0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - 3-tone Sunburst Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - 3-tone Sunburst?

Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - 3-tone Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Bristol April 5, 2017

    Great fat sound

    Great fat blues sound. Didn't know it was made in China though. Though it was a made in Mexico Tele. No big deal still great guitar

  • from Michigan December 27, 2016Music Background:
    Learned to play on 1968

    Fender Modern Player Tele Thinline Deluxe

    I have the Fender Thinline Tele with Humbuckers. I wanted a guitar with P90's, and was checking out Gibson. I saw this guitar, and for $ less than my other Thinline, it was a no brainer to buy it! I'm using the Fender 65 Deluxe Reverb Reissue head thru a Fender Hotrod 1X12 closed back cab that I put a Celestion Gold speaker into. The sound at rehearsal last night was great! The guitar plays like butter, feels good and I like the 3 tone color. My Gibson LP seem to always go out of tune. I don't really have that problem with my Fenders. It will be hard to find a better deal. I can't believe how I've changed thru the years. Started playing in a band in 2005 with a Gibson Les Paul Elegant and a Marshall 62 Reissue Bluesbreaker. Now? I'm all Fender!!!

  • from June 9, 2016

    BUY IT!

    My review title said Hendy...
    It should say BUY IT!

  • from Bemus Point, NY June 9, 2016Music Background:
    Over 40 years playing in acoustic and electric bands

    Hendy

    Great Guitar! First of all, let me say that I am VERY picky about guitars, cars and women, in that order. Went into a local guitar shop and my rhythm guitar player told me to "just sit down, shut your eyes and I'll hand you guitars to play" and then pick one. After playing over 10 different makes and models ranging from $500 to $2000, this guitar felt the best and sounded awesome. SOLD. I later bought a Line 6 Variax and a EVH Wolfgang from Sweetwater. With both guitars, either I didn't like the neck, the bridge (Floyd Rose) or the volume knobs were in the way. With this guitar, the neck in great, the action is awesome and the knobs are below the bridge pickup so your hand doesn't smash into them when strumming. The P-90's have a great tone from either soft rhythm to a crunchy lead, they do the job. For the money, this is it! Sweetwater and their reps are great to deal with sending me exactly what I ordered. I shall Return!

  • from Trinity, TX September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Over 30 years playing, gigging, recording

    First Fender neck I ever liked, and sounds great!

    I've played Fenders from US, Mexico, and Indonesia and I must say this has the BEST and most comfortable neck I have ever seen on any Fender. The slim neck and Medium Jumbo frets provide great action. I normally play Ibanez, but this beauty sounds great with the P90's and the 4 knob setup allows me to blend the pickups in the center position for fat, humbucker tones if I want them, and also cancels out noise in the center position.

    Of course the guitar arrived from Sweetwater in excellent condition and I gigged with it the same day I received it with no problems (although I did drop the action a bit).

    It sounds great, feels and plays great, and it's pretty easy on the eyes (not to mention the budget)! I highly recommend it.

  • from South Georgia February 26, 2013Music Background:
    48 years playing the guitar and still learning

    The Olde Coach and His tTelecaster Thinline

    Light weight, beautiful finish,great neck and wonderful service from Sweetwater.

  • from Gothenburg, Ne. November 1, 2012Music Background:
    LEAD SINGER-SONGWRITER

    JUST AWESOME SOUND!!! BUY IT - YOU WON'T BE SORRY.

    I bought this guitar thinking it would blow me away and it has. The pickups in this one have a lot more growl than my other electric with twin humbuckers. I am really impressed. I'm not big on heavy guitars so I bought this with that in mind. It is extremely comfortable to play....and that's for hours on end without fatique. Sweetwater does something that no other company that I know does....they send you the guitar that you personally picked out. I've been stung by that bee from other companies doing the bait and switch tactic.....If your on the fence about this guitar...get it you won't be sorry.

  • from Winona, Mn. USA July 21, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist.

    My new Telecaster Thinline.

    I absolutely love this guitar! It has such a wonderful "singing" quality to it's
    sound, and tone. The feel of this guitar, and of course the looks of this guitar are amazing as well. I love the tone, and extra sustain that this guitar has...it really sings to my ears.

  • from Boston Ma. February 17, 2015

    Happy with the sound and playability

    Pulled it out of the box plugged it and was impressed. Tones from country to blues and rock easy to dial in. really happy with the quality and again right out of the box was set up beautifully and was ready to rock after it was tuned to pitch. Sound was punchy and was able to cut through the mix live. A little overdrive made it sing for solos. Definite recommend.

  • from Trinity, TX April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro, over 30 years playing

    Update: Mods, necessary and otherwise

    While I still love this guitar, I experienced a lot of microphonic feedback if I got too close to the amp. Let's face it, in some venues, that's just not possible. And sometimes I'd turn around to tweak the amp and if my guitar volume was up... well, it squeals like a mic pointing at the PA speaker. Once I figured it out I looked around the web and figured out a simple way to pot the pickups in wax. Part of my problem may have been putting nickle/silver covers on the pickups, but I hate the pickguard and painted mine black, so the shiny pickups look a lot better. I also rewired from 4 knobs to 2 knobs, just my preference. You may want to put some locktite on the saddle height screws, as mine would vibrate loose and throw off my tuning. And I replaced the vintage tuners with Planet Waves locking, auto-trim tuners (I put them on all my guitars). Really makes string changing quick and easy and stabilizes the strings very quickly compared to standard multi-wrap stringing. So the pickups can be microphonic, 4 knobs is more trouble than it's worth (to me), and the only real negative I have about it is the design. Why does Fender have such beautiful finishes, then cover over half the guitar with a cheap piece of plastic? I will be designing and making a new pickguard shortly that allows me to see the wood finish and not so much plastic.

  • from FLORIDA December 8, 2015Music Background:
    40 YEARS OF NOODLING

    Leave The Original Neck Alone

    DON'T TRY TO SWOP NECKS OUT ON THIS GUITAR , LEAVE IT AS IS , IT HAS A 22 FRET NECK WITH (NO OVERHANG) I'VE TRIED AND YOU CANNOT INTONATE THE GUITAR UNLESS YOU MOVE THE BRIDGE , THE NECK POCKET IS FOR THE FENDER 22 FRET NO OVERHANG NECK THAT COMES ON THIS GUITAR , GREAT AFFORDABLE GUITAR , BUT IF WANT TO SWOP NECKS . I WOULD BUY ANOTHER MODEL . FROM SWEETWATER OF COURSE

  • from New York April 19, 2017Music Background:
    Been playing for 40 years off and on; a child of the 60's.

    it sings!

    The fender modern player thinline deluxe telecaster is a resonant mahogany bodied guitar with a fast maple neck. The tone when played clean through the neck pickup is amazingly clear and bell like. The notes jump off the the fret board. The bridge pickup has a bit of twang in it, but not like its solid body brothers. It's light, easy to play, and great fun. The strings are nines, which make bending and pinched notes easy. The guitar struggles with crunchier settings and it needs a good distortion pedal to get any satisfaction there.
    Set up was good, intonation almost perfect, string height nice, but could be lower. The frets look like mediums, and some of the ends are not finished clean enough. The high E string can catch a fret edge and hang up. The mahogany is nice to look at. I wish it had less stain at the edges. The entire thing is gloss coated in polyurethane. The white pick guard bugged me so it got immediately changed to a black one. Still thinking about changing out the knobs to silver barrels. The bridge plate looks a bit off and not quite parallel to the pick guard edge. I couldn't find any flaws in the body wood and if there are seams, they are well disguised.
    For the price, it's a great buy. It has its limitations but the neck pick up and fret board are too much fun to worry about the small stuff. The notes do go on for quite a while. I've played it through a Roland cube, a Vox 4 watter with tubes and a 22w Bugera. Each amp had a different but still sweet sound. I've played it with a couple of friends but not with the entire band yet. The music I play is jazz rock/pop/swampwater sort of stuff.
    I've had it for a month, haven't played it in every situation yet, but so far I'm happy with the purchase. Sweetwater was again a joy to do business with.

  • from Delaware February 21, 2013Music Background:
    Working Musician

    love the idea

    Oh dear Fender how i love thee, the look, the feel BUT hey guys! your stuck on the 25 1/2" scale and the 9.5 radius. You give us so many choices except for scale and neck radius.

    try a radius of 13 to 15 and a shorter scale 24 3/4" or even 25" a flatter radius and a shorter scale make for a better playing guitar. Note bends are so much easier for the small handed guys and girls.

    A level playing field/level frets makes for a great setup/action. the ratio between good necks and bad should be 10 to 1 one bad out of 10 guitars not the other way around.

    I really like the idea of this guitar. I guess i could always buy one and then get some custom work done to suit me or swap necks etc. Darn it Fender, you always leave me in want.

Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe - 3-tone Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway