0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Eminence Texas Heat Patriot Series 12" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm Reviews

5.0 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Eminence Texas Heat Patriot Series 12" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Questions about the Eminence Texas Heat Patriot Series 12" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana December 20, 2016Music Background:
    Played rock for over fifty years

    Texas Heat 150

    I play through a Peavey Valveking 212 and one of the speakers went bad. I did some research and concluded these Texas Heat 150s was the way to go. I wanted them matched so I went ahead and got two from Sweatwater and put them in. Well the other night I had the house to myself so I put them to the test. I even used my wireless and turned it up to about four and got in the other room and played. Four is very loud on this amp but the sound was amazing. I use a lot of distortion even though I am sixty three years old and only play rock music.What I was really impressed with was the clarity on both distortion and clean. My opinion is you can't buy a better speaker at any price.

  • from Cleveland, OH April 17, 2016

    Awesome 12

    I have two of these installed into a 1975 Peavy Classic. Amp was cheap and after a tube change and a few minor adjustments, I felt the next step was a speaker change... The '75 Classic came with Eminence speakers that looked like standard PA speakers... metal cone and huge magnet. I wanted to get the same brand speakers as stock, but upgrade in sound. I play a lot of blues/country/alternative/classic rock and use a Fender Strat mostly. I really like where these speakers took the sound of this amp. Super clean tones. You even retain the sound of the speaker and amp when using effects properly. To drive these speakers/amp I use a XO Big Muff with the tone cut. I still get a lot of definition and clarity in the speaker but it's chunky and heavy. Great for certain types of alernative and doom/stoner metal or a classic rock style solo. A very economic choice to get some great speakers that bring old amps back to life and likely would improve a vast number of new stock amps 12".

  • from Buda, TX April 12, 2016Music Background:
    Classic Rock, Blues, Country, Americana

    brought a beat up old amp back to life

    I got a classic Mesa Boogie Son of the Original Boogie (SOB) at a pawn shop for a killer deal, the poor thing needed some TLC, I got it new tubes and that made the fact that the speaker was long dead blaringly obvious. I did some searching around the internet and the speaker everyone was saying I should put in was way out of my price range, So I did some searching and made my way to the Eminence site, I have a few amps with Eminence speakers in them and they always sounded great. after some listening through some of the samples I decided that the Texas Heat was the sound I was after (since the SOB is based off the MK 1 which was a Princeton mod originally). Through this amp I play blues, country, classic rock, americana and rockabilly and all of it is absolutely crisp and incredible. I haven't really thrown heavy distortion at it but that's not how I play. This speaker brought my amp back to life like nothing I could have imagined. Also always love purchasing through Sweetwater, the best customer service, selection and prices.

  • from OK February 15, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing for many years

    Worth changing

    I thought the original speaker sounded good for clean tone , but when I played driven tones through the original special fender eminence speaker, the higher frequencies were harsh and shrilly, the sustain and musicality was not there; so after reading about other people's thoughts on their experience, it seemed that the general consensus was that the Texas heat sounded better.l
    The driven tones are more smooth rounded and not harsh creamier and musical , the higher notes are still l clear without the shrill, and all frequencies are balanced , bottom end, mid frequencies and headroom are clean and musical. I'm glad I changed to this speaker everything sounds better , very happy about buying this speaker,

  • from Arkansas December 27, 2015Music Background:
    Retired professional

    The Perfect Mate to a Fender Amp and Axe!

    No doubt about it, the Texas Heat speaker was MADE for Fender amps and guitars. I own a 2013 Hot Rod Deluxe iii which came with a Chinese Celestion 70/80 speaker, which I immediately replaced with an old Eminence Legend 125 I had hanging around in the parts closet. That was a good decision, as the amp came alive and began to "breathe" more in the mids and highs, plus it really tightened up the flabby bass. But not really happy with the amp's sound and after reading rave reviews about the Texas Heat for the past few months, I decided to slam one in the HRD and see if there was any significant improvement. Boy, was there. I had to turn the volume DOWN because of the increased volume due to the speaker's high efficiency, and the highs and mids just jump out at you without being unbalanced. It let the natural voicing of the amp loose, and you get tons of the Fender signature sound, especially crystalline in the clean channel. But the speaker is also impressive in the mid range, being able to project warm, round jazz tones as well as any I've heard. A very impressive speaker that could take on just about any type of tonal challenge I chose to throw at it. Fender ought to make these the standard issue in their amps and quit messing around with cheaper speakers. People would be GLAD to buy a Fender amp at a bit higher price if they sounded like THIS one!

    Bottom line: This speaker was made for Fender amps, especially the tube variety. And if you really want to hear the Tele twang and bite, and the Strat "quack," you need to run this speaker. Period.

  • from United States January 28, 2014Music Background:
    live musician, hobbyist

    Awesome speaker, great value

    I picked up a '90s Fender Princeton solid state, which isn't a bad amp, and the cleans were pretty good with the stock speaker but my overdrive/distortion pedals sounded terrible when engaged. The mids were super muddy and it just made everything sound cheap and thin. This speaker fixed that problem. The mids are very crisp and my pedals sound great on it. It even crisped up my cleans and enhanced the overall tone of the amp. The lows are tight and fat in the best kind of way. If you want to breathe new life into your amp or fix muddy mids, buy this speaker. Can't beat it for $75.

  • from Southern CA December 24, 2013Music Background:
    35+ years playing. Lead and Rhythm guitarist in a contemporary worship band.

    WAKE UP YOUR AMPS & CABINETS!

    I put two of these into my solid-state Fender FM-212 because the stock speakers were like nails across a chalk board to my ears. No matter what I did with my tone controls, I couldn't get them to lose that high end harshness without killing some midrange and bass. The Texas Heats made the top end clear without being screechy, eliminated that harshness, and added nice clear midrange and excellent bottom end. Plenty of power handling too. Still wanting a little more low end, I put a piece of particle board on the back of the amp to close it up and that FM-212 became a tone machine! A tube preamp on the effects loop completed an awesome sound. I'm putting these Texas Heats in all my other cabs and extensions.

  • from Woonsocket , R.I. August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Eminence Rules !!!!

    I am a huge fan of Eminence Speakers. Not only do I have a Rajun Cajun in my 1993 Fender Champion 110 combo, but I just got one of these Texas Heat speakers to install in my recently acquired, 1988 USA made, Red Knob, Fender Studio 85 combo. Not that there was anything wrong with the original speaker, but I wanted a Eminence in it. After installing it, I noticed that it bought new life into my 25 year old amp. The cleans are now more pronounced and clearer not to mention much louder as well. Plus the Gain has more sustain and is also cleaner sounding as well. These are great sounding speakers that will improve the sound of any combo you put them in folks.

  • from Rochester, NH January 5, 2013Music Background:
    Artist, writer, mediocre musician, health care.

    Eminence Texas Heat 8 ohm and 6L6 Mesa Boogie Tubes in Fender Blues Deluxe

    I recently purchased a 12 inch Eminence Texas Heat speaker and two matching 6L6 Mesa Boogie tubes and placed them i my Fender Blues Deluxe reissue Tweed. Let me just say, "Oh, Baby." Prior to the change I ran the amp at between 3 and five volume (out of 12) and rattled glass 70 feet across the house. Now it only takes 2. My dog doesn't tend to howl as much either because of the base and low-end capture.
    The staff were awesome to deal with. This company understands customer interaction and accomodation. I'm not generally an on line buyer, but I will not hesitate to use Sweetwater again in the future.

  • from Memphis, TN USA November 8, 2012Music Background:
    artist

    Texas Heat

    very full sound, tons of low end which is what i was looking for. I put it in my Fender Super Twin Reverb 180 watts. Extremely loud and surprisingly clear

  • from Pomfret, CT November 14, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist 30 years - Rock, Blues, Country

    Great Upgrade to Fender Hot Rod

    I have owned many amps over the past 30 years but never owned a Fender. I decided I would complete the bucket list item and pick one up off of Craigslist. Found a 2002 Fender Hot Rod Deluxe for $280 so I couldn't resist. I knew right away I needed to junk the speaker and do a new set of tubes and rebias (which is amazingly easy). Listened to a lot of videos on youtube and decided this sounded pretty nice and had the wattage to handle how loud the Fender is. This speaker sounds super fat (need to turn the bass down now) and I actually needed to add more highs back in the eq. You need to play this at a slightly elevated volume to get it to shine. Playing it at low volume just won't sound the same. Get the Fender up around 3 on the clean channel and it sounds perfect. Just a side note - put an 12 AT 7 in v3 and you will have more of a smooth control over the volume. Great speaker and a super upgrade. I will stand this amp up now to most any out there with my Fulltone pedals.

  • from May 19, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-professional; have played since 1988; rock, pop, blues, jazz, worldbeat, hiphop, R&B, electronica

    Smooth Power

    This speaker is still breaking in (I've only got about 4-5 hours on it) so it still feels a bit stiff. With that being said, this thing is a cannon. It is a bit darker than the Red, White, and Blues, which I also have, but that's a good thing in my case since I use a bright-sounding guitar (hardtail Strat with just a bridge humbucker). The combination of this speaker with my guitar yields a smooth, focused tone with a strong percussive attack. I use this speaker in an 80 watt 1-12 combo, and it is my go-to for those few gigs where I need REALLY loud and clear.

  • from Binghamton NY August 29, 2014Music Background:
    Musician engineer

    12

    Great experience purchasing gear from sweetwater! Look forward to getting more gear.

  • from North Manchester, IN USA July 8, 2014Music Background:
    Local musician

    Hot hot hot

    I was kind of confused on what kind I replacement speakers to get for my cab. When the sales rep suggested Texas Heat speakers I was skeptical at first but I decided to try them out and once I got them in they've blown my mind since. For the price you can't go wrong.

  • from Diamondhead miss June 5, 2013Music Background:
    Playin for 48 years

    Texas heat

    Put Texas heat speakers in my quad reverb amp retained clean sound more bottom End nice clean highs can't wait till they are broken in

  • from San Diego ,Ca November 26, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician...

    The Heat is On!!!

    Feel like your amp isn't giving that sparkle
    your effects , lack effect...
    Well add a little Heat ( Texas Heat ) and all that magic will return to your sound... once again..
    This is one great sounding speaker...

Questions about the Eminence Texas Heat Patriot Series 12" 150-Watt Replacement Guitar Speaker 8 Ohm?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway