0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 4

Squier Affinity Tele Pack with Frontman 15G Amplifier - Butterscotch Blonde Reviews

4.5 stars based on 13 customer reviews
  • from TN - Tennessee January 7, 2017

    Update on Tele it's better than I first wrote

    This guitar is ridiculously good! I play it every day and as the saying goes "my other guitars are gathering dust". How can that be, since I have around a dozen quality guitars? The answer is that Leo Fender really did get the design right. This Tele may be a little heavy but it makes up for that with perfect balance and a small overall body. This guitar is the most comfortable guitar that I have ever played. For me that's a tremendously big deal. The comfort allows me to play all day long every day with no fatigue, no sore spots on my body.
    The set up is excellent right out of the box. How can that be? This is a $249 guitar/ amp kit, that also included many accessories. The supplied Fender tuner is now my favorite electric tuner and I have 3, one costing $49.
    The fretwork is excellent, the neck is straight and is both narrow (think "nut width") and thin (think how thick the "C" neck is-it's perfect for my medium sized hands. It's an easy playing fast neck too.
    The guitar tone is absolutely "Tele". I really am blown away! This guitar seems to have a natural small amount of reverb/tremolo that comes through on amps without reverb/tremolo. It adds to the tone.
    My first review mentioned a slight string buzz in certain places. I was not sure. So now I play my Tele un-plugged late at night, every night while in bed so as not to waken my wife.and I can hear no string buzz anywhere. If I mess up and don't fret the individual stop/fret with the correct finger pressure, then yes there can be a buzz. But that's not the guitar, it's me messing up a little.
    I actually thought that I may never find the perfect guitar for me, that's why I have purchased so many-a long costly search for a guitar that i can love. Those Indonesians that made my Fender Affinity Squire Telecaster using Fender specified parts and set up make a really great guitar. A true sleeper. The Frontman 15 G amp is also a good to very good practcing while alone type of amp.
    Next up is my perfect amp. That search is still on going I am sad to say. It takes years and years to really find the perfect amp for oneself. I prefer the tone of tube amps when they are driven hard. I prefer the no-worries that a good solid state amp provides me. I play every day, all day long. i have not ruled out tube amps because I do not have a problem with refreshing the amp with new tubes. In the end it's not really all that expensive and certainly less expensive than continually purchasing new amps year after year. When I find my amp I'm sticking with it. I had a hot rodded Marshall JCM900 with a full stack of JCM900 1960A AND 1960B speaker cabs. The tone, sustain, distortion was wonderful. However it was causing me to loose my hearing. That and an injury that prevented me fom even holding a guitar for several years is why I sold it. The search goes on for the same tone, sustain, distortion but at a safe level. These day's I am playing many 5 watt tube amps. They are close, but I think 10 or 15 tube watts is probably what I will end up. Loud as hell but not quite loud enough to destroy my hearing.
    Hey-Thanks for reading.
    I recommend Joseph Seccu as a really great and caring Sweetwater sales engineer at 1-800-222-4700 ext. 1232. Tell him I recommended him. I'd like Joe to know how much I appreciate him.

  • from Tennessee January 3, 2017

    Lovin my Tele

    This is my second Tele. The first one cost me more and needed work, I eventually gave it away to a young musician who wanted a Tele.
    Now to this Tele Pack. Read the description, it's a real Fender Telecaster only it's made in Indonesia which I believe makes high quality guitars for a great price. Mine has a touch of string buzz, but that actually work's good for the "Twang". I mean ait has a real small amount, hre and there, just a touch of buzz, that I could get rid of - except I like it in a Tele. I had to run steel wool up and down the back of the neck to get it real smooth and really fast. That's it! That's the only thing I had to do. No sharp fret ends anywhere. The string height is spot on. The intonation is correct. It's a real "Alder wood" body. There is no reason to spend any more money because this Telecaster is a good playing guitar.
    The Frontman 15G Solid State Amp has two channels and it rocks when I play by myself. It can get loud, but when practicing alone there is little reason for me to play loud. I play every day -all day long and I appreciate the S.S. Amp because it saves my tube amps from being worn out to much.
    The Butterscotch paint looks like enamel. it is one with the body. It actually looks like the entire body including the paint is one item. Not a body that has been painted.
    The frets play nice and this guitar is very nice up and down the entire fretboard. The tuning pegs work well, one is a little stiff but that will loosen up in time, or I could take a screw driver to it. No worries. It stays in tune as good as any guitar I own.
    The controls work well and the tone knob actually does adjust the tone. So far after only 4 day's of ownership I have found some nice settings that have a pleasing to my ear tone as well as the expected twang.
    The guitar cable is good quality, the best I have ever recieved with a guitar. The strap say's Fender on it, which I really dig.
    The pup's work well and the volume is even across all 3 settings on the selector switch. The hardeware is chromed and is polished to a mirror shine, I can tell this will last many years. The guitar arrived with not a single blemish or scratch or any damage.
    All in all I have to say this Tele Pack exceeded my expectaions by a real lot. I don't think I will be looking at more expensive Tele's, not as long as I have my Squire Affinity Tele. In 1992 I purchased aStartocaster Pack which had the same included items, amp, gig bag, strap, picks, guitar cable. I still have all of the items, the Strat needed about 30 hours of work but now it's also a great guitar and I will keep it forever. But this new Tele Pack came in a playable condition and the 10 or 15 min that I spent rubbing down the back of the neck with steel wool will be the only time spent improving a good guitar. I very highly recomend this kit. The guitar alone is worth a lot more than $250. I bet it feels and plays as good as most Fender Tele's ever made. BTW the neck is smallish and thin which for me makes it the most comfortable and playable neck out of all my many guitars.
    Joe Seccu is my Sweetwater sales rep. and he's very good. If you don't yet have a sales rep I recommend that you ask for Joe at ext. 1232.

  • from NJ June 2, 2016

    Great deal, great experience

    I have been wanting to buy an electric guitar for years. I could never quite pull the trigger because it always seemed like the less expensive guitars were poorly made and I couldn't afford to spend hundreds of dollars on a better instrument. And I couldn't really justify a big purchase because, frankly, I'm not a very good guitar player (yet!). Even if I did buy a guitar, what about the amp, the cords, picks, case etc..? Did I mention I get overwhelmed easily? This Squier pack made it easy for me to get everything I needed all at once and at a great price. Now to the guitar: Again, I'm not the most experienced player, but I could not be happier with the quality and the sound of the guitar. I absolutely love it. It's really easy to play and it is very well built. I don't feel like any corners were cut in making this guitar. Also it looks really cool. Finally, I want to mention the outstanding customer experience I had. It was super easy to select and buy this guitar. I think I had one question along the way and I was able to speak right away to a really knowledgeable and extremely professional service rep, and then I was good to go. And once I placed my order, the guitar was at my house in two days, and the shipping was free! You really can't go wrong with this deal.

  • from July 24, 2015Music Background:
    Former music major. I own and play guitar, bass, drums, mandolin, cautro, pedal steel, keyboard, trumpet. I also record, mix, and master. I've played guitar for 24 years. I own 13 guitars: Gibson, Fender, Martin, Ibanez, Squire, Epiphone, Aria Pro II. I

    Indonisian Telecaster Affinity Package

    I think this might be my first review of anything, ever. A little background; I'm a Former music major. I own and play guitar, bass, drums, mandolin, cautro, pedal steel, keyboard, trumpet. I also record, mix, and master. I've played guitar for 24 years. I own 13 guitars: Gibson, Fender, Martin, Ibanez, Squire, Epiphone, Aria Pro II. I guess I should mention Marshall JCM, Fender Twin Reverb.

    This package is a solid great deal.

    *Read more if that's not enough*

    I got this because I'm deployed military and I wasn't able to bring a guitar along.
    Everything you get for the price is perfect if you just want to play. You're not going to fill madison square garden with the amp, but the guitar plays and sounds very decent out of the box. There are two versions of the Telecaster Affinity. The ones available in this package are the, "upgraded" ones. The differences being a skunk line up the back of the neck and through the body strings. Also the volume and tone are 250k pots. Dry satin finish neck makes playing it very nice. Much nicer than expected. Intonation is on time. The pickups may need to be raised or lowered, but they sound like a Telecaster should. Super pretty too. Butterscotch Blonde is very translucent orange. The pictures have it more yellow than it really is. Theres a whole forum dedicated to Telecasters, TDPRI. A lot of people like to mod these specific Affinity guitars because they're so cheap and have a really great sound.

    The amplifier is loud enough to bother people in my location, but in a normal house, you wouldn't bother the neighborhood. If you were to play loud in the bedroom, it would be heard in the living room of a normal home. The clean channel is fine for how I use the amp. My settings: Bass/Mid/Treble = 10 Volume = 2. (I use jam up pro on an iPad with a line 6 interface to the amp) The distortion channel is bad, (my opinion) but it might be the exact sound you need in a song. It's not roaring overdrive, but thin cheesy electronic fuzz. The gain set to 1 or less can kind of give you an overdrive sound, but it's still shrill. To sum it up, THE CLEAN CHANNEL IS WORTH IT.

    3pks of strings, a guitar cable, bag, pick, A FREAKIN TUNER, a dvd that I didn't even look at, allen wrench, and guitar strap.

    If you like to modify guitars, then you already know about this package, and the answer is, "yes, get it." If you've got an aspiring Hendrix, Clapton, or Paisley, this is the package they'll remember for the rest of their lives.

  • from Apache Junction, AZ January 1, 2015Music Background:
    Played acoustic guitars in 60's and 70's

    Squier Affinity BB Tele Pack & Frontman 15G

    Very impressed with both of these products. The BB Tele plays well with the Frontman amp that is very "hot" with an 8 inch speaker. This is a great combination so Fender knew what they were doing when they made this offering to their customers. Also, the color packaging really shows off the products before you get a chance to actually hear them play! I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to sample an affordable Fender guitar/amp product line.

  • from Niagara Falls NY September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, studio owner and recording engineer.

    Tele PKBB

    Bought this as a gift for my neic. Great package, they just love it. She wants to learn guitar so I am now giving her lessons. Thanks Brian Loony

  • from Beckley, WV USA February 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar, great amp, what else can I say.

    One of the best guitars I've had the amp is super great too

  • from Eugene, Oregon February 18, 2017Music Background:
    Vocals, Piano, Guitar, Violin and Music Production

    Great Package but one problem

    Pros:
    Overall, I love my Butterscotch Squier Affinity Tele! It stays in tune very well. I have four guitar pedals with effects that sound great through the amp and guitar. The action on the guitar is set properly. The bridge is a good bridge for the price. I like how it strings through the back of the guitar. The gain on the Fender Frontman amp is a good gain. The chord and the strap seem to be working fine. The case is a good case to keep your guitar in at home. The neck of the guitar is comfortably thin. The pick ups work well, but they buzz when set to single pick up position (probably from EMFs). The package comes with 3 Fender Medium guitar picks that work well.

    Cons:

    One of the plastic parts on one of the chrome tuning knobs broke. The plastic ring somehow snapped. It seems to still stay in tune as normal, but it is kind of a bummer because that happened. In the future, I do plan to put actual Fender tuning knobs on it that run for about 80 or 90 bucks, because of the problem. The other problem was that the pick guard comes with a plastic covering. You have to peel it off. But then, there is a second plastic covering that needs peeling off. The only way you can take all of the plastic off the pick guard is by unscrewing it, and then peeling the last one off.

    Other than that, the guitar is great! I'be been using it to record electric guitar parts to my music in my home studio. This guitar and amp package is definitely part of my family of gear and instruments that I own.

  • from Montana October 29, 2015Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Great So Far!

    I ordered the Squire Affinity Tele after reading a ton of reviews about the superiority of the Indonesian Tele vs the Chinese Tele and all I can say is that I am impressed (Indonesian comes in the tele pack, chinese one comes by itself and does not have a string through bridge). Action and setup was great right out of the box, stays in tune pretty well (after changing strings to boomer .11s), and love the sounds I can get out of it (especially through my pedal setup). Amp seems okay, haven't used it much since I already have my own mixer/PA system. Gig bag is a little flimsy, so may want to opt for a hard case if gigging excessively/travelling. Overall, besides the headstock I would not be able to tell the difference between a MIA Fender Tele or this Affinity (Indonesian) Tele.

  • from Croton On Hudson, NY September 12, 2015

    Squier Affinity Telecaster Butterscotch Blonde

    Although this bundle seems like an attractive option I would recommend buying the telecaster separately. The amplifier that is bundled with the pack is too small and lacks many features. The guitar strap, carrying case, tuner & DVD are not worth the extra money. The guitar itself has beautiful finish (looks more orange in person) and the tone is nice. This is a very nice pack for a beginner, I would recommend it to anyone trying to learn how to play the guitar. SweetWater had an issue with the shipping ( it took an extra 3 business days!!) other than that their customer service personal were nice and informative, they really value their customers and that is much appreciated.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA February 26, 2014Music Background:
    As of 2014 I've been playing for 45 years.

    Don't be fooled by the price -- this Tele is pure quality.

    I've been a player longer than most of you readers have been on the planet, so I believe that I can speak from a viewpoint of experience. I know a good guitar, and for the price the Squire Tele is a steal. The craftsmanship is outstanding, and the action is fast and smooth. It puts out a sound that is clean and crisp; easily comparable to Telecasters costing five times the price. The responsiveness of the controls is outstanding. Aside from all of that, it is a beautiful guitar to look at. The pictures you might look at do not do it justice. As far as the Fender Frontman is concerned I have to admit that I haven't used it, although I have used Fender products over the years and can vouch for the quality of their amps. If you're wondering why I haven't plugged into the Frontman, it's because I purchased a Vox Valvetronix VT20+ amp from Sweetwater at the same time I placed the order for the Squier Affinity Tele Pak. Want to get your mind-blown? -- then you out to check this Vox amp out. Wow! What a rush! Anyhow, after all is said, I would bet my entire next months income that anybody who opts to purchase the Squire Tele Pak will in no way be disappointed, and I'm certain that nothing will be lost in the wager.

  • from Arlington, TX May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome Surprise

    I bought this guitar used because I needed a bagger to practice on at work; one that I wouldn't really care if it got stolen or damaged. Well, this guitar has totally surprised me with it's amazing playability and tone. If fact, I liked the action and feel so much that I upgraded the electronics and dropped some Bill Lawrence Noise Free pups in it - not that the stock ones were bad; I just liked the guitar so much that I was willing to invest a little money to make it all the more enjoyable. I've now had this guitar for about a year and a half and I wouldn't be afraid at all to play it in public.
    The maple fretboard is very smooth and extremely fast (not to mention BEAUTIFUL) and the guitar does a very good job of staying in tune. Even though I swapped the pups, the originals had a wide range of tones - what you would expect from a Tele that costs five times as much as this one does new.
    While I would recommend this guitar to any beginner, I wouild also recommend it to seasoned guitarists who are looking for that classic Tele vibe without investing much money.

  • from Deltona, FL January 3, 2016Music Background:
    Playing 44 years

    Mine did not live up to all the Hype

    Purchased this for myself for Christmas. I read all the reviews and videos on youtube that praised the
    playability, fast neck and that this gutiar that comes with the play pack is a better Affinity series with
    a string through body unlike the one that sells for 179.00. I must have received the one that sliped past
    the qc process. I knew the intonation would be slightly off as with most guitars you purchase and maybe
    height adjustment on saddles. But the one I received has uneven frets up and down the neck. with alot
    of buzz. For those who are looking to purchase a Squire Tele, your best bet would be spend a little more
    and get the 50.s Vibe. (For myself sense I threw out all the original packaging after Christmas , I am
    investing in having the frets leveled and recrowned) hopfully then it will be a much better player.

Questions about the Squier Affinity Tele Pack with Frontman 15G Amplifier - Butterscotch Blonde?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway