0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Fender American Special Telecaster - Olympic White Reviews

5.0 stars based on 20 customer reviews
  • from Terrell, TX September 14, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for 25 years

    Great player!

    First guitar purchase from sweetwater and would highly recommend! No tax, free shipping. Got in 3 days. Already set up to play. This is my 3rd Tele. Guitar was set up well. Swapped the brass barrels for compensated brass saddles to improve intonation, worked perfectly! This tele lacks some modern features but seems to make up for it with sound and playability. Jumbo frets took about 2 days to warm up to, now I prefer them. Tone is better than expected. Build quality is lower than expected. Some of the pickguard screws are put in at an angle, one of the strap pins was stripped out and the "Telecaster" logo is not laid down completely straight on the headstock. It's as if the words Tele and caster were placed separately and are very slightly misaligned. Installed Planet Waves strap pins with bigger screws, problem solved. Gig bag is decent but I put it in a hard case that I had. Wish it had the neck tilt feature but it sets up great without it so far. Seems a little pricey to me at 1k but pleased overall. It makes up ground with serious tone and performance. Plays really well. On par with a 2008 Am Std I owned. Really like the pickups. All 3 positions have a unique sound, nice grit and growl as well as chimey and articulate. They seem to be able to handle all of it. I mostly play at home and at church through a POD HD500 straight to the board and get lots of positive comments about the tone. If I could do it all over I may consider a Classic Player series Tele if I could play one first. Still, this Tele is inspiring to play and I do plan on keeping it. It's miles ahead of my 2011 Mx Std and right on par tone wise with the 2008 Am Std with Twang Kings I used to own.

  • from Dallas/Fort Worth September 2, 2015Music Background:
    Just for fun

    Love this Tele

    Finally purchased a telecaster to add to my collection and I love this thing! Whether I play it through my Fender Super Champ or my Line 6 Spider, it sounds incredible with a nice fat, southern tone. Sweetwater might be the best customer experience I've ever had. I hope they continue to do what they do because I will be a customer for life as I build my collection.

  • from Troy April 20, 2015Music Background:
    Active Musician

    A Great Player

    I've had this guitar almost 3 weeks now, the first day I took it to a gig, and had no problems getting the tones I wanted from it. The neck is really smooth, and the guitar plays fast and easy. The jumbo frets took a little getting use too, but definitely make bending very easy. I have no complaints on this guitar at all, I play in a cover band and can use this guitar to get anything I need tone wise, it gets the classic country, rock, hard rock, and whatever is needed basically. Great guitar would recommend it to anyone.

  • from Ludlow, MA February 28, 2015Music Background:
    Touring Musician, recording artist, producer.

    My first Telecaster and very happy!

    I bought the American Special Telecaster primarily for its features and affordability. I typically play guitars with jumbo frets and thin necks and always wanted a Telecaster but could never get along with the neck/medium frets combination. I also wanted to buy a guitar that I wouldn't have to modify. This guitar nails all of it. It sounds great (Texas Special pickups are killer), is comfortable in playing position (slightly rounded edges), the neck is very comfortable, and the jumbo frets really facilitate technical playing. I had reservations about the 3 saddle bridge intonation but it is negligible and I feel like this bridge configuration really ads to the tone. It was perfectly setup when it arrived from Sweetwater. And the guitar is gorgeous. Couldn't be happier!

  • from seattle wa usa May 31, 2014Music Background:
    30 + years teaching playing multiinstrumentalist.

    best buy for the money

    OK so this is a great guitar for less than a grand! go get one .
    i never write reviews about the sales people involved but , many thanks to the sweetwater staff for , kindly and quickly helping me with a return and the purchase of this great instrument the highest quality staff you could hope for when buying online ! friendly ,easy going but prompt and very knowledgeable congrats on your staff sweetwater thank you for the personal touch and professionalism..

  • from United States April 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best Guitar & Best Service

    Like every musician, we have an obsession with new gear. I'd have to say this is the best feeling guitar i've ever played. Sweetwater also has the best customer in the industry.

  • from Washington February 25, 2014

    Awesome value

    This guitar is hands-down the best value I have ever purchased. An American Fender for under a thousand dollars with Texas special pickups that sound amazing! I was nervous about mail ordering a guitar as I am a believer that you need to play it first. Ryan Sloan is always very helpful to me and he assured me that their guitars are thoroughly gone through by professionals and they only take the best quality. When I got this guitar I couldn't believe it was set up perfectly and in tune right out-of-the-box. I have used it for several gigs now playing out in my country band and it is by far one of the best sounding guitars that I have. I was also very happy that the maple neck has a nice flame to it which I believe is just by chance but very cool! Thanks to Ryan and sweetwater for hooking me up with a great guitar.

  • from De Leon Springs, FL June 21, 2013Music Background:
    Longtime guitar player and collector

    Outstanding value in an American made instrument

    Iíve owned other Telecasters over the years but this one is the best. The tone is classic Tele--super clean with a great balance between the bass and treble. A great feeling guitar with excellent action, smooth fret ends, and a fast, satin finished neck. Itís a pleasure to play. Olympic white is basically a pale cream. The American Special represents a great value in a quality, American made instrument.

    Also, this is my first shopping experience with Sweetwater and it wonít be my last. This company has the best customer service and support Iíve ever experienced. I also appreciate that my guitar was checked out beforehand to make sure the action, intonation, and so on, were set right.

  • from Fargo, ND USA February 26, 2013Music Background:
    Lifetime music/guitar lover

    Awesome American Tele

    I got my Telecaster Special a few days ago and am really loving everything about it. I'm playing through a Fender Supersonic '22 and when it's on the "fat" boost, it really brings out a great Telecaster tone I remember hearing a long time ago. I'm just getting to know the guitar but I love it so far. Initially thought I'd get the 3 Tone Sunburst but went with the Olympic White (cream) because it wore on me. Plus my guitar hero, Vince Gill plays a white '53 Tele. My next piece will be be a Wampler "Ego Compressor" to get that great "chickin' pickin'" sound.

  • from ROCKWELL CITY, IA February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    WOW - what else can I say

    Just received this guitar this morning - took it to the guitar shop tonight and played it ... what a great experience ... sounds great - plays well ...I just love it ...

  • from Laguna Beach, CA December 27, 2012Music Background:
    unofficial Rock Star and serious guitar collector

    Fender has never been better

    The American Special is so flawless that if you were blind-folded, you would think they are Custom Shop creations! I love this model so much I bought 5 of them! You get jumbo fret wire and Texas Special pickups, what more could you possibly want for this price? It will take the rest of my life just to wear them in, but that won't be long enough to wear them out! YOU NEED THIS TELECASTER!

  • from United States November 14, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Very Pleased

    I have always had a love/hate relationship with Tele's. I love hearing other people play them but don't like myself playing one. I have bought and sold more Tele's than any other guitar in my musical life.

    For months I have been gassing for a Tele again - so decided to purchase the American Special. I wanted a domestic made instrument and like the vintage style bridge and brass barrel saddles more than the modern bridge on the AmStnd line.

    I am very pleased with the guitar. The texas special pickups have a great sound, both neck and bridge pickups sound great. Quality is excellent and this is indeed a great value.

    Kudos to AJ & Sweetwater for superb customer service as always!!!

  • from New York, NY September 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist / Amateur Musician

    Fantastic Guitar, great bang for your buck!

    I've been a longtime Gibson guy (over 20 years to be exact), but I decided to take a flyer and try this guitar out on a whim. Needless to say I was completely floored by the feel and its tone. Picking up this guitar, you can feel the weight - it's a solid block of wood. The pickups give it some real bite when you plug it in. I also love how you can go from a nice jangle to a hard edge. This is one great guitar that can play a variety of styles. At under $1,000 and made in America, it's a great guitar for your money.

  • from July 24, 2012

    Great playability and tone at a great price

    One of the best guitars I have ever played.

  • from American Midwest July 4, 2012Music Background:
    Playing music with friends

    I love this Telecaster completely

    This Tele has been my favorite personal possession since I acquired it in November 2011. It's so easy to play that after decades of playing nothing but open chords to accompany my singing, now at last I'm doing blues riffs and licks, and it's fun and comes naturally. Barre chords are friends instead of enemies. The sound this guitar produces is amazing, the fretboard feels like silk, and the whole thing is gorgeously finished off. A great instrument helps one to learn better. I wouldn't trade this guitar for any other guitar, although I hope to add to the collection in time. Now that I'm playing in a band with friends, I try out other guitarist's instruments, but I'm happiest coming right back to this Telecaster. No regrets. No second thoughts.

  • from Nashville July 13, 2011

    Tele in Nashville

    It's hard to buy a something without playing a note. But this tele is perfect. In tune and a working guitar every day of the week. cheers!

  • from Philadelphia, PA April 7, 2011Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    The Smooth Player!

    I recently purchased this remarkable guitar. Actually looks like I purchased the last of this batch. The Olympic white finish is fantastic and the guitar is just so smooth in looks, feel, playability and the Texas Specials are awesome to say the least. The blues I play never sounded better than with this axe in my hands!

    This guitar is my all time favorite. My beloved Strats have now taken a back seat to this white beauty. I have quite a few guitars in my collection including a 1972 Tele that I purchased brand new for my 19 birthday. Yeah I know Ö I am getting long in the tooth! I do not own any electric that is not American made. This guitar is not much more than the Fender imports. I never had one of those import guitars in my hands that felt right, or played sweet like the real deal. This American Special Telecaster is the sweetest playing guitar I have ever held in my hands bar none. The action is low and the neck is very, very, very fast. The Jumbo frets are incredible, and you can bend the strings on this baby like no other. Not a buzz to be found on the entire neck. It sings sweet and screams when I want through my Fender Blues Junior III amp. It was set up perfect when I opened the box.

    A real nice touch is that it has the Telecaster 60th Anniversary engraved neck plate. No mention of this in any of the literature, and I have only seen it advertised as being on the 60th Anniversary Special Telecaster. I did notice it on the Sweetwater pictures posted for this Tele's serial number. A very nice touch indeed!

    This is the second guitar this month that I purchased from Sweetwater. A beautify Wechter Pathmaker Elite acoustic was the other purchase. Cannot be more pleased with the service and the delivery time is unbelievable as compared with their competitors. And itís free! I can only say one thing: BUY THIS GUITAR AND LET YOUR FINGERS DO THE TALKIN!!!!

  • from Sacramento CA April 2, 2011Music Background:
    Garage player

    I am in Love!!

    I bought my American Special a few months back and I love this guitar more and more as time goes on. I love the simplicity of this axe. It is basically a no frills guitar that plays great and sounds even better.
    I have a few other guitars including a Gibson Les Paul Standard and Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster that are currently taking a back seat to my new American Special tele. Trust me when I tell you that if you are at all interested in purchasing a telecaster, you can not go wrong with this guitar. Great looks, great feel, great tones, great price!!

  • from Columbia, SC October 22, 2010Music Background:
    Off and on player, but as a bassist. That could change.

    Very Pleased

    First I have to say I'm blown away by Sweetwater!!!!!!!!! This was an order of faith and boy am I glad I made it. Thanks Mike for all the help!!! I am primarily a bassist and once owned a 1968 Telecaster. I was hoping to find a USA made Tele I could afford that would be close to my 68. I truly think this is better in many ways. I am 100% pleased with this purchase, the only change I have in mind is a different pick guard. Thanks Fender for making an American made guitar that is affordable.

  • from Ohio April 8, 2010Music Background:
    Gigging Musician

    Very nice Tele!

    I've owned a lot of Telecasters over the years, but this has to be the best one, yet. The sound from the Texas Special pickups is rich, full, snappy, and the guitar just sings. I play in a country band and a rock band, and this guitar is perfect for both. It sounds fantastic through my Twin Reverb reissue and also sounds great with distortion. It is also lighter than most of the ash-bodied Teles that I have played. In my opinion, you get the best of both worlds with this guitar: the brass string saddles and black pickguard echo the '52 reissue, but you get more powerful pickups and a 9.5 fretboard radius, which makes it much easier to play than a '52 reissue. I should know, I had 2 '52 reissues in the past, but I like this one better. I can't figure out how Fender can offer this at a lower price than the American Standard, but hey, I saved a few hundred dollars, so I'm not complaining! Don't be fooled by the low price, this one is destined to become a classic.

Questions about the Fender American Special Telecaster - Olympic White?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway