rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Fender Standard Telecaster - Lake Placid Blue with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 28 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Lake Placid Blue with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Lake Placid Blue with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Boston May 7, 2017Music Background:
    Bedroom Crooner

    Inspired . That's all .

    Probably the least skilled guitarist 🎸 in all of Sweetwater Land . Knowing 3 chords this axe has inspired me to get back to lessons and enjoying this craft again . Matt Alexander was " tip top " . Professional through and through . When I learn a few more chords I will call Matt again to keep up the inspiration. Guitar is flawless , in tune and beautiful. Thanks for the candy too lads .

  • from Texas April 27, 2017Music Background:
    Continually learning

    Sweetwater. / Fender gear

    I am extremely happy with the fender Tele . and the fender tweed case .
    The Sweetwater sales tech. Was very helpful and knowledgeable , providing follow emails and a phone call .
    I have already ordered another guitar from Sweetwater and will continue purchasing gear.

  • from Upstate New York November 15, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing 45 years and consider myself an accomplished hobbyist.

    Another Great Purchase

    Once again..another great purchase from Sweetwater--my third in the past year and a half. The guitar showed up in perfect condition and perfect setup. This Standard Tele in Lake Placid Blue is simply beautiful; the color is amazing. This baby plays like a dream and lived up to all expectations. The action is like butter and PUPS are good for my liking. I was trying to justify the extra $ for the USA Fender American Special. I almost pulled the trigger on that one. But based on the reviews, this Standard won out. I am extremely happy that the beautiful Lake Placid Blue Telecaster is now a part of my collection. I would strongly recommend this model to any player--novice or pro.

  • from nashua October 17, 2016Music Background:
    experiences

    great guitar

    I've owned mine for about 2-3 years and I love it more and more each day. The neck is great for smaller hands and its such a light, comfortable guitar. I have "better" ones but when I play an occasional gig I always end up with this one. The bridge pickup is meaty with overdrive but nice and twanging cleaner for those Cash tunes we play. Still handles the Sabbath quite well. I love strats but they are just tough to balance that treble out live and the bridge pickup is too bright. Its a great guitar that mixes the single coil strat world with the mellower Gibson world. Frets were done well. for 500 bucks ive played some with lousy sharp frets but the boys in mexico seem good at filing those down. no fret buzz out of the box

  • from March 16, 2016

    Terrific Tele!

    Just received my Lake Placid Blue standard and it's everything I hoped it would be. The neck pickup produces a warm, fat sound and the tail pickup provides the jangly punch that one would expect from a Telecaster. In the middle position both pickups team to create clean crunch perfect for a power pop guy like me. The neck and fret board are smooth and fast and overall the guitar is comfortable to play. Sweetwater got it to me in two business days and the set-up was good straight out of the box. The Sweetwater folks even included a package of candy! The photos don't do justice to the color and finish. The blue is truly beautiful; akin to shade of shimmering cyan. If you're a Telecaster fan this guitar would be a solid purchase that is reasonably priced.

  • from Albuquerque, NM December 29, 2015Music Background:
    Former pro musician, current hobbyist

    Outstanding Guitar

    I have a variety of high quality electric guitars acquired over the last 40 years. All are fine instruments, but this new MIM Standard Telecaster won't take a back seat to any of them. I was, quite frankly, surprised at the quality and sound of this guitar. Don't let the fact that it was manufactured in Mexico scare you away from considering this guitar. It's very well crafted and you'll have a tough time distinguishing it from its American made relative.

    The action is nice and low and the pickups sound great. Of course, the bridge position has the trademark Tele twang, and the middle and neck positions offer their own distinctive sounds. Whether for rhythm or lead, this guitar sings, and for the price you simply can't go wrong. Lastly, the color: the pictures don't do it justice. The Lake Placid Blue makes for a truly beautiful guitar.

    Note that you'll need to buy a case separately. I got the Gator ABS molded case that was suggested as an accessory and it fits beautifully.

    My only quibble was the intonation. Normally Sweetwater does a great job at setup before sending anything out the door. This was my 5th guitar purchase from Sweetwater. In this particular case, strings 1 and 2 were intonated correctly, but strings 3 through 6 were off by a mile. After first tuning up with an electronic tuner, I was shocked when I strummed a simple open G chord to check the tuning. I could hear that the low E and A strings were ringing out incredibly sharp.

    Checking some fretted notes, my tuner confirmed what my ears were telling me: Those four strings weren't even anywhere in the ballpark, so it was impossible for the guitar to play in tune with itself as it was. I spent about 30 minutes adjusting the string lengths with a screwdriver, retuning and rechecking at the 12th fret until I was satisfied. Then the guitar finally sounded like the outstanding instrument it truly is.

    I still give the guitar 5 stars, though, even if someone skipped some setup steps in the pre-Christmas rush. It's a really sweet guitar.

  • from Ekron, KY December 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist for many years. Lover of Fender guitars.

    Lake Placid Blue Telecaster

    I love this Tele! I love all my Teles but this color is awesome. Plays like butter with great action. I've bought a lot of stuff from Sweetwater and never taken the time to post a review on any of it even though I'm happy with all of my purchases. Call Jason Koons ext 1389 . He's awesome too.

  • from Ekron, KY November 12, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist and player for many years.

    I Love This Tele

    I have many Fender guitars. 5 Mexican Teles and this one is my favorite. I have a black one that is close and a black paisley that I like a lot but this LPB just blows me away. I don't have any American Fenders at this time but I've owned four and I just can't see the difference in price for the quality you get from Mexico now. This guitar has the lowest action without any buzzing out of the box than any guitar I've ever bought. I love the pick ups no plans to change anything because it is perfect the way it is. Pictures don't do the color justice. Truly a beautiful guitar that plays like butter. I couldn't be happier.

  • from Lakeville mn. August 25, 2014Music Background:
    played in 2 bar bands

    fender standard telecaster

    This fender standard telecaster is the best guitar I have ever played
    you can try all the guitars you want but at the end of the day
    you will want the one that cuts through the mix the most and has
    the most personality. This is it because of the earth like sound
    from the hot ceramic pickups. These are way better than the alnico
    pickups that have cobalt in them.
    These were the electronics of the 1950s and 1960s.
    Do yourself a favor and get this guitar with the hotter more updated
    tone. Hint you only need your gain on your amp at 6 and this will save on the life of your tubes.

  • from FL July 21, 2014Music Background:
    Artist, producer,

    I am Satisfied

    Pro: The Fender Standard Telecaster felt and looked professional, everything felt tightened. The material as well as the knobs and switches felt professional also. The sound quality/tone of the Telecaster is very great.

    Con: Colors are limited and does not come with a case.
    If you are looking for something other than a telecaster you may find the sound and tone of the quality unsatisfied...

    ...but in the telecaster line, this one is fantastic.

  • from Parrish Fl. March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging Musician,Hobbyist

    Great Guitar

    Received my new Tele a few weeks ago and of my six guitars it is my favorite. Set up ready to play out of the box. Played an outdoor gig three days after getting delivery. Great neck , great sounding pickups .
    For the money a real deal.

  • from Pennsylvania March 6, 2014Music Background:
    16 year guitar slinger

    On heck of a buy

    I love this guitar the hardest part was waiting to open the box since it's winter in northeast Pennsylvania and shipping in zero degree weather. When I did open the box the guitar was in tune ! Shipping was great ordered on a Thursday was playing it on Saturday! Customer service was fantastic and sweetwater will always have my business! The tele is my new go to axe and plays as good as the lake placid blue paint looks! Paired with a fender and orange tube amp this thing twangs and with some dirt it can squeal !

  • from Pennsylvania March 6, 2014Music Background:
    16 year guitar slinger

    On heck of a buy

    I love this guitar the hardest part was waiting to open the box since it's winter in northeast Pennsylvania and shipping in zero degree weather. When I did open the box the guitar was in tune ! Shipping was great ordered on a Thursday was playing it on Saturday! Customer service was fantastic and sweetwater will always have my business! The tele is my new go to axe and plays as good as the lake placid blue paint looks! Paired with a fender and orange tube amp this thing twangs and with some dirt it can squeal !

  • from Hamilton, Va. August 22, 2013Music Background:
    HOBBYIST/ FORMER BAND BASSIST

    What a bargain!

    I am not a guitar snob. I also am not Brad Paisely or Larry Carlton but I am an experienced guitar player of more than 20 years. My style is rock, blues, fusion, jazz, and a little country. I own a Gibson custom shop 335, an American Strat and an Epiphone Les Paul custom Pro. I have always wanted a Fender Telecaster but I had in my mind that they were a bit limited by their inherent country tonality. Well I DAD WRONG!. I am blown away bu just how nice this guitar is. Forget about it being made in Mexico, this guitar is FANTASTIC! Icould play all of my guitars through my Fender Blues Jr. and enjoy each and everyone of them never distinguishing if one was made in mexico or america. This TELE rocks!! THe neck pickup is smooth as butter and the middle setting has its own quality that I absolutely love. Of course the country twang is all there with the bridge pickup and I have to say it is just a joy to experience the range of this guitar. From screamming blues to chicken picken this guitar has it all. It is absolutely beautiful to look at as well. I really thought if I bought a Tele it waould be butterscotch or natural with a black pick guard because they are so good looking but it seems everyone has these. I read a Fender book the other day that chronicled the development of the Tele and found out that Lake Pacid Blue had been an original color. When I opened that Tweed case and got my first look I couldn't believe it. It is just fantastic. Several friends have come by to play and thery are just blown away by how great it looks , sounds and plays. It truly boggles my mind what this kind of money can buy. Now if you fell you have to have an American Tele or Strat I understand. However, this guitar will not take a back seat to anything when it comes to playability, tone and quality. Just like my Epiphone Les Paul, I am EXTREMELY pleased the way my guitar arrived from Sweetwater. Perfectly set up, not a finger print, just perfect. Their service has been outstanding and is the reason I just bought a second guitar through them. I could not be happier. No matter if you are a gigging musican or a novice this guitar will put a BIG smile on your face. What a deal!!!

  • from Southern California July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer, Multi-instrumentalist

    Outstanding Instrument

    Some 20 years ago, I bought a MIM Strat - What a disappointment. The guitar just didn't have a good tone and it just felt like the cheap guitar that it was. I ended up selling it, and I thought to myself "never again".
    Let me tell you folks, the times have changed!!! I don't like to review products until I have been able to spend some time getting to know them, but I have literally played this guitar for 10 minutes, and I can say without hesitation that this is a very nice professional quality guitar. It compares very well to my American Special Strat that costs almost twice as much. No joke.
    The finish is beautiful, it is extremely well made, the hardware is of very good quality, and the tone and playability is everything I hoped for and more! If you have any doubts about the quality of this import, you can lay them to rest. I highly recommend!!

  • from May 7, 2013

    No complaints!

    This guitar is awesome. I love the tone and how easily it stays in tune. If you like telecasters, this is a no-brainer.

  • from Gillette, Wyoming November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Former Pro Musician/Vocalist, Live Sound and Recording Engineer.

    Incredible Guitar

    I purchased the Telecaster Standard and am extremely pleased with it to say the least. I did a side by side comparison with an American made Tele and I honestly couldn't tell the difference! Some will argue, but if you can't hear the difference; why pay the extra. I did very little setup, just the normal snugging of screws and such, but the action is very nice. I like the shorter scale of the Tele as well. Very comfortable, although it took about three days before I began to appreciate the neck. The range of classic and modern Fender tones is very easy to achieve. Perfect tone playing country to classic rock to heavy metal. Sounds best with a genuine Fender amp. It has quickly become my newest best friend!

  • from Kernersville NC USA August 4, 2010Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Impressed with everything

    right out of the box this guitar was sweet.....plays smooth and clean. Pickups sound great , I run it through tube screamer and it just sounds amazing.The next guitar I buy will be from these guys...without question!!
    hey and thanks for the tootsie rolls!!!

  • from January 25, 2017

    Love this guitar

    Was very impressed with this guitar. Was set up perfect just tune and start playing. Sounds amazing and plays like a dream. Justin was amazing, answered all my questions and was great to deal with.

  • from Nevada December 23, 2015Music Background:
    hobby

    Great Telecaster

    Ordered the Lake Placid Blue Telecaster from Jake and I am very happy with the product as well as the setup completed by Sweetwater. The guitar looks great and plays great too. This is my second guitar and is a big improvement from my beginning guitar. The great prices, free shipping, and helpful staff will bring me back to Sweetwater in the future.

  • from Palm Beach, Florida April 28, 2015Music Background:
    self taught decent southern rock blues guitarist

    Awesome Tele

    I was nervous about the whole MIM thing then I slid in behind it and turn on the line 6 jam and all doubt went away the action is great and the tone is spot on. Then the look is so beautiful aka ART!! This rig will stand tall against any guitar as far as Playability and sound. It has quickly become my Go To, and I also love my Tim Armstrong Hellcat acoustic /electric

  • from Michigan July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Song Writer

    A Good Purchase

    A friend suggested a Tele for it's versatility. Although I chose to go with the maple neck. This guitar is really cool. I'm not a pro by any means, but I get the heavy crunch out of the bridge pick up and the smooth bluesy tones out of the neck pick up. And something in between with the middle setting. The maple neck gives me awesome sustain, and of course, the country twang when you need it. I don't THINK the neck could be set up any better. Why only 4.5 versus 5? Well, I didn't sound like Alex Lifeson after I bought it. And it would be nice if it came from the US. (But the cost made the difference of buying one or not…..and I'll never sound like Alex Lifeson.)
    I bought this while at the Gear Fest. If you get a chance to go to that, it was VERY COOL!!! And as usual, the customer service (Mr. Bruhn) is second to none.

  • from New hampshire July 5, 2013Music Background:
    local musician

    A BEAUTIFUL INSTRUMENT

    The guitar is a real beauty, and it sounds wonderful. I gave it a 4.5 as it
    needs to be adjusted to stop the strings from vibrating on the frets. The
    guitar arrived in excellant shape and it surprised me when the Fed-Ex truck stoped to deliver it as I didn't expect it until a couple of days later. With free shipping it just doesn't get any better. Thank you Sweetwater for prompt service.

  • from Psychedelphia November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Enthusiast with aspirations

    Kudos!

    A very comfortable guitar, arrived ready to play!
    I like that Fender added some new touches, such as the gloss fretboard/headstock face/satin back ala the American Standards...the stock pickups sound good even for ceramics, more of a mid-rangy rock-friendly tone & less twang, than say, alnico 5's.
    Cosmetically, Fender appears to have gotten the Lake Placid Blue color better also...less greenish than ones that I've seen the last few years on the Standards.
    All in all, I'd totally recommend this for anyone looking for a solid, well-put together guitar that delivers on it's promise.

  • from Montegut, La. March 20, 2012Music Background:
    Many years, different instruments. No longer gigging. Hobby, good past time.

    Great Guitar

    It's a great guitar for the price. Bigger frets , better sounding pickup's , less noise since my 2005 tele. I love this guitar. I Had to set the intonation which was way off. Filed the ends of the frets. I was disappointed when I first saw it. Never saw "Lake Placid Blue" before. I was expecting it to be more of a blue, according to the computer pictures at Sweetwater and all over the internet. I changed the white pickguard to a clear pickguard with a piece of cloth under it, that had blue mixed with a color matching the guitar and a touch of glitter. Now it looks amazing while sounding great. The necks comfortable, plays well, good tele spank. I am very satisfied with the purchase.

  • from Surf city October 6, 2014Music Background:
    guitar hack

    nice guitar but one issue

    So I got this plaid blue tele, The sound is fantastic, overall the guitar is nice. However one issue is the paint, Very weak, any slight knock to it will chip it, very poor painting. Nice color, but after the first chip you'll rethink on it. After time and enough paint chips off, I'd remove everything and strip/sand the body down and refinish it in a very think clearcoat.

  • from Phoenix, AZ May 11, 2011Music Background:
    Advanced musician

    Worthy of the Telecaster name

    I just had to have a Telecaster in my collection, and I bought the Lake Placid Blue (MIM) tele; and have not put it down. The build quality, tone, set-up, everything about this guitar is top notch.

    I compare it to my Fender (made in USA) Strat, and yes, there are a few very minor differences, but overall, there is little difference between the two. Yes, the Strat's pick-ups are better, but the Tele's tone is absolutely fantastic.

    I play my MIM Tele more than my Strat (which cost twice as much). Do yourself a real favor and get one of these. You will never regret it.

  • from Schaumburg, IL December 9, 2015

    Great Guitar

    The guitar is perfect. My salesperson was very helpful. Only two minor glitches. One was Sweetwater's fault. The other wasn't. I'll start with the one that wasn't. I ordered the guitar and it arrived two days later as expected. I was like a kid on Christmas eve. When are the presents going to come? The present arrived at 7:30 I'm ready to rip this package open and start playing. NO! The exterior packing carton had a warning label that said the box could not be opened for 4-6 hours in order for the instrument to acclimate to room temperature. Otherwise both the finish and some components might be damaged. It was a long night. Aside from a serious re-tuning, everything was perfect.

    Except ....During my correspondence with my salesperson I had inquired about supplied cases. I was told that hard-shell cases were supplied with American Standards and above. Everything else came with a gig bag. The Tele standard did not arrive with a gig bag. A telephone inquiry reported that the policy had changed. Gig bags were no longer supplied with Tele Standards. I'm a bit upset with that. I mean even cheap Squire kits come with gig bags.

    So I had to purchase a case. I didn't buy it from Sweetwater. That was an additional $70 more than I thought I would need to spend. And there was no offer from Sweetwater to try and make things right.

    Bottom line: I love the guitar. Love the service. Will certainly buy here again. But the side issue does not sit well.

Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Lake Placid Blue with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway