0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Fender Jim Adkins JA-90 Telecaster Thinline - Crimson Transparent with Rosewood Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Jim Adkins JA-90 Telecaster Thinline - Crimson Transparent with Rosewood Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Jim Adkins JA-90 Telecaster Thinline - Crimson Transparent with Rosewood Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Myrtle Beach, S.C. April 8, 2015Music Background:
    Lifetime musician. Home studio recordist.

    The Fender JA-90 Tele Is A Beast!

    Straight up, and great guitar, well conceived and executed. Don't buy into that snobby "Oh, built in Indonesia? That's not Fender!" line of crap. Their quality control must be incredible; fit and finish are perfect, no flaws, gorgeous gloss transparent red paint and that matching headstock is killer with the gold Fender logotype. But the sound - the Seymour Duncan SP90 soap bar single coil pickups give great warmth and sustain from the semi-hollow body design, but it will sit up and growl with the best of them. All electronics were tight, no crackling pots; action was surprisingly well-set right out of the box. The neck and fingerboard are straight and true, and the playability of this thing is just a joy to behold. It is a great addition to my stable of players ... but for pure beauty, it rivals my Heritage Cherry Explorer. Very happy, and thanks to Jim Adkins for developing the model off of his TC-90.

  • from Las Cruces, NM April 16, 2013Music Background:
    Professional

    Not just another telecaster.

    When I saw and read about this guitar I was curious to say the least. Tele's have been one of my favorites since the late '60's, always there, always reliable. After investigation and actually playing one in the studio, I had to have it. The tone is sweet, fat and sassy. I've played it through various different amps from a Fender Blues Junior to a Marshall Model 2555 and everything in between with stunning results. I was introduced to it by Sweetwater Sound. Hey guys you did it again. Thanks for the memories.

  • from Colorado Springs, Co. November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Musician and teacher. Home recordist. Retired.

    This was an 'impulse' purchase that scored 100% , , , ,

    'Impulse' may be a poor word to describe my purchase of the JA-90. I am not too fond of the country 'chicken-pickin' , heavy twang style of music usually associated with the Tele sound. I was looking for a ES 335 style guitar.

    When I saw the Crimson Transparent JA-90 on the Sweetwater website it looked beautiful. And the Gibson style adjustable bridge and anchored tailpiece got my attention. The addition of Seymour Duncan P-90's was enough to send me to Youtube to hear what it could do. I bought it.

    The overall quality is very good. The action out of the box was near perfect. This guitar came extremely well packed. I've bought several instruments on-line and it's always a toss-up regarding what condition you find when the box gets delivered. Packing is important!

    My concerns about everything sounding too twangy were forgotten as soon as I plugged into my amp and started playing----this guitar has a great sound range, from full, round bass tones, good mids, right up to screaming solos. There's twang there if you need it, but don't be afraid to play some jazz if the mood strikes.

    Tuners, pots, three way all work well and feel solid. I found one small area on the upper frets that could have used a little more polishing---got a little grind on pushes. But I'm measuring against my Hot Rod 57 Strat, which is glass smooth on all the fretboard.

    A word concerning the quality of Sweetwaters' customer service; I noticed immediately that the f- hole rim was not finished to standards of the rest of the instrument. There were areas on the rim that were rough and had little or no finish. This was easily seen and distracted from the otherwise very good finish quality.

    I Emailed Jen at Sweetwater explaining my concern and included a high res picture of the F-hole rim. This was more for Sweetwater's info than a complaint. I didn't request a replacement. Jen called me within a short time and told me that she wanted to correct the situation ASAP. Unfortunately there wasn't any red JA-90's in stock. Jen then contacted Fender and found another matching guitar for me.

    This is good service! As it turned out I was able to correct the problem myself. I have experience in instrument finish work.

  • from Utica,NY April 7, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    A wide range of tones

    This is my first Tele. I have always used Strats and I was curious with the look of this Tele. I researched it and I had great input from Sweetwater customer service. It came three days fedex set up the way I wanted it. I get classic Tele tones plus several others and it is easy to play and light. If you are looking for a tele this is one to look at. It is eye catching, lightweight, easy to play, and a whole range of tones with the classic Tele chicken pickin.

  • from Chantilly, VA March 17, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-professional musician

    Fender Fan

    What a great guitar. I just got mine from Sweetwater today via FedEX. The guitar itself is just beautiful. The red has the wood grain showing through, so it's quite unique for a Tele. With the Seymour Duncan pickups, it;'s sort of like playing a Gibson SG in a Telecaster's body. It has a very cool tone to it. Not at all like a typical bright sounding Fender. I've only had it a day and already love it. Plus, you can't beat Sweetwater's customer service, I have a Guitar Center just a few miles away and still bought it from Sweetwater.

  • from Indiana December 22, 2015Music Background:
    50 years

    Great Sounding Telecaster

    Once again Sweetwater delivers a guitar that is ready to gig right out of the box. This guitar has a great sound, very unique. It seems to be a combination of the body type and pick ups. Clean sound is very clear and deep, not thin sounding. Dial in the twang in the middle position. Pots feel solid and everything looks great. Body is just cool looking in red. Give it a little Marshall pre-amp and it really spits fire. Push the gain up a little higher and it gets overdriven tones that are intense. The pick ups are great, as they respond immediately to your attack. Stays in tune for days! Would be a 5 star but it comes with no case or gig bag. Not the way to treat a beauty like this. Get the hard shell Fender case for $119.00 Classic axe.

  • from Thomasville, NC August 1, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / Worship Arts Pastor

    I love this guitar

    I have yet to get a bad tone out of this guitar. It was definitely love at first sight, sound and touch!

  • from Virginia February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Play in Bands part time

    My project guitar

    This guitar is made in Indonesia. Like all imported guitars, there are many things I like and some things I don't.
    I would have preferred to pay more for this guitar and have it being higher quality out of the box. Case is not included.
    Things I like - The set in neck is very cool and the guitar resonates really nice --- the body and paint job is excellent and it looks very cool.
    The Stop tail bridge is nice and definitely gives the sound a sort of Gibson vibe.
    Things I don' like - The setup is terrible on this guitar there are weird spots on the neck that sound odd as well as there is are weird overtones (even unplugged) . I am not sure if the frets need to be leveled. The tone and volume pots seem to be low quality and muffle the sound when dialed back
    Overall I plan to take this guitar to my guitar tech and have him level the frets and do a setup - maybe replace the POTs - I will rely on his opinion. The jury is out on the Seymour Duncan PAFS. I had them cranked up the other day and they sounded excellent. But I do miss the Fender sound - This overall is a cool guitar but for me might be better with Humbuckers and coils taps. I will keep the PAFs for a while since they do have a certain vibe

Questions about the Fender Jim Adkins JA-90 Telecaster Thinline - Crimson Transparent with Rosewood Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway