rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - 3-color Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

5.0 stars based on 7 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - 3-color Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - 3-color Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Glendale .NY November 25, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro (gigging 3 to 4 times a month)

    Fender 72 Thinline

    Excellent guitar. U shaped neck is perfect I can't put this guitar down The frets were smooth and level and the action was great right out of the box. I changed the strings to 10's because that is what I use on my other Fender guitars the 9's felt too spongy to me. The finish on the guitar is also excellent. I purchased a Fender hard shell case because I will be gigging with this guitar often and I don't trust gig bags while traveling. Overall I would highly recommend this guitar and I would highly recommend you purchase it from Sweetwater.

  • from Clermont, Florida February 3, 2016

    Fender 72 Telecaster Thinline - Sunburst

    Very well made. Great Quality. Sounds great. The 70s neck with the vintage frets is really comfortable. Sweetwater customer service excellent as usual.

  • from United States April 15, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Guitarist

    Tele made of dreams

    I've now had this guitar for about a month, aside from sleeping and going to work this guitar has not left my hands. Let me just first start by talking about the guitar from an "under the hood perspective". These humbuckers rule, I was originally deciding between this and it's Modern Player cousin (with p90's). I tried this guitar out just for fun but the first note I struck pierced my heart, and grabbed hold of my soul and didn't let go. It's a fast guitar, and it's got to be one of the lightest electric guitars out there. The semi hollow body does not allow you to play unplugged, but it definitely affects the sound when plugged in. I do a lot of finger picking on this guitar and I've found the neck pickup and the bridge/neck pickup give me the best results.

    Now lets talk about the "sex appeal": This guitar is beautiful, I got the 3-color sunburst and the pictures don't do it justice (no offense to sweetwater). The natural wood grain shines through the beautiful finish and the pale maple neck balances perfectly with the darker body. Running down the back of the neck is a beautiful strip of a darker finished wood (not sure which wood) that accents the maple majestically. The mother of pearl pickguard makes the guitar look luxurious, and the vintage knobs and pickup selector add such a classy touch to the guitar. A+ Fender

    Now from a service perspective: Just when you thought I couldn't be any sappier in my review... if there is anything better than this guitar it is Sweetwater. They went through a 55-point setup of the guitar before sending it off to me where it arrived one day after the order was placed, and it came with a little bag of sweets as well!

  • from United States - Valparaiso, IN January 25, 2014Music Background:
    Just an old dude that's been playing out a long time.

    Guitar

    My son loves it. It's built well, looks great and sounds fantastic! My son is very pleased with this guitar. He raves about it all of the time.An additional note, the people at Sweetwater are fantastic and I think that this is the best musical merchandise store that anyone could ever hope to go to.

  • from minneapolis, MN March 9, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Guitar with Great tone!

    I have had many guitars in my day. I had searched, bought and played many guitars and there is none better than this one! Yes, it's a Mexican reissue but has the quality of a USA model. I have played and recorded through a PRS, Les Paul, Strat and many semi Hollowbodies and found that this one guitar gives me the tone I need, especially through a VOX AC15! When it comes to Rock, Country, R&B, Hip Hop and Jazz, this guitar can do it all and sound great!

    Do yourself a favor and try this guitar. you won't be disappointed!

  • from Ohio April 15, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist, songwriter, home recording enthusiast

    Sweet tone!

    Picked this up on sale, and was amazed at the quality, price, and the state of arrival! I've bought gear from Sweetwater before, but never a guitar. I had no idea it would arrive totally set up by a professional and ready to rock! I am very impressed as I haven't had to do anything but plug in and start recording! I will definitely consider Sweetwater for future instrument purchases.

    As for the guitar itself, I couldn't be happier. I've wanted a Tele for years, and now I finally have one in my collection!

  • from Aberdeen Wa June 28, 2016Music Background:
    Ex semi pro lounge lizard

    Sorry I sold mine now

    I bought a 72' Reissue Telecaster 15 years ago. I'm not someone to own multiple 6 string electric guitars and I have gone between strats, teles, 335s and les pauls for 50 years and enjoyed them all at the time, my least favorite being the les paul that sounds so dull to me by comparison and has tuning stability problems because of the weak headstock design and prone to break there easily. I don't trust the language PRS uses or omits to market their guitars so I won't buy them. I've bought Fender, Squier, Jackson, Gibson and Epiphone electrics exclusively for 50 years although I consider every brand.

    The thing about this guitar is that covers everything effortlessly. Those humbuckers sound very close to single coils ( think automatic warm sweet sparkly enough clean jazz tone on the neck pick up with no eq that makes you smile) and almost exactly like Fender's noiseless pickups. They call them wide range but are probably just low output. But more than for enough me and more than single coils. I like to add and subtract flavor on my guitar so I like the squeaky clean sound of lower output pickups to start with and add compression, boost, OD and distortion to taste for each song. The problem with the noiseless teles is that the bridge pickups are still way to 'ice-pick' sounding to my ears and sound just as compressed as humbuckers. It is a crisper sounding Les Paul that makes bending a little more of an effort. This is the perfect 2nd choice for someone who wants the new tele elite, and looks similar too. I love those guitars but the harsh bridge pick up, the case and the price keep the money I have in the bank (thank God). Plus no micro tilt neck and a plastic non self lubricating 'synthetic bone' nut for your $2 gs and trouble. What a shame. Swap out the tuners for locking ones and the plastic nut for any self lubricating nut and I think its better than the tele elite, lighter too. These always weight less than 7 1/2 pounds. And you don't have to obsess about every scratch are carry around the useless, heavy, bulky ugly black plastic coffin with big ORANGE plastic locks they make you buy to get it. The PERFECT gigging guitar.

    I missed the authentic chimey chime of the strat (my ultimate favorite guitar) so I sold the '72 thinline a couple of years ago and bought a 70s hardtail strat and haven't look back, except now then when the noise gets to me. The 72 thinline does all styles effortlessly from jazz, to country to the hardest rock but lacks its own character like any Frankenstein guitar. It is a Chameleon. If you play multiple styles and want a quality instrument that won't break the bank, there is no other like the '72 thinline tele and is why it has sold consistently over all these years. Jonny Lang plays and records with them, a lot. Did I say I have never had any problems with ANY Fender product in 50 years in spite of thousands of hours of playing and moving them around from gig to gig? I guess I just did. Thanks Fender, you tick me off every now and then with your out of touch decisions but you never made me regret that I spent my money on your products. And thank God, I would be in the poor house if you'd done things a little differently always so worried about your 'vintage' perspective.

Questions about the Fender '72 Telecaster Thinline - 3-color Sunburst with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway