0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Fender American Special Telecaster - Vintage Blonde with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender American Special Telecaster - Vintage Blonde with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender American Special Telecaster - Vintage Blonde with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania April 18, 2017

    "An American Beauty"

    This is my 4th Fender American Special Telecaster. This 2016 Fender American Special Telecaster Blonde Maple Neck is an absolutely amazing guitar. To me this version is the best of old and new. The alder body on mine is rather light weight 7lbs. 6oz. and the medium jumbo frets are crowned and polished to perfection. The (3) brass barrel saddle traditional Telecaster bridge is an important ingredient in the over all tone. The "Grease Bucket" tone circuit is wonderful because you can dial back some of the treble while retaining the high and high mid frequencies. The neck shape is as good as it gets. Now the addition of the Fender "Custom Shop" Texas Special pickup's sound amazing with those Alnico V magnets. If you really like the Telecaster but don't like the original smaller frets and pickup's this may be just for you. I am okay with the Fender Gig Bag because it helps to keep costs down and they are made very well. I found a Fender case on Ebay for cheap so not a big deal. Mike Godlove is my sale engineer and helped make this a stress free purchase. I highly recommend this Telecaster.

  • from Crossville TN December 30, 2016Music Background:
    hobby

    My awesome new gear!

    I am very happy with my new gear. I bought a Fender American Special Telecaster which arrived in perfect shape. I just love it! It was ready to play right out of the box. I also bought a Fender Blues Jr. III -British red with Greenback-Celestion which is absolutely killer! Nice and warm and rich. I am pleased with all of my accessories (strap, stand, cables and picks sample pack).

    I had not played music for 20 years when I purchased my Tele, and I was surprised at how easy to play this wonderful guitar is. I still own two Gibson LP's (both need work & TLC) and I like this Tele well as anything I have ever played.

    It is amazing doing business with Sweetwater-I highly recommend you to anyone!

  • from October 25, 2016Music Background:
    Professional

    Blonde Tele

    I've had this Tele for a month now it's been gigged a bunch and I'm in love with it. Lots of tones from twangy spank to warm enough for jazz tones. Light weight, classic look a whole bunch of awesome at a reasonable price. I have a bunch of guitars and this Tele has me seriously considering thinning the herd, its that good. If you want an American Tele this one can't be beat.

  • from September 12, 2016

    Big Surprise!

    I am very surprised by the American Special. I did not think that I would get this much guitar for under a grand. The Texas pickups are very strong and respond very well to the grease bucket. Guitar sounds great through either my Marshall JCM2000 or my "little" Vox AC15. Thanks, Lindsey Becker for another experience with your amazing customer care. For Sweetwater, it's "customer care" not "customer service"! My order was processed in a matter of hours and I was playing before noon on the next day, a Saturday morning! Sweetwater really makes buying guitars a pleasure. Thank you!

  • from Ca September 2, 2016Music Background:
    Working musician - 15 years - playing 40 years

    Really surprised!

    Got this guy awhile back. Love the see thru blonde with the maple neck. The neck is a satin finish so not sticky like gloss reissues. Neck carve and jumbo frets make it effortless to play. I dropped the action and took most of the relief out of the neck. Ordered a set of shorter Allens from WD products and now the screws are flush with my brass saddles. The bridge pickup has the tele spank without bring shrill - the neck pickup really sounds like a good strat. I play through boutique amps and love this guitar. I've owned relics and reissues but this is a keeper. The frets - neck carve - flatter profile - make this a really nice playing guitar- and thanks Nick for finding me 1 at 7 lbs even!

  • from Virginia September 2, 2016Music Background:
    Novice

    LOVE IT!

    Great guitar! Great company! Love it more than my EC Strat, fits my hand better.

  • from November 16, 2015

    In Love!

    I got the blond. Love it! Better than expected. Sounds and plays like I dreamed it would.
    Highly recommended to anyone wanting a very nice Telecaster!
    Thanks, Ben Robinson!

  • from Massachusetts July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Playing for 20 years

    My Favorite Telecaster

    This guitar sounds absolutely amazing!!!
    It plays unbelievable as well!!!
    What more can I say other than it was worth the wait. The price was perfect as well.

  • from June 18, 2015

    This Guitar Sings! High quality Telecaster!

    I just received this guitar today from Sweetwater and I am just blown away by it. As soon as I opened the box, the guitar was in mint, beautiful condition. And Sweetwater individually inspects every guitar they have so it was already playing amazing right out of the box. My guitar was inspected by JByrd which they give you a card and tell you every way it gets inspected. I absolutely love the clean tone of the Texas pickups, especially the one on the neck. This guitar just sings and the finish all around the guitar is beautiful and bright. The guitar feels great in my hands and has a nice solid weight to it. The neck is so smooth and you can tell everything is high American quality which I love. I cannot even begin to describe how great Sweetwater's customer service is. I was working with Joe Schafer and was discussing different guitar options with him. I ultimately chose this one due to the vintage blond look, the Texas special pickups, and it being made here in America. Joe worked with me through the whole process and I did my order through the phone. He even followed up with me the next day to make sure the guitar was processed and shipped. I placed my order late Tuesday afternoon and got it in less than 2 days on Thursday around 11 in the afternoon! The guitar was double packed and boxed to protect it which I loved. I am so happy with my purchase. I absolutely love this guitar. I have always wanted a telecaster and I am so glad I went and got this American Special. I will definitely do all my guitar shopping through Sweetwater from now. Amazing quality guitar, fast shipping, and amazing customer service!

  • from Hoopeston,Il March 26, 2015

    Blown away!

    I've had this guitar 1 wk. now & it just blows me away . The intonation was perfect out of the box. Every day I find a different sound. Thanks again to Bart Good!

  • from Hoopeston IL March 19, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbiest.

    Great guitar!

    Just got this in VB. Love the color. Plays & sounds great. Thanks to Bart Good. This is the 3rd Guitar this month he has sold me & I'm very happy with them all!

  • from Detroit May 17, 2014Music Background:
    old jazz goat

    telegoodness

    great guitar. great price. perfect intonation. plays jazz so sweet, what was i doing lugging around that big *** Super 400 all those years!?

  • from Ada, OK November 7, 2013Music Background:
    Semi Pro Musician

    Great guitar at a great price.

    I am a bass player but enjoy playing guitar in my studio. I wanted a quality guitar but did not want to pay for a high end instrument. This Tele fits the bill. The finish on it is top of the line and the set-up that Sweetwater did was excellent. My rep, Ryan Wiiltermood (who is a guitar player) recommended this model. I think any guitar player would enjoy having this instrument added to his/her arsenal.

  • from Buffalo,ny October 25, 2013Music Background:
    20 years playing, singer songwriter

    More Diverse than you know

    The neck on this guitar makes it effortless to play. I could have bought a much more expensive guitar but this sounded great and was easy to play. Sounds great plugged into boutique amps, that's where it really shines. The maple neck with brass saddles equals tons of spank. Either way no matter your taste give it a try.

  • from ROCKWELL CITY, IA February 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    WOW - what else can I say

    Just received this guitar this morning - took it to the guitar shop tonight and played it ... what a great experience ... sounds great - plays well ...I just love it ...

  • from Ohio February 27, 2017Music Background:
    20 years as hobby

    Excellent workhorse

    This guitar is one of the greatest work horse guitars I have used. I record with a hotrod deville + blackstar stage 60. The american special telecaster name says it all (special!) along with fit and finish plus playability im sure this guitar will bring me joy for years to come while also giving me another tool to bring out my creative emotion through music.

  • from cleveland ohio April 13, 2014Music Background:
    working musician

    The real deal....

    If you have multiple guitars in your arsenal, this should be one. Nothing fancy, no tricks, just a quality guitar at a great price. Texas special gives me all the growl i need. So many cheap guitars that look like this, Dont waste your money get the real deal...The action was set to low for me with light strings, put on a set of power slinks, 48's and all is well, no adjustment needed...The sweetwater guys did it right, i've got my next guitar picked out just a click away. the local music stores thrive on cheap stuff, thanks for being there sweetwater you got it going man, no more ebay headaches for me...

  • from Woodruff, WI October 23, 2013Music Background:
    musician, playing since 1963, currently have a 4 piece classic rock band

    fender american special telecaster

    I own 8 electric guitars and 2 acoustic....this is the best sounding of them all with the tex style single coil pickups....easy to play maple fret board...second new guitar I bought since 1963...great piece of equipment...I would recommend it to all.

  • from Marysville, WA June 9, 2016Music Background:
    first guitar at 15. Non-professional

    Fender American Standard Telecaster

    The Fender Telecaster American Special can easily rate 5 stars because it plays like buttered fingers and handles like a gal who is a great dancer and has the classic Tele Tones. I only gave it 4 stars because there are so many guitars to play and they are each one a rare quality. The Fender Telecaster is a rare quality and a great addition to my collection ! I suppose I could just give them all 5 stars. Maybe when I'm finished collecting ??

  • from July 26, 2015

    Telecaster

    Great, great guitar. This ax is better looking than I am playing.

  • from Cleveland, OH. March 10, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist/Drummer.

    Basic, yet

    This Guitar is one of those great ones that goes by it's name, as it's Special indeed. It comes in a gig bag & has very few finish options but that's about all that's "bad" about it. I probably would've got the other famous Blonde finish but this one's prettier in person. The Vintage Blonde finish matches quite well with the pickguard & fretboard in particular. The "Texas" pickups & saddles provide inspiring tones that sound "Texas" if there is so a sound...lol.

  • from August 28, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender American Special Telecaster

    This is now my favourite, everyday use guitar for practice and gigs: smooth neck, fairly light weight and good clean sound.

Questions about the Fender American Special Telecaster - Vintage Blonde with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway