne

    I bought the Stand for a friend who has problems standing long periods of time and he seems to like it. He uses it at jam sessions as I do mine. I thought it might give him some relief. It is a good stool.

  • tony
    from valpo. In. September 10, 2016

    very nice

    i have had this item for about 2 weeks now, and i love it. very easy to put together, no tools required. it helps keep me in a good playing position, as opposed to sitting on the couch or a chair. i find the padding on the seat to be very comfortable. the adjustable height is great, if im practicing or playing for a fair amount of time, i will change the position on the height which is very easy to do. im 6 foot, 185lbs, and have no problem, getting comfortable on this throne. i have the on-stage stand for the guitar also, and i really like there products. i would say give this a try, it just may be the one for you.

  • Customer
    from August 5, 2016

    Durable

    Good stool for shoulder and back pain.

  • Ron S.
    from Justin, Texas July 23, 2016

    On-Stage Throne with Backrest

    I LUV my On-Stage Throne with Backrest. It's great that it has a foot rest so you can get your guitar in the most comfortable position.

  • Tim
    from Rhode Island April 10, 2016Music Background:
    35 years as a musician, sound and light productions.

    Nice throne

    This is overall a comfortable seat. The two things I would ask for to make it a 5-star product would be to have a little more adjustability and for it to fold up a little smaller. The seat can be removed with hand screw bolts, which is ok but not quick. You can adjust the height of the seat but not the foot rest. Still, it does the job well and I would recommend it.

  • Steve
    from Vermont February 8, 2016Music Background:
    working musician for about 40 years

    Nice, but buky

    I am very happy with this overall. I am a jazz guitarist. I have been gigging with this throne for over a year. I bought it after my other folding stool collapsed. This throne is built like a piece of gym equipment -- very solid. Also very comfortable. The footrest allows for a pretty good classical posture. My only complaint is that it doesn't fold up flat and it takes a couple of minutes to assemble and dissemble, and then you have to transport loose pieces.

  • Denny James
    from Northern California December 22, 2015Music Background:
    Acoustic Solo Performer, Singer/Songwriter

    Very Comfortable for working Musician's

    I have used this on several gigs since purchasing it in December 2015. It is a sturdy, well constructed and reliable stand. I have been performing for over thirty years and this is the best stool that I have used, I am an acoustic guitar/singer soloist who performs at wineries, cafe's and restaurants. It is easy to break down and transport. I would recommend this working musicians...

  • Dana
    from Cincinnati December 8, 2015Music Background:
    lead singer in a band

    On-Stage Stands DT8500 Throne with Backrest

    Product is great-just as described! What was even better was the personal attention you give to your customers!! I received a phone call from a LIVE person checking on my order and also a follow up email- Who does that anymore?

  • Em
    from NJ October 25, 2015

    sound guy

    when i first got it i was happy with it...but then the 4 screws that hold the seat on keep falling out and then stripped the wood in the seat....trying to find way to fix it..will look for another kind of seat now..

  • Brad
    from Los Angeles September 21, 2015

    Saves your back

    Just what I was looking for. Standing at a keyboard all night long was murder on my feet and lower back. This throne provides the perfect solution.

  • TRIPLE JJJ
    from NASHVILLE. September 6, 2015Music Background:
    15 years

    Bassist

    VERY COMFORTABLE YOU CAN ADJUST THE HEIGHT TO FIT YOUR NEED THE BACK REST IS AWESOME YOU LEAN BACK AND BRING IT I PLAY A FENDER JAZZ NO PROBLEM PLAYING FOR HOURS BEST PURCHASE OR INVESTMENT MADE THANKS SWEETWATER.

  • Thomas Akers
    from Eufaula, OK July 7, 2015Music Background:
    Pro keyboard player and studio engineer

    TA Oklahoma

    Bought this throne and love it have high dollar thrones and this throne is so much better on my back, have had two back surgeries and sitting at this one does not tire me out. I drilled holes on frame and added wheels and rolls great around if you install chair seat one way the back rest is to far just turn it around and it's just right to adjust the back rest further just cut or bend stop plate. Little adjustments to fit your body and this is a great throne and the price well worth mony. Going to buy more for studio

  • Heather
    from Grand Rapids March 15, 2015

    Comfortable & Durrable

    Very comfortable seat w/thick padding. Made w/quality materials.

  • Steve Ellis
    from Vermont March 6, 2015Music Background:
    40+ years as performing musician.

    Very sturdy and comfortable

    I'm a jazz guitarist and I play out several times a month, mostly solo, duo and small ensemble gigs. My folding guitar stool finally collapsed after three years of regular use, so I decided to replace it with something sturdier and more comfortable. Just got this throne yesterday, and I think I will be very happy with it. I was concerned about the height of the footrest but its actually quite comfortable. The throne is well-cushioned, and very solid and sturdy. The only drawback is that you need to disassemble it in order to make it lay flat for transport. This is not not difficult, with all fasteners being easily tightened and untightened by turning a knob, but it is a bit inconvenient and takes a couple of minutes. The stool is also a bit heavy, but that's the trade-off for its solid steel construction. However, it is clearly not as portable as my old folding stool, so I probably won't be automatically taking it to every gig.

  • Eddie Miller
    from Ft. Worth,Texas February 17, 2015Music Background:
    Professional entertainer since 1955 till present.

    woudl not recommend this product to anyone!!!!

    Very uncomfortable, stiff and the back does not reach one's back for support!!

  • Richard Cromer
    from Webster, Florida December 19, 2014Music Background:
    jamming and own pleasure

    Good for Me

    I own one of these and use it for a jam that may run 4 hours. Keeps me pretty comfortable for that long of a time when I need to sit. I love it and some others envy me when I sit at the right height with my foot and leg resting comfortable to hold my guitar on my knee..

  • Rob Vogland
    from HI, USA December 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, home recording engineer,

    On-stage Stands DT8500 Throne

    It's a solid chair and sits just right for playing an instrument of any type. The only thing I would change is the adjustment that is now not easy with a bolt to unscrew and move out to change it's position. If this chair had an easy adjustment capability then it would rate high in my book. Right now it's a one person throne on stage or in the studio because of the effort it takes to adjust it now.

  • Carl Lewis Jones
    from Raymond, NH November 16, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, occupation Mech. Engineer.

    The on-stage DT8500

    The chair with the backrest works very well and the only down side it's not as portable as I was hoping. Saying that I have other people wanting to buy this product.

  • Gary
    from Raleigh, NC October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist/and playing a lot more since I've retired

    Throne/with brackrest

    Maybe some more "little" adjustment options will make this a five star for future buyers, but i'am pleased with the purchase for the cost.
    Iam six ft. and have no problem with leg bar height and sometimes use a small cushion for back if I play a long spell. Also if you need to look at music or lyrics it is also better to use a stand so you are not glancing down. Leg bar problems might stem not so much from your height, but if you have a long torso for your height, etc... easy to put together...I have not been disappointed with any of the four guitars, amp, stand and supplies I've purchased from Sweetwater.

  • Dan
    from South Central PA August 1, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, educator

    Nice throne, questionable design choices

    Overall, it's a nice sturdy throne. Some things about the design puzzle me:
    1. The back rest isn't adjustable front to back. Why didn't they put more than one hole in the bar that slides under the seat so it could be moved closer?
    2. The pad on the back rest don't raise or lower. It would be nice to be able to slide it down the support bar.
    3. The footrest is welded on. It would be nice if it could be slid lower on the front bar. I'm 6'2" and it's too high for me.
    4. The pad is VERY firm. It would be nice if it had a bit more give to it.

    I do like the throne and I can easily set it as high as I need. These few design changes would make it that much nicer.

  • Dennis Erickson
    from Bozeman, Montana February 27, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician

    You won't fall asleep in this chair

    Great chair for the money, no question. The back rest is not fully adjustable in that you can't move it forward on it's slider, that motion is restricted by an 'end stop' plate beneath the seat cushion, so in effect you don't get the support of the back rest unless you recline in the chair, which is not what the chair is designed to allow you to do. When performing, you want to sit forward kind of on the edge of the chair. Great placement of foot rests, nice height adjustment. I'd buy again.

  • Old Bass Wizzard
    from Bellefonte, PA. September 18, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior Bass Player

    Super Throne

    I alredy had one of these thrones and ordered a second one. Our guitarist was always making me feel guilty for sitting durring gigs so I ordered a second one. Great seat, stable, comfortable, easy to transport and adjustable. Raises to a suitable height to not make you look like a dwarf ,when playing with standing muscians.

  • JON Weaver iii
    from Nashville, Tennessee June 20, 2013Music Background:
    Piano-Keyboard Musician - Country-Ragtime-Jazz Artist

    GREAT for me . . a Piano and Keyboard Musician

    I am very pleased with the location of the backrest (that is one of the reasons why I purchased this ON-STAGE product). Just one recommended change to the manufacturer. The seat should be adjustable to 19 inches to be compatible with acoustic pianos and standard benches. I had 1 1/2 inches removed and new holes bored from the main seat post to adjust to my preference when performing with an acoustic piano, with a keyboard all adjustments are fine as the keyboard stand is also adjustable. GREAT ITEM . . . I RECOMMED it for any stage performance or studio use . . . JONWiii

  • Bruce Boatner
    from Meridian, ID June 14, 2013Music Background:
    Playing music before the Dead Sea was even sick.

    Great with this recommended modification

    I agree with most of the reviews that this is a very sturdy and useful stool. However I noticed even from the pictures that the relationship between the seat and the backrest appeared to be off. I thought there might be some adjustment, but after I'd assembled it I found out sure enough I always seemed to be sitting on the very back edge of the seat. After several days of testing, I decided to move the seat back 1 1/2 inches. Now it's much more comfortable. Just remove the 4 seat bracket screws, move the bracket 1 1/2" towards the "front" (with no seam). Locate the holes with a silver Sharpie, set with a small nail and tap with a 7/64" bit. The seat base material is very strong, and the back of the seat will be supported on the metal back support brace.

  • Jim R.
    from Texas panhandle May 29, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, and I play in church.

    Just what I needed.

    I play guitar, and sing, in church. The music ministry is very important to me, but I have a really bad back and I sometimes am unable to stand and play my 12 string. I saw this "throne" while browsing through the many items available on Sweetwater's website, and decided I'd give it a try. I am very glad I did! Now, I can play even when I'm in pretty bad pain. I have found that I actually play better when I am not fighting pain! The other members of our group have taken a liking to it as well. I am considering purchasing another DT8500 to use at home. It is sturdy, and sits solid with no rocking back and forth, or side to side. The cushion is well padded, and the adjustments for height are easy to do. When I first took possession of the DT8500, I thought the foot-rest bar might be too high, but it is not. The foot-rest bar allows me to wear my guitar a little higher than I normally wear it with a guitar strap. This not only makes playing the guitar more comfortable, but it also puts the guitar closer to the microphone, so the mic picks up just the right amount of guitar for the sound ratio that I want. It's a good stool, and a great value. You will not be disappointed with this purchase!

  • Mark Winn
    from hannibal, mo. April 3, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist- student

    on stage dt 8500 throne, the perfect addition to your private studio

    very well made, no cheap plastic here, built for years of use. very well made (all steel tubing). height adjustable,well padded seat and backrest. if your playing guitar sitting on abar stool like I was ,ditch the stool,this is great and a lot more comfortable

  • Terry Tucker
    from TEXAS March 29, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    On Stage Stand D T8500 Throne with Backrest

    Throne is every thing U say & eve more!!!!!!!!!!!

  • jeff
    from INDIANA, USA October 29, 2012Music Background:
    guitar picker/vocalist

    Great chair for the price....

    Nice chair for the price.
    I purchased two chairs for our guitar and bass duo.
    Its nice to be able to fold up the chair, and to have the "same" chair at each gig, rather than have to use a bar stool or stand.

    The foot rest is about two-four inches too high for the average person....your knees are bent too much for comfort. I am 5'9", and I have to raise the seat height to the last notch to use the foot rest. I plan on having it removed and welded lower.

    Knowing that, It's well worth the money and I would recommend it to others.

  • James
    from Mason, OH October 16, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, Guitar Instructor, Studio Engineer/Owner

    Great guitarist throne!

    Very impressed & happy with this comfy throne! Great for anyone with a bad back who needs to sit through hours of studio work or teaching. This chair is also less expensive, & better looking than others I compared it to. Wish I could have gotten one of these years ago!

  • Vince
    from Southeastern MI USA October 9, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/Song Writer/Bass Player

    Comfortable, stable, convenient

    I was surprised at how comfortable and stable this chair is. The seat is comfortable with just the right amount of give and the back rest provides enough adjustable range to find the right fit. The folding legs and knob make it portable and easy to transport and store.

  • sheryl
    from Arizona September 25, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    A good product. Easy to use.

    I really like this product. It was easy to put together and very comfortable. I use it both for practice and performance. The seat/back cushions are very comfortable. The only improvement I would like to see is to design the product so that it will be more compact for travel. Although the legs fold up, you have to take the seat back off in order to make it more compact for travel.

  • Bill in Tennessee
    from Knoxville, TN May 2, 2012Music Background:
    Full time editor, part time musician

    I just LUV my new gig stand

    I frequently play gigs that last more than 2 hours...and because of a bad lower back (jumping out of helicopters in the Marines years ago) after a long gig end up with lower back pain. This seat/stand is a God-send, it gives me back support and I don't have the pains now that I used to have after a 2- or 3- hour gig. I play guitar, mandolin, and hammered dulcimer, so I use it for several different venues and it just works. Best purchase I've made in awhile, and Sweetwater's price is better than anyone else's. If I could change ANYTHING about it, I would make it more collapsible, or foldable, but it fits nicely in my RAV-4 among my other gear, so I won't complain about it.

  • Chuck Grall
    from Sequim, WA April 10, 2012Music Background:
    Somewhere between a novice and a genius.

    Nice Solid Chair

    When you weight 300 lbs like me (God help you) you need something solid and dependable under you. This chair does just that. It doesn't fold completely flat like some of the others but it does fold up enough to transport okay. I like it a lot and feel it is a great buy at Sweetwater Music..

  • Customer
    from March 2, 2012

    i just wish bought it earlier

    It is just silly not to have this chair. After you sit in it you feel like an idiot because you didn't have sooner.

  • Dwayne
    from Fort Wayne, Indiana February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Beginner Bass Player

    Throne with Backrest

    I am a beginner bass player and a big guy, over 300 lbs, and up to this time I had been playing in a computer chair. I felt that I was resting my left arm too much on the arm rests and was unable to move that arm as fast as I needed. The Throne gives me that much needed freedom of movement while still comfortably handling all my weight.

  • Jim Elrich
    from United States December 23, 2011Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Guitar player

    The On-Stage Stands Throne with Backrest

    Having three rods and 4 screws in my back, this chair comes in handy, It is very comfortable, money well spent! Very handy for my last gig!

  • George Leyden
    from Athens,GA July 6, 2011Music Background:
    professional musician

    Great throne for muli-instumentalist

    Very versatile stool with backrest. I've had a severe spinal injury and this really. helps me get through longer gigs. I play keyboards, saxes, flutes, clarinet and guitar, and this gives good support in a semi-standing or sitting position allowing for good breath support and comfort.
    The only drawback I've experienced is that it's not designed to break down for travel and therefore takes up a lot of room in the van or trailer.

  • Irene
    from Matawan, NJ, USA May 26, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Good Throne for Guitar

    Sweetwater advice was very helpful with this purchase. Nice throne for use when playing guitar. Very sturdy and easy to assemble. Folds up in a snap. Just the throne that I was looking for. Sweetwater service and delivery always the best.

Questions about the On-Stage Stands DT8500 Throne with Backrest?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway