rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Fender American Standard Telecaster - 2-color Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Statesville, NC April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter and Musician

    2016 Telecaster

    The Telecaster is simply THE guitar for anyone interested in playing country music. I just purchased another one from Sweetwater. I went with the American Standard 2 color, Maple neck and Ash body.
    I also bought a Fender Classic 50 2/12 amp. This is a great combination. I am a new Sweetwater customer but I am extremely impressed with Nathan and all the people there. They all were very concerned with my satisfaction and Nathan followed up with me after the sale. You simply cannot go wrong with Sweetwater!

  • from Alexandria, VA USA June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Fanatic

    Product and customer support are superb

    I am rebuilding my home music setup after many years of being focused on other priorities like non-musical career and family. I already own a Les Paul custom and ES-335, but decided to add a Tele which has been on my wish list since forever. The sound is sweet, far exceeds expectation. I may switch to boutique pickups in the future but the guitar sounds great like it is.

    Wood finish is perfect, a joy to look at.

    I first thought I wanted a rosewood fingerboard, but after trying the options I found maple to work best for me. Of course this is a matter of personal preference.

    I appreciated that I could see multiple images of different guitars on the Sweetwater site, and pick the specific one I liked best.

    I continue to receive excellent sales support from Zach Bailey, who is highly knowledgeable about guitars, basses, amps, effects, and software. It is very helpful to work with a single sales person and not have to start over with every call.

  • from Springfield, MO March 30, 2014Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter and guitar player

    2014 Fender American Standard Tele

    I've been playing guitar now for 18 years. I usually stick with the sub $700 dollar guitars and upgrade the pick ups and tuners as needed. I have a PRS SE Singlecut and a couple Schecter guitars. Don't get me wrong those guitars are good guitars for the money.

    However I decided it was time to get me a real american made guitar. I narrowed it down to this or the Richie Kotzen model. One of the downfalls of buying online is you can't sit down and play them side by side. I can't say which one I would have picked if I had that chance and I think that is still the best way to buy a guitar as each has it own sound.

    But buying from Sweetwater is a fantastic alternative. There are a lot of reviews which is helpful as well as your sale rep can answer any questions you have. I decided on the American Standard model. They go thru their 55 point inspection before shipping it and it arrived in perfect condition. I was also emailed pictures of it from the guitar gallery before I got it which was a nice touch.

    I am blown away how easily this guitar plays and sounds. I run it thru an Egnater 40W Tweaker and I can get any sound I want out of it. And I'm going to say this again, I can't believe how easily it plays. Obviously it has different specs than my other guitars and this isn't a knock against them but this guitar just feels "right" to me. I couldn't have asked for a better guitar. I play a range from country and blues to rock and hard rock. Would it be good for metal? I'm not sure. I do have a Bugera 6262 but I haven't run it thru that yet.

    All in all, if you are looking for a tele you have an idea of what they sound like. The American Standard is a great guitar!

  • from Wilmington, De April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender American Standard Telecaster 2012

    This is a fantastic guitar. Nicest solid body guitar I've ever owned. Silky smooth. The set up from Sweetwater was spot on (10-50 GHS strings). This guitar is a real joy to play. Fit and finish is flawless. My Telecaster is natural finish with maple fretboard. The sound from this guitar you can only get from a Fender Telecaster. Simply georgeous!

  • from Houston, TX April 4, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Tele Standard 2012

    I own many Telecasters and have played many more but this one is special. From the nice soft rolled fingerboard to the cut out on back of body like deluxes....these are nice free upgrades.
    The best part of this guitar are the pickups. They have a simmer that I have never heard when played clean. I now judge other teles by this guitar. Well done Fender!

  • from East Stroudsburg Pa February 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Fender American Standard Telecaster 2012

    A realy awesome instrument

  • from Savannah, GA May 24, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician for the military

    The one and only

    This guitar should be the standard for anyone who is serious about playing music.

  • from Cary, NC November 10, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Guitar Instructor

    Beauty Of Simplicity

    There is a reason the Telecaster has been around for over 60 years. It is simple yet versatile, and it looks great. The new model has the belly cutaway on the back which makes it more comfortable to play. I personally wish Fender had added a forearm cutaway also. The custom shop pickups sound good and if you dial the tone control all the way off it has a detent and allows you to bypass the tone control altogether if desired. The neck feels great to me and plays like a dream.

    The Telecaster is the simple. One tone control, one volume control, two pickups and a three way pickup selector. But you can get a wide range of tones by working the tone and volume controls. With my Strat I can basically leave the tones all the way on and use the pickup selector to get the tones I need (except jazz which required cutting the highs on the neck pickup.) With my American Tele I am adjusting the tone control slightly almost every song. Neither method is better just different.

    My only complain it a long standing Telecaster issue. The pickup selector is too close to the volume control when the bridge pickup is selected making it harder to change pickups on the fly than it should be.

    I play in a cover band and I can easily get a country, rock, jazz, pop and many flavors in between using the volume and tone controls. I can easily gig with just this Tele. I don't recommend it for heavy music. A humbucker equiped guitar is better suited to metal, hard rock, shred, etc. but it handles everything else with ease.

    The two-tones sunburst on the ash body is a beautiful thing. It comes with a nice hard case. Setup was great out of the box. I've had mine for a few months and love it.

  • from Indiana, USA January 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Country Machine

    This guitar should be in every guitar players arsenal. This guitar is very versatile and very comfortable to play. From Rock to Jazz, this guitar can handle the job. It is well worth the investment to have one of these great guitars. You won't be sorry to have one.

Questions about the Fender American Standard Telecaster - 2-color Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway