rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Fender Standard Telecaster - Arctic White with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Arctic White with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Arctic White with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Lebanon, Tennessee April 13, 2017

    Arctic white Telly

    Beautiful both in looks & sound. Sweetwater rocks with wonderful services & promises. This Telecaster screams!!!!

  • from South Carolina February 18, 2017

    Ordered on Monday, got it Wednesday!

    Right out of the box it was really nice...a little adjustment and it is now near perfect. I can not find a flaw in the fit and finish. It is beautiful, PLAYS GREAT and sounds pure TELE. Thank you Jeff for sending me such a great guitar. I own American Strats, custom Gibsons and have owned a lot of great guitars that I wish I still had. I put this MIM Tele at the top of the list...really! I love this guitar!

    I am a part time playing retired pro with over 50 years experience.

  • from Texas February 1, 2017Music Background:
    guitar/synth/bass player for 22 years

    classic perfection

    I've always wanted a nice, white Tele, and ordering one from Sweetwater was one of the best purchases I've made. It came set up beautifully, thanks to Sweetwater's team. The build quality is excellent, which is to be expected from a MIM Fender. Solid tuners, saddles, knobs, input jack. The quality for the price can't be beat. This is the last guitar I'll ever need. Sounds amazing paired with the Vox AC15C1 I ordered along with it! Shout out to Robert Williams, who has been a great Sales Engineer since I started shopping with Sweetwater two years ago.

  • from August 9, 2016

    Perfect!

    Arrived in perfect condition and plays like a dream. It's really an impressive looking piece and sounds terrific.

    First experience with Sweetwater and could not have been more impressed. Order arrive in two days, guitar was set up nicely. The set up alone is reason enough to buy from them. Price is what you pay, value is what you get.

  • from June 1, 2016

    Mexico Does It Again!

    So I've owned almost every Mexican Tele (FSR, 72 Thinline, Deluxe, Baja, Road Worn 50s, and now the Standard) at 1 point or another and the Standard is the winner for me. Quality is top notch on all the mim Teles so Kudos to Fender because they're doing a phenomenal job on quality control. What sells the Standard for me is the saddles and the neck. The satin finish neck on the Standard is so smooth and comfortable and the shape is pretty much perfect, not too big or small, just right. The modern saddles are wonderful, they're so comfortable it's as if they're not even there. In contrast to the vintage style ashtray bridges with the barrel or bent steel saddles.... though they look cool (to some) and serve a purpose tone-wise, they're very awkward and uncomfortable to rest your hand on, not to mention they're not very practical either. Playing the Standard however is like playing a nice PRS without the floating trem and we all know how nice those play. As far as build quality, like I said it's right up there with any Mexican Tele, which means it's built extremely well. No problem with any of the frets or fret ends, electronics, tuners, etc. Everything works perfectly. Nice low action. Body is pretty resonant for alder. Notes and chords ring out nicely. Chimey but full and rich. Plugged in it does what a Tele does. It can be very snappy and twangy but rolling the knobs back gives you some nice warm, round tones as well. I don't know what these pickups measure but they're hot for sure. The bridge especially drives my amp surprisingly hard. Under distortion they really come alive. No matter how much gain you're working with the pups retain clarity and definition. Only a Tele does that and does it with such an attitude, hence the reason I'll never get enough Telecaster. I'm addicted. So anyway, another great MIM Tele. Not necessarily "better" than others, just different strokes for different folks. The Standard is definitely the way to go if you like the more modern appointments like I do. Sweetwater was great as usual, thanks again Kenny Stratton!

  • from Maryland March 23, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader,Singer-Songwriter,Producer,Audio Engineer,Musician

    Great Tone!!!

    By far the best Guitar I've owned. I've played Strats,PRS's and Les Paul's but this Guitar has exactly the tone I was trying to achieve ever since I started playing guitar. My favorite pickup positions are the bridge,bridge and neck together, I rarely use the neck by itself. Very versatile Guitar I can play all Styles of music from Blues to Metal!!! Lastly if your looking for a Telecaster that won't break your bank,this Guitar is a wise choice....

  • from September 11, 2015

    Awesome

    First of all, hats off to the Sweetwater team. This was the best online buying experience ever. My Standard Telecaster came ready to play right out of the box without a flaw. Great job guys I will be back.

    Now for the guitar. I had reservations at first about some of the reviews on the pickups. What I will say is.. It's a Telecaster! And it's awesome. These pickups will go from clean to scream and though the tone is typical fender/telecaster you can really pull out some crazy sound with this guitar. And it mates very good with effects.

    The guitar itself is just beautiful. I bought the artic white w/maple neck and it feels great and plays like its brother costing more than twice what this beauty cost. It stays in tune the action is low and soft and the tone is just unbelievable.

    The neck pickup is warm and has that drippy tone but add some high gain and whoa! You can get some really good rhythm tones. The middle p/up has that traditional fender twang but it can be manipulated to get some crazy tones and harmonics. The bridge p/up as some reviews stated is on the bright side but again it can be manipulated. I am getting some neat tones from the bridge. But it is bright.

    Here is the deal if you want all the bells and whistles, pay $1400.00 plus and get the American standard but if you want to change anything that $1400 plus becomes $1400 plus plus.
    Or pay $499 and get a guitar that feels and plays as good as it's pricey brother without any mods, and if you decide to change the neck, the pickups and electronics you still won't have as much invested but my guess is that you will be ok with it right out of the box. But that's my opinion. It a great deal and a great guitar, period.

  • from MD June 15, 2015

    Fender Standard Telecaster

    I must confess I have been a guitar snob. In years past, I would only buy Gibson Custom Shop and Fender American Made Deluxe guitars. Over the years I have owned four Les Pauls, four ES 335s, one L4, one L5, three Strats and six PRS guitars…all top of the line quality at top of the line prices.

    With all those as my quality threshold, I simply cannot find fault with this Mexican made Tele for $499. The neck, action, electronics, wood workmanship and general design are great. I’ve been toying with $2000 Teles at Guitar Center before this purchase. I was skeptical and was prepared to ship this MX back to you. To my amazement. this instrument is a keeper and with 45 years playing top end guitars, I cannot distinguish this from Teles 4 times the price.

    I know the expensive versions of the Tele have a compound radius neck, N3 noiseless pickups, and no load tone controls, but I am hard pressed to agree they are worth another $1500. There is arguable quality built into this MX.

  • from Bayport, New York, (USA) December 17, 2014Music Background:
    perpetual student

    Fender Standard Telecaster

    I love Telecasters, I am of such good fotune as to own four. The Arctic white guitar built so competently by our capable neighbors to the South captivates my sense of austetic worthiness with is pleasant tones and visual appeal, and it must be mentioned that its reasonable cost in no way conjures the remorse of which many are stricken following the purchase an item of such personal importance. I am found of the instument beyond the measures of casual ownership.

  • from East Coast, USA March 4, 2014

    Mexican Marvel!!!!

    This is a very well made guitar. The fitment, and finish are as good as any guitar that I've owned. The neck is great because of the satin back, and laquer top. Some people in other reviews complained about the slightly hotter pickups. I think that they sound great. For the money, you can't go wrong with this guitar. This instrument will not disappoint!!!

  • from Southern California July 16, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/Producer, Multi-instrumentalist

    Outstanding Instrument

    Some 20 years ago, I bought a MIM Strat - What a disappointment. The guitar just didn't have a good tone and it just felt like the cheap guitar that it was. I ended up selling it, and I thought to myself "never again".
    Let me tell you folks, the times have changed!!! I don't like to review products until I have been able to spend some time getting to know them, but I have literally played this guitar for 10 minutes, and I can say without hesitation that this is a very nice professional quality guitar. It compares very well to my American Special Strat that costs almost twice as much. No joke.
    The finish is beautiful, it is extremely well made, the hardware is of very good quality, and the tone and playability is everything I hoped for and more! If you have any doubts about the quality of this import, you can lay them to rest. I highly recommend!!

  • from May 7, 2013

    No complaints!

    This guitar is awesome. I love the tone and how easily it stays in tune. If you like telecasters, this is a no-brainer.

  • from Kunsan AB, Republic of Korea December 10, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist for over 18 years

    Completely Surprised

    I was blown away by the MIM Telecaster. The tone is so pure and so clean. These pups are amazing...I figured I would swap them out for some SD pups but there is no need to. There is some 60 cycle hum when you are using distortion but that is to be expected with a single coil pup. The craftsmanship is amazing...very solid, no fret overage, no paint issues and no loose hardware. This is a true work horse...will play country, blues and rock with no issues. The action was set low as it can with no intonation issues and I love it. The Sweetwater crew has done a great job! I will be buying more guitars from them in the future.

  • from Clayton, NC September 18, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Pro Telecaster player

    The Telecaster is a fine instrument, which is played by the best guitar players in the USA like James Burton, well known for his fancy string bending. The telecaster has a smooth fret board fast action neck and the tone quality sings loud and clear. If you have problems with the fret dividers take it back to where you bought it and the set up man will make it right or you can return it . If you take care of your guitar it will take care of you. I have been playing guitars for over 63 years and I have never had a better friend then the telecaster. Its all up to you!!

  • from December 6, 2011

    YES!

    This thing is great!!

  • from Dansville, MI, USA December 6, 2011Music Background:
    play in church a lot, record a lot. Blues, rock, alternative, even Hardcore

    This Guitar Rocks!

    Okay, #1, I'm not really sure what the other guy who gave a review was talking about, but this guitar it great! I had no problem w/ the frets sticking out, I felt that the pickups were very nice, full, and overall, very tele! The color itself, (white) is beautiful (though I might put a black pickguard on it). Through a good old tube amp, this guitar will not disappoint you @ all! I would easily buy this again! You should buy it if you're thinking about it, it is very close or equal to an American standard. Very worth your money!

  • from Rochester, NY December 4, 2012Music Background:
    Worship leader, songwriter, pop/rock band leader

    Best in class

    So I've been playing guitar for going on 11 years now and although I've only owned acoustics up until last week, I've been scouring every local music store since day one for the perfect electric guitar. I stumbled upon this guitar a few months ago at the Rochester Guitar Center (I think the white finish was what caught my eye) and was immediately sold...sort of. I've always liked the look of Telecasters and knew I'd eventually end up with one, but I couldn't make up my mind between this one and the Blacktop Tele. It seemed though no matter how many guitars I tried out, I kept coming back to this Tele.

    Fender has seriously upped their game on the Mexican Teles this year. Now with hotter and quieter pickups and a gloss fretboard, it's practically an American Tele. I played one back-to-back with a slightly older (not used) model and the difference was night and day. The only thing that merits it a 4.5 rating is that it needs a tummy-cut, and I will probably throw on a bigsby in time to come. Affordable, awesome and totally worth every penny.

  • from Madison, WI December 26, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar at a great price

    I got back into playing about a year and a half ago after a ten year break, started playing an old campfire clunker acoustic guitar again and soon after pined for an electric again. I used to play a Gibson SG that I loved, but wanted something different. I borrowed a friend's Epiphone Les Paul, it was ok, but I wasn't totally enamored with it. Aesthetically, love the look of the telecaster, it's classic, the Boss plays a telecaster, Keith Richards plays teles, Muddy Waters, enough said. I played a few at a local shop and Guitar Center by me, but neither had the combo of maple neck and a color I liked, so that brought me to Sweetwater. My sales associate Ben was really helpful with a few questions I had to help me select a guitar. It arrived really quickly. The only knock I have is that it didn't play that great out of the box like other customers had described, which was a bit disappointing. I contacted Sweetwater and was told to change the stock Fender strings, that didn't really make a difference so I took it to my local shop for a set up. Now it plays great and I can't put it down! I pick it up almost every time I walk past it, it's a great guitar for the money and overall I'm very happy with it. I play a wide range of styles from Johnny Cash to Fleetwood Mac to punk to Deafheaven and feel like the Tele can handle anything, love the bright sound of this guitar. I personally liked the maple neck and fretboard and the more natural finish on the back of the neck. I'm not sure if you can find a better guitar, if properly set up, for a better price.

  • from Memphis November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Life long guitarist

    Great playing guitar

    Pleased with the guitar and the exceptional service from Zmark Thompson - my sales engineer

  • from Columbia Falls, MT February 15, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist for the last 30 years

    Solid Quality

    I received my MIM Tele about 2 weeks ago. The packaging was great and everything was in perfect shape on arrival. After getting everything unboxed I gave it a spin as it came and quickly decided that I did not like the setup. Much of that is personal preference so it is NOT held against the instrument. I did a setup job to my own specs and I have been pleasantly surprised. Playability is fantastic ... I love the necks ability to fill my hand without feeling overly chunky. My only two complaints are that the neck pickup really doesn't have the sound I was looking for (I like the bridge pickup just fine) and it is rather susceptible to noise from other electronics. Please bear in mind that I don't have any other guitars with single coils, so I may be overly sensitive to the noise. General quality, fit and finish are far better than I had expected in this price range. Overall I rate the Tele as very good for the money with the exception of the electronics.

    Just my 2 cents.

  • from Southeastern Pa. December 30, 2009Music Background:
    40+yrs SemiPro

    Newcomers to the sport of guitar playing BEWARE!

    Come on Fender...QC!
    After owning a lifetime of American made Fenders, iwas given a Mexican Tele.
    The neck is a joke, and the frets stick out beyond the fretboard like little razor blades, the only thing you'll shred on this guitar is your fingers!
    The pups and electronics sound cheap and tinny.
    If you are a begining guitar player, and drawn to the afordable price tag, this guitar could possibly discourage a begining player.
    Save your coin and buy an American made fender product, there is NO comparison.

Questions about the Fender Standard Telecaster - Arctic White with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway