rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster Custom - 3-tone Sunburst Reviews

5.0 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster Custom - 3-tone Sunburst?

Questions about the Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster Custom - 3-tone Sunburst?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Toledo oh April 10, 2017Music Background:
    Been playing for 50 years

    Classic vibe custom telecaster

    My telecaster arrived in pristine condition and it was only slightly out of tune. It is so nice buying things from Sweetwater, no matter how much or how little you spend they seem to have set the standard for their industry. They take the time to answer All your questions and even offer advice when you ask.
    Back to the guitar, I don't believe that for the price they ask for this guitar that anyone could get a better deal. The vibe is definitely classic, the fit and finish is impeccable. The neck is wonderfully thin and silky smooth. The action could not be better right out of the box, and the intonation is spot on! It plays and sounds as good or better than my AMERICAN standard Tele.
    I bought this guitar and a great fitted SKB case and a FSR Super Champ X2 all within a month.
    I'm in heaven man!!!!

  • from duck creek village, UT February 13, 2017

    Awesome guitar!

    Could not be happier! Read all of the reviews before purchasing and they were spot on. I have a Fender American Standard tele but wanted something I could try some upgrades and mods with. Great workmanship on the neck and frets are smooth. Pickups and electronics sound so good I may not be doing the mods I had planned right away. Beautiful guitar and great addition to my growing guitar collection. It would make a terrific first electric guitar and wish I had known it sooner. Don't be a guitar snob and pass up this one because it was made in China. I also have a made in China Epi Les Paul that I love as much as this one. Thanks to my sales engineer Jim for the fast delivery and follow up!

  • from Charlotte, NC February 9, 2017Music Background:
    Played original rock for 30 years

    Best Telecaster I've Owned

    Saw this guitar used in a music store in Charlotte, NC. Have always loved the look of the bound sunburst telecasters so played it through a Fender Deluxe. I didn't expect much, because I am snobby about cheap guitars, but was hooked on the sound and feel right away. People in the store were complementing me on the tone... I already have a 100 year old pine Telebration Tele which is also a very good sounding tele, but I now prefer this instrument. The pups have a fatter sound and the rosewood neck gives it a darker, fuller tone. Just a great looking, feeling, sounding guitar and I paid under $! It's in mint condition and with an upgraded Fender bridge with brass barrels courtesy of previous owner. If you see one, don't hesitate...

  • from Western PA November 8, 2016

    The best Tele out there

    I think the title says it all, but in case you need more: beautiful, fast neck; outstanding build quality (I found one tiny flaw in the finish); balanced perfectly; that Tele twang; flawless intonation out of the box; the pickups are hot but nice and even; did I mention it's a Tele? Skip the more expensive (and usually more poorly made) Fender "original", and get this. Especially for the price, it can't be beat.

  • from Florida October 24, 2016

    SIMPLY AMAZING ! ! !

    After reading SO many reviews on the Classic Vibe series I finally decided to pull the trigger. I originally bought the CV Butterscotch from Guitar Center sight unseen since the store in my area doesn't carry much in stock. It arrived in what appeared to be flawless condition. I played it for about an hour in the store and happily brought her home.

    As always I went over the guitar making sure all of the screws were tight only to find one of the tuner mounting screw holes was stripped out as well as the lower guitar strap hole. Read some more reviews and there were reports of the neck strap hole being stripped out more than likely because of the soft pine. As much as I LOVED the butterscotch with maple fret board I just couldn't take the chance of future issues SO I returned it. And really the only thing that held me back from ORIGINALLY purchasing the CV Custom was the rosewood fret board however I decided to go with it after all. No regrets ! ! !

    Justin Sunday and the rest of the staff at Sweetwater provided excellent support. I've dealt with them in the past and they will always be my 1st choice. The 55 point inspection provided me with a VERY fine Tele that was perfectly setup right out of box. The Sweetwater team - AMAZING as usual. I received HD photos via email of the exact guitar I purchased - it was delivered SO fast and of of course the customary bag of "Sweets" is always a treat.

    Ok - back to the guitar. I've owned a REAL 1962 Tele Custom, a CIJ 62 re-issue and now this AMAZING Squier CVC. I'm not going to say one is better than the other because all guitars have different personalities, but I will say that the neck fit is tighter than my previous Teles, the fret work is absolutely amazing, the finish is flawless and the pups are SO quiet - totally unlike my previous Teles. I've read the body cavities are sprayed with a shielding agent. The pups are "right on" tone wise as are the pots and the 3 way selector switch so I will NOT be replacing them. I MIGHT look for a CV neck with maple fret board in the future - I say MIGHT because I'm actually digging the rosewood right now - and it looks much nicer than the maple in keeping with the dark colorization theme. One more thing - I can't even FORCE this to go out of tune. The Vintage Kluson style "slotted" tuners have always been my favorite!

    In a nut nutshell - DO NOT HESITATE because it says Squier on the headstock. In fact Google "J.B Squier or V.C. Squier" and you'll be amazed at who these fine craftsman were and their eventual "indirect" relationship with Leo Fender. And as far as being "crafted in China?" - ABSOLUTELY not an issue. The craftsmanship of the Classic Vibe series is impeccable.

    One more well deserved plug - You guys and gals at Sweetwater rock and always have.

  • from July 13, 2016

    Great little guitar!

    Bought this on instinct, as I have for the last few guitars bought online. Having read reviews online, I decided to buy this as everyone was raving about what a brilliant guitar this is.

    When I first played this I was dissapointed. As it didn't sound like a Telecaster at all. It sounded like a cheap guitar. Surely they weren't being shipped out of the factory like this?

    I contacted the shop I bought it from and asked for a return on the guitar. A few days later, and it was bugging why it was behaving the way it was.

    After asking around on Facebook, some Fender experts gave some advice and their opinions on what the problem could be.

    Some said it was because of new strings and the fact they were a different gauge to what I normally use. Some were saying it was that it wasn't set up properly or because of the height of the pickups.

    After many discussions I decided to do a comparision between my other Telecasters and record it and put it online. During this someone mentioned that you need to have the gain turned up.

    I turned up the gain, and all of a sudden the Telecaster tone I know came through!

    Also to get the tone I wanted I had to use the controls for once. Normally when using my Telecasters, I just let them do what they do best and they sort the tone out themselves.

    With this one, you do have to play around a bit to get the tone you want.

  • from Omaha, NE July 3, 2016Music Background:
    40 years, multi-instrumentalist, guitar, bass, harmonica, piano, drums, vocals

    One of my favorites after 40 years of playing

    This is an amazing guitar. I own 30 guitars last count and this is as good as any. I have Gibsons, Fenders, Yamaha, Samick, ESP, Hagstrom, Ibanez, among others and this is one I can't put down. I got mine used so it was less expensive than new but I would buy the same guitar new if it got stolen. Mine is a 2009 CV Custom Tele. The electronics are very well put together, expert soldering. The action is as low as any guitar I've played but there is no string buzz anywhere. The tone is Fender all the way and hangs with any American Tele. I have a MIM Strat which has required a lot of work setting up but I did noting to this Tele. Maybe the previous owner did, I don't know, but I would not change a thing. The only thing I find which is not perfect, is the action is so freakishly low, it makes it impossible to really play slide well. But no big deal. I use my Strat for that. I LOVE this guitar!

  • from Cliffside Park, NJ May 9, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, Singer

    Sweet Gutiar for the Price!

    Sweetwater did an awesome job on sending this guitar! Props to Spencer my personal tech! I really not to fond of the Squier series but THIS ONE IS GREAT! I took a chance because I wanted this type of style telecaster and did not want to spend tons of cash. Now I am playing this guitar more than my other guitars! I have Gretsch Tennessee Rose, Kramer, and some other guitars but this one I can see will be one of my favorites. The folks at Sweetwater made sure I would be happy with the setup on this Tele! Don't miss out on this awesome guitar, especially if you are looking for an affordable tele! You wont be disappointed!

  • from March 16, 2016

    Love it.

    I've been a pro player for a decade. At some point I decided to only buy American made guitars, and that's never a bad decision for anyone who can afford it. But I wanted/needed to buy a Tele and these CV Teles kept intriguing me. A few weeks ago I pulled the trigger after going back & forth to 4 guitar shops near me. I played them all... Am Deluxe, Am Standard, Am Special, 52 ReIssue, G&L Asats, and I almost ordered a $1600 American Elite Tele. Like I said, buying American made guitars is never a bad idea. You know what you're getting.
    But I just decided to take a chance on the Chinese Squire. Now I love this instrument. Love it. Have already used it on recordings. Beautiful clean sounds. And it digs into distortion and overdrive so nicely.

    If you A/B Telecasters, you will hear differences between every type, and every set of pick-ups. These pick-ups do everything I would ever want a Tele to do. They're hot & bright. Through my Fender Deluxe I would describe them as strong-sounding. Not joking. That's what my ears hear.
    The tone knob could have a smoother roll-off, but that doesn't bother me. I usually set it and play.

    When I say that I love it, that's all I mean. I'm not saying it's comparable to a $1600 American made instrument. It's not. I read all the reviews and kept seeing 2 negative things... glue & finish around the nut, and the input jack.

    The input jack is garbage. It already crackles. The nut is fine, but I did see some leftover stuff (probably glue) around it.
    Those two things were not enough for me to spend an extra $500 on an American made Tele.

    The input jack will be replaced soon. $25. Done. And I wiped around the nut. I'm satisfied.

    As far as workmanship, it's impressive... for a $400 Chinese import. What else can you say? An American made Tele SHOULD be cleaner and more solid than this Squire. it better be.

    The neck & fretboard are my favorite things about this instrument. I love this neck. I would not replace it with an American neck/fretboard if you gave me one for free. Very thin. Every fret plays beautifully. No buzzing. Anywhere. My $4,000 Taylor needed more fret repair than this Chinese Tele.

    As fas as the body... they say it's Alder. The butterscotch and vintage blonde are pine. I liked those CV Teles too. But I love this instrument.
    Some reviews question whether the sunburst finish is a picture glued to a cheap piece of Alder. I can neither confirm or deny. But it looks great. It feels great. And it sounds great. If it breaks or collapses on itself in the next few years, I would be upset, and I'd probably then buy an American made Tele. From Sweetwater, of course. But believe me, I'm getting a lot of playing time out of this instrument already.

    And I'm buying a bunch of other gear I needed with the money I did NOT spend on an American made Tele. Gotta dig that.

  • from March 4, 2016

    What a great guitar!

    I traded on a whim an Asian-made Peavey Signature Series (which I had lying around doing nothing since I got it on a previous trade and I never liked it for a minute...) for this used-but-not-abused Classic Vibe Tele Custom.... What a difference! And I've got to tell ya, I've got many guitars lying around, some of them fine Custom Shop axes (read $$$), and this little Tele has its place with all of 'em. Being a fussy aging bastard, I switched the controls for US-made CTS pots, although the originals were just fine. I have no reason to change the pups for now, although I may in the future cuz that's what I do... Anyway, I try to find some faults on this little Chinese and, truth be told, I can't find any, especially at that price point... The fact that it is pine-bodied contributes to its charm even more, knowing that original early fifties Teles were made out of the same wood... That being said, it's definitely got that twang this model is famous for, it stays in tune very well for an import (take notes Epiphone!!!), and the build-quality is stellar in that price range; in any price range really... I love it!

  • from shavertown, PA January 10, 2016

    squier

    Frets are near perfect, playability is a 5 and the tuners are good. As soon as I played it I knew it was worthy of being my main guitar. I changed the pickups, put strap locks on it, threw some stickers on it and gig with it every week. I also had it professionally set up, its my favorite guitar.
    ,

  • from Baytown, TX January 2, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician for 20 years

    Very Pleased

    My wife was kind enough to green light this guitar for my Christmas gift. I had read/watched all of the reviews I could before pulling the trigger on this guitar, I'm glad I did. Have never owned a Tele, but so many of my heroes use them, I figured it was time to give it a try.
    I must say, I am very impressed with the build quality, finish, and playability of this instrument. The pickups sound great, the neck feels good, the tuners are solid (if not a bit odd for someone who has never used vintage style), and the electronics seem to be in order. After a solid week of playing including 4 band rehearsals and 1 gig, the only issue I have is the position of the pickup selector. It is very easy to accidentally change pickups, particularly if you are in the middle position. Perhaps this is a common issue with telecasters. I wouldn't know. Other than that, I have no complaints.
    I feel I need to also comment on the quality of the setup that was done at Sweetwater. If you've ever read other reviews on guitars purchased from this site that mention that the guitar was perfectly set up and in tune when they took it out of the box, and wondered if it was true; let me assure you that it is. I was literally laughing out loud when I took it out of the box (no case btw) and played a perfectly in tune Em chord. String height, neck relief, and pickup height were equally impressively done.
    So, well done Squier, and Well done Sweetwater! Thanks!

  • from Iowa December 21, 2015Music Background:
    In a gigging classic rock band

    Squier?

    What can I say, I bought a Squier! Really hard for me to actually believe it, but did and no regrets at all. Excellent quality guitar at least as good if not better than a MIM and pushing the quality and playablity of a MIA one. Yep, you heard me right. Love the guitar. Also own a Squier Classic Vibe 50's Stratocaster in the Aztec gold finish. I've owned them all over the years (playing over 40 now) and this is something I am very glad I bought. Not only is it flawless in appearance, it plays and sounds fantastic as well. Hide the Squier on the headstock and I would challenge anyone to play one and then you will fall in love with one.

    Sweetwater BTW rocks!

  • from Tennessee USA October 9, 2015Music Background:
    Weekened gigs, life long love of music

    Dream Come True

    Long, long time ago, I saw Bruce Springsteen play a sunburst Fender Tele Custom. The raunchy, but still detailed tone of Bruce playing the instrument made a huge impression on me as a young player. Since then, I've built, bought and traded a lot of Fender and G&L Teles. I currently own eight, including three Thinlines. The Squier Classic Vibe Tele Custom -3-Tone Sunburst looks very much like Bruce's guitar back then and I even have added an Ashtray cover to the bridge to complete the look.

    This guitar arrived in absolutely perfect condition today, no dings, no runs, everything checks out perfectly. The factory strings are 9's, but by the end of the day I will string this Tele up with my favorite Ernie Ball Skinny Top-Heavy Bottom strings -I get them from Sweetwater as well. Am I insane for owning several Teles? Certainly not: They all sound a little different and I love them all no matter where they are made: Fullerton, Ensenada, Indonesia, China, or in my own basement.

    You can buy these Squiers online from all kinds of online retailers, but only Sweetwater allows you to thoroughly inspect and select your guitar from the Guitar Gallery. Sweetwater also performs a thorough check of your instrument before it ships -no Chinese Surprises in this package from the good people in Ft. Wayne. Thank you Tom Koch at Sweetwater for another lovely and affordable addition to my Tele collection!

  • from Cleveland ohio October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Giving musician

    Wonderful

    As per the common theme I've had a lot of guitars very expensive ones and I always thought they'd make me play a little better the funny thing is once I played better I couldn't afford expensive guitas but I hit the mark with this Squier Telecaster it looks classy plays fantastic not a flaw in it actually it's kind of funny I leave this guitar at home and play it strictly at home and take the slightly more expensive one out the church and other gigs the guys at Sweetwater are wonderful to work with I've never had a problem as far as technicality goes as far as the technical issues go to pick up so slightly under wound the assembly of the instrument is perfect the tuners are very good the nut is fitted perfectly by the way that's the first thing I check on a new instrument is the fitting of the nut it's just a personal thing with me I think if they can't get that right chance so there's probably other issues with the instrument thanks again Sweetwater Squier keep up the good work and I'll continue to buy instruments from Sweetwater

  • from Upstate, NY June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-Pro, Worship Leader

    I don't miss my Custom Shop Tele...seriously!

    To make a long story short, I recently liquidated a good number of very high end guitars. Let's just say it was partly a change of priorities, and a desire to spend as little as money as possible yet still have great playing, great sounding guitars. I had been having great success taking other guitar brands and types and putting great pickups in them. It was time to do a Tele and I had just recently sold a spectacular, rarely appointed Custom Shop Tele. I was concerned my taste for the finder things would leave me disappointed. Well, I am here to tell you. I cannot remember the last time I spent this little on a guitar yet found myself wondering how in the world they were able to make something so good at this price.

    These guitars don't come with cases, so its an interesting sensation when you open up a cardboard box to find a 100% perfectly fit and finished guitar. This thing looks and feels like it came from the custom shop, and I should know! Plugging it in I found other rave reviews about the pickups to be accurate. They are of appropriately low vintage output, but they sound fantastic. Vintage Tele all the way. The only reason I went through with the pickup swap is because I had already ordered the new set and I really needed noiseless pickups. The neck is perfect as are the frets, They are installed, dressed and polished perfectly. This guitar plays like butter.

    Having been a semi-pro for many years and most recently depending on my guitars week to week while leading worship at my church, I can tell you that I am more than satisfied with this outstanding guitar, which is outstanding at any price.

  • from Central PA April 17, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Finally a Tele I like

    I finally sold my 1983 American Standard Tele and soon set about replacing it with something less expensive for playing out. I tried a Mexican Ash Tele (fat neck) and a 50's Vintage Vibe (fat neck). Some reviews call this neck very thin but it isn't to me. It's just right and actually not as slim as my 1983. It doesn't get in my way in playing it. The frets are typically thin but have sufficient height for bending and sustain. The Sweetwater set-up was amazing, low with no buzz.

    I've seen a review or two commenting on the rosewood fingerboard, alluding that it's not a real Tele and the tone is lacking. NOT! The treble cuts and slices with ferocious fury; the neck is woody sounding and stands tall. I just wish Fender would stop with the dopey decal on the pick-guard. They are the devil to get off and despite being careful I scratched my pick-guard pretty good.

    Sweetwater was patient with me as I returned two guitars (well, really three but that's another story). This one's a winner!

  • from Palm Bay, FL August 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Stellar!

    An amazing guitar! The bad rap people give Squier is nonsense in my humble opinion. I have wanted a Tele but not having anyplace near me to try them out makes it difficult to compare the quality and tonal differences. I love the look and sound of the classic Telecaster and the Squier Classic Vibe Custom was in my budget. I couldn't be happier with my Tele and with Sweetwater!!

  • from Woodland Hills, Ca. July 27, 2014Music Background:
    Lifetime student of guitar. Need to Play!

    high quality Tele regardless of price!

    This custom is a beautiful guitar. Flawless. Set up very well by JBYRD. Neck relief perfect, I just tweaked the string height a bit on the E,A strings. The fret work is incredible on these CV's. As good as my American strats. Controls seem solid, pickups sound good. I love shopping thru the "Gallery", I waited til they stocked one with nice figuring in the alder and in my ideal weight range. Necks are slim but not "tiny". Has a little girth up near the 12th fret area. Best customer service in the business. May have to buy another Classic Vibe! Thru Sweetwater, of course!

  • from Mesa, AZ USA March 10, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome guitar

    I ordered this guitar from Sweetwater. 6 days later it arrived. I was blown away. I wasn't expecting this nice if a guitar for that little price. Came with nice low action. I give that credit to Sweetwater and their 55 point inspection. I was worried about buying online. I'm old fashioned that way, but glad I did. I own 2 American made strats and this tele is surprisingly close in quality. Better than any MIM I've handled. I'm very happy with my purchase.

  • from United States June 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    An Impressive Bargain

    Bought one of these from Sweetwater about a month ago. Plays and sounds better than any other <$500 electric I've played. I actually chose this one over a Fender MIM Std. Tele - it sounds more vintage-y than the Std. and saved me $100.

    The only reason I gave this a four is how thin the neck is and how thick the gloss poly is on this thing. It makes for an impressive body finish, but I prefer a more raw and thicker neck - and nitro finishes will spoil ya, haha. Overall, more guitar than you'd expect for the price.

  • from Lafayette, IN USA July 8, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar Enthusiast

    Tele-rific!

    In over 40 years of guitar playing, I've mostly played Gibsons (I actually once owned a '63 Explorer...but that's another story for another day!). However, after reading the positive reviews for the Squier Classic Vibe line, I threw caution to the winds and purchased a sunburst Telecaster Custom as I'd always liked the tri-burst finish along with the distinctive double binding on that model.

    I daresay Squiers have long been known as entry-level guitars and, frankly, I wasn't overly thrilled with the prospect of owning a "Chinacaster." However, have just received the guitar and having tried it out, I can cheerfully report that all the rave reviews seen elsewhere about the Squier Telecaster Custom are spot-on: this little guy could easily be one of the best deals around--period! I'll need to make the usual tweaks to suit my playing preferences, but the finish, overall workmanship, action, and pickups on this guitar are all outstanding. I plugged my new Tele into my Marshall stack and was thoroughly impressed with the result. I did need a few minutes to adjust to the significantly lighter weight of the Telecaster (335's are much heavier), but this guitar is no toy: it's all business and easily holds it own with "real" Telecasters costing at least twice as much. I can safely say I'll be definitely using this guitar on stage--it's perfect for the late Yardbirds and early Led Zep material I'm so fond of playing.

    Here's a personal bonus: this Custom will make an outstanding "project" guitar as I plan to turn it into a "Claptocaster" similar to the '62 Telecaster Custom fitted with a maple Strat neck so famously used by Eric Clapton during his Cream/Blind Faith days.

    Bottom line: this guitar is a winner--check it out!

  • from Mentor Ohio March 18, 2012Music Background:
    Been playin all my life I just love music! "Nuff said"

    "Just a great guitar all the way around!"

    I'm 57 years old, been playin all my life...Love the "Blue's" you need not pay all the outrageous prices the music stores are asking for Tele's and Strat's...(unless you want too) whether their American made or not! these guitar's look great, play great, and sound great! what else can I say.Iwas attracted to the guitar from the get-go! Great workmanship!
    Thank's!

  • from Seattle, WA March 6, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer turned guitar player, intermediate

    Classic Vibe a classic

    Gorgeous guitar, plays like a dream, has that true Tele twang. Seems remarkably well built.

  • from Philadelphia October 28, 2011Music Background:
    My calling in life

    A Wonderful Telecaster

    Another great guitar, regardless of the money! Great tone, playability, plus the workmanship is incredible...grab one while they're still this great!

  • from Marion, NC August 18, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, drums, guitar, recording. Just your average guy who loves music.

    Great Guitar

    I have owned several American Std strats and teles over the years and like many, believed that the American Std was a far better product than what could be produced from China. I first saw this guitar at a local store sitting among several Std teles. It was absolutely stunning in finish. The American Std next to it actually had a run in the finish. I compared this guitar to several other standards in the store and it held its own against all of them in finish, fit, ease of playing and sound. I ordered from Sweetwater because of their reputation and the fact they do a 55 point inspection of every guitar before it's shipped. For $379 you just cannot beat this guitar if you're in the market for a tele. Guitars are a personal preference and I know there are die-hard American Standard players who will swear the Chinese products can't compare, but they are wrong on this model. It has a sleek neck, excellent action, and depending on your style of music, paired with your choice of amp, sounds great, and looks great too. If you feel like you need to pay $600 more to have USA stamped on the headstock go ahead, but you're not going to notice $600 more in sound or finish quality. Besides, if you want different sounding pick-ups, etc., you can still do that for less than $600. Do yourself a favor and check out one of these and then use the savings to buy a good cord and amp!

  • from New Jersey January 3, 2011

    Great Guitar

    I bought this guitar for my son for Christmas. He loved it! I have owned several Fender Teles. This guitar rates right up there with them The fit and finish was impecable. The guitar sounds great. I would highly recommend it to anyone on a budget!!

Questions about the Squier Classic Vibe Telecaster Custom - 3-tone Sunburst?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway