0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus - Honey Burst with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 53 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus - Honey Burst with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus - Honey Burst with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wauseon, OH April 19, 2017Music Background:
    Guitarist, Audio Engineer

    Such A Great Buy!

    This guy can really play any style of music! I've had it for a month or so now and it is insane! The feel is amazing, and for its price it really is a great guitar! I'd recommend this to anyone, Pros maybe as there secondary guitar, but it is very versatile guitar and I hope you go check them out for yourself!

  • from April 5, 2017

    Just as advertised

    Played it for a month and am very happy with the playability. Delivered pretty well set up. Still tweeking the setup for myself and to my surprise the Allen wrenches were included! "Just as advertised" definitely includes the Sweetwater staff. Got a customer service call from Shelby that I missed so he emailed me. At his request I called him back and told me to definitely call if there is any problem or question. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Henderson, TN April 4, 2017Music Background:
    27 year veteran picker

    The Frankincaster!

    Beautiful, plays like a dream, plethora of sound options, affordable, and fender. This guitar is for the person that can't decide if they want a strat, a tele, or a paul. It's got it all. Flawless in every aspect and such a comfortable contoured body! All I can say is I am more than satisfied!!!

  • from Oklahoma February 21, 2017

    Fender telecaster modern player plus

    I read nothing but great reviews about this guitar so i ordered it and i am extremely happy i did

  • from Glenpool, OK January 25, 2017

    Great Deal, Great Price, Great Guitar!

    Don't be fooled because this is made in China. This is a genuine Fender, quality guitar through and through. How can we in the USA compete when China is crafting genuine Fender merchandise this good for way cheaper than the price of an American made Tele? Sorry, but I see no sense at all in paying double or even triple the price for an American made Tele that is not as versatile as this guitar. This thing is a well designed, well built, beautiful instrument for a ridiculously affordable price tag. Great pickup configuration and many tone variations available to the player of any style of music. Feels good in the hands. Only alteration is I hate the gloss on the neck because it creates hand drag and slows down playing movements, so I sanded it for 5-6 minutes with 400 grit sandpaper, and it's as smooth now as my HSH Strat's neck. Grab you a piece of Fender history and get this for your collection. I bet you'll be pleased.

  • from WPB January 24, 2017

    Absolutely Amazing!

    What a revolutionary guitar concept! This girl plays like a dream! I mean, the fit and finish on her is visually Custom Shop quality! Unbelievable! AMAZING tone, beautiful action, great setup, love the 9's! I could not be happier with my choice OR with Sweetwater, and my rep Ian, of course! Much thanks and gratitude to all the team at Sweetwater!

  • from January 24, 2017

    AMAZING!

    Love Mine so much THE BEST TELE

  • from October 8, 2016

    Modern telecaster custom plus

    I bought one in 2015 i liked the guitar but it would not stay in tune when hard playing changed the tuners to true lock fender tuners,that worked perfect,the five way switchgot sloppy,changed it to a fender switch that worked,talked to a pro he said the pickups were questionable being fenderor not put seymore duncan quarter pound set in now it is a top notch that the pros like it plays like my 56 tele but better love it.

  • from Cutler, Indiana October 4, 2016Music Background:
    I'm 79 yrs.old. No musical background. Learned to play guitar since retireing. I am 79 years old.

    Fender Modern Player Telecaster

    This Telecaster is a great guitar for me. Also my friends who are very good musicians say that this a good guitar for the money. I am no great musician, just learning to play, but this has a good feel up and down the neck and easy to play. I and others love the Honey Burst color. This is no light weight guitar but once I get it on and hanging around my neck it is comfortable to me. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a very good guitar and no need to pay a big price for a Telecaster. Love it.

  • from USA August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist/Part time gigs

    I dig it!

    Bought one at Guitar Center, sorry Sweetwater as I am a huge fan of y'all, but Guitar Center had a nice scratch and dent price with a sweet tweed case included. Love the guitar! I had all Seymour Duncan pickups installed: a JB at the bridge, a Cool Rail in the middle and a Alnico Pro Tele ll at the neck. So many possibilities with those on this Tele. It's perfect for a Frankenstein guitar. That's really why I bought it. After all is said and done, I love it!

  • from Greenbrier, TN June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Guitar player for over 40 years

    Telecaster Modern Player

    First, I have to thank Sweetwater and Dan for all the great service they have provided!
    The Modern Player is a lot of fun to play. It is one of the best feeling guitars I have played.
    I have been playing over 40 years now and am fortunate enough to own a few nice guitars.
    I have a '58 Telecaster and the Modern Player plays just as well. I will be replacing the pickups, but
    I usually replace all my pickups to Seymour Duncan's for many years now.
    If you like Telecasters at all, even if you don't, get one of these !
    You will not be disappointed!

  • from June 9, 2016Music Background:
    26 years playing in bars, electric and acoustic

    Brilliant

    This is simply one of the best guitars I have ever played. The range of different sounds you can produce is spectacular. It feels and plays like a $2500 guitar . For the money you will not find a better guitar.

  • from Wisconsin March 2, 2016Music Background:
    over 50 years as singer, songwriter, musician, recording artist.

    WOW!

    This guitar is all I could have asked for and more. It plays beautifully, sounds great and looks like a million bucks. I had a Tele in the 70s, but it didn't compare to this guitar. Try one and you'll see what I mean.

  • from Northeast February 27, 2016

    Two more things....No lightweight

    Adding to earlier rave about this guitar. The lipstick neck pickup is wonderful, warm bottle tones. The center strat p/u is great and you will want to leave the five way switch in the middle. Humbucker at bridge is powerful and twangy.
    This guitar is great, but it is not, repeat not, light in weight, although the tone is airy and bass is light-ish.
    Get one.

  • from Vancouver, WA January 18, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician for several years, now weekends.

    Great axe, really Sweet

    I love this guitar. I can go from country to blues to rock with ease. The neck feels really nice and it looks fantastic. My only thing is a couple of screws I had to tighten and some minor adjustments I had to make.
    Great addition to my stage gear. And it did not break the bank.

  • from September 7, 2015

    Great service 5 stars

    Zach garrison: great guy, takes the time !
    This is a very nice guitar well made and, looks and, sounds great . Needed a few adjustments but over all you will not find a nicer guitar for under $ 400- Thanks Zach. For the time.

  • from Jersey! August 19, 2015Music Background:
    accoustic moving to electric

    perfect guitar for home player

    This thing does so much all in one beautiful package. Can't thank my engineer Adam Briggs enough. Needed his advice and got the perfect solution which I did not even know existed. We can't thank him enough. Only compromise is the volume output on the bridge when coil tapped but don't let that dissuade you from auditioning this baby. Uness you're rich and can afford a specific guitar for everything you want to play, check these out. Its really a swiss army knife of a guitar. Thanks again Adam, great job!

  • from August 14, 2015

    Very versatile

    Very nice Tele for $400.00. Swapped the bridge pickup with a Dimarzio Super Distortion and now it sustains forever and match's the classic rock sound I like. Highly recommend you take a look. A bit of tweaking had it setup for 11's.

  • from Oklahoma City, OK July 17, 2015Music Background:
    lots o' stuff

    WOW!

    Okay first off, the price was going to tell me that it may be an okay guitar for a beginner but not for me. I only play on guitars that cost as much as cars first off and have been playing for almost 25 years. Well I noticed in all these pedal demo videos on youtube that they all I MEAN ALL were playing on a Tele. I heard all the hype about telecasters and such but I did not want to buy into it. After all, I am a LES PAUL GUY ALL THE WAY :) and then I found out something. Jimmy Page on Led Zeppelin IV "Stairway to Heaven" the solo you know everyone knows that famous solo was actually played on a guess what.....TELECASTER! OMG can't believe it. I figured it was a Les Paul Black Beauty like the one I have. Well it turns out that many famous musicians turn to Telecasters for their goto guitar. They have a really interesting tone to them especially on a fender amp. For some reason, fender guitars sound better on fender amps and mine is a vintage tweed tube amp 2x12 60 watts, two rectifier tubes to boot I mean its just a classic. Anyway back to the guitar. I cannot tell you the quality of this guitar given the price. Their is a fine finish/gloss on the body and neck unlike other guitars in this price range. The neck didn't even need adjusting when I got it. And I simply plugged it in with my boutique analog man pedals and went to town as it were. I highly suggest if you want to jump on the Tele band wagon then by all means spend about 400 bucks or 130 x3 three easy payments. You will be glad you did.

  • from July 15, 2015

    Modern Player Telecaster #002

    My review was already submitted, but I think I know how Robert Kelsey's MPC serial number 002 got a Stratocaster decal on its headstock. A Chinese worker who could not read English picked up and applied the wrong name on the Tele. They all say "Fender" but the model name is very small.

    When the Chinese products get the respect they deserve for their FINE (close enough to USA IMO) quality, this rare bird should start to appreciate.

    Keep it clean and stock!

  • from July 15, 2015

    Made my friend think I'm a guitar expert

    I played bass in a British Invasion band in the '60s. Now I collect and play AT six strings, have about a dozen.

    A friend of mine is a fine player. He had a nice (expensive) Martin acoustic and Gibson electric stolen from his apartment a few years ago. He asked me what he should shop for with his insurance money.

    I told him he plays so much country and western he really should try a Telecaster (he'd never owned a Fender product).

    He happened upon an early sample of the just-introduced Modern Player Plus and was blown away. AIR he paid between $400 and $500 and remains totally in love with his new main axe. Local musicians hate it when he and his keyboardist wife show up for any kind of amateur night contest or play-off, With her perfect-pitch singing voice they always win!

    As they are both legally blind, they don't have much in the way of internet access, so I get called. No problem it's always fun to guitar-shop, even for somebody else. Especially now that my three sons ('89 American Standard Strat, '98 Danelectro Turquoise U56 and 2002 Chrome Red American Standard Strat) are grown and moved away (two Fender American Standard Strats and one Danelectro U56),

    Seetwater has SWEET DEALS!

  • from Canton, OH June 29, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Modern Player Telecaster Plus

    Plays great, but a little heavy. Pickups are pretty nice. Just a little tweaking of the amp to smooth out the brightness was all it needed.

  • from June 26, 2015

    The Best Tele

    I've Played, Gibson, Epiphone, Fender all kinds, But this is the BEST Guitar I have ever owned. The Modern Player, puts out a nice creamy tone, which you can play Country to Rock, real easy. If someone stole my Tele, I would buy another ASAP. You really can't beat the price. This thing plays like a $ 5,000 dollar Ax..Get one. If your serious about your playing. Get The Tele Modern Player Plus....The Best Ax Around...

  • from Kent, Washington June 10, 2015Music Background:
    Played guitar for years

    Great Company, nice guitar/ nice case

    I've been watching this guitar for sometime (watching you tube videos and reviews) and everyone, myself included likes this guitar! Everything about it was as I expected, no fret buzz, pickups all sounded nice fit and finish excellent. As another reviewer said, its a swiss army knife (well thought out guitar). I did change the strings to Ernie ball hybrid slinky 9 to 46 (personal preference) and I raised all three pickups very slightly. The pickups seemed to be very responsive as received so know biggie to lower them back if needed. Other then that I'm happy, Sweetwater did it again, thanks to Anthony Longano (sales engineer), the shipping staff for their excellent packaging and the tech who did the 55 point inspection of the guitar. Also I ordered the Fender Pro strat/tele case in tweed, very nice!

  • from Virginia Beach VA March 11, 2015Music Background:
    playing since the mid 70's. gigging bands and studio work

    Good and bad

    While this guitar has great looks and some excellent sounds, the saddles are awful. What's more, the pine is soft enough for you strap screws to start saw-dusting out after a bit. The meddle Strat pickup is no great shakes. Spend $100 more for a Mexican. This is a Chinese guitar with a nice neck and paint job but, longer term, it's will show its weaknesses and will cost that $100 to replace the saddles and whatever else shows its cheapness. I can't say it doesn't look and play well out of the box, but I caution against it.

  • from montgomery, alabama February 24, 2015Music Background:
    amateur.

    impressed with the tele

    my first telecaster. i always wanted one.very impressed. i really like the tone options of this. unbelievable for the price.

  • from New Hampshire February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, Composer, Semi-Pro Musician

    Almost Perfect

    You can get loads of tones out of this guitar, from ambient to death metal. My only complaint is that the bridge humbucker is somewhat weak but that's kinda to be expected on a Tele. It is a bit quieter than the others(this may be due to the coil tap) but not enough to really screw you up too much if you're planning on switching pick ups in a live situation.
    The cleans are phenomenal, the mid to high gain leads are nice and smooth, and even high gain rhythm can be accomplished if you have the right gear for the job.
    Does it sound like a Tele? Pretty much. Is it a good buy for the price? In my opinion, yes. Good sound, and comfortable to play.

  • from Chipley, FL February 4, 2015Music Background:
    Seasoned Guitar Player of many genres, All around Semi Pro Musician :)

    Plays Super Nice, Feels Great

    Fit and finish are great on this guitar. No rough edges on the neck or anywhere. The single coils are a little noisy, but the numbers 2 and 4 positions are awesome. Those are all you could ask for in a Tele, for contemporary styles of music. Also, with the coils tapped on the humbucker, and in position 2, it is still super sweet. Love this thing so far!

  • from January 10, 2015

    Great guitar & great company

    I was interested in picking up a guitar to learn on and play around with. Didn't want to make a huge investment. I looked at some guitars in the $200-300 price range but this one seemed like a major step up without a huge price premium. I know very little about guitars, but I can tell you that this guitar looks and feels well made. I found it to be a great and unique buying experience. Being able to see photos of the guitars and pick the one I wanted was a big selling point. The guitar was double boxed for shipping and arrived in perfect condition. The service provided by Sweetwater really exceeded my expectations. Very happy with my new Fender and Sweetwater!

  • from CA January 10, 2015Music Background:
    40+ years.

    Fender Moder Player Tele

    Picked one up yesterday after playing it a few days. Action is great, sound decent. For the money, Im really enjoying it. Going to consider changing out the pickups, maybe. But this is a guitar I can carry around in my gig bag and not worry about. Nice

  • from Md December 6, 2014Music Background:
    been playing for ever i was 10 when i started

    its a winner

    it came today i took it out of the box about six hour ago . An have not put it down yet. The neck is unreal the fret end are so smooth . the look the real i could go on and on. i have had some guitar in my year and i put this $399 one right up there with bunch. im not one that care about where it was made. where every this one was made fender have step up there game . Now for the one small ad i mean small detail. the the rear pick up im going to change it out its a little weak when you go to single coil . just going to put i a hotter one but im not i a hurry to do it im going to enjoy this girl to night . i did switch the plate around Vol tone the five way took me 5mins.im going to get another one and put stack pick up in that one and will be able to split all three pick ups . ok im goig back to playing .

  • from Waynesville, NC November 23, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro, semi-retired

    Modern Player Telecaster

    I really was pleasantly surprised when I got my hands on this guitar. Now, I'm not an electric guy as I've been playing acoustic for 51 years. I've had 3 Strats over the years and they all had the rosewood fretboards. I never bought a Tele because they dug into my ribs, but these new ones with the "gut-cut" body are so much more comfortable. I have yet to find a problem with the build quality. It's beautifiul, plays great and I'm really liking the maple neck.
    Also, Kudos to the Sweetwater crew. It arrived in perfect shape. I ordered it around noon on Thursday and had it in western NC by 10 am Saturday. Good job folks.

  • from Saugerties NY November 19, 2014Music Background:
    51 Yrs. Pro Musician, A&R, Project Mgr.

    SWISS ARMY GUITAR $

    The easiest, lightest action on any Tele I have ever played. This was true of it with B.B. King Strings (Custom 52-10) and the Ernie Ball Super Slinky 9's I settled on. Very minimal adjusting. Having so many tonal options at your disposal is a treat. There ain't nuthin' that I am not ready for with this Baby in my hands. It is one of the most versatile guitars I own. I own several other stereo & Midi guitars. This guitar floors me no frills all out Bad to the Bone. In any genre ! ! !

  • from Sacramento CA U S A July 17, 2014Music Background:
    Just Love to Play.

    This Player Loves His Tele Player.

    I bought this Telecaster as a Birthday present to my self on July 4th 2014.It dose matter what kind of music you play.This Guitar dose it all.I play mostly Country and it kicks ass.The pine wood is great not as heavy as other Telecaster.One great guitar.

  • from Crestline, CA June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Both Sweetwater and this guitar are great.

    This is the first guitar I've bought sight unseen. To many good reviews on this one, China or not. Sweetwater had the most in stock, and the pine wood grain is beautiful through this finish, so I had pick of the litter.

    Now to get a salesperson that knows about guitars on the line to grab the best one for me. My guy turned out to be (and still is) Alan Miller. He couldn't have been more helpful and patient with me. I had concerns that the humbucker wouldn't have enough crunch, so after much deliberation, we decided to change it out with a Dimarzio DP 100 and re-string and set the action height with Ernie Ball Heavy Bottom Light tops for the non-ripmeoff price. He also recommended a nice Gator case that fits the guitar perfectly for under $100.

    The guitar was well packaged and arrived via Fed Ex in good shape.

    How does it sound? I plugged it in to my Marshall JCM 800 with a Kerry King EQ through the effects loop and took about 10 minutes to get the EQ and tone knobs on the amp right. WOW! Played it out of the box for three hours. Feedback sounds wonderfull and is totally controllable. So many tones. Never had to touch the gain on the amp, just rolled back the volume knob and it sounds great through the whole range. Knobs and switches are very nice. The whole guitar is very nice. Grabbed a bar F at the top of the neck. Not only did I not have to turn my hand into "the claw" barely had to press and no fret buzz anywhere. All strings ringing. Good job on the quality control Fender. There's a lot of music it this guitar. This is one that's going to get better as it ages and gets used to not being a tree and more used to being a guitar with a little sweat in the wood.

    Sweetwater has a new repeat customer and Alan Miller is the man.

  • from Cincinnati, OH June 26, 2014Music Background:
    Basement Dweller

    I'm impressed

    I purchased this guitar without ever having had played one. I based my purchase solely on reviews, the bridge position humbucker (in a tele), beautiful finish and of course, the price point. Out of the box I was blown away. It plays great and sounds incredible through all of my amps. The action is fast and smooth. With a guitar at this price I was expecting to take it straight to the work bench to make adjustments. That certainly was not the case. I gave it a 4.5 because I know that one day I'll eventually replace the bridge pickup. As said before it sounds solid, I'm just picky.

  • from Cleveland, OH June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician, Gear Snob

    VERY VERY Impressed! And I'm A Guitar Snob!

    So....I've been playing guitar and bass for about 30 years. About 10 years ago, I was stricken with the vintage guitar bug....sold all my "player" guitars and amassed a nice collection of 60's-70's electrics and high-end acoustics (Rickenbacker, Fenders, Gibsons, Martins, Guilds, etc). I love each and every one of them exactly for what they were designed to do. Recently, I have joined a newer Top 40 project and the songs are all over the map. As much as I would love to take all my valuable guitars to a gig, I also like the idea of travelling light....so the idea of a versatile HSS Tele was intriguing. Enter the Modern Player Telecaster Plus. I read literally hundreds of reviews and, aside from a couple nay-sayers, I couldn't find one legitimately bad review. So, I took a $399 chance. Put it this way....I received the guitar yesterday, played it for a couple hours and am HOOKED! The craftsmanship is truly superb, sounds great, looks great, plays like a dream, sustains for days.....everything I wanted in a versatile axe that I can take to a gig and coax many different music genres out of. Out of the box, the pickups sound great....maybe down the road I'll experiment with new pickups and modding.....which I would do anyway with all my guitars. Who cares if it was crafted in China.....it's a nice guitar. Aside from the fact that this guitar didn't support American workers, I find nothing wrong with it.....a true gem! I'm loving it!

  • from FL June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Drummer from 1967

    Sweet

    I was looking for a hardtail strat when I came across this fine looking tele. Really, I could not be happier with it. Rather than forking over $2000.00 for a guitar that has all the features of this one, I bought this one. The set-up and play-ability of this guitar is awesome. I can play this through garage band on my ipad and come up with some unbelievable sounds. Yea, put together in China. So what. It is a beauty that will only increase in value..... at least for me. Digg it!

  • from grass lake mi usa June 6, 2014Music Background:
    17 years of rockin

    incredible quality at unheard price

    This is like having 3 guitars with the same neck on them! Incredible tone played through a tube amp.I can play country, rock and roll, and blues or jazz with a flick of a switch. No need to adjust knobs on your amp! Very happy with this axe.

  • from Loganville, Ga April 13, 2014Music Background:
    Pro- Musician, Worship Leader, Elecronic Artist, Recording Engineer

    Seriously? You've got to be kidding Me... It's too good to be true!

    Walked into my local guitar store intending to buy a Les Paul when this little beauty caught my eye. The finish is SPECTACULAR! The photos don't do it justice! The neck feels like a slightly wider strat neck, which I love. It just fits in my hands so well!

    Looks were solid, but who cares if it can't sound good. Believe me- This guitar kills! I put it up against Mexican Standards, American Standards, even Custom Shop Teles, Les Pauls, Strats but this guitar smashed them all! There's so much tonal variety!

    So seriously, go and buy this guitar! You owe it to your fingers! I had been riding the fence on whether I was a Fender or a Gibson guy. This guitar answers my dilemma: I'm a Fender Guy all the way!

  • from Stratford. CT USA March 31, 2014Music Background:
    gospel, jazz , funk, r&b.

    SO NICE I DID IT TWICE.

    So what its from china they put in a little work on this one for fender for a person that is trying make ends meet. nice quality i purchase
    both.

  • from Schertz, Tx. January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Blues & Rock Musician (Mid 1960's)

    Great Guitar Period!

    I'm tired of hearing term Great Guitar for the money. This Guitar is Great Period! It plays and sounds Awesome. The Body and Neck Finish is absolutely Flawless! With the Gut cut Body like the Srat makes this the most comfortable Tele I have ever played. I love the Pine wood Grain thru the transparent finish. Right out of the box, plugged it into my Fender Blues Deville and WOW! It is so Sweet! You could pay a thousand or more $ for a Guitar like this but why would you want to. The sound and playability is amazing. Plus it is beautiful. This the second Guitar I've bought from Tyler Berggren @ Sweetwater and it will not be the last. Thanks again Tyler.

  • from United States December 1, 2013Music Background:
    guitar player/collector

    the best fender on the market

    this tele is the best guitar ive ever played or have had in my collection the sound the tone and play ability the action is so fast this guitar is so sweet that i would add another one to my collection

  • from Mars Hill, NC November 26, 2013Music Background:
    50-yr. + Musician, performer

    SUPER COOL & AMAZINGLY AFFORDABLE TELE!!

    After going through several different modern "Telecasters", (i.e., Squire Classic Vibes, Mexican Standards, etc.) I finally decided to spring for this beauty. Sure am glad I did, and am at last very satisfied. I am no stranger to Fender, and Tele's in general, having owned several in my 50+ years of playing, and this bad boy ranks right up there with any of them.
    Chinese or not, this guitar is definitely made well. MUCH better quality and attention to detail than any Mex model that I've tried, and the pine body is super-nice. Love the gut cut, and the finish is amazing. The big star here, though, is the neck. What a beauty, lovely grained maple and I love the gloss fingerboard. Those jumbo frets are smooth as silk and perfectly finished - - plays like butter. Of course, I had to do a bit of setup (filed down the nut slots slightly, and did some saddle intonation for my new set of strings) but those things are always necessary in any mail order guitar, don't fool yourself. The strings that came with it were garbage, so the Fender .009's that I put on made all the difference in the world in playability and intonation. The vintage tuners seem to work well and hold tune, so they are fine with me. The hardware seems very solid and up to specs with American Fenders, and the pickups are fine for my playing. Granted, the bridge humbucker is a tad weak when split, but I raised the pickup closer to the strings and that helped a lot. May replace it at some point with something more substantial, but right now I see no need. The unusual pickup configuration on this bad boy is amazing, and you can get Strat tones galore (I especially like the #2 setting) and even LP tones. Don't expect that bright Tele single-coil spark when the humbucker is split, though - - it's just not quite the same. Bright enough, but just not the Don Rich sound. I rarely use that sound anyway, so for me it's not an issue, and when I do play country and need that spank the humbucker works OK. I did notice that the neck pup was also a bit anemic, so I raised it a bit and now it's just fine. Unfortunately, you have to remove the pickguard to raise the neck pup, but since I have always done all my setups, this was not a big deal for me. I may replace all the pups on this guitar someday down the road, but like I said they are fine as is right now.
    This is a wonderfully playable and affordable tele, and I recommend it to anyone, beginner to pro. Quit wasting your time and $$$ on Squires and Mexican stuff when these are out there - - you'll not believe how well this thing plays and sounds. I got the Honeyburst, and it's a real beauty. Can't say when I've enjoyed playing a guitar this much, and plan on doing some recording this winter. GREAT JOB, Fender!

  • from Brooklyn, NY October 20, 2013Music Background:
    40+ years hobbyist , and tube amp RCAs all the way !!

    Best guitar I’ve Ever played for this money, or even more!!

    Best guitar I’ve Ever played for this money or even more!!
    Just got my FENDER MODERN PLAYER PLUS TELECASTER, from My Sales Rep, NICK CHURCH, at SWEETWATER MUSIC OF COURSE!! Why, they really care about what they send out their customers. This Guitar right out of the Box is just a dream. Playing for over 40 years, and the combination of sounds coming from this” Fender Modern Player Plus Tele,” are to say the least astounding.
    • Position (1) Bridge Humbucker with, Switch down.
    • Position (1) Single coil, Coil tap on Bridge Humbucker , Switch up
    • Position (2) Single coil Middle Pickup, and Bridge Humbucker Switch Down.
    • Position (2) Single coil Middle Pickup, and Bridge Humbucker in Coil Tap (Single coil Position) Switch Up.
    • Position (3) Middle pickup Single Coil.
    • Position (4) Middle pickup and Neck Tele Pickup.
    • Position (5) Neck Tele pickup.
    • All together 7 pickup combinations

    The workmanship, and craftsmanship, of this Crafted in China Guitars are remarkable. The pickups are quite, and smooth the switching is silent, as is the noise level of the overall guitar. With 7 Different switching combos, and it pine resonating body taken from Leos original design this is an incredible delight to play as it becomes part of you instantly and performs without any problems what so ever. This is also due to the fact of Having Sales engineers who are players also like Nick Church who has been helping me for the last 2 years in getting me the best choices and great setups for my Guitars and other musically related needs. If you have any doubt’s, or questions on this guitars performance please try one in your local store, but do by all means buy it from Sweetwater Music ,where they have Musicians helping people obtain their goals, and not just a sales quota for their commission. So give Nick Church a call for assistance, as he will make sure the instrument chosen for your shipment is perfect in every way. And please people; just remember because you buy a 2,000 or 3,000 dollar guitar, that is Eric Clapton model or Stevie Ray Vaughn means it will help you play like them. Try some new ideas and let it flow remember Eric Clapton’s brownie was bought in a pawn shop, It’s his playing that made it magic!!!
    Also a good tube Amp Helps!!

  • from Batavia, Ohio September 8, 2013Music Background:
    Used to play in bands back in my high school days in the 80's. Now I just play at home for my own enjoyment.

    Incredible Super Sweet (and RARE) Telecaster!

    This thing is incredible! It's probably the most versatile Telecaster ever made. It really is my dream guitar. I've always loved the Telecasters but could never buy one because they simply weren't as versatile as a Stratocaster. Fender finally delivered with this model. The 5-way Stratocaster switch plus the coil tap switch let you pull out any sound you can think of. Also, let's not forget the hum-bucker. I can finally play anything from jazz, blues, rock and finally....METAL on a Telecaster! Yay! I've just always loved the Telecaster headstock much more than Strat's fat ugly one (especially the 70's models). The only thing missing to make it perfect would be a strat style tremolo. Even without a tremolo, this guitar has really grown on me. I actually fond it one day at my local Guitar Center (sorry guys) and it blew me away. Best of all mine is incredibly rare! It actually says Stratocaster on the headstock instead of Telecaster! It's like it was made just for me! Best of all the Serial Number is CGF1207002! The 12 is for 2012, the 07 is for July and the 002? That's right! I own the SECOND ONE MADE WITH A MIS-PRINTED HEADSTOCK!!! What are the odds that would happen on the second one made? For that matter what are the odds anyone can get ANY model of Fender in a single digit Serial Number? It only makes me wonder where the heck is the first one made is located? Needless to say, I will NEVER part with this amazingly versatile super rare Tele! (Well, maybe for the right amount of cash. LoL!) Lastly, mine is black on black. Black body with a black pick guard. It truly was a once in a lifetime find for me. I just really wish it was the beautiful Honey Burst shown here at Sweetwater. In fact, I may just go ahead and buy that one for the beauty and so I can put my rare Number 2 away for safe keeping. At such a low price, I'd be a fool not to!

  • from Cedar Park, TX August 16, 2013Music Background:
    Church worship leader, Studio hobbyist/live sound, Song writer.

    Great Git for the $$

    This is a really good guitar for the money. Finish, neck & frets are
    great quality and very comfortable. Sweetwater really go over their guitars before you get them so I needed no adjustments. Love the 5 position switch and tail humbucker, give this guitar a lot of good tones.
    Usually, the Tele has been too "clean" for me to appreciate but with this one I can dig in and get some beef. It also is very comfortable to play.
    Gets 4 stars happily, would want to change to higher quality pickups
    if needing better control in the studio, but you could not go wrong if looking to have an electric guitar to enjoy & not worry about.

  • from bluffton in. July 29, 2013Music Background:
    just a guitar player

    nice guitar

    Lots of useful tones perfect finish set up was great. One problem the neck pick up is week other than that great

  • from Niagara Falls, NY January 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great guitar for intermediate, or guitar hobbyists!

    I absolutely love this guitar. Great versatility. If you're looking to move up from a beginner level guitar this should be your next purchase. I have no complaints of this guitar at all. It's beautiful and feels great. Purchasing this from Sweetwater was probably one of the best decisions I've ever made haha. Every penny worth it. Be sure to buy a guitar case for this guitar too!

  • from December 24, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter, Guitar Player

    Having your cake, and eating it...

    I actually purchased this at a local music shop before it was available from Sweetwater (sorry guys). It literally jumped off of the rack, because of the way it's finished (transparent sunburst accentuates the pine end grain). When I played it, I was really impressed. When I looked at the price, I was blown away. First, it's a Fender, through and through...for less money than some Squiers. Awesome workmanship. Great-feeling neck, and comfortable body (with the gut cut). The most versatile Tele I've ever played, tone-wise. With that split humbucker at the bridge and the Strat pup in the middle, the variations are endless...and they go way beyond the standard Tele twang...which this one delivers too. Can't say enough good things about this instrument. If you're anything like me, you won't be able to stop playing it.

  • from Charleston SC December 21, 2012Music Background:
    Musician Producer Engineer

    Favorite Guitar I own

    tele a start nd a humbucker in a sexy tele style honey burst ooweeee
    i love this guitar might not be the lightest it plays like a dream.. screw if it's from China last time i compared this to a Mexican made one it was far more superior. the craftsmanship was tight my only compaint was some buzz on the low E string but thats expected from the slack tunings i play in and that tele sound .. anyways great guitar the tones are pristine and dynamic from pickup to pickup.

  • from Low Country, SC August 15, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Hobbist, Collector

    REVIEW UPDATE

    I' ve had this guitar a few weeks. Installed some Joe Barden pickups and wow!
    I have to admit this is one of the best sounding guitars I have ever owned. The tones are amazing. I can go from jazz, country to flat out rock with this guitar. For a pro, pickup changes are a must. This guitar plays and sounds as good as any custom fender can or would. For the money! Just a few upgrades and minor adjustments you will have a home made custom (chinese custom) that is. Give this guitar a try. It looks amazing. The online pictures don't do it justice. All my muscian friends are as amazed how nice it looks and well it plays.
    Just sure excitement. Note: The chinese are now making fine quality guitars.

    Thanks again Sweetwater

  • from Low Country Blues, SC July 26, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Hobbyist, Avid Guitar Collector

    EAT MY WORDS

    I told my self I would never buy a Chinese guitar. Folks, I am eating my words today and they are tasting real good. Do not under estimate the quality of this guitar. This is one fine instrument. Sweetwater has a fantastic deal on this guitar. I am blown away by the build quality. It is outstanding. A Fender Tele tone with a little something extra. It looks even better in person and plays "Oh So Nice". I am very happy. Thanks Joe.
    I would recommend this guitar to anyone.

Questions about the Fender Modern Player Telecaster Plus - Honey Burst with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway