0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - Natural with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - Natural with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - Natural with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from AL April 26, 2016Music Background:
    Worship leader

    Best guitar in production

    I wanted to wait a few months after acquiring in a trade before I posted a review. I've been playing for about 12 years and currently play lead and rhythm at my church. I've went through tons of guitars looking for "the one" that I'd play til I die. That fits like a glove. And bingo, here she is. This is probably the best guitar I've ever played and this isn't me just in the cupcake stage. It feels better than the American made teles I've played. It sounds nice and bright yet has depth and fatness due to the wide range humbuckers. But it still retains the bite in the bridge position that teles are known for. With a little distortion, you can roll the volume off to clean up nicely. The finish and wood are superb and I can't tell you enough how great it is that it's semi hollow. Feels like a feather! Yet not so light that it feels like a toy. I can't get over the looks of it either. Stylish yet not too flashy. One thing I will say negatively is that the tuners are a little sub-par. It takes a minute for them to respond. HOWEVER once you get it in tune, it STAYS in tune. there's a reason Fender quit making this reissue in America. Bc they got it right in Mexico. I strongly recommend getting this guitar. It'll be your absolute favorite.

  • from January 12, 2016

    Favorite

    I'm eighteen, and have only been playing guitar since I was fourteen, so take this for what it's worth. But, in my opinion, this is an amazing guitar, especially for it's price. Everything from the smooth playability, the beautiful looks, amazing sound and feel, it's just my favorite guitar to use. I saw this first when I was fourteen, and finally decided I would drop the money for it, after finally deciding music would be my career/focus. You will not be disappointed. And of course, sweetwater is awesome, so buy it from here.

  • from Fairfax VA November 18, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician (35 years }

    Fantastic Guitar !

    Surprised at the excellent quality of this guitar. I was really blown away. I hear from good sources that MIM guitars now have all American parts and are just manufactured in Mexico. The wood is beautiful w/ maple neck and has fantastic tones. It is a rock solid guitar and it plays like butter, AND holds it's tune without any issues. AS with any guitar, get a good set up and you will be a happy camper. Promise !

  • from United States October 15, 2014Music Background:
    Creative Arts Director, Music Teacher

    Clean and Full

    This is by far my favorite guitar. I've played them all, and this is the one that fits me. From my experience, this has the cleanest tone without getting a wimpy sound. The wide range pick ups create sparkley tone while still creating a beefy, full tone. The hollowed out design also gives the instrument a little more breath, in my opinion. Sound is great for my use-modern worship. The tone communicates perfectly through my pedals. The feel is also great. the neck is a little chunkier than your standard tele, but I've come to really like and appreciate it. The semi-hollowed out design creates a very convenient weight relief, which comes in handy during those long gigs. All in all, great guitar. I love all the features, from the vintage tuners to the 6 saddled bridge. Great guitar that's worth way more than the price.

  • from August 10, 2014Music Background:
    Awesome Guitar Playing Geek

    I love it

    I bought this beast of a guitar. First of it looks beautiful with is natural finish and and pearl pick guard. Mine also has a birds eye maple neck which I'm not sure was on purpose but I'm not complaint. I also love the three bolt neck. The whole guitar just looks 70s! It sounds amazing too! The wide range hum buckers were named fittingly, if you know what I mean. Buy this guitar, you'll love it.

  • from México September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Exquisite hobbyist

    Amazing Grace

    I've been playing six hours straight. I already had a Blackout Tele and am writing this review since the perfection and neatness of this semi-hollow Tele is something the world must know about. The looks as m¡you might be able to get from the pics are near perfection but, people, this guitar has sounds that could reminisce of the best of Tom Petty and/or Marr... yes. It's the hybrid heaven of Rickenbacker hollow pulchritude and Fender solid sound.

    I'm, by the bye, Mexican and am awesomely proud of my two Mexican-as-well Telecasters.

    Buy this guitar. It's an object of pure beauty.

  • from Holbrook, MA July 31, 2006Music Background:
    pro Musician

    Best guitar I've ever owned.

    I've tried many guitars. This one's the best i've owned. Light weight compared to other guitars. Play weekly in a Country, Rock & Oldies band.
    Great working tool. Strap it on and go ! Use with a Fender Twin amp.

  • from July 5, 2015Music Background:
    Worship and Jazz

    Very Pleased

    I've had this guitar for a year now and couldn't be happier. The neck is a little chunkier than your standard tele neck, but I've really come to enjoy it. Lighter since it's been hollowed out. Sound is awesome! It's got that tele brightness, but also retains a very full sound. I'm able to get a lot of warmth out of it by turning up the bass on the amp. I mainly do worship at church, which I feel that this guitar does an awesome job at. It's also held up well at some of my jazz gigs as well. Only negative is that the neck does fret out around the 9th fret. It could just me this specific guitar, but I also have to realize that this isn't a true American guitar. All in all, this is a great guitar on a budget. This is probably one I'll keep till I'm old and gray.

  • from August 28, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician

    Humbucking tele? sure thing

    I've had mine for almost 2 years now and must say, is great. it took me a while to get all the sounds i can out of it. I was used to play on a 4-knobs gibson style humbuckers guitar, and at first I didn't like the 2 knobs system on the 72, but now i love it. Very wide range of tones. love the middle position, very light in comparison to other guitars, and just beautiful. the neck is flexible enough to get some mending situation when out on rock crazyness, but stiff enough to never gettin out of tune. the neck position has its own variety of sounds with the vol. and tone knobs working together in different combinations. Great!

  • from July 8, 2014

    Thinline Tele

    this guitar feels just right foe me, I love the feel of the neck and the sweet tones from the humbuckers. it plays and sounds fantastic. just like a Fender. I have owned many Fender guitars in my time and this is one of the best! I think it's a keeper!!!

  • from Hazleton, Pa October 3, 2006Music Background:
    40 Years, classic rock, blues

    Great guitar, great sound, great value

    Sound is so versatile, neck pickup lets you get very close to that Gibson Les Paul woman tone. Middle selector sounds like a strat, and the neck pickup sounds close but not quite as twangy a single coil tele. You can play rock, blues, country, just about any thing. The neck is quick, the intonation was perfect right out of the box, and the finish is just
    beautiful on the natural model. I have 8 guitars, and
    this is 2nd only to my Gibson Sg 61, and that cost about a 1,000 more. Buy it now, before the price goes up. I use it for recording, I have a 16 track studio and write music, but if anyone out there writes lyrics, mostly rock or pop. e-mail me

  • from Hamburg, NY May 18, 2016Music Background:
    Intermediate Guitar

    Fender Classic Series '72 Telecaster Thinline - Natural

    This guitar is amazing! The set-up from the factory was right on. I like low action and a straight neck and this guitar came that way. I had many good experiences with Sweetwater and in fact I just ordered another telecaster.

  • from New York April 14, 2016Music Background:
    More Artist Than Guitarist

    Could Be #1

    This Tele is incredibly versatile. I picked one up in a local guitar shop while helping my friend select his purchases. I wasn't even in the market for a guitar, but I fell in love with this one right away. I tried several guitars, including some other Telecasters, but kept coming back to the Thinline. Although I've been playing guitar for over 25 years, I don't think I'd ever played a Telecaster until that day. I'm definitely not a gear head, and until recently I felt that I didn't have enough time to play the few guitars I already own....but I was overwhelmed by the awesome tone (or rather tones) of this sweet axe. I'm putting a new group together, and after playing for a few minutes, I realized I could play all my new music on the Thinline - no need to change guitars at a gig. Plus with the chambered body, it's easier on the shoulders than most solid bodies. Nowadays, I'm playing a lot of indie rock/ new wave type stuff, but I test drove with some Santana, Led Zep, AC/DC, as well as Mayfield and Cropper, and the this axe handled it all beautifully. To make a long story short, I ultimately got my Tele from Sweetwater, and they were amazing! Thanks, Andrew! It was also my first time getting a guitar in the mail, and opening that box almost took my breath away. Wow, this guitar is beautiful! I got the natural finish. It was perfect. Well...almost. Somehow, in all my excitement, I wasn't aware of the fret size and fingerboard radius. Like I said, I'm not a gear head. I just go with my gut when it comes to guitars. Maybe it's because my Tele wasn't properly set up like the one in the store, but I'm not digging the little vintage frets or the low fretboard radius. For one thing, it's harder to bend strings. I've tinkered with the action myself, but it's still not as comfortable as I would like. I also just got an Epiphone Dot, and now I realize that that's the kind of neck and fretboard I prefer - wide and flat with big frets. I still love the Tele Thinline sounds, and I think it will serve me well for what I'm doing now - but sometimes I think I'm "working" guitar, not playing guitar.

  • from Indy October 9, 2008Music Background:
    20+ years writing and recording music

    Blues & Jazz Monster

    About 4 years ago I was unhappy with my guitar "tone".
    I went on a mission to find the perfect guitar. I ran across this guitar and was blown away.
    Not only is this one hot looking guitar (Every gig someone will tell how nice it looks).
    It delivers outstanding warm tones. I play this guitar through a Fender tube amp and love the results.
    The laminate maple frets are so smooth and fast, it almost plays itself.
    Is this the "perfect" guitar? I don't know, but it sure works for me.
    I would recommend this guitar for blues and jazz.

  • from North Carolina July 20, 2006Music Background:
    Blues,Country and whatever else I can sit in on......

    Double Tone

    I own one of these and you can get a Great "Texas Blues" single coil tone from the neck P-up and a Respectable "Tele Twang" with the Rear,,it depends on the Amp and your 'Tone Tweakin' ability ... The middle position seems to work well with any effects or modeling amp..It is not a light guitar even with the Ash and Semi-hollow design..and remember you don't get big frets like the new models but, you get an adjustable neck,,,,I Like the versatility of this guitar,,,and the Looks Speak for themselves,,,,,,

  • from Springfield, MA November 1, 2005

    Try a bunch before you pick one!

    This is often my main guitar ( when I'm not playing my Gibson LP) and it is really nicely done. I have the sunburst model, and I've given mine a nice custom tortoise-shell pickguard and Fender amp knobs for volume and tone, making mine the only one I've seen without the ugly white pearloid pickguard and chrome knobs. I've seen many and tried them, but mine seems to be set up way better - my action is insanely low, and my neck is absolutely straight, making it great for fast runs up and down the neck. The sound is somewhere different than your standard tele due to the big wide humbuckers, but a little twang is still accessible. What I love is the neck pickup, with the tone knob set back to the middle, and run into a clean Fender tube amp. MMMM...thick, warm, sounds. Overall, check around to find a good model, and then buy it. Then figure out a solution for that ugly white pearloid...

  • from Santa Monica Ca Usa February 1, 2005

    Great Guitar

    A great remake of a great original. Full of great features. The big "Wide Range" Humbuckers make it possible to play blue, rock, and over distorted punk if thats your thing.

Questions about the Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - Natural with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway