0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner Pedal with Bypass Reviews

4.5 stars based on 60 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner Pedal with Bypass?

Questions about the Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner Pedal with Bypass?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jared Kalish

    This pedal is an absolute lifesaver when you're on stage. I can't tell you the amount of times my bass has gone out of tune after I've been really laying into it for a song or two. Just look down, stomp the box and get yourself back to sounding like you should.

  • from February 1, 2017

    fantastic

    Simple, yet way better/more responsive (immediate reading) than my Korg Pitchblack tuner. I use the Bypass for a Royal Blood type setup too

  • from January 28, 2017

    Powers my whole board...works great

    It's a Boss Tuner pedal, man...no brainer. Powers my whole board of 4 other pedals and an A/B box. No complaints. Gets the job done every time. Definitely didn't want to skimp out on a tuner...gotta be in tune. Can't beat it as far as I'm concerned.

  • from Dutton January 21, 2017

    Boss TU-3

    Boss is synonymous with rock solid build quality and reliability.

    Simply put...I needed a tuner for a small pedal board I put together. I've had a TU-2 for ages and it's never let me down.

    If it ain't broke...don't fix it. I bought a TU-3 and haven't looked back. Excellent tuner and when you hit the pedal it cuts off the signal so you can tune in silence and/or change guitars without making a fuss.

  • from Tennessee December 14, 2016

    TU 3

    Love it. Dead on and quick to to find the note and tune. No bouncing around. Very clean through my rig.

  • from Houston, Texas October 20, 2016

    Boss TU-3

    Perfect....tuning is so much easier now.... with drums banging and guitars screaming, I can now perfectly tune my bass. Easy to use with a display that's easy to read while standing. Best investment I've made in a long time.

  • from Carlisle, PA June 28, 2016

    Darryl

    I have been using an ahdown tuner box and it had a lot of trouble picking up the B string. This T-U3 Tuner is excellent and picks up the B string with no problem. It's easy to read and works great!

  • from AZ April 30, 2016

    BEST TUNER EVER

    Title says it all, WOW, easy, accurate, convenient, no wonder it is the best pedal Boss sells.

  • from April 3, 2016

    A must have

    I had never used a tuner before always tuned my bass by ear now my daughter is playing bass and the boss tu3 is a must have . It's easy to use and very quick.

  • from Las Vegas, NV March 4, 2016

    Perfect

    This is the tuner! Great solid build, too many options! Works perfectly. If you not have of these,,, get one

  • from Athens, WV February 2, 2016

    Perfect.

    This is an absolute MUST HAVE if you're a guitarist/bassist. I'd used an old Seiko ST737 I bought when I started playing up until receiving this, through my amp's send. It was, to put it politely, garbage. This pedal is just wonderful. I feel like I'm in the lap of luxury, going from that AAA battery Seiko POS to the TU3. It's pretty much the industry standard for tuners, right? I should've gotten one 14 years ago. The display is bright. VERY BRIGHT. I turned the brightness up all the way and it was uncomfortable to look at, and my studio is very, very, very well lit. No worries about not being able to read the display under stage lighting.

    It's also spot on accurate. I used it to check, double and triple check the intonation an Ibanez 7 string that the Seiko determined was not in tune.

    Stop reading this. Buy it. Just do it. I bought it on a Tuesday, it was here Saturday. Sweetwater doesn't mess around.

  • from Rhode Island January 19, 2016Music Background:
    Visual & Musical Artist

    Boss TU-3 Tuner Pedal w/Bypass

    When you're strings begin "to go" and don't register anymore on your present tuner, generally your strings will still register on the Boss TU-3. For me, that means that I get the most out of my guitar strings and not change them sooner than really needed. I'm sure the same would apply to you too, if you also, had a Boss TU-3. This pedal is not only the best tuning pedal I've encountered so far (best indicator), but it's also an investment by saving money on new strings (when to ultimately change your strings).

  • from Amsterdam, NY December 25, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro

    tune it or die

    accurate to the T. place in pedal chain and stay sharp and on key for the entire show

  • from potosi mo December 4, 2015

    boss tu-3 tuner

    I have bought and used most all the new little 20.00 clip on tuners in the last 10 years and could never find one of the clip on's that suited me . this boss unit is well worth the money wish I would have bought this first it would have saved me money without a doubt I will never be without mine

  • from Chicago November 20, 2015Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Boss TU3 Tuner

    I regret not getting this tuner years ago. It is reliable, a solid build, convenient, easy to use and accurate.

  • from S.E.Wisconsin November 17, 2015Music Background:
    semi pro

    Boss TU-3

    Looking for a tuner that will tune my 5-string bass. They all say they do, but this one will. I have tried a lot of the others. None are as accurate or as fast as this one. The Boss TU-3 worked better than a rack tuner. My sales rep from Sweetwater convinced me to try it. His advice was spot on. Once again Sweetwater came through for me. Awesome product support. They know what they are doing !!!

  • from Nc August 24, 2015

    Gibson LesPaul traditional

    Lovin my new Les Paul running through my new Marshal DSL40 also purchased from Sweetwater. Played 3 gigs already and the sound is great. Thanks to Phil for all his help!

  • from June 10, 2015

    Boss TU-3 Tuner Pedal

    This tuner is easy to use and reliable. Tuning is accurate. Visibility is excellent. There is absolutely no noise or popping sound when activated. The price is very reasonable.

  • from January 26, 2015

    Solid pedal!

    this is really a solid and well constructed pedal. It will not fail, and would definitely take a beating on the road. the bright mode is very nice for outdoor performances. Very nice.

  • from Hartford, WI January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Worship leader

    Rock Awesome Service!

    I was blown away by Brandon! He checked in many times to make sure everything came as expected. I liked the personal calls. With all the technology out there it was nice that someone cared enough to call, and not just once. His assistant Nicki was also extremely good at getting back to me with answers to my questions. I will definitely recommend Sweetwater to all my musician friends. Great job Sweetwater! Your service and support is outstanding!

  • from Nashvlle, TN December 13, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Songwriter

    Boss TU-3

    GREAT tuner! Boss delivers, yet again.

  • from Greensboro, NC USA October 23, 2014Music Background:
    an enthusiastic guitarist

    Awesome!

    Extremely convenient...

  • from USA June 30, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Hobbyist

    Great tuner

    So I bought this to use with my Taylor 314ce w/ the Fishman Prefix onboard blender and after I figured it out and got acquainted with it, I love it! At first it was being kind of flaky and fluttering a lot, but a quick google search told me that I had the volume too high and it was "overdriving" the pedal. Also, I play with the bass slider all the way up and that creates a little bit of background noise. So, If you keep your volume low and EQ flat while tuning, it's as accurate as can be! Not to mention tough! I think this thing is gonna be around for a WHILE.

  • from Westfield, MA May 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boss Chromatic Tuner

    AWESOME tuner. I bought this pedal as a less expensive way to power my other three pedals. I already had a Boss TU-10 tuner which was OK. As a tuner this is easy to use, quick (no needle jumping from side to side as you zero in the pitch), easy to see, and accurate. My suggestion to anyone looking for a tuner is to skip working your way up from the $12.00 models and just spend the money up front. It will save you from wasting your time and money to get where you will end up any way.

  • from Rochester, NY May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Boss TU-3

    This a greet tuner, worth every penny. Works just as advertised and better. Sweetwqter is a wonderful place to deal with, service second to none.

  • from Oklahoma February 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    great tuner

    great tuner... very easy to use..... total bypass and noiseless... I would recommend it hardly..

  • from Gastonia, NC January 3, 2014Music Background:
    play rythm guitar in church band

    Great tuner

    Got this tuner to play on stage with the praise and worship team. Easy to see in any light conditions. Only use it in chromatic mode but seems to be very versatile with many other modes available. Simple to use, easy to understand controls and works great!

  • from Jasper GA January 2, 2014Music Background:
    45 years playing guitar an bass

    TU-3

    Great for tuning your guitar an bass. Does every thing that it said it will.

  • from Niagara Falls,NY May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Extreme Hobbyist

    Best

    Boss makes the best products on the market.Sweetwater gives the best service,and Wayne Davis is their best sales engineer! Keepup the good work.

  • from Florence, SC USA May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great tuner

    This is the best, most reliable, most usable tuner I've ever owned.

  • from Boston, MA November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Studio/Session Musician & Producer & Amateur Luthier

    Boss TU-3

    The Boss Tu-3 is unsurpassed as a pedal tuner. It's already saved me at least a $100 in set-up fees because it's easy to fix a guitar's intonation without going to a guitar shop. Plus Kurt from Sweetwater is great to work with.

  • from United States October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Loved and played music since 1960

    The Boss TU-3

    Swapped out my old Fender battery operated tuner for this Boss model.
    I should have done this a long time ago! Silent tuning for everyone else to not hear! If your looking for a new tuner, this is it, look no further.

    Buy it!

  • from United States August 21, 2012Music Background:
    semi professional guitarist

    Wonderful tuner for playing live.

    I love this pedal, it is easy to use and helps when playing live. It keeps me in tune and sounding good.

  • from Grand Rapids Mi. August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Boss TU-3

    Just started using the Boss TU-3 on stage for live performances ... should of purchased one a long time ago ! accuracy, readability, reliability are top notch it made stage live a lot more pleasurable .

  • from Peekskill, USA May 1, 2012Music Background:
    professional musician

    Boss TU-3

    Simple to use. Easy to see. Most important fact: More accurate than any other tuner I have used. Durable and rock solid. The streaming mode reminds me of the old Conn tuners in the High School Band rooms back in the day.

  • from boston, ma April 5, 2012Music Background:
    home recorder

    Invest the money

    This pedal is perfect for me as a frontman in the band. the quality of this pedal is what i expected from boss. strong and road ready. thanks to sweetwater for advising me with my purchases. this thing lights bright on stage and takes zero quality away from my other pedals and over all sound. invest the money in this, you won't be let down.

  • from Churubusco In usa March 31, 2012Music Background:
    Lead singer and guitarist

    boss tu-3

    Very quick and dead on tuning ,good for stage and home use

  • from Connecticut December 4, 2011

    Absolutely the best tuner in any price range

    Try the others and then buy the best foot pedal tuner on the market for the price
    This pedal can be configured to your needs. Bright LED display with multiple modes.
    Comes with a five (5) year warrenty
    1 cent tuning accuracy

  • from Chapel Hill, NC January 2, 2017

    Does what it claims to do

    This tuner is top of the line. It is simple to use and seems quite accurate. In other words, it does what Boss claims it will do - and it does it quite well. However, in my goal of decreasing the size of my bass pedal board, I found it to be too large, so it's back in the box. In it's place I'm using a TC Electronics polytune2 mini.

  • from July 7, 2016Music Background:
    Live Sound Tech/ Instrument Player

    Very Accurate

    This chromatic tuner is a very accurate tuner pedal. I am happy with it and I take it everywhere. It is gig worthy. This is great for guitars that get out of tune quickly or tuning a guitar to a different tuning. I don't have enough guitars to have a different tuning for each one, so this is nice to have. If you are looking for an amazing tuner pedal that works, is very accurate, and is gig worthy, I suggest you buy this!

  • from MT July 6, 2016

    Don't forget the AC Adapter!

    I bought this tuner on the advice of a well known, respected guitarist, and it's all I expected it to be. The display reacts quickly, and the high visibility meter makes it easy to see in all types of lighting conditions. I definitely recommend it, but a word of caution: the pedal runs on battery power unless you also purchase an AC adapter. The unit is powered up whenever you have it jacked in, so w/o the adapter the battery is very short-lived. Could be a problem when gigging, so bite the bullet and purchase the AC adapter with the unit.

  • from MI May 23, 2016

    Boss Tuner

    Great product.

  • from El Paso January 23, 2016Music Background:
    At home musician

    One Strong Tuner

    Although now there are tuners with bigger, better displays, more display options, other tuning modes, and can tune more than 1 string at once. But, none are built as strong as this one. The buffer in this pedal is very good compared to a lot of other pedals I've tried. From my experience, the other tuners don't have a buffer. When I ran it first, it gave me consistent tone and improved it. But, this tuner easily competes with the others because it also has a lot of features such as modes of tuning, pitch, flat modes, bass, high brightness. It can sometimes be a little fidgety with the tuning, but its a solid tuner. Worth the money, and it improved my tone. It will last a long time like all other Boss pedals.

  • from New York, NY September 22, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Musician

    Keeps me in tune every time

    There's not much to say about this pedal.
    It's a great tuner, and is a must on anyone who wants to keep in tune.
    Don't hesitate. Just get it :)

  • from April 4, 2015

    Boss TU3 Tuner

    Love the whole process !!! Great price and even better service ... I needed a Boss tuner and did the usually price comparison and web search routine and I kept on coming back to sweetwater ... Well sticking true to my procrastinating self I ended up buying the pedal 3 days before our gig not only did I get a phone call telling me the pedal was in stock and on its way ... It arrived in 2 days opened the box to find my tuner and numerous bags of candy !!! It made my pedal board for the gig and the band loved the treats ... My go to source for all my equipment

  • from Iowa October 22, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Solid and Easy

    Performs as advertised with good build construction and easy to read display. I'd recommend it if you're looking for a quality tuner.

  • from lockport, NY August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Rock and blues

    A must have

    It's the only boss I own and I'm not disappointed

  • from Turin, NY April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Easy

    Works great. Able to constantly check tune after bending and using the Tremelo. Batteries don't last, buy the AC adapter.

  • from Elm Mott Texas January 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student musicians

    Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner

    Outstanding addition to our "toolkit" especially like the bright display and the fact we dont have to balance it on our knee or anything. Just what we needed for our guitars. .

  • from Verne, IN August 10, 2012Music Background:
    Old Fart

    Tuning to the Nth degree!

    This tuner is all you need indoors or out! Easy to use and fits perfectly on my pedal board. My only 1/2 star downside is that sometimes electronic tuners can be TOO accurate. When I first used this tuner I caught myself "micro-tuning" to satisfy the dial. But when you hit that 'tuned' indication, brother you are in tune! Wouldn't trade this product for 10 others. Boss has this stuff figured out. Good Luck with yours!

  • from Seattle, WA October 6, 2011Music Background:
    Musician-Guitarist

    Never do a gig without one!

    Every guitar player should have a tuner in their pedal board. Period!!! You can't go wrong with a Boss tuner, or a TC PolyTuner, or even a Korg tuner. Doesn't matter which one as long as you a have a tuner. But for me I always fall back to the Boss TU pedals. Their TU-3 is one awesome pedal you can count on - well in this case, "step on." Ease of use, rugged, dependable, never lies to you... I love it!!

  • from December 31, 2015

    nice TUNER

    I bought this tuner for my Les Paul. The instruction manual does not say that you can not leave the guitar plugged in the tuner when using the 9V battery. It will drain the juice of the battery in 2 days. So I bought an external power adaptor and I can tune my guitar any time I want. The LEDS are bright and easy to see. Great tuner.

  • from Homer Alaska March 24, 2015Music Background:
    Jamming Shaman

    Great pedal

    Quick and accurate. Glad to spent the money.

  • from Kailua, HI August 23, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Performer and Recording Artist

    There's a reason why it's the standard.

    This is not the best tuner on the market...some research will find tuners that are more accurate, faster tracking, true bypass, etc etc...but this tuner remains a classic because it never fails. I have had one since it first came out in 2010, and it has been with me at every show since. From rolling around in the gear bag all day, to being stepped on every night and thrown in the back of the truck afterwards, this pedal takes a beating and never fails. The display is plenty bright and easy to read, the tracking is fast, the switching mechanism is predictable and quiet (no loud clicks from true bypass switches), and the signal buffer is effective (not great, but not problematic unless stacked up with 2 or 3 other Boss pedals). All in all a great tuner, you really can't go wrong with Boss.

  • from United States May 7, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Good, but not the best

    This tuner has always worked great. I used to have the Tu-2, and then a buddy of mine got the new TU-3. When we played shows it was great, except for one part. Anytime we were outside on a bright day it was impossible to read this thing.

    I have switched over to get a peterson classic stomp now so that I can see it outside during shows, but otherwise this product is amazingly accurate and did a great job for many years at keeping me in tune.

  • from North Carolina November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbist >35 years playing guitar

    Excellent

    This is an excellent tuner with all the features you need. Highly recommended.

  • from Murphys, CA May 3, 2012Music Background:
    Play for personal enjoyment.

    Great tool and a must to stay in tune!

    Received this tuner and immediately began using it in line which was why I wanted it. No disconnecting or stopping for tuning, just step on the pad and you are off the amp line. Vision of tuner is easy to see for old eyes too!

  • from December 19, 2011

    Boss TU - 3 Tuner

    Great pedal so far, great construction.

  • from September 19, 2011

    rugged but needs power

    This reliable tuner/disconnect would get 5 stars if the package included a power unit. When things are plugged in to the input, it is "on" so the battery will run down if you leave it plugged in. I guess I could go find an aftermarket transformer, but I'm unsure what voltage to use. Boss needs to make this a plug-in power unit straight out of the box (without jacking up the price...transformers are inexpensive).

  • from Charlottesville, VA June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Full-time musician, singer-songwriter

    Pedal stopped working, barely used.

    I used this pedal about a dozen times over a two-year period when it just stopped working. It was a month outside of warranty when it happened, so now I'll need to gamble on returning it for repair at $40/hour (billed at 10 minute increments, so 70 minutes of repair = $80, plus shipping) or replacing it (with something else).

  • from April 17, 2017

    Keeps Failing Giving Up

    I know this gets rave reviews, but I and the guitarist in my band have this tuner, and we both had the exact same intermittent problem with it. The display suddenly starts scrolling wildly and the tuner doesn't work.Thank God for my little plug-in tuner. The guitarist gave up on his and got different model. I'm finally giving up on mine. That's why I'm here: looking for another tuner. Tuners are supposed to be pretty simple. They should work. Especially when they're as structurally well-made as this one.

Questions about the Boss TU-3 Chromatic Tuner Pedal with Bypass?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway