0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Fender Standard Telecaster - Brown Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 19 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Brown Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Brown Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Meridian, ID January 12, 2017

    Fender Standard Telecaster

    Ordering anything online can have it's risks, but a friend that has done business with Sweetwater for quite awhile showed me a new standard stratacaster he had just ordered and it was beautiful. I'd always wanted a tele so I ordered the made in Mexico standard and am glad I did. It's everything I'd hoped it would be. It has great sound, feels good and is beautiful. I can't imagine ever changing anything on it. It appears very well put together to me and I am completely satisfied with it. It was ready to plug in and play when it got here.

  • from Klamath Falls, OR August 31, 2016Music Background:
    55 yrs on the guitar

    Top of the line Telecaster

    I have a 2004 model of this awesome guitar upgraded with vintage noiseless pups, I play mine daily through a Mustang III amp and this guitar can do it all from blues, country, rock and jazz at very high speeds thanks to the maple fretboard that comes with this 21 fret wonder, only death will separate me from mine!
    If you can think it, you can play it on this 5 star guitar, nothing but the Best.

  • from Atlanta May 9, 2016

    Love this Tele!

    I am very happy with this beauty. The intonation is perfect and the finish is fantastic. Sweetwater's service is unmatched!

  • from Indiana February 18, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader, recreational

    Wonderful

    This MIM Fender tele is a wonderful guitar. I have the brown sunburst finish and I need to say that Sweetwaters pictures are a better representation of the true color and wood grain coming through than you will find on any other website, including Fender. Sweetwater customer service (Robert Williams, my sales engineer) is second to none! They answer any questions you may have, no matter how ridiculous the question may seem. Also, don't let the MIM scare you. It keeps the price lower obviously, but the quality is really, did i mention REALLY good! The bottom line for me is that fender really has a great product here with this MIM tele, great standard tele tone, and sweetwater is the only place I can recommend because they try their very best to ensure you have a great experience shopping/working with them! If you are on the fence, hop on over that thing and get this guitar!

  • from Richmond va May 26, 2015

    plsyers guitar

    If you want s telecaster and can't afford the american verison , say thank you, for saving money.This tele can do it all ,nice pickups and really good neck, save your dollars and buy this one, you can also thank sweetwater for the setup was excellant and truly plug and play and its cheap enough to have cash to upgrade pickup if you feel the need to.Thank Matt and the rest of sweetwater crew execellant job as always very satified customer Jordy.

  • from April 17, 2015

    Surprised

    Exceptional setup. My guitar showed up with some really low action with zero fret buzz. The intonation was almost perfect, I found 1 string that needed a minor adjustment.
    The fretwork was really well done, and level. I checked for high spots with a rocker, I found the neck was nearly perfect. To be critical, the only negative I can say about the neck is the fret ends were not polished to a shine. Other than that the neck about flawless, I was surprised by the quality of the craftsmanship at this price.
    The finish on the body was nearly flawless, I found 1 spot in the clear that easily buffed out.
    The pickups sound good, but I will be looking to try something a little more high end.
    The machine heads hold tune well, an upgrade here wouldn't hurt.

    Overall I am really impressed with the craftsmanship at this price. This ax is a player right out the box.
    A few upgrades and this thing is a #1.

  • from nashua August 7, 2014Music Background:
    rock, jam bands,

    Excellent Product

    I am more than pleased. The guitar was well balanced out of the box with nice new strings. I dont even have to adjust the action for buzzing, etc. I owned a MIM standard a decade ago and was worried this one wouldnt be as good. No problem, this one is excellent and even has some a small amount of laquor on the neck(old one was more dry). If you never owned a tele they are a middle ground between strats and gibsons. Not so trebly and biting as a strat but not so bassy as a les paul. The middle position is so tele twang I love it. Black sabbath to johny cash with a flick of switch(and turing off my Rat of course). They have slender necks which i love with my smaller hands. Also, the bridge pickup is small but for whaterver reason is more mellow than a strat if your have never owned a tele before. Fast delivery also. A keeper!!

  • from Shawboro, NC USA May 30, 2014Music Background:
    8 year guitar player

    Blown Away

    I was very surprised how well this guitar played and sounded right out of the box. Fast shipping and great customer service. Highly recommend this guitar from Sweetwater

  • from Spartanburg, SC February 20, 2014Music Background:
    Lifetime guitarist

    Great guitar buy

    The Standard Tele is above my expectations. I assumed I would have to spend money & time getting it to feel & play to my taste. Much to my amazement, this one played like a custom shop guitar out of the the box. As always, great product & service from the folks at Sweetwater.

  • from orange beach AL USA August 29, 2013Music Background:
    Singer song writer Actor Musion

    Kid gift to Dad

    A Young Man came in My Store an ask Me About a Guitar ,When I ask what stile of Axe He was Looking For He discribed The Tele I inded up ordering from You at Sweetwater Now I find out He is 16 had been saving for A Harley But desided to Buy His Dad a Guitar He's always Wanted it Brought some Kind a Tear to My glass EYE the Good Son and He did this before His own needs for His bike He needed a Tire for His Transportation .thought You Guys came to the Rescue Thanks Matt

  • from Southern California July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer, Multi-instrumentalist

    Outstanding Instrument

    Some 20 years ago, I bought a MIM Strat - What a disappointment. The guitar just didn't have a good tone and it just felt like the cheap guitar that it was. I ended up selling it, and I thought to myself "never again".
    Let me tell you folks, the times have changed!!! I don't like to review products until I have been able to spend some time getting to know them, but I have literally played this guitar for 10 minutes, and I can say without hesitation that this is a very nice professional quality guitar. It compares very well to my American Special Strat that costs almost twice as much. No joke.
    The finish is beautiful, it is extremely well made, the hardware is of very good quality, and the tone and playability is everything I hoped for and more! If you have any doubts about the quality of this import, you can lay them to rest. I highly recommend!!

  • from Florida June 18, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love my Tele Standard

    Love the feel, tones, overall quality of the instrument. Can't stop playing this classic. Love looking at it. The neck is smooth and enhances my abilities.

  • from May 7, 2013

    No complaints!

    This guitar is awesome. I love the tone and how easily it stays in tune. If you like telecasters, this is a no-brainer.

  • from Boston, MA July 18, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass Guitar, Ukulele, Keyboard, Vocalist, Student

    MIM Tele

    Love the smooth Tele tone. I bought this with the Fender Pro Jr. III tube amp and the tone just makes me excited to play every time I plug it in! If you haven't gotten a chance to try a Fender Tele through a Fender amp, it's definitely something that everyone should have a listen to. That smooth Tele neck tone, the distinct middle position, and that signature Tele twang sound at the bridge pickup. WIN!

  • from Seattle, Wa December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Fantastic Sounding Guitar

    I love this guitar. I have never owned a Telecaster before, though I do own and have owned many other electric guitars. This guitar sounds better to me and seems more versatile than any other guitar I own.

    I would recommend this guitar to anyone.

  • from Moline, IL USA May 5, 2007Music Background:
    35 Years Playing Experience as a Semi-Pro

    Sweet Telecaster!

    These are VERY nice guitars. I have several high end Fenders and I am consistantly picking up this one.

    I did buy a micro file set and fixed a couple of fret ends but my high end fenders have had similar or worse issues right out of the box.

    The frets are nice modern Medium Jumbo frets.
    The bridge is nice and heavy duty chrome.
    My 2-Tone burst has beautiful grain showing through
    on front and back - Solid Alder - nice high gloss finish. The tone is great - very comperable to my high end Fender Ash Strat.
    The electronics, pots and switch seem to be high quality - no issues.

    A few things to I considered when deciding on purchasing this Tele...


    Right out of the box I replaced the pickups with the
    Fender Vintage Noiseless set offered here at Sweetwater at a very reasonable price. I would have done the same if buying a Highway 1 or American Series anyway.

    I personally love the Vintage Noisless Tele pickups.
    They do have a more modern sound. The Alnico V magnets really cut through.


    I also bought a set of Schaller Tuners off of ebay for $20. The Ping and Schaller look almost identical except the Schallers have a more refined string post and stay in tune MUCH better. BTW, the Highway 1's have Ping also - you have to go to the American Series to get the Schallers.


    I also bought a Fender molded case. Highway ones come with a gigbag too. Again, you have to get into the American Series to get a hardshell case.

    Just one more thought..
    I've always been a Rosewood kind-of-guy and had no choice but Maple on this one. I truely love this Maple neck. Also the 1.650" nut had me a little worried, but it is just perfect!

    Bottom line is you get a nice instrument that may or may not require upgrades - depending on your preferences. I think Fender has stepped up the Standard Series to compete with the import market and they have done a great job on this one.

    I've been playing for 35 years and have had MANY guitars - this tele is just plain enjoyable.

  • from January 27, 2016

    Great Guitar

    Been wanting a telecaster. Bought this one because of the price and reviews. It's an awesome guitar. Great telecaster sound. Looks beautiful. Great quality. Played amazing right out of the box. Only thing I'd change is the bridge pickup to something hotter. Once that's done it'll be a 5 star guitar! Save your money and buy this tele.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI July 12, 2013Music Background:
    10+ years playing in our church praise band.

    Great value

    Classic Tele vibe and twang. A lot of versitile sounds to be had with this guitar. I'm really happy with it. The gloss finish on the maple fret board, and the highly polished frets are both excellent. Came from Sweetwater with a FANTASTIC set-up. Action and intonation were very good. Great guitar.

  • from Dillon, MT April 4, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist with a few live gigs under my belt

    Great Tele!

    I just got this guitar today and I'm in love with it. I owned a MIM strat and i thought it was the best. I stand corrected. I can get all the same sounds out of the tele and it just looks amazing. My only complaint is that the neck is a little thinner than my strats and when playing fast licks my hand starts to cramp up. Other than that I cannot complain. I'm running it through a Digitech RP70 into a fender front man 25R and i can get anything from Voodoo Child to Psychosocial to Zeppelin. Great job Fender.

Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Brown Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway