0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - Black Transparent Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - Black Transparent?

Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - Black Transparent?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Ohio March 23, 2017

    Very nice

    Absolutely love this guitar. It looks even better in person. The pickups are a little muddy, as was expected, but a few adjustments and it's easy to clear em up. Shipping was fantastic, I got it at standard and it took a day and a half (helps I'm from Ohio). Well worth the small investment, would absolutely recommend.

  • from Houston August 4, 2016

    One S-T-R-O-N-G Tele!

    I've played Teles since the 1960s, and I've had several, in various pickup configurations.

    But this one; it has the trademark Tele feel & sound, with the P-90s giving it some extra balance in tone.

    It plays beautifully clean, BUT those P-90s will come alive when overdriven!

    The construction & finishing touches are top quality; along with Sweetwater's 1st rate setup.

    As with so many of my other instruments purchased from Sweetwater, it came ready to play.

  • from encinitas, ca May 7, 2015

    Amazing guitar

    I am blown away by this thing! Mahogany body, P90s, nice thin, fast neck. I can't find a single flaw. Sounds great clean, distorted, covers a ton of tonal range. It sounds fat even with .009s on it.

  • from October 12, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Recording Engineer

    A Keeper!

    The first time I plugged this guitar in, it blew me away! The P90s just sing and cut through the mix effortlessly. They also have this percussive attack that I just can't get enough of. And to top it all off, they have a well-balanced frequency response. The notes just come out super clear--even when played through ample amounts of gain.

    The guitar feels great to play. Once you pick it up, you'll have a hard time putting it down--and I haven't even had mine set up to suit my playing style. Of course, the fact that it looks absolutely stunning doesn't hurt either.

    Now, as for the equipment I'm running this through, I'm just using a Fender Mustang III V2. I don't have any pedals. It's just the guitar straight to the amp.

    I mainly play disco punk, rock and alternative music. But I'm pretty sure this guitar would easily handle heavier styles equally well.

    Kudos to the Sweetwater team, especially Bob Furlong, for helping me with my purchase. The guitar arrived here in perfect condition. It was carefully inspected and packed before being shipped out. It's just topnotch customer service. I can't wait for my next purchase!

  • from Monticello, IN October 3, 2013Music Background:
    Studio owner, musician

    Big winner!

    I bought this because I wanted a Tele and the price was very good. The pickups are hot, the tone is clean, the action is superb and I feel like I stole this thing! One of the best guitars I've ever owned. If I would change anything it would be putting the pickup switch below the pickups, not above. Other than that, a winner.

  • from South Georgia February 26, 2013Music Background:
    48 years playing the guitar and still learning

    The Olde Coach and His tTelecaster Thinline

    Light weight, beautiful finish,great neck and wonderful service from Sweetwater.

  • from April 27, 2017

    I love this guitar

    This guitar is easy to play, light weight but sounds heavy. It's difficult for me to put down. A lot of fun to play with a rich sound.

  • from KCMO July 20, 2015

    P90 Tele

    Guitar arrived perfectly. Plays great and really like the sound of the Tele with the P90's

  • from Seattle November 26, 2016Music Background:
    Math Rock and Blues

    Great modding platfrom

    Cons:
    Mediocre pickups, bridge is a little to bright and the neck is way to muddy
    The bent steel bridge saddles poke into your hand when palm muting and need to be filed down
    Plastic nut
    Heavy gloss on the back of the neck (some people may like this, I don't)
    Tuner heads are nothing special

    Pros:
    Mahogany body looks amazing in person with the clear coating
    Gibson style control layout (more options overall than a standard tele)
    Comfortable neck/easy to play
    Semi hollow body makes it pretty light
    Great setup thanks to sweetwater


    You get what you pay for. This is not a perfect guitar and after playing it for a couple minutes you can start to see where they had to cut back to get the price down. That being said it's still pretty dang good and with a few relatively cheap mods you can make this play and feel like an american made tele.

    I ended up replacing the nut, tuners, bridge saddles, string trees and pickups. Now it plays and sounds perfect. With mods it's about $ and I think it's just as good if not better than any american/mexican tele. (Plus you get to use P90's)

  • from Palm Bay, FL September 9, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Songwriter, Sound Engineer, Humanities Professor

    The P90s Disappoint

    This Telecaster is a very good guitar. The neck plays well, although I'd prefer a satin finish to the gloss. It seems to stay in tune well. The controls do their job nicely. The finish is beautiful, and I love the string-thru on such an inexpensive instrument. The one drawback is the same feature that led me to buy this model in the first place: the P90 pickups. The pups are quite muddy in spite of every setting, both on the guitar and my amp. I have already ordered a set of Entwistle X90s as replacements; I recently discovered these pickups, and I believe they are the best P90-type pickups on the market today.

  • from AZ. March 25, 2016Music Background:
    Just an old guitar player

    Modern Player Telecaster

    Very nice ! setup was spot on (thanks Sweetwater) mine is 7 lbs. and has a nice warn tone. The Fender
    P-90's are not as bright as the Gibson. This gives the Fender a unique sound all its own.
    Bottom line- for the price you can't go wrong !

  • from February 26, 2013

    Thinline Deluxe

    The first thing I'll say about this guitar is that the height adjustment allen screws are sharp and they need to be filed so they don't irritate the hand, but other than that it is a good guitar. I like the bridge, I like the weight, the tone is fine, I suppose it is what the individual player is wanting? Is this the guitar of my dreams; does it have the tone that I'm searching for in my head will it's still to early to till and of course the amp has something to do with the tone. However I am in the camp that says, "Tone is something that comes by our fingers more than the guitar itself;" of course each guitars has it's own tone and quailty of a guitar's wood makes a difference. It's a good guitar.

Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - Black Transparent?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway